Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 178

Thread: 9500 running in M2N-SLi deluxe

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    AMD-PHENOM
    Posts
    26

    9500 running in M2N-SLi deluxe

    Ok, I recieved my 9500 yesterday and tested it in an M2N-SLi deluxe mobo. I have both 790X and 790FX boards from MSi to test aswell but wanted to see how well a quad would fair in an AM2 mobo.

    Firstly the ASUS M2N-SLi deluxe mobo wouldn't post with the 9500 inplace until flashed with the latest bios (1302). After a quick flash of bios, system posted and proceeded to boot no problem.

    Now, I had to spend a few hours battling with this new bios since it would seem to have a few bugs. Since flashing the bios to 1302 I no longer have access to the cpu multi from within the bios, nor can I set the northbridge multi (since this is AM2 mobo not AM2+). In windows speedfan no longer works, neither does memset (not for this chipset) nor AM2tools

    On the bright side though AMD-overdrive and Ai booster perform well, excluding the 3 different memory speeds I see reported by AMD-overdrive/cpuz/everest.

    I'm sorting out my screenies at the moment, I'll post cpuz screeny and a few bench screens in a couple of mins.

    so far in the AM2 mobo, 2700mhz on stock volts.

    stepping is as follows
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Crete-Greece
    Posts
    91
    Thnx for the info.Keep posting plz
    24/724/7

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,033
    good luck with that cpu!

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    AMD-PHENOM
    Posts
    26
    here we go.

    2706mhz in AM2 mobo on stock volts. Need more time to mess around but I'm positive the NB speed is the wall here. CPU runs very cool on stock HS with chilled air.

    Since I can't access the cpu multi the system boots at 1100mhz, a simple increase of multi within amd overdrive sorts that out, then I use Ai booster to increase the cpu fsb since overdrive's fsb slider is non functional on this mobo.

    I've included a few quick bench scores at 2700mhz as promised low mem speed just now until I figure this out.

    3D 06 CPU, CINEBENCH, EVEREST, CM9, NUCLEARUS
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by AMD-PHENOM; 11-24-2007 at 03:57 AM.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Crete-Greece
    Posts
    91
    Good mate!!!Keep pushing it!!
    24/724/7

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    AMD-PHENOM
    Posts
    26
    Cm9 & Nuclearus
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Belgium, Dendermonde
    Posts
    1,299
    can you show the latencies of the caches with cpu-z?

    thx in advance

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Warren,MI
    Posts
    561
    o man i want one so bad!!!!
    2.7 not bad! push that sucker past 3!!!
    cpu- Intel I7 3930K
    Asus P9x79 Deluxe
    2x HD7970
    32gb ddr3-1600
    corsair ax1200
    Corsair 800D
    Corsair H100 lapped
    2x 128gb M4 raid 0

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    772
    About farking time someone got one of these and put it through the paces.

    What temps are you getting? RAM settings?


    Would like to see:
    Geekbench, SuperPi, Prime95 multicore stability test

  10. #10
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    1,504
    well done

    mstp, you can see the ram timings in the pics from lavalys everest, 4-4-4-12 cr2
    XS WCG Rules: #1: don't pull fart_plume's finger #2: Dave aka Movieman, don't give him your phone number if you like your hearing
    XS WCG Note: There are 2 sets of points, WCG and Boinc. WCG = 7x Boinc

    Project: Dark Matter (<- link) - Asus Maximus II Formula, Intel X3330 3.4ghz @1.32v under load, corsair ddr2 1066 8gigs, evga gtx260 core 216, pc p&c 750W, EK Supreme HF Nickel, iandh 175 res, Swiftech MCP355, Black Ice GTX G2 240, Lian Li v1200b

    silverstone tj07 build log


  11. #11
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,424
    Great!
    Thank you very much AMD-PHENOM!

    Now where are those people saying AM2 compatibility with Phenom is non-existent? Even my MSI K9N Ultra had BIOS updates for Phenom over one month ago....

    Nice to see ASUS sorted that issue as well .

    I'm getting my Phenom probably end of next week . Looking for GP9600 !
    RiG1: Ryzen 7 1700 @4.0GHz 1.39V, Asus X370 Prime, G.Skill RipJaws 2x8GB 3200MHz CL14 Samsung B-die, TuL Vega 56 Stock, Samsung SS805 100GB SLC SDD (OS Drive) + 512GB Evo 850 SSD (2nd OS Drive) + 3TB Seagate + 1TB Seagate, BeQuiet PowerZone 1000W

    RiG2: HTPC AMD A10-7850K APU, 2x8GB Kingstone HyperX 2400C12, AsRock FM2A88M Extreme4+, 128GB SSD + 640GB Samsung 7200, LG Blu-ray Recorder, Thermaltake BACH, Hiper 4M880 880W PSU

    SmartPhone Samsung Galaxy S7 EDGE
    XBONE paired with 55'' Samsung LED 3D TV

  12. #12
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,173
    AMD-PHENOM,thanks a bunch man!

    I am really satisfied with the ~4K CPU score in mark06!Done at 2.7Ghz and is really good.For comparison,Yorkfield@3Ghz gets around 4500.

    Have you played with Vcore and what are the temps for cores under load @OC speeds.
    Keep up the nice mini review

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,314
    that cpu score is pretty good, on par with a kentsfield. maybe high nb clock is what helps k10 performance?
    Core i7 920 3849B028 4.2ghz cooled by ek hf | 6gb stt ddr3 2100 | MSI HD6950 cf cooled by ek fc | Evga x58 e760 Classified | 120gb G.Skill Phoenix Pro | Modded Rocketfish case + 1200w toughpower | mcp 655 pump + mcr 320 + black ice pro II

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK, a small place with a big heart
    Posts
    273
    Hi AMD-Phenom,

    Can you post some results that include graphics performance as I notice that so far you've only included CPU performance, i.e. only run the CPU tests...

    I've been finding that with my M2N32SLI that there are some major issues with the graphics perforamance, and my current thinking is that it is a compatability issue, to do with the NB, PCI-E, HT issues within the BIOS...

    I'd be really grateful if you can provide some insight into the graphics issues..

    I've also been having problems with my RAM, and any attempt to get the RAM to run as rated via the SLI profiles results in a failure to POST...

    I can't make any changes within the BIOS either, if I do then POST fails, do you experiece similar problems....

    Perhaps if I try using the AMD OVerdrive, instead of the BIOS to make system changes then I may have more luck.....but I'm more accustomed to making these changes via the BIOS....

    Appreciate any insight you can give into the above....

    PS. Which version of CPU-Z are you using as when I tried 1.41 it didn't show a HT Link Speed, and neither did v.1.42, though v. 1.42 does dipslay the Phenom logo rather than the AMD logo..
    Last edited by kazgirl; 11-24-2007 at 07:51 AM.
    Phenom II 940BE (CACVC AC 0850BPMW) @ 3.8Ghz (1.475v) on Custom h2O
    ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe - BIOS v0703 - HT @ 1.8Ghz / NB @ 2.2Ghz / PCIE @ 100Mhz
    2 x 2GB G.SKill PC2-8500 RAM @ 5-5-5-15 2T (Unganged) | 2 x GeCube HD4850's CF @ 700/1150
    2 x 160GB Samsung Spinpoints (RAID-0) | 1 x 320GB Seagate 7200.10 (JBOD)
    Thermaltake Toughpower 750W PSU | Samsung 206BW 20" LCD Screen
    Vista Home Premium 64-bit SP2 / Win7 Ultimate Beta 64-bit

    ========================================
    ========================================
    3DMark Vantage Score = P13403 - http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=791574
    3DMark06 Score = 20027 - http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=9996881


    ========================================

    My External LCS Mod - http://s91.photobucket.com/albums/k2...t=1f046259.flv

    ========================================


  15. #15
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,173
    Quote Originally Posted by cky2k6 View Post
    that cpu score is pretty good, on par with a kentsfield. maybe high nb clock is what helps k10 performance?
    Indeed.Lets hope the TLB bug won't stop people from running NB @higher clocks.I expect to see a nice boost when NB is run near core clocks or even higher.Should reduce L3 latency greatly and improve mem. bandwidth(both of these are way off the standard RevF which hampers Phenom a lot)

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,462
    How about running cinebench? I want to see +3GHz.
    [i5 2500K, ASrock extreme3 gen3, Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB 1600MHz, Palit GTX570 Sonic Platinum, CM HAF932, Antec Truepower New 650w]

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,314
    yep, same here. i'm mostly interested in 3d performance. if this chip can show that it can oc to 3.4+ and keep up with a kentsfield clock for clock if the nb is clocked higher than stock, i will reconsider phenom.
    Core i7 920 3849B028 4.2ghz cooled by ek hf | 6gb stt ddr3 2100 | MSI HD6950 cf cooled by ek fc | Evga x58 e760 Classified | 120gb G.Skill Phoenix Pro | Modded Rocketfish case + 1200w toughpower | mcp 655 pump + mcr 320 + black ice pro II

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    383
    I haven't seen any OCs near 3 Ghz yet.
    Intel E8400.C0 "Wolfe"| 400x9 3600 Mhz @ 1.272 Vcore
    TT Sonic Tower | Dual 120mm Antec Fans | Silent Air @ 1200 RPM
    ASUS P5Q-E | BIOS 0610
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ | 400 MHz (5-5-5-15) @ 2.0 V (? Auto)
    XFX 7800GT
    Wester Digital Raptor 74GB | Maxtor Maxline III 300GB | Seagate 7200.7 120GB
    Antec P-180 | Antec True Power 2.0 550W

    Dell 2407 | Dell 2405

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK, a small place with a big heart
    Posts
    273
    Quote Originally Posted by frankR View Post
    I haven't seen any OCs near 3 Ghz yet.
    Well in fairness "AMD-PHENOM" has got to 2.7GHz on stock voltage at the moment and with an AM2 mobo with IMO a flakey BIOS.

    So 3.0GHz shouldn't be out of the question, once BIOS issues are resolved and on a AM2+ mobo as well..... its still very early days, and I know speaking for myself, that BIOS and compatability issues are whats holding me back, until I can get a fully compatible BIOS and full system compatability then I don't see the point in trying at the moment....

    I'm sure once mobo manufacturers catch up, and get some decent BIOS' to support Phenom, then more and more users will be able to try to OC the Phenom and more results will become available.

    I'm itching to try to OC my 9500, but I'm stuck waiting for a GOOD BIOS from ASUS rather than the severely limited one thats available at the moment....
    Phenom II 940BE (CACVC AC 0850BPMW) @ 3.8Ghz (1.475v) on Custom h2O
    ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe - BIOS v0703 - HT @ 1.8Ghz / NB @ 2.2Ghz / PCIE @ 100Mhz
    2 x 2GB G.SKill PC2-8500 RAM @ 5-5-5-15 2T (Unganged) | 2 x GeCube HD4850's CF @ 700/1150
    2 x 160GB Samsung Spinpoints (RAID-0) | 1 x 320GB Seagate 7200.10 (JBOD)
    Thermaltake Toughpower 750W PSU | Samsung 206BW 20" LCD Screen
    Vista Home Premium 64-bit SP2 / Win7 Ultimate Beta 64-bit

    ========================================
    ========================================
    3DMark Vantage Score = P13403 - http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=791574
    3DMark06 Score = 20027 - http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=9996881


    ========================================

    My External LCS Mod - http://s91.photobucket.com/albums/k2...t=1f046259.flv

    ========================================


  20. #20
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by frankR View Post
    I haven't seen any OCs near 3 Ghz yet.
    Oh no3s..

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK, a small place with a big heart
    Posts
    273
    Heres a WPrime comparison for you, the 6400+ @ 3520MHz and the Phenom @ stock 2210MHz, as I can't OC at the moment with the current BIOS for my mobo.

    BTW My stepping is: CAAZB AA 0743 FPFW

    ==============
    6400+ @ 3520MHz
    ==============



    ===================
    Phenom 9500 @ 2210MHz
    ===================



    So a nice little improvement given the lower clocks on the 9500, a good OC on the Phenom will see some nice gains I'm sure..... now if only ASUS will give us a better BIOS.....!!!!
    Last edited by kazgirl; 11-24-2007 at 12:29 PM.
    Phenom II 940BE (CACVC AC 0850BPMW) @ 3.8Ghz (1.475v) on Custom h2O
    ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe - BIOS v0703 - HT @ 1.8Ghz / NB @ 2.2Ghz / PCIE @ 100Mhz
    2 x 2GB G.SKill PC2-8500 RAM @ 5-5-5-15 2T (Unganged) | 2 x GeCube HD4850's CF @ 700/1150
    2 x 160GB Samsung Spinpoints (RAID-0) | 1 x 320GB Seagate 7200.10 (JBOD)
    Thermaltake Toughpower 750W PSU | Samsung 206BW 20" LCD Screen
    Vista Home Premium 64-bit SP2 / Win7 Ultimate Beta 64-bit

    ========================================
    ========================================
    3DMark Vantage Score = P13403 - http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=791574
    3DMark06 Score = 20027 - http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=9996881


    ========================================

    My External LCS Mod - http://s91.photobucket.com/albums/k2...t=1f046259.flv

    ========================================


  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    167
    Quote Originally Posted by kazgirl View Post
    Heres a WPrime comparison for you, the 6400+ @ 3520MHz and the Phenom @ stock 2210MHz, as I can't OC at the moment with the current BIOS for my mobo.

    BTW My stepping is: CAAZB AA 0743 FPFW

    ==============
    6400+ @ 3520MHz
    ==============



    ===================
    Phenom 9500 @ 2210MHz
    ===================



    So a nice little improvement given the lower clocks on the 9500, a good OC on the Phenom will see some nice gains I'm sure..... now if only ASUS will give us a better BIOS.....!!!!
    Its time...

    to test the chip with a 790FX mobo

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK, a small place with a big heart
    Posts
    273
    LoL...yeah...unfortunately my bank mangager disagrees and is forcing me to stick with this AM2 mobo for the time being.....!!!!
    Phenom II 940BE (CACVC AC 0850BPMW) @ 3.8Ghz (1.475v) on Custom h2O
    ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe - BIOS v0703 - HT @ 1.8Ghz / NB @ 2.2Ghz / PCIE @ 100Mhz
    2 x 2GB G.SKill PC2-8500 RAM @ 5-5-5-15 2T (Unganged) | 2 x GeCube HD4850's CF @ 700/1150
    2 x 160GB Samsung Spinpoints (RAID-0) | 1 x 320GB Seagate 7200.10 (JBOD)
    Thermaltake Toughpower 750W PSU | Samsung 206BW 20" LCD Screen
    Vista Home Premium 64-bit SP2 / Win7 Ultimate Beta 64-bit

    ========================================
    ========================================
    3DMark Vantage Score = P13403 - http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=791574
    3DMark06 Score = 20027 - http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=9996881


    ========================================

    My External LCS Mod - http://s91.photobucket.com/albums/k2...t=1f046259.flv

    ========================================


  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Warren,MI
    Posts
    561
    Quote Originally Posted by kazgirl View Post
    LoL...yeah...unfortunately my bank mangager disagrees and is forcing me to stick with this AM2 mobo for the time being.....!!!!
    quoting from southpark
    " Those Bastards! "
    cpu- Intel I7 3930K
    Asus P9x79 Deluxe
    2x HD7970
    32gb ddr3-1600
    corsair ax1200
    Corsair 800D
    Corsair H100 lapped
    2x 128gb M4 raid 0

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    19
    AMD-PHENOM could you test up Sciencemark?
    http://majorgeeks.com/Science_Mark_d2835.html

    It will be interesting to see FPU improvement in K10

Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •