Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 41

Thread: More fun with 3870X2 - LN2 first day

  1. #1
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584

    More fun with 3870X2 - LN2 first day

    Some of you will have been following the progress of my ghetto mounting plate for running two pots on one 3870X2 here:

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=176230

    Well, after some intital hurdles and troubleshooting, i finally pulled some results, and pretty decent ones at that
    While the scores are "low" for what i expected, im sure with RAM tweaking, vMEM/clock testing (yet to happen), and more LN2 (ran out after ~40L) i could have grabbed the ultimate top spots in both '06 and '03

    I find the 3870X2 to be a "fragile" card compared to the brute force nVidias im used to.
    Temperature played an important role, but not in the ways i had expected.
    I was actually running these tests below at only -20 to -30C on the pot faces.
    If i let the pots get too cold for too long, the exposed areas of the card (to allow the power circuits to breathe) would ice up and then i would hit walls being unable to run any GT all the way thru.
    Unfortunately it took me about 20L and 2-3hrs to find that out
    But you'll be pleased to know that the GPU's were more than happy playing at -90C or more.

    Furthermore voltages are funny buggers, with differences between idle and load, GPU1 and GPU2, temperature dependency, etc. In the end i would have to recheck/adjust) my volts before every run. At one point i even had to resolder the tiny GPU2 mod while still set up when i was having some troubles.

    So without further ado:

    3DMark'06 - 26k
    QX9770 @ 5350MHz on Kayl Pot Rev 2
    Gigabyte GA-X48T-DQ6 Rev 1.1 (vCore mod)
    Patriot DDR3 "1866MHz" @ crappy speed and 7-7-7-16 1T (untweaked)
    Retail Powercolor 3870X2 @ 1066/1062 real on 2x Kayl GPU Pots (vcore/vmem)
    WD5000AAKS SATA @ 115MHz PCI-E freq.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KTIMrTHthAw
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=5169124





    And earlier on during testing:

    3DMark'03 - 80k
    QX9770 @ 5350MHz on Kayl Pot Rev 2
    Gigabyte GA-X48T-DQ6 Rev 1.1 (vCore mod)
    Patriot DDR3 "1866MHz" @ crappy speed and 7-7-7-16 1T (untweaked)
    Retail Powercolor 3870X2 @ 999/1044 real on 2x Kayl GPU Pots (vcore/vmem)
    WD5000AAKS SATA @ 115MHz PCI-E freq.

    Last edited by T_M; 02-10-2008 at 08:37 AM.

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    368
    Awesome results way to go! Amazing over clock on the gpu's! Now to get another one and try this again in crossfire!

    Your sig shows different frequencies for the GPU's than the gpu-z program does... why is that?
    Thermaltake Xaser VI Case
    ASUS P7P55 Motherboard
    Intel i7 870
    AMD 4870X2
    8 gigs of OCZ Fatal1ty DDR3
    CoolIt Boreas 12 TEC CPU cooler
    Coolermaster UCP-1100W PSU


    Quote Originally Posted by {GOD}Raptor22
    I find it exceedingly humorous how you sit here and continue to play keyboard warrior even though you know you are wrong.

  3. #3
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    Firstly, my sig is from hwbot, and that is a different result showing currently (lag).
    Secondly, GPU-Z seems not to show the correct clocks for my 3870X2 since i installed the latest beta drivers. It shows up in GPU-Z as half of actual speed.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,425
    Excellent speeds!

    How much vgpu you needed for that speed?
    RiG1: Ryzen 7 1700 @4.0GHz 1.39V, Asus X370 Prime, G.Skill RipJaws 2x8GB 3200MHz CL14 Samsung B-die, TuL Vega 56 Stock, Samsung SS805 100GB SLC SDD (OS Drive) + 512GB Evo 850 SSD (2nd OS Drive) + 3TB Seagate + 1TB Seagate, BeQuiet PowerZone 1000W

    RiG2: HTPC AMD A10-7850K APU, 2x8GB Kingstone HyperX 2400C12, AsRock FM2A88M Extreme4+, 128GB SSD + 640GB Samsung 7200, LG Blu-ray Recorder, Thermaltake BACH, Hiper 4M880 880W PSU

    SmartPhone Samsung Galaxy S7 EDGE
    XBONE paired with 55'' Samsung LED 3D TV

  5. #5
    Looking good Tim!

    Do you a view on what the cards will be capable of in the future? 1,2G core, maybe 1,3G?
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    24
    the score is more inline with two 3870's running in crossfire.
    But, nice score man, too bad 3870X2 is still bandwidth limited as two
    2900XT's can out take an 3870X2.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,702
    Nice one dude Amazing score , hope that with proper system tweaking (generally talking) you 'll be able to climb up to the first place of 3870X2 Now, give us some more results with the card @ -90 C

  8. #8
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    865
    great results bro, keep pushing it to the limit

  9. #9
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Plastic spray ALL over the Card and insulate everything on it....
    Nice start btw....
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  10. #10
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    10009
    Posts
    3,701
    NiceJob! congrats to 80k 03 is amazing!

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    162
    Awesome bench!
    Intel e8500@4000MHz@1.36v|OCZ Vanquisher|Asus P5e3ws Professional|2*1024 OCZ PC12800 D9GTR@1600MHz@7/6/6/x@1.92v|Point of View 8800GTS 512MB@730/1825/2000MHz|Stock Cooling|Seagate 500GB 7200.12|Enermax 460w|Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 4
    Administrator and Editor of Uranium Backup Blog
    Administrator and Editor of Hymn to Future

  12. #12
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    nice job Tim
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  13. #13
    Xtreme 3D Team Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    small town in Indiana
    Posts
    2,296
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Firstly, my sig is from hwbot, and that is a different result showing currently (lag).
    Secondly, GPU-Z seems not to show the correct clocks for my 3870X2 since i installed the latest beta drivers. It shows up in GPU-Z as half of actual speed.
    use the drop down at the bottom and select the other core, by default gpu-z selects the slave core first.
    QX 9650 5ghz with 1.55v 4.8ghz with 1.5v 24/7 in a VAPOLI V-2000B+ Single stage phase cooling.
    DFI LP LT X-38 T2R
    2X HD4850's water cooled , volt modded
    Thermaltake 1KW Psu
    4x Seagate 250GB in RAID 0
    8GB crucial ballistix ram

  14. #14
    Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    1,052
    nice results Tim, i was waiting for someone to try X2 on subzero, it looks amazing
    Quote Originally Posted by AndreYang View Post
    I think mine is better.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kichroa !
    Posts
    233
    why does this setup remind me of a power plant ??
    kinda looks like it with 3 tube's sticking out like that.

    anyways, great results. Awsome speed, but you should be able to get a bit higher.
    cpu : e6850 @ 3.5ghz
    cooler : boxed
    mem : balistix 8500 @ 1000mhz 4-4-4-4
    board : asus p5k-e wifi
    graphics : 7800gtx
    harddisk : wd raptor 74gb
    dvd : nec 7173A
    dvdrw : optiarc 18x
    psu : enermax liberty 620W
    screen : dell 3007wfp hc

  16. #16
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    George, the entire backside of the card is sprayed already.
    The frontside is totally coated in nailpolish except for the heatsink interfaces.
    Its just those darn hot little chips giving me troubles and preventing me from pushing the temps far lower.
    Do you mean to also insulate/cover those little hot ones too?

    Last edited by T_M; 02-10-2008 at 06:58 PM.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    229
    Nice work T_M, very nice results.
    Core 2 duo E8400 @ 4.2Ghz | Swiftech H20 Apex Ultra Plus | 2GB OCZ Reaper HPC PC8500 @ 1066 4-4-4-4 | 320GB WD + 640GB WD | 512MB 8800GT @ 700/1900 | Antec 900 | 22" Dell E228WFP + 22" Asus VW222U | Logitech G9 + G15 | Asus P5K-E WiFi | Running on a 380W Antec NeoHE
    - Me @ HWBOT

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pune,India
    Posts
    221
    Excellent scores there Tim....once those hot lil buggers get fixed, i guess you are set

  19. #19
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Tim
    how are you cooling that middle heatsink
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  20. #20
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    The middle heatsink has a very small area to recieve air from, and i am blowing a delta from 5cm away straight at it between the two pot's insulations.
    It seems to be ok for whatever i can throw at it, until the heatsink and surrounding area on it ice up. I then get crashes in GT1, and also my voltages go haywire. After i "defrost" teh card up to -10C for a while, it will go back to normal.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    152

    Talking

    GREAT SCORES Guys

    : My HWbot Sig can't hold any more Awards

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    istanbul
    Posts
    515
    Great scores
    Liquid Nitrogen -196c
    THE POWER

  23. #23
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    George, the entire backside of the card is sprayed already.
    The frontside is totally coated in nailpolish except for the heatsink interfaces.
    Its just those darn hot little chips giving me troubles and preventing me from pushing the temps far lower.
    Do you mean to also insulate/cover those little hot ones too?
    No.....I mean plastic spray EVERYWERE on the card exept the mos-fets that you'll put heatsinks on....

    BTW.....After some todays mods of mine on it, I got 1000MHz/1150MHz ON AIR out of it.....I wonder what shall it do under LN2 now.....

    P.S. DON'T feed the Crosslink chip over 1.3VCore coz it does worse....
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  24. #24
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    No.....I mean plastic spray EVERYWERE on the card exept the mos-fets that you'll put heatsinks on....
    Which is the same as insulating every component with nail polish right?

    Nice gains there man, presume thats from your cap mods?
    LOL @ vmodding crosslinx

  25. #25
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Which is the same as insulating every component with nail polish right?

    Nice gains there man, presume thats from your cap mods?
    LOL @ vmodding crosslinx
    Nail polish CAN'T handle subzero temps and it "breaks" and then you have "leaks" from it.....
    Find a plastic spray that can handle at least -40*C so to be sure.....

    I use PLASTIK (German spray) down to -70*C...

    Yes Vmoding Crosslinx, can handle the "bandwidth" of the VCAs...
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •