Page 1 of 28 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 692

Thread: Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe (790FX) *Pictures + Benchmarks + Overclocking*

  1. #1
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,910

    Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe (790FX) *Pictures + Benchmarks + Overclocking*

    Hi,

    recieved the board today. I will post more shots and results this weekend!

    *Benchmarks*



    Vista Home Premium 64Bit
    2 x 1GB G.Skill PC8500GBHK
    AMD X2 6000+
    HD2900XT Catalyst 7.10

    Both boards at bios defaults.


    *Overclocking*

    Max. HT is somewhere around 380 - 400MHz on my board, same on the board of a friend.

    CPUs are working really great on this board! On nforce i just reached 3300MHz for 24/7 with around 1,48V, but had always strange BSODs in idle..
    My mates 6400+ is doing 3504MHz 1,376V on his board!

    Now this are my new 24/7 settings:



    No BSODs or something else! I'm really impressed!

    RAM overclocking is also way better on this board then on my M2N! Couldn't get ther above 520MHz. For now i didn't reached the maximum oc on the M3A! Just tested the 600MHz i didn't reached on M2N for 1M and it worked flawlessy! Beated my best 1M time with 3000MHz, which is 0.3xxs faster over the M2N.



    *Pictures*

    *Mainboard*




















    *Bios*

























    *Conclusion*


    Positiv:


    - Performance
    - OC settings
    - Layout
    - chipsets are really cool


    Negativ:

    - Imho there are way to less temperature and voltage readings for such a expensive board
    - A lot of unknown bios settings, without any description

    Will add new points as soon as i find something!
    Last edited by funkflix; 12-18-2007 at 11:27 AM.
    PC : Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 + Intel Core i5 i2500k + 2 x Asus HD6870 DirectCU + 2x2GB PC12800 G.Skill Eco 7-8-7-24 + Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe + Scythe Mugen 3.
    Digicam : Pentax *istDL2 + Pentax smc DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL + Cosina F3.5/100mm Makro.
    Heimkino : Samsung LE-46B450 FullHD + Arion AF-4000HDCI + Onkyo TX-SR505E + Quadral Quintas 5.0 + Heco Victa 25A.


  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    125
    Hi..

    I have a few quick question about the board and i believe u can get the answer from the manual..

    to run crossfire (2 cards) can i place the video card in the second and third PCIE X16 slot? Or do they have to be placed in the first two slots?
    100% Positive Feedback on Ebay (Feedback score = 99) - Wasserkool

  3. #3
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,910
    As far as i know for the moment, u can use every combination u wish. The board automaticly set the PCI-E slots to the right settings.

    Manual say that u have just x1 in slot 2 if u use just dual cards, but i do not belive that.
    PC : Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 + Intel Core i5 i2500k + 2 x Asus HD6870 DirectCU + 2x2GB PC12800 G.Skill Eco 7-8-7-24 + Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe + Scythe Mugen 3.
    Digicam : Pentax *istDL2 + Pentax smc DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL + Cosina F3.5/100mm Makro.
    Heimkino : Samsung LE-46B450 FullHD + Arion AF-4000HDCI + Onkyo TX-SR505E + Quadral Quintas 5.0 + Heco Victa 25A.


  4. #4
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    3,431
    nice, can't wait for results
    "Cast off your fear. Look forward. Never stand still, retreat and you will age. Hesitate and you will die. SHOUT! My name is…"
    //James

  5. #5
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,173
    Quote Originally Posted by funkflix View Post
    As far as i know for the moment, u can use every combination u wish. The board automaticly set the PCI-E slots to the right settings.

    Manual say that u have just x1 in slot 2 if u use just dual cards, but i do not belive that.
    What CPU you intend to use with this magnificent board?

  6. #6
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,910
    Quote Originally Posted by informal View Post
    What CPU you intend to use with this magnificent board?
    I use my 6000+ with it. And i will do a lot of benches to compare it with my M2N-SLI Deluxe.
    PC : Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 + Intel Core i5 i2500k + 2 x Asus HD6870 DirectCU + 2x2GB PC12800 G.Skill Eco 7-8-7-24 + Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe + Scythe Mugen 3.
    Digicam : Pentax *istDL2 + Pentax smc DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL + Cosina F3.5/100mm Makro.
    Heimkino : Samsung LE-46B450 FullHD + Arion AF-4000HDCI + Onkyo TX-SR505E + Quadral Quintas 5.0 + Heco Victa 25A.


  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,795
    Maybe ASUS can get it right, the BIOS that is!

  8. #8
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wilson,NC and Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    907
    Quote Originally Posted by freeloader View Post
    Maybe ASUS can get it right, the BIOS that is!
    he is using the 6000+ ... or not an AM2+ CPU... so what bugs will it have?

    you must remember this... he said (at least not yet) that he is just testing AM2 setup.. not the new phenom stuff
    2013 Rig: Mythlogic Pollux 1713: i7 4800, 16GB 14900 Corsair, AMD8970, 840 Pro RAID 0 (128gb), 265GB 840 Pro, 1TB HDD, Killer 1202, Win 7 x64
    PREVIOUS Desktop:EVGA E760 3-Way, 2x 5870, Corsair GT 6gb 1600, i7-920 @ 4.35ghz 1.42v, GTZ, EVGA waterblock, 2xthrmchil120.3+mcp655, Silverstone DA1kW, ARC-1220
    Laptop- ASUS G50V-A2@3GHz w/2gb RAM G.Skill
    Car: 01 T/A WS6 http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631954
    ...Ur car is sneezing?!...
    Help Save Lives Join World Community Grid!

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by funkflix View Post
    As far as i know for the moment, u can use every combination u wish. The board automaticly set the PCI-E slots to the right settings.

    Manual say that u have just x1 in slot 2 if u use just dual cards, but i do not belive that.
    Thanks for your answer funkflix.. What do you mean by x1 in slot 2 if i use dual cards?

    Also, doest he manual say if the PCIE X16 slot support non graphics card such as a PCIE x4 RAID controller? I am looking forward to get this board to use my SAS controller. Can you please help me check it?
    100% Positive Feedback on Ebay (Feedback score = 99) - Wasserkool

  10. #10
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,910
    Quote Originally Posted by wasserkool View Post
    Thanks for your answer funkflix.. What do you mean by x1 in slot 2 if i use dual cards?

    Also, doest he manual say if the PCIE X16 slot support non graphics card such as a PCIE x4 RAID controller? I am looking forward to get this board to use my SAS controller. Can you please help me check it?
    Will give a answer to your questions, as soon as i'am at home after work.
    PC : Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 + Intel Core i5 i2500k + 2 x Asus HD6870 DirectCU + 2x2GB PC12800 G.Skill Eco 7-8-7-24 + Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe + Scythe Mugen 3.
    Digicam : Pentax *istDL2 + Pentax smc DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL + Cosina F3.5/100mm Makro.
    Heimkino : Samsung LE-46B450 FullHD + Arion AF-4000HDCI + Onkyo TX-SR505E + Quadral Quintas 5.0 + Heco Victa 25A.


  11. #11
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wilson,NC and Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    907
    good luck with this board. im ready to see some results, still debating between this board and the DFI board 790fx
    2013 Rig: Mythlogic Pollux 1713: i7 4800, 16GB 14900 Corsair, AMD8970, 840 Pro RAID 0 (128gb), 265GB 840 Pro, 1TB HDD, Killer 1202, Win 7 x64
    PREVIOUS Desktop:EVGA E760 3-Way, 2x 5870, Corsair GT 6gb 1600, i7-920 @ 4.35ghz 1.42v, GTZ, EVGA waterblock, 2xthrmchil120.3+mcp655, Silverstone DA1kW, ARC-1220
    Laptop- ASUS G50V-A2@3GHz w/2gb RAM G.Skill
    Car: 01 T/A WS6 http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631954
    ...Ur car is sneezing?!...
    Help Save Lives Join World Community Grid!

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by funkflix View Post
    Will give a answer to your questions, as soon as i'am at home after work.
    Thanks again for your help! If you can confirm the board can run non-graphics card in the X16 slots..i will get it right away!
    100% Positive Feedback on Ebay (Feedback score = 99) - Wasserkool

  13. #13
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,910
    Quote Originally Posted by wasserkool View Post
    Thanks for your answer funkflix.. What do you mean by x1 in slot 2 if i use dual cards?

    Also, doest he manual say if the PCIE X16 slot support non graphics card such as a PCIE x4 RAID controller? I am looking forward to get this board to use my SAS controller. Can you please help me check it?
    Hope this will help you.

    PC : Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 + Intel Core i5 i2500k + 2 x Asus HD6870 DirectCU + 2x2GB PC12800 G.Skill Eco 7-8-7-24 + Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe + Scythe Mugen 3.
    Digicam : Pentax *istDL2 + Pentax smc DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL + Cosina F3.5/100mm Makro.
    Heimkino : Samsung LE-46B450 FullHD + Arion AF-4000HDCI + Onkyo TX-SR505E + Quadral Quintas 5.0 + Heco Victa 25A.


  14. #14
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    16,042
    That is a weird PCIe speed combination for sure....
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 10 Pro x64

  15. #15
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,910
    The last chapter on the screenshot is the important one! "You may reassign PCIe width in BIOS settings"
    PC : Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 + Intel Core i5 i2500k + 2 x Asus HD6870 DirectCU + 2x2GB PC12800 G.Skill Eco 7-8-7-24 + Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe + Scythe Mugen 3.
    Digicam : Pentax *istDL2 + Pentax smc DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL + Cosina F3.5/100mm Makro.
    Heimkino : Samsung LE-46B450 FullHD + Arion AF-4000HDCI + Onkyo TX-SR505E + Quadral Quintas 5.0 + Heco Victa 25A.


  16. #16
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,910
    Added bios screenshots and benchmarks.
    PC : Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 + Intel Core i5 i2500k + 2 x Asus HD6870 DirectCU + 2x2GB PC12800 G.Skill Eco 7-8-7-24 + Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe + Scythe Mugen 3.
    Digicam : Pentax *istDL2 + Pentax smc DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL + Cosina F3.5/100mm Makro.
    Heimkino : Samsung LE-46B450 FullHD + Arion AF-4000HDCI + Onkyo TX-SR505E + Quadral Quintas 5.0 + Heco Victa 25A.


  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Germany, Bremen
    Posts
    541
    Nice Impressions

    Thanks for testing it. Do you test with a Phenom in next time?

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norman, Oklahoma
    Posts
    307
    good looking board, im lookign for a good 790fx board to upgrade to, im currently using an asus m2r32-mvp (580x chipset) i love asus. =).
    [MOB] AM3 Asus M4A79T Deluxe
    [GPU] ATI HD 5870 1gb 925 mhz
    [RAM] OCZ Reaper 4gb 1600 mhz
    [CPU] AMD Phenom II 965 4.0 ghz

    "What doesn't kill you, only postpones the inevitable..."
    Water Cooled Apevia X-Plorer | Custom Window | Lapped Phenom II 955 | Lapped Phenom 9850

  19. #19
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,910
    Quote Originally Posted by SeLecT View Post
    Nice Impressions

    Thanks for testing it. Do you test with a Phenom in next time?
    Thanks!

    Do not think so.. Maybe when the Black Edition come out, or the triple cores, but for the moment phenoms are not intesting enough for me.
    PC : Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 + Intel Core i5 i2500k + 2 x Asus HD6870 DirectCU + 2x2GB PC12800 G.Skill Eco 7-8-7-24 + Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe + Scythe Mugen 3.
    Digicam : Pentax *istDL2 + Pentax smc DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL + Cosina F3.5/100mm Makro.
    Heimkino : Samsung LE-46B450 FullHD + Arion AF-4000HDCI + Onkyo TX-SR505E + Quadral Quintas 5.0 + Heco Victa 25A.


  20. #20
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,910
    Added some overclocking impressions and a new point for the negatives.
    PC : Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 + Intel Core i5 i2500k + 2 x Asus HD6870 DirectCU + 2x2GB PC12800 G.Skill Eco 7-8-7-24 + Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe + Scythe Mugen 3.
    Digicam : Pentax *istDL2 + Pentax smc DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL + Cosina F3.5/100mm Makro.
    Heimkino : Samsung LE-46B450 FullHD + Arion AF-4000HDCI + Onkyo TX-SR505E + Quadral Quintas 5.0 + Heco Victa 25A.


  21. #21
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,425
    Thanks for this very good review funkflix

    This ASUS looks interesting and probably with couple of BIOS updates it will became OC monster!

    On my GA-MA790FX I've tested 430HTT with 5x multi (2150MHz) no issues, but that was possible only after second BIOS revision
    RiG1: Ryzen 7 1700 @4.0GHz 1.39V, Asus X370 Prime, G.Skill RipJaws 2x8GB 3200MHz CL14 Samsung B-die, TuL Vega 56 Stock, Samsung SS805 100GB SLC SDD (OS Drive) + 512GB Evo 850 SSD (2nd OS Drive) + 3TB Seagate + 1TB Seagate, BeQuiet PowerZone 1000W

    RiG2: HTPC AMD A10-7850K APU, 2x8GB Kingstone HyperX 2400C12, AsRock FM2A88M Extreme4+, 128GB SSD + 640GB Samsung 7200, LG Blu-ray Recorder, Thermaltake BACH, Hiper 4M880 880W PSU

    SmartPhone Samsung Galaxy S7 EDGE
    XBONE paired with 55'' Samsung LED 3D TV

  22. #22
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wilson,NC and Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    907
    now what NB and SB temperatures are you seeing? and what voltages are they set to?
    2013 Rig: Mythlogic Pollux 1713: i7 4800, 16GB 14900 Corsair, AMD8970, 840 Pro RAID 0 (128gb), 265GB 840 Pro, 1TB HDD, Killer 1202, Win 7 x64
    PREVIOUS Desktop:EVGA E760 3-Way, 2x 5870, Corsair GT 6gb 1600, i7-920 @ 4.35ghz 1.42v, GTZ, EVGA waterblock, 2xthrmchil120.3+mcp655, Silverstone DA1kW, ARC-1220
    Laptop- ASUS G50V-A2@3GHz w/2gb RAM G.Skill
    Car: 01 T/A WS6 http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631954
    ...Ur car is sneezing?!...
    Help Save Lives Join World Community Grid!

  23. #23
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,425
    Quote Originally Posted by ZL1Killa View Post
    now what NB and SB temperatures are you seeing? and what voltages are they set to?
    If that question was for me then the answer is STOCK VOLTS and because I'm having Giga(byte)Heat-Pipe thingi I can only say temps were low
    RiG1: Ryzen 7 1700 @4.0GHz 1.39V, Asus X370 Prime, G.Skill RipJaws 2x8GB 3200MHz CL14 Samsung B-die, TuL Vega 56 Stock, Samsung SS805 100GB SLC SDD (OS Drive) + 512GB Evo 850 SSD (2nd OS Drive) + 3TB Seagate + 1TB Seagate, BeQuiet PowerZone 1000W

    RiG2: HTPC AMD A10-7850K APU, 2x8GB Kingstone HyperX 2400C12, AsRock FM2A88M Extreme4+, 128GB SSD + 640GB Samsung 7200, LG Blu-ray Recorder, Thermaltake BACH, Hiper 4M880 880W PSU

    SmartPhone Samsung Galaxy S7 EDGE
    XBONE paired with 55'' Samsung LED 3D TV

  24. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    19
    funkflix what is the max DDR voltage in BIOS?

  25. #25
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,910
    Quote Originally Posted by Lightman View Post
    Thanks for this very good review funkflix

    This ASUS looks interesting and probably with couple of BIOS updates it will became OC monster!

    On my GA-MA790FX I've tested 430HTT with 5x multi (2150MHz) no issues, but that was possible only after second BIOS revision
    No problem.

    Yes it is a good board so far, with a few bugs for the moment. I hope they will fixed with a new bios update.

    Quote Originally Posted by ZL1Killa View Post
    now what NB and SB temperatures are you seeing? and what voltages are they set to?
    No sensors for SB and NB. Voltages as in the screen above. Pushed all settings to ~ 0,1V over stock.

    Quote Originally Posted by Serj_Over View Post
    funkflix what is the max DDR voltage in BIOS?
    1,8V - 2,5V in 0,02V steps.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    My X-Fi won't work on the board for the moment, that is my biggest problem.. Hope they will fix it with a bios update!

    I installed watercooling on the chipsets now. I used some stripes of armaflex around the cores and it works!




    PC : Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 + Intel Core i5 i2500k + 2 x Asus HD6870 DirectCU + 2x2GB PC12800 G.Skill Eco 7-8-7-24 + Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe + Scythe Mugen 3.
    Digicam : Pentax *istDL2 + Pentax smc DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL + Cosina F3.5/100mm Makro.
    Heimkino : Samsung LE-46B450 FullHD + Arion AF-4000HDCI + Onkyo TX-SR505E + Quadral Quintas 5.0 + Heco Victa 25A.


Page 1 of 28 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •