Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28

Thread: Q9550 on Maximus SE

  1. #1
    Xtremely Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    2,479

    Q9550 on Maximus SE

    Just started with this little chip. Not a good one i guess, FSB should be better, with 8.5 multi max this is a waste. Have seen other Q's doin 480~490mhz so this could very wel be just a bad chip. Coretemp doesnt seem to work properly...

    Maximus Formula SE 0903
    Q9550 & Tuniq Tower
    Cellshock PC8000
    Silverstone Zeus 750

    Max FSB with multi 7 (ram 1/1 4-4-4-12)

    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=284796

    Max 1M with 1.35v bios:


    Max 1M with 1.45v bios:

    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=284795

    Have not had much time to play yet but i had a quick look with prime. A little more vcore and 3650mhz shoud do i guess:


    Not a strong chip but fun to play with. Next stop is 3D.
    Last edited by Viss; 12-21-2007 at 04:29 AM.

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,744
    I like my qx9650 a lot more.


    Asus Z9PE-D8 WS with 64GB of registered ECC ram.|Dell 30" LCD 3008wfp:7970 video card

    LSI series raid controller
    SSDs: Crucial C300 256GB
    Standard drives: Seagate ST32000641AS & WD 1TB black
    OSes: Linux and Windows x64

  3. #3
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    Well if it's like the QX6950, peeps will get 3.6ghz with low voltages and less heat output than current Q6600... popularity will depend on the retail price...
    Last edited by Leeghoofd; 12-21-2007 at 06:04 AM.
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    311
    Seems like most everyone is seeing lower max fsb on yorkfield vs. kentsfield.
    2600K | Maximus IV Formula | 12G Corsair 1600 C8 | 2x 6950 | Coolermaster Scout

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands, Friesland
    Posts
    2,244
    I already wondered who bought Rol-co's q9550
    >i5-3570K
    >Asrock Z77E-ITX Wifi
    >Asus GTX 670 Mini
    >Cooltek Coolcube Black
    >CM Silent Pro M700
    >Crucial M4 128Gb Msata
    >Cooler Master Seidon 120M
    Hell yes its a mini-ITX gaming rig!

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Posts
    121
    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=274661

    Max FSB I had was 470. I never got a screenie though.

  7. #7
    Xtremely Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    Well if it's like the QX6950, peeps will get 3.6ghz with low voltages and less heat output than current Q6600... popularity will depend on the retail price...
    Indeed though i do think this particular one might be a bad example. If not a good Q66 G0 wil do Price at launch (at least here and for now) wil be rather high compared to them.

    Quote Originally Posted by ownage View Post
    I already wondered who bought Rol-co's q9550
    Not me although this one might look familiair
    Last edited by Viss; 12-21-2007 at 04:38 PM.

  8. #8
    The Doctor Warboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,597
    Quote Originally Posted by loc.o View Post
    Indeed though i do think this particular one might be a bad example. If not a good Q66 G0 wil do Price at launch (at least here and for now) wil be rather high compared to those.
    I wish I had a Q9650 to play with, So your on a normal Q9550 and your able to do .5 multiples?
    My Rig can do EpicFLOPs, Can yours?
    Once this baby hits 88 TeraFLOPs, You're going to see some serious $@#%....

    Build XT7 is currently active.
    Current OS Systems: Windows 10 64bit

  9. #9
    Xtremely Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    2,479
    Not sure whats first Maximus Formula bios that does the .5 multi. I started with 0401 which doesnt and switched to 0903 for 8.5

  10. #10
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,744
    try 0907 it does.


    Asus Z9PE-D8 WS with 64GB of registered ECC ram.|Dell 30" LCD 3008wfp:7970 video card

    LSI series raid controller
    SSDs: Crucial C300 256GB
    Standard drives: Seagate ST32000641AS & WD 1TB black
    OSes: Linux and Windows x64

  11. #11
    The Doctor Warboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,597
    Quote Originally Posted by safan80 View Post
    try 0907 it does.
    I wish I could do .5s with my Q6600 G0
    My Rig can do EpicFLOPs, Can yours?
    Once this baby hits 88 TeraFLOPs, You're going to see some serious $@#%....

    Build XT7 is currently active.
    Current OS Systems: Windows 10 64bit

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by loc.o View Post
    Not sure whats first Maximus Formula bios that does the .5 multi. I started with 0401 which doesnt and switched to 0903 for 8.5

    602

    903 has the option for selectable half multi's, but doesn't work. 907 lets you select the half multi's.
    Last edited by weescott; 12-21-2007 at 10:20 PM.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Amman, Jordan
    Posts
    140
    n00b question: how come you have this chip? isn’t it supposed to be released later (Feb 2008 or something)?
    and what cooling is used here?

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    494
    Quote Originally Posted by firas View Post
    n00b question: how come you have this chip? isn’t it supposed to be released later (Feb 2008 or something)?
    and what cooling is used here?
    It's an Engineering Sample (ES) and they are given to certain people, and sometimes those certain people sell the chips to other people with a lot of cash.

    He is using air cooling (Tuniq Tower 120).
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Amman, Jordan
    Posts
    140
    Quote Originally Posted by Noob-ftw View Post
    It's an Engineering Sample (ES) and they are given to certain people, and sometimes those certain people sell the chips to other people with a lot of cash.

    He is using air cooling (Tuniq Tower 120).
    that’s nice, well… if anybody has a ES of the Q9450 …. give me a missed call

    is that +200Mhz & +0.5 multi worth picking Q9550 over Q9450? I think this would mean +400Mhz extra performance for additional $220

  16. #16
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    it still will be 200mhz extra at the same FSB speed ( 400 in my example ) in my opinion same money /performance issue as with E6600 and E6700, in the long run they top out at the same frequency...
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  17. #17
    Xtremely Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by firas View Post
    n00b question: how come you have this chip? isn’t it supposed to be released later (Feb 2008 or something)?
    and what cooling is used here?
    Tuniq Tower. A friend of mine gave it to me so i can try it out for a while.

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    28
    just a quick question

    You have the chip at 3657 under load for 45mins stressing 4 cores and its only reading 37 degrees on one of the cores and 29 on the rest?

    Could that be right? i thought they were only a few watts less heat output than the kentsfield?? If thats true thenthis is great news.

    Still though thats a dissappointing duss speed for sure? if heat isnt limiting it i wonder what is? lack of volts??

    maybe it wil take alot of volts to get the higher fbus speed at which point these yorkfields will be running just as hot as their kentsfield predecessors when overclocked....

    confused...

  19. #19
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    Quote Originally Posted by barnacle View Post
    just a quick question

    You have the chip at 3657 under load for 45mins stressing 4 cores and its only reading 37 degrees on one of the cores and 29 on the rest?

    confused...
    Many yorkfields CPU's have this issue, mostly 2 cores are a higher temp ( read sometimes way higher temp ) then the other cores... one core failed here (see the prime error)...
    Till now it seems the FSB of the yorkfields is at or at a lower level then the Kentsfields, though putting out way less heat and needing less Vcore to run the same frequencies... though the lower multi kindda puts off many clockers... as you need higher FSB to achieve the same clocks...
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  20. #20
    INTEL inside
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Québec, Canada
    Posts
    3,265
    I got a Q9550 also. I don't think it will do 4ghz easilly. 3.8ghz is stable, 3.9 maybe. 3.95 is almost the limit. They run really cool

    The problem is the low multi, it's a shame considering they max out at 470-480fsb
    retired computer enthusiast

  21. #21
    KiSUS
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Russia / Moscow
    Posts
    569
    Mine have 470 fsbwall, for stable 4G need more 1.4v - this CPU is all about garbage (((
    Lights, Music, Camera, Action !


  22. #22
    INTEL inside
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Québec, Canada
    Posts
    3,265
    it's not garbage, it's binning
    retired computer enthusiast

  23. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    28
    i wonder if simply giving more volts will get them past the wall if you have tec/phase cooling?
    or is it called a wall for a reason!!

  24. #24
    INTEL inside
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Québec, Canada
    Posts
    3,265
    possibly few more fsb with subzero
    retired computer enthusiast

  25. #25
    Xtremely Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    2,479
    Cold helps for max FSB although not sure how much actuaqly with a quad. Me E6600 did 1M max 550mhz on air, 590mhz on dry ice.

    Quote Originally Posted by barnacle View Post
    just a quick question

    You have the chip at 3657 under load for 45mins stressing 4 cores and its only reading 37 degrees on one of the cores and 29 on the rest?
    core 2 and 3 always on 29 degrees here, think its coretemp.
    Last edited by Viss; 01-09-2008 at 12:48 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •