X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30

Thread: HOT Flash on a SOLDERED Bios chip.

  1. #1
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797

    Red face HOT Flash on a SOLDERED Bios chip.

    Well.....after a bios flash to my ASUS P5E3 WS Pro a month ago from 306 to 402, the mobo DIDN'T boot up again.....

    Bad flashing?......I don't think so cuz I have flashed and flashed back this mobo 100 times or more....

    Bad flashing?......I don't think so cuz I did the EXACT SAME to my OTHER ASUS P5E3 WS Pro and the EXACT SAME happened....

    So I had 2 x mobos OFF by bios flashing for a month or so.....

    A friend have sent me a Programmer to program the Bios chip with a working bios BUT I HAVEN'T received it up to now....
    I HAVE to bench CF so I did something "odd" to brink my mobos back to life.....

    The bios chips on this mobo and on the new mobos, is SOLDERED on the mobo........So HOW would you "Hot Flash" it as we did back in the old times when we removed the bios chip from it's slot and we plugged another one in it to flash?....

    Here's what I did....


    FIRST you MUST HAVE A SAME working motherboard.....

    Then you UNSOLDER the bios chip from it.....






    Then you take a small screwdriver (or whatever you wish) and put some seal string on it....



    Then you "grab" the bios chip with it (seal string is soft and sticky)....





    ....and you "place it" on its place....







    We PRESS it much and we power up the mobo....

    We go into bios and select "Easy Flash"....

    BEFORE hit the button for it, we REMOVE the bios chip form the mobo and we do the EXACT SAME things we did above with the "bad flashed" bios chip (which is corrupted)....
    We place it with CARE AND STEADY on mobo (its place) and we squeeze it so to be sure that it makes contact....

    BEWARE when you place it on the motherboard's pads....You HAVE TO be gentle with it and "find the target" with ONE "hit"...

    Then we HIT the "Easy Flash" button within bios and we follow the flashing procedure.....AFTER flashing it.....POWER DOWN the mobo, SHUT DOWN the PSU and remove the bios chip.....

    Now you are ready to solder it back on your "dead mobo" so to work it as a charm again....

    Now I have my beauty back....


    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  2. #2
    -100C Club
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    882
    Superb guide

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom, South East England Kent
    Posts
    855
    wow, that's genius. Nice "trick" shame you have to trick it in the first place though...Very cool though

  4. #4
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ace Deuce, Michigan
    Posts
    3,956
    Its a shame that they're not making socket bios chips on asus's newer models, having that is really useful in case you get a bad bios/you're cpu's too new (not recognized), then asus would just send you a new bios chip instead of all the unsoldering etc
    Quote Originally Posted by Hans de Vries View Post

    JF-AMD posting: IPC increases!!!!!!! How many times did I tell you!!!

    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    .....}
    until (interrupt by Movieman)


    Regards, Hans

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Portugal, Lisbon
    Posts
    568
    Mobo's will start to shi(f)t on her's pants before dying up on your hands m8
    Last edited by VoRtAn_MaDgE; 01-03-2008 at 06:19 PM.


    "God...i know she's dead :'( but keep her soul alive because in my heart she will never die :'(" VoRtAn_MaDgE
    Nc te eskecerei avó! :'(

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    221
    Nice 1 m8te

  7. #7
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    8,038
    A Thread Like This Is Sure To Be Handy For A Long Time.

    Thread Stuck.




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pune,India
    Posts
    221
    Wow interesting guide there !
    it takes a genius to come up with such an idea

  9. #9
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Thanks guys and Kunaak........

    I just HAD to do so because I NEEDED to bench CF these days.....
    I had only Blitz Extreme to do it in my hands that does ~300 - 400 2k6 marks lower than the X38 at the exact same frequencies so I desperate needed my mobo back....

    To be honest, I started by making a PCB for the bios chip to do the flashing BUT I had EMI through the long cables of it and it didn't work....I had to solder some capacitors on that PCB to work and I was too bored to do so and keep testing with it so I did as above....
    Last edited by hipro5; 01-03-2008 at 10:15 PM.
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    41
    wow...

    you are amazing...

    ! . . . Because Greeks Do It Better . . . !

  11. #11
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Quote Originally Posted by psilos View Post
    wow...

    you are amazing...
    No, I was desperate.......
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Atlanta GA - USA
    Posts
    844
    I never would have though of that

    I would be the guy soldering different chips with the PC on
    Heatware -> http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51939
    Ebay -> http://myworld.ebay.com/onewhoisplug
    Feel Free to hop in my ventrio server and chat with us
    Vent6.gameservers.com:4498

  13. #13
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    nice stuff George... maybe make some kind of socket interface for the bios chip so you don't have to resolder it back on ??
    ---

  14. #14
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Grimsby, UK
    Posts
    666
    Can anyone tell my why Asus use soldered on bios chips? I know they never used to just checked my Asus A8N-Sli Premium.

    Doesnt make sense, I guess it cuts an extra corner. . .
    i5 2500K @ 4.9GHz MSI Z77 MPower G.Skill Trident 8GB 2400C10
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8GB @ 1784/4004MHz Corsair HX 750 PSU
    Samsung 830 256GB Creative ZxR Thermalright Silver Arrow
    NEC 24WMGX3 24" TFT Fractal Design Define S Win 7/10 64bit

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    33
    Nice guide, i did same to my X800XT PE =)

  16. #16
    Am I the only one who finds 16s PiFast - AMAZING
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    305
    cant you use the spi header to flash without removing the chip?
    intel G860
    asus p8z77-m pro skt1155 bios 1205
    Samsung 2x4b ddr3 1333@1600 8.10.9 1.53v
    MSI gtx560ti twin frozr 1gb
    1x120gb pny prevail elite/1x WD RE4 2TB
    Lg Slimline Dvd/rw sata
    Dell 2405FPW 24"
    Fractal Arc mii
    Xonar DX/Dell soundbar
    Hiper 580watt

    3.9ghz e6300-http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=139796
    http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/1834.html

  18. #18
    ODOC
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    Posts
    2,193
    Really cool George and no massman its not just you, George that pifast is really good.

    Keep soldering it and push it.

  19. #19
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Thanks guys......

    ......and no massman you're not the only one....
    I have another one at 5880MHz at 2.1VCore.....

    @ Oliver: You always make me laught M8 with the "Keep ...." thing of yours.....I REALY LIKE it.... Keep saying it M8.....You're a good guy.....


    Quote Originally Posted by TI66ER View Post
    cant you use the spi header to flash without removing the chip?
    A programmer is coming to my place any time soon, so I will not do this again......Though from that time till now, I have done it OVER 30 times (for practice).....
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    ......and no massman you're not the only one....
    I have another one at 5880MHz at 2.1VCore.....
    That's sub 16s
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,787
    wont u need a ws 64 since the crossfireX drivers are out and u need some 4 card 2900 ln2 45k 3d mark or something like that
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    558
    what about that

    unsolder the chip
    solder on socket in place
    and then place the chip in the socket

    shouldn't this work ?
    CPU : Q9550 / Board : Asus P5E64 WS Evolution / Ram : 2x1 OCZ D9GTR DDR3 / Vga : HD 4870 / PSU : PPC&C 750W / SSD Ocz Vertex 30Gb / All under Water & Tec's
    Overclockers Wannabe Athens Dept...

  23. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    Thanks guys......

    ......and no massman you're not the only one....
    I have another one at 5880MHz at 2.1VCore.....

    @ Oliver: You always make me laught M8 with the "Keep ...." thing of yours.....I REALY LIKE it.... Keep saying it M8.....You're a good guy.....




    A programmer is coming to my place any time soon, so I will not do this again......Though from that time till now, I have done it OVER 30 times (for practice).....
    is it possible to share the programmer specs?
    it would cut some work for me in the working place

  24. #24
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Quote Originally Posted by jfbbms View Post
    is it possible to share the programmer specs?
    it would cut some work for me in the working place
    Unfortunatelly that programmer NEVER came to my place though I have payed for it....
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    Unfortunatelly that programmer NEVER came to my place though I have payed for it....

    ok, thanks
    for me , i have costumers ( work for local store ) that find funny to flash
    asus bios under windows vista 64... the funny disapears when the flash goes
    for the " toilet "

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •