Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27

Thread: Nice results: Q9300 @ Intel boxed (56K warning)

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Germany/Bavaria
    Posts
    463

    Nice results: Q9300 @ Intel boxed (56K warning)

    ZoLKoRn's Thread inspired me for sharing my Q9300 results I've done a few weeks ago.

    Setup:
    Asus P5B "Vanilla" BIOS 1803 (VMods: VCore, VDroop, VMch, VDimm)
    Core 2 Q9300 ES
    OCZ 2*1GiB DDR2-800 "Crossfire"
    Club3D Geforce 6600GT
    Silverstone OP1000


    Let's have a look:

    Nice VCore:




    First try and I had success:




    Probably one of the ugliest runs ever according to efficiency, LOL




    4 Cores working and 490 Mhz FSB:




    1M must not fail of course:




    These are NOT my best results, I reached 492 Mhz FSB yet (screens of PiFast, SPi 1M and WPrime 32M exists, but not on hand on my internet pc. I will push the CPU again when 8800GS-testing is finished.

    PS: Can anybody tell me how to shrink the attached images? Even if scores are nice, there's no reason to show them twice.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Hyperhorn; 02-16-2008 at 03:03 PM.
    The Initial value finished
    ...
    PI calculation is done!


    Quote Originally Posted by Zeus View Post
    Software tweaks are not for sale.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    674
    Very niceSeems that they don't have FSb problems after all

  3. #3
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,786
    hangin out to see more of these q9300's.
    will 6 - 12 mb cache make difference; i'll waitnsee.

    q9550|GTX480|3x2GBDDR2|P5Q-Pro 1613|640GB WD X2|Hitachi 7K3000 2TB|Vista 32+64 dual boot|BenQ G2420

  4. #4
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Athens , Hellas
    Posts
    556
    The multiplier is very low and even 550X8 is not enough for a lot of people.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Germany/Bavaria
    Posts
    463
    That's true, even if my Q9300 is a nice piece of hardware I would recommend a Q9450: Doubled L2-Cache, higher multiplier and still cheap. With a realistic FSB wall at 475 Mhz you will have 3.8 Ghz which is about a Q6600 @ 4 Ghz with less power consumption and due to that acceptable for air cooling.
    The Initial value finished
    ...
    PI calculation is done!


    Quote Originally Posted by Zeus View Post
    Software tweaks are not for sale.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,786
    then who will buy 9300? have to see how much real price diff between 9300-9450 and q6600 of course. throw em all in the pot and see what is best value.

    "most people" will get e8400 then if "550x8" isnt enuf.

    q6600 and q9300 supposedly on price par - which one for "most people" air cooled.?

    q9450 will be more expensive....and not "cheap" for "most people" imo...but it may be the best value...or just the one that outclocks/outperforms an oced q6600...

    need $$/performance points comparison
    Last edited by adamsleath; 02-08-2008 at 03:17 PM.

    q9550|GTX480|3x2GBDDR2|P5Q-Pro 1613|640GB WD X2|Hitachi 7K3000 2TB|Vista 32+64 dual boot|BenQ G2420

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    371
    Quote Originally Posted by adamsleath View Post
    then who will buy 9300?
    I agree. The low multiplier put much more pressure on you motherboard being able to run the quad at nice high fsb's to achieve this ~3.6Ghz performance.

    That being said, thanks Hyperhorn for sharing your results


    CPU's:- Xeon 3060 | Q6600 G0
    Mobos:- MSI X48C (Coming!) | MSI X38 Platinum | Asus P5K Deluxe
    RAM:- Kingston HyperX PC3-14400 | Team Xtreem PC2-6400C3 | Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400 | Kingston PC2-9600
    Graphics:- PNY 9800GX2 | EVGA 8800GTX
    PSUs :- Antec TPQ-1KW | Ultra X-Pro 600w EE
    Cooling:- Nozzled FuZion | MCW60 | DDC w/ DDCT-01s | PA120.3

  8. #8
    Champion
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    1,377
    Very nice! and look good for lower Vcore don't know why my chip like high Vcore

    Sorry For My English
    OverclockZone Team
    THAILAND

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Germany/Bavaria
    Posts
    463
    During 8800GS/384-tests i was really stressed out, because system gets unstable above 470 Mhz FSB. Sorry, I don't feel like testing Q9300 again at the moment, 'cause it will be very time-conuming for sure to squeeze out a handful of Mhz.

    BUT 492 Mhz-screens are available now
    Attached Images Attached Images
    The Initial value finished
    ...
    PI calculation is done!


    Quote Originally Posted by Zeus View Post
    Software tweaks are not for sale.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Central CA, USA
    Posts
    117
    Intel Q9550@3.4GHz & BoneTrail X38,
    HD4850@700/1100, G.Skill 3x2GB@1333,
    VelociRaptoRAID, Li'Lfish, DTek+Swiftech H2O

    Intel E2180 @ 2.5GHz & Bad Axe 2,
    ATi HD 2600 Pro / 256MB @ 660/1100,
    Super Talent 4 x 1GB @ 832MHz/4-4-3-7,
    WD5000AAKS, CoolerMaster GeminII/RC690

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Killadelphia
    Posts
    596
    Nice volts., I wonder how much OC it would be at 1.5 volts. seems no problem with fsb at all.
    CPU: INTEL Q9550 E0 @ 3600 1.28V + CORSAIR H50
    GPU: EVGA GTX 480 @ 725/1450/3800
    PPU: EVGA 9800GTX @ 738/1836/2250
    MB: ASUS P5E X38
    RAM: MUSHKIN 2X2GB
    SOUND: X-FI TITANIUM FATAL1TY | LOGITECH Z-5500 | LOGITECH G35
    HDD: WD 76GB X 2 RAPTORS RAID 0 10KRPM | WD 1TB CAVIAR BLACK 32MB STORAGE
    PSU: CORSAIR HX1000W PSU
    OS: WINDOWS 7 PRO X64 OS
    MON: HANNSPREE 28" 1920X1200 RESOLUTION


  12. #12
    xwards
    Guest
    nice results try some more Vcore

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Germany/Bavaria
    Posts
    463
    Thx for the comments

    Voltages(BIOS) used:
    1.35V VCore
    1.55V NB
    1,45V FSB Termination (= max.)
    The Initial value finished
    ...
    PI calculation is done!


    Quote Originally Posted by Zeus View Post
    Software tweaks are not for sale.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    117
    Nice results!! I´ve read somewhere that vCore=>1.45@air, can be quite damaging for these 45nm CPU´s, but i can be wrong

    Try a better cooling system and then give more volts to it
    Sorry for my poor english.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Germany/Bavaria
    Posts
    463
    Yes, degradation is an existing problem, but some guys don't know/ believe it and it becomes a doom loop: After using a high VCore more VCore for the same clock is necessary at shorter intervals.
    I don't have much free-time at the moment, but dice-pot is here.
    The Initial value finished
    ...
    PI calculation is done!


    Quote Originally Posted by Zeus View Post
    Software tweaks are not for sale.

  16. #16
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Quote Originally Posted by Envydia007 View Post
    Nice volts., I wonder how much OC it would be at 1.5 volts. seems no problem with fsb at all.
    It's not advisable to push 1.5 volts through a 45nm quad on air for daily use, that is such a no no Unless you don't care and get another chip a year later...or you are using extreme cooling... or just want to bench some stuff

    Nice clocking chip sir , but such a high FSB is nothing for me 24/7...
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    260
    that is way to low of a multi. you would need a great board to go to a good 4ghz
    HAF 932||ATI 5870| 8Gb Mushkin DDR2 1000 5-5-5-12|DFI UT X48 T2R|
    q6600 b3 lapped 3.8Ghz 1.48V real|pc & power cooling 750 quad|OCZ Cryo-z| Ek 5870 Block|Black Ice 240 Rad.|MCP355 XSPC res top
    Most teenagers (some adults, as well) have changed to decide that rap sounds musical. If you haven't, put this in your signature.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    281
    Nice results



    OVERCLOCK TEAM HOLLAND

    http://www.overclocking-holland.nl/

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Germany/Bavaria
    Posts
    463
    Thx for your comments!

    I will test P965 strap tweaks for some SPi improvements @hwbot.
    The Initial value finished
    ...
    PI calculation is done!


    Quote Originally Posted by Zeus View Post
    Software tweaks are not for sale.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    558
    Wait.. this is done on a p5b vanilla?
    I thought these boards sucked for OC'ing? do bios updates make it OC better?
    cause i got one laying around doing nothing
    Rig 1:
    Intel E4300 @ 3Ghz - 2gb OCZ PC2-8500 - Asus P5N-e SLI - Club3d 9600gt @ 750/1950/1100Mhz - Vista 64

    Rig 2:
    Intel celeron L420 @ 2.6Ghz - 2gb OCZ PC2-6400 - Asus P5B - XFX 8800GS 384mb - XP 32

    Laptop
    Acer Aspire 3610, Pentium M725 OC @ 2.23Ghz - 2gb PC2-3200 - crappy Intel I915 gfx

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    [EU] Latvia, Jelgava
    Posts
    1,739
    Quote Originally Posted by DMH View Post
    Very niceSeems that they don't have FSb problems after all
    I tested few Q93, noone could hit 500FSB on various boards. Some of these boards can hit 550FSB with Kentsfield. And 580+ on Wolfdale.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Germany/Bavaria
    Posts
    463
    @triple_A: P5B Vanilla is a good choice, just try it. The same Q9300 can't boot Windows at 450 Mhz on a Gigabyte P35-DS3 (rev 1.0), >40 Mhz less than on my P5B...
    The Initial value finished
    ...
    PI calculation is done!


    Quote Originally Posted by Zeus View Post
    Software tweaks are not for sale.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    558
    Cool, i'll give it a shot then.
    Perhaps trade my p5n-e + e4300 combo for a better cpu.. hmm.
    Rig 1:
    Intel E4300 @ 3Ghz - 2gb OCZ PC2-8500 - Asus P5N-e SLI - Club3d 9600gt @ 750/1950/1100Mhz - Vista 64

    Rig 2:
    Intel celeron L420 @ 2.6Ghz - 2gb OCZ PC2-6400 - Asus P5B - XFX 8800GS 384mb - XP 32

    Laptop
    Acer Aspire 3610, Pentium M725 OC @ 2.23Ghz - 2gb PC2-3200 - crappy Intel I915 gfx

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Germany/Bavaria
    Posts
    463
    You remember my nasty SPi 32M-run?



    There was definetively something wrong, but however the efficiency was very bad because I was just looking for stable clocks, not good scores.

    Now have a look at the attached image.

    --> Better result with 615 Mhz less. Sadly the P5B doesn't like those Cellshocks, but I will join hwbot 32M soon for sure. There's just one guy who did run 32M at 36xx Mhz like my Q9300 can do.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    The Initial value finished
    ...
    PI calculation is done!


    Quote Originally Posted by Zeus View Post
    Software tweaks are not for sale.

  25. #25
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    That's P35 over 965 nicely demonstrated there... most peeps are in love with high FSB but on some boards higher speeds don't necessarily reflect better overal performance..; each board/chipset has it's sweetspot...

    Too bad Intel crippled this CPU with only 6mb cache...
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •