Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Asus EN8800GT(512mb) with new Glaciator cooling!

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Groningen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    318

    Asus EN8800GT(512mb) with new Glaciator cooling!

    The Asus 8800GT 512mb has got a new cooler. The Glaciator cooler:



    You can read some thing about the cooler here:

    http://www.hardwarezone.com.au/news/...?cid=6&id=9321

    They say 7C cooler, and less sound, so that sounds good!

    My two questions are:

    Is it safe that the memory is not cooled? (also in mind that I read something about chips that gives artificats on a certain speed, maybe this has to do something with the temp?)
    And how about the electric kind of things(on the right side, the side of the pci-e power connector)? You see one copper block, but is that enough, because I think with the reference cooler, they cool the whole right side.., right?)

    In the Netherlands, this is the cheapest 8800GT 512mb(200EUR).
    Last edited by barzi; 12-13-2007 at 11:39 AM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Mentor AliG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ace Deuce, Michigan
    Posts
    3,180
    Ehh, I'd rather see something like HIS's iceq 3 turbo cooling, now that's a nice aftermarket hsf, it has heatpipes, optimised silent fan, not to mention UV reactive (plus it dumps the heat out of the case)

    that looks like their 1gb gt, unless if fudo and exp review both mistaked that aspect

    Quote Originally Posted by Hans de Vries View Post

    JF-AMD posting: IPC increases!!!!!!! How many times did I tell you!!!

    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    .....}
    until (interrupt by Movieman)


    Regards, Hans

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    PL
    Posts
    1
    If it's not too late I have a warning for you - don't buy the new rev of the asus card -it's just crap!

    I got my on friday...
    ...and ok - it has a quiet cooler - not the quietest i've ever heard, but it's ok. And i'm sure it's cooler than the reference one, but i can't even tell if it really is because the thermal sensor isn't doing his job;/ Rivatuner shows 0°C, everest, speedfan and even the asus smartdoctor(or something like that) aren't showing anything. No fanspeed control in riva tuner as well. Searched the web to see if it is only my problem, and it turns out that many(if not every) asus en8800gt with the new cooling has this problem.
    Just take a look:
    link1 - asus forum
    link2
    link3

    I hope that those problems are only temporary(maybe it's only a bios or driver problem), but right now i wouldnt buy that card for the second time.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Groningen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    318
    Thanks man, it isn't too late.
    I nouw want to buy a Jetway 8800GT, is has the new reference cooler(bigger fan). But i had one question:

    In theory this jetway card can overclock as good as like a asus/xfx card right? I never heard of jetway, so i though maybe it's a crap brand or something. But it's all reference design right?

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Czech Republic ______its great!!!!
    Posts
    76
    Quote Originally Posted by BLBK View Post
    If it's not too late I have a warning for you - don't buy the new rev of the asus card -it's just crap!

    I got my on friday...
    ...and ok - it has a quiet cooler - not the quietest i've ever heard, but it's ok. And i'm sure it's cooler than the reference one, but i can't even tell if it really is because the thermal sensor isn't doing his job;/ Rivatuner shows 0°C, everest, speedfan and even the asus smartdoctor(or something like that) aren't showing anything. No fanspeed control in riva tuner as well. Searched the web to see if it is only my problem, and it turns out that many(if not every) asus en8800gt with the new cooling has this problem.
    Just take a look:
    link1 - asus forum
    link2
    link3

    I hope that those problems are only temporary(maybe it's only a bios or driver problem), but right now i wouldnt buy that card for the second time.
    have same problem as you, ask for this on guru3d forum, but no help, there is only:
    Added optional power user oriented BJT calibration feature for F75375S capable display adapters. Unfortunately, due to ASUS VGA BIOS design flaws, their display adapters cannot report correct core temperatures without installing ASUS SmartDoctor software, which performs temperature input 0 bipolar junction transistor (BJT) calibration, virtually patching the flaw of their VGA BIOS. I'm under strong impression, that third party software shouldn't perform such calibration and it must be done only at VGA BIOS level (and should be fixed in ASUS BIOS!!!), that is why this option is not directly available in RivaTuner's GUI. However, power users may activate it by editing CalibrateTemperature0BJT field of [Settings] section in F75373S.cfg file.
    I try:
    in last RT 2.06 I see gpu core temp but value is still 0
    try Ntune 5.05.54.00 or 6.00 Beta or Expertool 5_9_071130, everrest 4.20 no one of this soft show me. Bios VGA is 62.92.16.00.04

    Read this thread, try install asus smart doctor, but I do not know what I must change in file F75373S.cfg in RT/plugins/monitoring

    but still donot know how curectly show GPU
    Do you know someone ???
    Last edited by mundi; 01-02-2008 at 01:55 PM.
    Kde domov můj, kde domov můj?
    Voda huč?:banana: po lučinách, bory šum?:banana: po skalinách,
    v sadě skv?:banana: se jara květ, zemský ráj to na pohled!
    A to je ta krásná země, země česká, domov můj, země česká, domov můj!

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast Timbosan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    596
    asus always use that crappy fintek sensor - go into c:/programfiles/rivatuner - find cfg file for the above stated asus sensor - change calibration mode to yes or whatever it is (soz im at work atm) - intalls smart doctor calibration thing and it should now display your temps.


    right click (i think) the plugin and it will say what its used for & how to calibrate it if you need to )

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member gmod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    407
    Maybe Asus needs to stick with reference design...Because obviously thier non reference is not working. This goes for Mobo's as well...
    Asus Rampage 3 Extreme
    920@4400 1.34(Thanks UTnorris)
    3x2g Gskill Perfect Storm @2000mhz
    2x Asus Gtx480
    300g WD Raptor
    1tb WD Sata 3 Backup
    MMUFO/120.3x3/HK 3.0/EK Nb/sb
    Dell 27"

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Czech Republic ______its great!!!!
    Posts
    76
    Quote Originally Posted by Timbosan View Post
    asus always use that crappy fintek sensor - go into c:/programfiles/rivatuner - find cfg file
    yes, I ask for it on CZ forum, there said me that must change in file F75373S.cfg CalibrateTemperatureBJT0 .... I change value from "0" to "1" (activite) but no chnages,
    I dont know if I must change or somewhere else - viz screen F75373S.cfg

    Quote Originally Posted by Timbosan View Post
    intalls smart doctor calibration thing and it should now display your temps
    what you think ?



    Kde domov můj, kde domov můj?
    Voda huč?:banana: po lučinách, bory šum?:banana: po skalinách,
    v sadě skv?:banana: se jara květ, zemský ráj to na pohled!
    A to je ta krásná země, země česká, domov můj, země česká, domov můj!

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast Timbosan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    596
    damn thought that would work for ya. did you get asus monitoring software (smart doc etc) with it? if so maybe you have to just use that. email or call asus support too if no go with software.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Czech Republic ______its great!!!!
    Posts
    76
    I try of course install smart doctor from CD to VGA,
    and another soft from CD
    no chanage
    Kde domov můj, kde domov můj?
    Voda huč?:banana: po lučinách, bory šum?:banana: po skalinách,
    v sadě skv?:banana: se jara květ, zemský ráj to na pohled!
    A to je ta krásná země, země česká, domov můj, země česká, domov můj!

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    83
    Quote Originally Posted by BLBK View Post
    If it's not too late I have a warning for you - don't buy the new rev of the asus card -it's just crap!

    I got my on friday...
    ...and ok - it has a quiet cooler - not the quietest i've ever heard, but it's ok. And i'm sure it's cooler than the reference one, but i can't even tell if it really is because the thermal sensor isn't doing his job;/ Rivatuner shows 0°C, everest, speedfan and even the asus smartdoctor(or something like that) aren't showing anything. No fanspeed control in riva tuner as well. Searched the web to see if it is only my problem, and it turns out that many(if not every) asus en8800gt with the new cooling has this problem.
    Just take a look:
    link1 - asus forum
    link2
    link3

    I hope that those problems are only temporary(maybe it's only a bios or driver problem), but right now i wouldnt buy that card for the second time.
    any reviews?
    that HSF not good? worse than Zerotherm's Power Color?
    considering those ASUS & Power Color for ATI 3850

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Czech Republic ______its great!!!!
    Posts
    76

    SmartDoc v. 508

    Soooooo.....
    First soft show on Asus 8800GT 512MB glaciator fan currect temp
    If will at this time same problem as me, try use Asus SmartDoc v. 508
    Kde domov můj, kde domov můj?
    Voda huč?:banana: po lučinách, bory šum?:banana: po skalinách,
    v sadě skv?:banana: se jara květ, zemský ráj to na pohled!
    A to je ta krásná země, země česká, domov můj, země česká, domov můj!

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast natedog420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    alpena, michigan
    Posts
    509
    i have the reference asus 8800gt 512mb and the temps read fine and have no problems. see sig for clocks and voltages. im downloading asus smart doctor right now.
    cpu: 2600k@ 4.5ghz
    mobo: asus p8p67 deluxe
    ram: gskill ripjaw x F3-10666CL7D-8GBXH
    gfx: gigabyte gtx460
    psu:corsair 520hx
    case: antec 900
    cpu cooling: Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B

    500mhz cas 3 club: http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=235630
    p4 511 2.8ghz@ 5004mhz :http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=124434
    p4 541 3.2ghz@ 4909mhz :http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=157470

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Czech Republic ______its great!!!!
    Posts
    76
    Yes what I read so first asus 8800gt witk oneslot fan show temp ok,
    but my new asus glacial vga not show temp on anyone sodt what I use, first is SD 508
    and too I cannot change rpm FAN
    Kde domov můj, kde domov můj?
    Voda huč?:banana: po lučinách, bory šum?:banana: po skalinách,
    v sadě skv?:banana: se jara květ, zemský ráj to na pohled!
    A to je ta krásná země, země česká, domov můj, země česká, domov můj!

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member CoNMaN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    139
    Any one have volt-mod´s for this card?

  16. #16
    Xtreme Mentor TEDY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SLOVENIJA
    Posts
    2,602
    so they fixed anything for sensors?
    ASUS P5K-E // E8400 Q746A519
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
    LC 550W GP// XPERTVISION 9600GT

  17. #17
    Xtreme Mentor TEDY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SLOVENIJA
    Posts
    2,602
    tried this one, it bends a lot cause of weight

    Last edited by TEDY; 03-06-2008 at 12:16 AM.
    ASUS P5K-E // E8400 Q746A519
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
    LC 550W GP// XPERTVISION 9600GT

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •