Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 134

Thread: F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK comptible motherboard list --4/15/08 updated--

  1. #1

    F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK comptible motherboard list --4/15/08 updated--

    all tested with 8GB 4DIMM DDR2 1066 2v


    ------------------Download PDF user manual------------------


    GSKILL official compatible motherboards

    Abit IX38
    Abit IP35-E
    Abit IP35
    Abit IP35 Pro
    Asus X38 Maximus Formula
    Asus P5K Deluxe
    Asus Striker II Formula
    Asus X48 Rampage Formula
    Evga 780i
    Gigabyte P35 / EP35 DS3 series.
    Gigabyte X38 DS4
    Gigabyte X38 / EX38 DQ6
    Gigabyte X48 DQ6



    Customer feedback compatible motherboard

    DFi X38 LP LT X38 TR2



    incompatible motherboards

    Asus P5N-D
    Asus Commando
    Asus P5B-Deluxe



    if you having some issue install Vista 64bit with over 3GB of memory, please read this article
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929777





    update @ 4/15/08
    Last edited by GSKILL TECH; 04-16-2008 at 09:13 AM.
    Feel free to contact ustech@gskillusa.com or use our G.Skill Q&A Sub-Forum, if having any questions about G.Skill products

    Check out our items on NewEgg

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    557
    Would be great if you also post your definition of "compatibility" cos there may be different definitions of "stability".

  3. #3
    Compatibility means motherboard takes this memory no problem to run in our rated speed.

    most the incompatible motherboards will not boot at the memory rated speed. Even if it boot, it will not load into windows.

    we use SP2004 blend with memtest at the same time to make sure all memory address used.

    moreover, if memory unstable, system will not pass sp2004 with memtest.

    We saw your suggestion but to us that is overkill for memory test

    thank you
    Last edited by GSKILL TECH; 02-14-2008 at 08:11 PM.
    Feel free to contact ustech@gskillusa.com or use our G.Skill Q&A Sub-Forum, if having any questions about G.Skill products

    Check out our items on NewEgg

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    557
    Thank you, this was really eye opening.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    16
    i order in 2 x 4 gig kits,not sure if its the 902 bios or its the asus striker 2 formula.hit and miss if it wants to post.have you guys tested it yet?

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by ppcli View Post
    i order in 2 x 4 gig kits,not sure if its the 902 bios or its the asus striker 2 formula.hit and miss if it wants to post.have you guys tested it yet?
    not yet
    but Asus p5n-d 750i has problem to reach 1066 even with micron d9. no matter it is 4 dimm or 2 dimm installed.

    evga 780i is good with our ram. for daily use, evga 780i is better choice
    Feel free to contact ustech@gskillusa.com or use our G.Skill Q&A Sub-Forum, if having any questions about G.Skill products

    Check out our items on NewEgg

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    Could you post the auto values inspected by memset just for reference?
    Thank you.
    I have formula if possible.
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Spyrus View Post
    Could you post the auto values inspected by memset just for reference?
    Thank you.
    I have formula if possible.
    we will have it in PDF soon
    Feel free to contact ustech@gskillusa.com or use our G.Skill Q&A Sub-Forum, if having any questions about G.Skill products

    Check out our items on NewEgg

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    625
    Dfi P35 LanParty
    Does this mean the whole series? I have the DK P35 model and thinking of going for a 4 x 2GB setup.
    'He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose' - Jim Elliot
    Click on the pic to download a free pdf sample of the bestselling book!


  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by G.S Technician View Post
    all tested with 8GB 4DIMM DDR2 1066 2v

    compatible motherboards (PDF manual will be out soon)

    Abit IX38
    Asus X38 Maximus Formula
    Asus P5K Deluxe


    update @ 2/14/08

    Hi

    I have a Maximus Formula (bios 0906) with GSkill 8500 2x2GB.

    I cannot get it to post with both sticks of RAM in the computer. Either stick alone is no problem. The LCD poster freezes at "DET DRAM".

    I have manually set the bios as follows:

    RAM volts = 2.1
    1066mhz
    2T
    5-5-5-15

    Any help appreciated. Motherboard currently sitting on bench with only a video card, keyboard and mouse plugged in.

    I have achieved post by booting RAM at 800mhz but this produces a constant stream of errors in Memtest86+ v2.0.

    Have I got faulty hardware?

    Thanks

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    can you set tRFC at 52? This is the major impact on Asus.
    Also post your fully timings.
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by Spyrus View Post
    can you set tRFC at 52? This is the major impact on Asus.
    Also post your fully timings.
    Hi Spyrus,

    Thanks for the reply. Please find my bios settings below.

    I'm at 266 FSB (not overclocked yet) with a Q6600 (eventually I will be at 400 FSB or just above because that's what it ran at in my last motherboard).

    I have tried tRFC at AUTO and at 42. 42 is the highest value I can select on the Maximus Formula.

    Transaction Booster and DRAM Static are both at AUTO. But I have tried with both of those disabled. I have also tried with the Northbridge voltage at 1.65v and with the RAM voltage at 2.2v.

    The RAM works perfectly in my friend's P5E.

    Thanks.





    Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
    OC From CPU Level Up : AUTO
    CPU Ratio Control : AUTO
    FSB Frequency : 266
    FSB Strap to North Bridge : AUTO
    PCI-E Frequency: 100
    DRAM Frequency: DDR2-1066
    DRAM Command Rate : 2T
    DRAM Timing Control: Manual
    CAS# Latency : 5
    RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
    RAS# Precharge : 5
    RAS# ActivateTime : 15
    RAS# to RAS# Delay : AUTO
    Row Refresh Cycle Time : AUTO (also tried 42)
    Write Recovery Time : AUTO
    Read to Precharge Time : AUTO

    Read to Write Delay (S/D) : AUTO
    Write to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
    Write to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
    Read to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
    Read to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
    Write to Write Delay (S) : AUTO
    Write to Write Delay (D) : AUTO
    DRAM Static Read Control: AUTO
    Ai Clock Twister : AUTO
    Transaction Booster : AUTO

    CPU Voltage : AUTO
    CPU PLL Voltage : AUTO
    North Bridge Voltage : AUTO
    DRAM Voltage : 2.10
    FSB Termination Voltage : AUTO
    South Bridge Voltage : AUTO
    Loadline Calibration : AUTO
    CPU GTL Reference : AUTO
    North Bridge GTL Reference : AUTO
    DDR2 Channel A REF Voltage : AUTO
    DDR2 Channel B REF Voltage : AUTO
    DDR2 Controller REF Voltage : AUTO
    SB 1.5V Voltage : AUTO

    NB LED Selection : NB Volt
    SB LED Selection : SB Volt
    CPU LED Selection : CPU Volt
    Voltiminder LED : ENABLED

    CPU Spread Spectrum : Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by pee4 View Post
    Hi

    I have a Maximus Formula (bios 0906) with GSkill 8500 2x2GB.

    I cannot get it to post with both sticks of RAM in the computer. Either stick alone is no problem. The LCD poster freezes at "DET DRAM".

    I have manually set the bios as follows:

    RAM volts = 2.1
    1066mhz
    2T
    5-5-5-15

    Any help appreciated. Motherboard currently sitting on bench with only a video card, keyboard and mouse plugged in.

    I have achieved post by booting RAM at 800mhz but this produces a constant stream of errors in Memtest86+ v2.0.

    Have I got faulty hardware?

    Thanks
    I get "DETDRAM" as well on Cold Boots, Restarts, and pretty much whenever the RAM just doesn't want to behave properly. Search my posts, you'll be able to see easily. Seeing this RAM on the QVL list was one of the reasons I decided to go with the 4GB PK.

    Just today, restarted my PC to lower vcore and NBv which should be no problem to post, and DETDRAM. Remove HK's, put in ddr2-800 stick to go into Bios and restore settings. Restart, unplug, put in HK's and DETDRAM. Restart, DETDRAM. Put in 800 stick, up vdimm, restart, put in HK's and sometimes it will POST. Then I pretty much work with that until I ABSOLUTELY have to restart. Regardless of voltages on vdimm,nbv,vcore. I even tried bumping the DDR2 Reference Volts up +10mv on each channel.

    Heard part of the bug is SPD table related because of the huge variance in default vcore on 800 vs. 1066 2.35v on 2GB HK's.

    The HK's for me involved buying a 3rd stick of RAM to set the bios properly. Even then, DETDRAM, voltages go to default, have to remove the RAM and recalibrate with 800, to get it to POST.

    That is not have it is suppose to work. Board defaults to ddr2-800 1.9v, SPD Table should too. So I requested an RMA today for my 2GB HK's, and I'm gonna pray that DETDRAM is a non-issue with these 4GB PKs.

    Oh man I hope this isn't the case. Hopefully it's just user error on some bios setting like Trans Booster being disabled-0 for 333, and enabled-0 for 400.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...postcount=5537

    This might be helpful. For 2x2GB sticks try the combinations for PL=tRD=8 first and then try for PL=7.

    You have many auto values.
    Try these:

    Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
    OC From CPU Level Up : AUTO
    CPU Ratio Control : 8
    FSB Frequency : 266
    FSB Strap to North Bridge : 266
    PCI-E Frequency: 100
    DRAM Frequency: DDR2-1066
    DRAM Command Rate : 2T
    DRAM Timing Control: Manual
    CAS# Latency : 5
    RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
    RAS# Precharge : 5
    RAS# ActivateTime : 15
    RAS# to RAS# Delay : AUTO
    Row Refresh Cycle Time : AUTO (Really that will do it you can check that with memset or bios if is 52)
    Write Recovery Time : AUTO
    Read to Precharge Time : AUTO

    Read to Write Delay (S/D) : AUTO
    Write to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
    Write to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
    Read to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
    Read to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
    Write to Write Delay (S) : AUTO
    Write to Write Delay (D) : AUTO
    DRAM Static Read Control: Disabled
    Ai Clock Twister : Light
    Transaction Booster : Disabled
    Level : 2

    CPU Voltage : AUTO
    CPU PLL Voltage : AUTO
    North Bridge Voltage : 1.55V
    DRAM Voltage : 2.0
    FSB Termination Voltage : AUTO
    South Bridge Voltage : AUTO
    Loadline Calibration : AUTO
    CPU GTL Reference : 0.63x
    North Bridge GTL Reference : 0.67x
    DDR2 Channel A REF Voltage : AUTO
    DDR2 Channel B REF Voltage : AUTO
    DDR2 Controller REF Voltage : AUTO
    SB 1.5V Voltage : AUTO

    NB LED Selection : NB Volt
    SB LED Selection : SB Volt
    CPU LED Selection : CPU Volt
    Voltiminder LED : ENABLED

    CPU Spread Spectrum : Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled

    But you will have more luck especially with strap 333 and divider 5:6 bringing memories on 1000+. Put definitely auto at tRFC.
    Last edited by Spyrus; 02-18-2008 at 12:15 AM.
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by Spyrus View Post
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...postcount=5537

    This might be helpful. For 2x2GB sticks try the combinations for PL=tRD=8 first and then try for PL=7.
    Handy chart for figuring out Performance levels, I'm currently giving it another go after see that.

    Edit: DETDRAM on Cold Boot still and issue. SPD Tables are too low for this to boot on 1.9v even defaulting to 800. I can reboot just fine, trying to Cold Boot is a no go. Once everything defaults due to failed overclock, DETDRAM on Boot up.
    Last edited by .OCX; 02-17-2008 at 04:55 PM.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    Put them on white slots.
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    234
    Are they compatible with Asus P5E X38 chipset? I would guess they are as the Maximus Formula is and they are fairly similar.
    Asus P5Q Deluxe (P5QD1406) || Q9400 at 3.4GHz || 2x2GB Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 || HIS HD 4870 1GB w/ Scythe Musashi (silent) || 501GB Samsung HD || Zalman ZM850-HP || Antec P182 || Windows 7 x64 RTM

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by .OCX View Post
    Handy chart for figuring out Performance levels, I'm currently giving it another go after see that.

    Edit: DETDRAM on Cold Boot still and issue. SPD Tables are too low for this to boot on 1.9v even defaulting to 800. I can reboot just fine, trying to Cold Boot is a no go. Once everything defaults due to failed overclock, DETDRAM on Boot up.
    I had also warm boot issues and that is done at certain fsb/divider/multiplier combinations.

    For example tried 9x450@540 boots/reboots fine
    8x450@540 reboot no go & 9x449@538 no reboot / boot.
    So try to change a little fsb +/-1,2
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    111
    I did some experimenting today...

    Calibration Stick: Super Talent 800 on QVL
    Memory: 2GB 1066HK

    Slots:A1 A2 B1 B2
    using 444x9 ddr2-1183 400 Strap
    Performance level 7,8,9 have no effect on stability past DETDRAM.

    -Put 800 stick in A2
    -Failed Overclock, Enter Bios, Change nothing...hit F10
    -Save then Restarts
    -Pull Power Cord before it boots the Overclock settings.
    -Take out 800 completely.
    -Put in GSkills in A2 and B1
    -Power Up Computer, Mobo Shuts down with new SPD
    -I then Pulled the Plug before it Powers up again.
    -Put B1 stick in B2 slot for DC mode.
    -Plug in Cable, Power Up PC
    -PC POSTs and passes DETDRAM.

    I've heard of the B1 slot trick, is this along those same lines?

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by G.S Technician View Post
    all tested with 8GB 4DIMM DDR2 1066 2v

    compatible motherboards (PDF manual will be out soon)

    Asus X38 Maximus Formula
    Confirmed Compatibility.

    -No more DETDRAM issues.
    -Boot even on Failed Overclocks at default 1.8v Max Formula uses.
    -333 Strap currently Testing: Will push tonight.
    -All Timings on Auto on DRAM @ 1.98~2.1v
    -tRFC 52 on Auto

  21. #21
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    715
    Two to report:
    Using just two DIMMs, not four, DFI P35-T2RL was almost stable (Pass 7 of 8, Test 6, 181 successive errors).
    5000+ Black Edition with a DFI 790FX-M2R was a C1 and did not boot.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    557
    I have struggled for long to make my G.Skill PC8000 stable on ASUS P5K Pro. Nothing seemed to help, i could not make it pass Linpack.

    Recently ASUS released new BIOS with wider selection of tRFC. I tried tRFC 55, and magically all errors gone! Previously it was set by SPD at 52, and maximum manually selectable value was 42.

    Previously I have tested it on Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P, which had wide selection
    of tRFC from the beginning, and could not make it stable regardless of tRFC. So i decided tRFC can't be possibly a culprit here. I was wrong.

    So, for this memory tRFC 52 is NOT enough at 1000MHz.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    I have tried Powerchips (On Abit and Maximus Formula) the Mushkin XP6400@4-4-4-12 and Redlines@1000@5-5-5-15 both could boot at 1000 with tRFC 43 but to past 520+ tRFC has to be 52, but 55 is too high i think
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    557
    Quote Originally Posted by Spyrus View Post
    I have tried Powerchips (On Abit and Maximus Formula) the Mushkin XP6400@4-4-4-12 and Redlines@1000@5-5-5-15 both could boot at 1000 with tRFC 43 but to past 520+ tRFC has to be 52, but 55 is too high i think
    To pass Linpack 64b at 1000MHz then 8GB is installed,G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ needs tRFC 55 (maybe less 54-53, have not tried ), 52 is not enough. Regardless of voltage.
    Last edited by Cronos; 03-04-2008 at 02:33 AM.

  25. #25
    PDF manual is up
    please see 1st post
    Feel free to contact ustech@gskillusa.com or use our G.Skill Q&A Sub-Forum, if having any questions about G.Skill products

    Check out our items on NewEgg

Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •