Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 53

Thread: Shorter (non-ref) 3870X2 announced

  1. #26
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    963
    All I need to know is what cooling mounts this uses, I got ome blocks in storage waiting for a decent card to put them onto.

  2. #27
    Diablo 3! Who's Excited?
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado
    Posts
    9,440
    So.. who will be the first company to slap 3 GPUs on a single PCB? Singlecard Tri-fire anyone?

  3. #28
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Bulgaria, Varna
    Posts
    447
    Here is the naked PCB design with the angled bridge chip.

  4. #29
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West hartford, CT
    Posts
    2,792
    Quote Originally Posted by fellix_bg View Post
    Here is the naked PCB design with the angled bridge chip.
    why didnt ati do that in the first place? thats genius
    FX-8350(1249PGT) @ 4.7ghz 1.452v, Swiftech H220x
    Asus Crosshair Formula 5 Am3+ bios v1703
    G.skill Trident X (2x4gb) ~1200mhz @ 10-12-12-31-46-2T @ 1.66v
    MSI 7950 TwinFrozr *1100/1500* Cat.14.9
    OCZ ZX 850w psu
    Lian-Li Lancool K62
    Samsung 830 128g
    2 x 1TB Samsung SpinpointF3, 2T Samsung
    Win7 Home 64bit
    My Rig

  5. #30
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    cannot mount single core waterblocks with this design, there arent 4 mounting holes around each core.

  6. #31
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Vegas ,NV
    Posts
    1,638
    that gecube is sick looking, while I have no need for 4 monitor outputs, two is enough. I could some see needing that

    Gonna wait this one out till the real numbers on the nvidia card come out. My bday is coming up in march, gonna have to bug the gf for one
    ~

  7. #32
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Sacred birth place of Watercooling
    Posts
    4,689
    ok which one should i get ????????????!!!!!!!!!!!??????????
    Quote Originally Posted by skinnee View Post
    No, I think he had a date tonight...

    He and his EK Supreme are out for a night on the town!

  8. #33
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2,838
    Wait until every last model is available until you make a buy. Prices should square out by then as well. Just my opinion.

    For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.

    ..

  9. #34
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Sacred birth place of Watercooling
    Posts
    4,689
    kk
    Quote Originally Posted by skinnee View Post
    No, I think he had a date tonight...

    He and his EK Supreme are out for a night on the town!

  10. #35
    -150c Club Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Northeast, USA
    Posts
    10,823
    cannot mount single core waterblocks with this design, there arent 4 mounting holes around each core.
    Easily solved problem. Make a backplate that hits all the holes and use one or two from bridge chip holes, or simply make a bottom strap for holes and use the top two as well.


    If you have a cooling question or concern feel free to contact me.

  11. #36
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea for mounting my pots on my 3870x2

  12. #37
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Bulgaria, Varna
    Posts
    447
    Once the AIBs come to use smaller bridge chips (the current PLX 5-series is whopping 37*37mm footprint), the overall board layout will take down in size just enough.

  13. #38
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    386
    so the bridge chip doesnt need cooling then, thats good news i wonder who is going to be the first to try dual dtek fuzion GPU's on the referance version (and maybe a passive on the bridge)
    Gaming Box:: q6600 @3.0 :: 9800gtx :: Abit IP35 :: 4gb :: 1.4TB :: akasa eclipse :: Win7
    Development:: PhenomII 955BE @3.2 :: 4200 :: asus M4A785 M Evo :: 1.25TB ::Win7
    Media Centre :: q6600 @3.0 :: x1950pro :: asus p35 epu :: 8gb :: 320 GB :: Lc17B :: Win7
    server:: I7 860 :: p55 gd65 :: 3450 :: 8 TB :: 8gb :: Rebel 12 :: server 2008 R2

  14. #39
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dresden
    Posts
    1,525
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    australian GeCube stock have dual 6-pin connectors and dual ORBs as well
    Quote Originally Posted by mascaras View Post
    yep , this one



    ok, i'm sold! i guess this is gonna be my next vc

  15. #40
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea for mounting my pots on my 3870x2
    Sigged

    Using a custom mount I think single-core blocks can be used. That "common" hole between the cores could be used to secure a crossbar over the blocks. WOnt be the best or most stylish mounting ever, but if it works, it works
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  16. #41
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    *whewt* the first time ive said anything sig worthy.
    Dunno if thats a good thing....

    My idea has developed to what i think now is a workable mounting system for two pots. Hopefully ill make a ghetto stab at it this weekend for some LN2.

  17. #42
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    As long as theres pics its all good
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  18. #43
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dresden
    Posts
    1,525
    there's a review of the gecube on the german site hartware.net. (google translate link)

    they say the fans are not temp controlled and pretty noisy

  19. #44
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    Good because the temp control on my reference design one is terrible, in fact it never ramp up from what i can hear.

  20. #45
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dresden
    Posts
    1,525
    well that might be because its still silent when the fan gets faster. just like the 8800GTS 640MB

  21. #46
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    believe me, at 100% it is loud

  22. #47
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Sacred birth place of Watercooling
    Posts
    4,689
    ATI Radeon 3870X2.. there s a6 pin & 8 pin sockets , do i have to plug the 8 pin plug as well with the 6 pin to make it work ? or just the 6 pin only ?

    cheers
    Quote Originally Posted by skinnee View Post
    No, I think he had a date tonight...

    He and his EK Supreme are out for a night on the town!

  23. #48
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,125
    two 6 pins work

  24. #49
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dresden
    Posts
    1,525
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    believe me, at 100% it is loud
    so is the 8800gts. but it never goes to a 100% in a well-ventilated case.

    which is a good thing imo.

    Quote Originally Posted by disruptfam View Post
    ATI Radeon 3870X2.. there s a6 pin & 8 pin sockets , do i have to plug the 8 pin plug as well with the 6 pin to make it work ? or just the 6 pin only ?
    if you only use 2x6pin you will not be able to oc the card afaik. but i guess that applies only to ocing via the CCC.
    Last edited by Der_KHAN; 02-05-2008 at 10:19 PM.

  25. #50
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    id be concerned bout that bridge chip i knwo when itouch the reverse of my standard one its always fairly warm around the bridge chip..... so im not sure id go for that card IMO mainly becuase id be worried by temps, and i cant see there being many aftermarket coolers that will fit since its none standard?
    MY RIG
    e8500@4.4ghz[24/7]@4.71[max]
    x38 maximus formula SE
    hd3870x2
    2x 500gb 32mb cache drives[raid0]
    2x2gb g.skill pc-8000 ram
    corsair realpower 850w psu
    antec900
    Dual rad WC

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •