Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 77

Thread: Mushkin 4GB XP2-8000 – Return of Redline!

  1. #51
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    207
    Well, even though they run pretty cool compared to other sticks I have, they are actually quite sensitive to ambient temps and cooling. If you run them on their max, a small change in ambient can give you a degrading effect.

    Anyway, hope yours turns out ok.

  2. #52
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by Cronos View Post
    First, priming loads only a small part of memory and the load is rather light.
    That would of course depend on the settings. When using large FFT lengths I'd say that Prime is one of the best memory tests. Running two instances of Prime tests about 3.5 GB on my rig (I have 4GB total). One instance of Prime, or Orthos doublethreaded (single window) allocates about 1.9 GB:

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...1&d=1185849639

  3. #53
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    715
    Anybody know how many PCB layers these modules use?

  4. #54
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    344
    Well, I just wasn't happy with the results these gave me, so they're going back tomorrow. Back to my constantly dying D9 then, I guess...
    - Intel Xeon W3520 #3848A352 D0 @ 4.4GHz
    - DFI LanParty UT X58-T3eH8 (bios 05/08)
    - 3x2GB Corsair Failinator GT 1866MHz 7-8-7-20 (3x2GB Patriot Viper 1600MHz C8 backup...)
    - Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB @ 872/1000
    - ~5TB assorted WD/Seagate
    - SB X-Fi XtremeMusic & Logitech Z-680 THX
    - Tt Toughpower 1200W Modular
    - CM Stacker T01 Black
    - Eizo FlexScan SX2761W 27" & Samsung 226CW 22"

    CPU Loop: MCP655/D5 - Swiftech Apogee GTZ - Thermochilll PA120.3 - YateLoon SL's - 1/2" MasterKleer
    GPU/Chipset Loop: MCP655/D5 - EK-FC4870 X2 Acetal CF - Swiftech MCW30 - Thermochill PA120.3 - YateLoon SL's - 1/2" MasterKleer

  5. #55
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252
    Quote Originally Posted by jagt View Post
    Well, I just wasn't happy with the results these gave me, so they're going back tomorrow. Back to my constantly dying D9 then, I guess...
    How so?

    MotF Bane - 6 AFAIK
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  6. #56
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    149
    isn't this thread title incorrect? XP2 and REDLINE are different lines of memory from Mushkin. and it looks like you tested a different revision from what's currently being sold? plus the ones being sold now are rated 5-5-5-12.

    either way, are these 6 layer? 8 layer pcb? and what ICs?

  7. #57
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252
    Quote Originally Posted by #su View Post
    isn't this thread title incorrect? XP2 and REDLINE are different lines of memory from Mushkin.
    Nope, Redline is just the top end of the XP2 line. See:



    Quote Originally Posted by #su View Post
    looks like you tested a different revision from what's currently being sold? plus the ones being sold now are rated 5-5-5-12.
    I think Brian just changed rating to tras=12, should be the same AFAIK.
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  8. #58
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
    Nope, Redline is just the top end of the XP2 line. See:



    I think Brian just changed rating to tras=12, should be the same AFAIK.
    hmm... i didn't know that. so the REDLINE series is probably higher binned XP2?
    and the only difference between the ones you tested and the ones on newegg is the design on the heat spreader?

    and do you know if they are 8 layer pcb?

  9. #59
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252
    6 layer I think, but I would have to check on that. Ive never heard of Mushkin using 8 TBH.

    No it doesnt mean higher binned XP2, it is the next series up. For Mushkin Series it goes like this:

    XP2 Redline
    XP2
    HP2
    EM2
    Value
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  10. #60
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
    6 layer I think, but I would have to check on that. Ive never heard of Mushkin using 8 TBH.

    No it doesnt mean higher binned XP2, it is the next series up. For Mushkin Series it goes like this:

    XP2 Redline
    XP2
    HP2
    EM2
    Value
    ok. thanks. i've been using crucial exclusively for quite a while now. but i've killed soooooo many D9 sets and their lack of 4gb options has forced me to find a new brand

  11. #61
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252
    I have too man, it hurts to talk about it hehehe. I use D9 for benching only now, and run 4GB kits for 24/7.
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  12. #62
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,972
    I got a kit of this and can run 24/7 at 1050mhz 5-5-5 on a P5E
    Happy with that. I can bench higher of course, but 1050mhz Orthos stable 24+hrs is my gold standard and I was able to do that, so I'm golden at that spot!

    My B7 4gb kits can clock higher, but are so damm expensive that I'm afraid to use them lol, plus the added volts it takes to run them there. I generally keep them at 1ghz at lower volts anyway. Nice that these IC's take the Mhz without huge volts. My sweetspot is 2.1v which I find acceptable .
    it's never fast enough!

  13. #63
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    Unfortunately my sticks do not have EPP profile.
    I have the Maximus Formula and in order to past 1000MHz
    i need a tRFC>43. But on auto or manual 42 is the top i can set.

    I have bought them in Greece.
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  14. #64
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    GO CANUCKS GO!!!
    Posts
    400
    Quote Originally Posted by Spyrus View Post
    Unfortunately my sticks do not have EPP profile.
    I have the Maximus Formula and in order to past 1000MHz
    i need a tRFC>43. But on auto or manual 42 is the top i can set.

    I have bought them in Greece.
    On my Maximus Formula, if I leave tRFC set to AUTO I get 52 but on manual the highest you can set it is on 42. Surely a new bios is in order for this wider range as the chipset obviously is capable of the much looser timing.

    i7 3770K
    ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe
    16GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
    240GB HyperX SSD
    EVGA GTX 680 SC+
    X-Fi Fatality
    Corsair AX1200


  15. #65
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    Tested on Abit Quad GT which have manual values up to tRFC = 70
    i needed as i said tRFC = 43.
    In order to go further tRCF needs to be 52.
    So even if EPP profile is for nvidia chipsets (i hope it is not that wrong)
    can help here to put 52 by using auto.
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  16. #66
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    A solution that worked with me by setting spd to tRFC = 52
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=177508
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  17. #67
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    4
    probably a dumb question here, but if these Redlines are Powerchips as -n7- says, are the guys @ Mushkin using D9's for anything?

    I'm specifically looking for a 2x2gb kit - and was hoping to get a kit from Mushkin, either the Redlines mentioned in this thread or these PC2-6400 XP2's

    I checked r00n's RAM list, and neither of these kits are mentioned specifically - the same kits are listed, but diff. stock #'s, leading me to believe that if the Redline's are now using Powerchips, the XP2's probably are also...
    Q6600 * DFI LT-P35-T2R * 2gb OCZ Reaper DDR2-800

    EVGA 8800 GTS (G92) * Seagate 250gb + 320gb 7200.10's

    PC P+C Silencer 610 * Vista Ultimate x86

    Cooler Master Stacker 830

  18. #68
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    Yes Redlines and XP6400@4-4-4-12 both use Powerchips.
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  19. #69
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Spyrus View Post
    Yes Redlines and XP6400@4-4-4-12 both use Powerchips.
    Don_Dan mentions here that I should take note of some of the 2x2gb Powerchip kits that have come out recently - do either of those Mushkin kits fit the bill? I'm looking for some great RAM that will OC well, and be stable 24/7 doing F@H, gaming, a little Photoshop/GIMP, and general Net/e-mail stuff...

    by OC well, I mean a PC2-6400 thru PC2-8500 kit that will do a solid 150-200mhz over stock. I'm not asking for a world-record kit here.

    I've RMA'd two Ballistix kits - one failed after a month, and the other failed MemTest86+ right after installation - and I'm not thrilled w/the OCZ Reaper kit that I'm using as a stand-in for the Ballistix...maybe I'm asking too much?
    Last edited by razorcanes; 03-12-2008 at 05:58 AM.
    Q6600 * DFI LT-P35-T2R * 2gb OCZ Reaper DDR2-800

    EVGA 8800 GTS (G92) * Seagate 250gb + 320gb 7200.10's

    PC P+C Silencer 610 * Vista Ultimate x86

    Cooler Master Stacker 830

  20. #70
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    The Powerchips clock the same if they are the PC6400@4-4-4-12 or the PC8000@5-5-5-15 ones. On most cases both reach ~530@5-5-5-15.
    If you need something beyond that up to 560 on most cases then you need the PC8500@5-5-5-15 ones. All are powerchips just different binding.
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  21. #71
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252
    Quote Originally Posted by razorcanes View Post
    by OC well, I mean a PC2-6400 thru PC2-8500 kit that will do a solid 150-200mhz over stock. I'm not asking for a world-record kit here.
    You arent going to see 150-200 mhz over stock on any pc8000 or 8500 kit. For these chips you can expect 530-560Mhz @ 5-5-5 and low volts.
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  22. #72
    D.F.I Pimp Daddy
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Still Lost At The Dead Show Parking Lot
    Posts
    5,182
    Quote Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
    So true and unfortunate. You have to build brand loyalty from good support and quality products because exclusive chip supply is a thing of the past. Just remember it is not about who can build and sell a part the cheapest..

    Quote Originally Posted by EnJoY View Post
    I hate to say Brother, but that's complete bunk, and the results in this thread help to prove that.
    Very true Eldonko and also very true Enjoy I tend to go with what I have had the best overall experience with when selecting hardware and as said its not about getting the cheapest for me I choose and select part from my overall experience with the Product, manufacture , Support and customer Service by the Manufacture, Performance and Reliability and the Quality of the Product.

    So as I said you both are right but hey thats me and each to their own right?


    Besides I am going by 939 DDR500 Redline expectations and whos to say I am right with that train of thought?


    But anyway $125.00 for 2x2gb Redlines is way cheap and a steal and a half/
    Last edited by Brother Esau; 03-16-2008 at 05:46 PM.
    SuperMicro X8SAX
    Xeon 5620
    12GB - Crucial ECC DDR3 1333
    Intel 520 180GB Cherryville
    Areca 1231ML ~ 2~ 250GB Seagate ES.2 ~ Raid 0 ~ 4~ Hitachi 5K3000 2TB ~ Raid 6 ~

  23. #73
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252
    Quote Originally Posted by Brother Esau View Post
    But anyway $125.00 for 2x2gb Redlines is way cheap and a steal and a half/
    Very true, <3 DDR2 prices in general right now. I remember paying $500 a 2GB kit last year, now that sucked lol.
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  24. #74
    D.F.I Pimp Daddy
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Still Lost At The Dead Show Parking Lot
    Posts
    5,182
    Yeah I know I see a whole lot of people belly aching about the Price I just don't get that one at all like you said eldonko $500.00 for a set of DDR2 was the going rate a year ago for the good stuff
    SuperMicro X8SAX
    Xeon 5620
    12GB - Crucial ECC DDR3 1333
    Intel 520 180GB Cherryville
    Areca 1231ML ~ 2~ 250GB Seagate ES.2 ~ Raid 0 ~ 4~ Hitachi 5K3000 2TB ~ Raid 6 ~

  25. #75
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    494
    So these worth getting over some GSkill 4gig sets?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •