X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 310111213
Results 301 to 316 of 316

Thread: FINALLY! Barcelona(s) + Asus L1N64......

  1. #301
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    215
    So how your systems running. I sold my W/C FX 70's a month back but have the opportunity in getting the system back. What Quad CPU's would you advise. Thanks
    Last edited by Swanie; 11-16-2010 at 03:27 AM.

  2. #302
    Mine is still going good and strong with a pair of 45W Embedded quad optys...

    If you are getting the system back I'd recommend a pair of 8354 or 8356 B3s.

    HOWEVER, if you're feeling adventurous and want to do a favour for the community (yes, all three of us!), it's be nice if you could try out a pair of Engineering Sample CPUs and see if they are multiplier-unlocked in BIOS, or if the multiplier is changeable using PhenomMSRTweaker in Windows.. my experiments with k10ctl failed because standard opty multipliers are locked but we may have some hope with the ES CPUs... They were all over eBay a few weeks ago but now they seem to be disappearing again.. here is an example of the kind of CPUs I'm talking about: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AMD-OPTERON-QU...item3f02446a7a (model number begins with ZS instead of OS).

    And if you'd rather listen to your head than your heart, then don't take the system back and build a decent single-socket Thuban system instead

  3. #303
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2

    Question about Opty

    I know this is an old thread but it seems to be semi coming back.I have a L1N64-SLI WS 2x FX-72 cpu's I just bought 2 Opty 8367 HE Shanghai's off ebay from a dude in Malaysia for less then 200 shipped they are brand new OEM he sent them wed and I got them today he sent them priority Fedex I about freaked when I saw he sent them like that.I bet it cost a pretty penny.Anyways you all are awesome I have learned alot from reading this thread and alot of others.But what I was wondering has anyone out there heard of anybody getting the 8376 to run on the WS turned WS/B boards I have not tried yet because I have been talking to a guy in NYC that has 2x2356 Opty's he will trade me and according to this thread they will work.Any info would be great.
    Last edited by clayman612; 12-10-2010 at 06:28 PM. Reason: wanted to add my siggy
    System: Asus L1N64-SLI WS motherboard
    2X AMD Athlon 64 FX-72 CPU's
    8gb OCZ Sli Certified DDR2-800 RAM 4-4-4-15
    XFX 9800GTX+ 512 Black Edition GPU
    HP DVD1040 DVD-RW + EXT Sony VRD-VC20 DVD-RW
    Seagate 500gb Sata + Samsung 160gb Sata
    Windows 7 32bit
    OCZ 700 watt GameXtreme Power Supply + 450 watt EP-450CD GPU Power Supply
    Themaltake VA800SWA Case

  4. #304
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    34
    I believe that 45nm CPUs are still no go for L1N64. Asus didn't make new BIOS with updated AGESA so everything is on the community.
    BTW, those HE Opterons are great CPUs but you'll need some SM or Tyan MBO to run them. I have 2x2376HE in Tyan n6650W and it's a cool and quiet system which is opposite to my L1N64 (green PCB ) wit 2 Opteron 8218 F3 OCed @3.5GHz!

  5. #305
    Green PCB? Pics or it didn't happen!

  6. #306
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by karbonkid View Post
    Green PCB? Pics or it didn't happen!
    Is this green enough?
    There is also one U320 Cheetah 10k6 who makes rest of the system quite... silent!
    Last edited by SQjay; 12-13-2010 at 10:29 PM.
    Tyan n6650W rev E
    2xAMD Opteron 2376HE
    8GB DDR2 667MHz
    Adaptec 3085 with 2x 16GB MTRON SSD@RAID 0
    Razer Barracuda AC1
    Gainward HD 4850 GLH Bliss
    Corsair HX520
    Chieftec Big tower

  7. #307
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2

    2 Opty 8376HE's

    Anybody wanna buy these from me they will not work with my board Or I will trade them for a High end 200 series Nvidia video card like a GTX280 let me know
    System: Asus L1N64-SLI WS motherboard
    2X AMD Athlon 64 FX-72 CPU's
    8gb OCZ Sli Certified DDR2-800 RAM 4-4-4-15
    XFX 9800GTX+ 512 Black Edition GPU
    HP DVD1040 DVD-RW + EXT Sony VRD-VC20 DVD-RW
    Seagate 500gb Sata + Samsung 160gb Sata
    Windows 7 32bit
    OCZ 700 watt GameXtreme Power Supply + 450 watt EP-450CD GPU Power Supply
    Themaltake VA800SWA Case

  8. #308
    Oooh, 'deluxe' model.. nice. Prototype board I'm guessing? You should go for 10k.7s, they're a bit quieter. I had 2 of them in RAID 0 on my K9ND system, with an LSI SCSI320-2e controller (PCIe). Until the drives died in smoke (long story lol)...

  9. #309
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by karbonkid View Post
    Oooh, 'deluxe' model.. nice. Prototype board I'm guessing? You should go for 10k.7s, they're a bit quieter. I had 2 of them in RAID 0 on my K9ND system, with an LSI SCSI320-2e controller (PCIe). Until the drives died in smoke (long story lol)...
    Well the guy on the ebay had a couple DP boards among them this one, two regular L1N64 WS and NVIDIA Sledgehammer DP s.940 referent board. I intended to buy this rare L1N64 but I didn't have the courage to buy that Sledgehammer board because I never saw them in sale or in some working system.
    I bought K9ND to my friend and it's a fine board... but it died slowly trough a last few days. First he had dead USBs, then some dead sata ports and finally there was no POST. He had one AMD 2376 an 4GB RAM and system hasn't been under high loads.
    My conclusion is that the main cause for failure was the exhaust from HD4850 blowing over the SB chip which is already very hot. So active cooling of SB chip for that board is a probably a good idea.
    Tyan n6650W rev E
    2xAMD Opteron 2376HE
    8GB DDR2 667MHz
    Adaptec 3085 with 2x 16GB MTRON SSD@RAID 0
    Razer Barracuda AC1
    Gainward HD 4850 GLH Bliss
    Corsair HX520
    Chieftec Big tower

  10. #310
    Has anyone tried ATI 5xxx series cards on this board? Any issues?

  11. #311
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    3870x2 was fail



  12. #312
    Quote Originally Posted by cdawall View Post
    3870x2 was fail
    eek.. just bought a 4870x2 as I assumed anything < PCIe 2.1 would be possible win..

    Will have to see...

  13. #313
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by karbonkid View Post
    Has anyone tried ATI 5xxx series cards on this board? Any issues?
    Well... I found this:
    http://hapi.de-blog.jp/blog/2010/12/...sli_wsbop.html

    Not only that works with HD5xxx it works with HD5970, HD6970 and GTX470.
    On the sidenote cpu-z shows AMD 8360SE!
    Tyan n6650W rev E
    2xAMD Opteron 2376HE
    8GB DDR2 667MHz
    Adaptec 3085 with 2x 16GB MTRON SSD@RAID 0
    Razer Barracuda AC1
    Gainward HD 4850 GLH Bliss
    Corsair HX520
    Chieftec Big tower

  14. #314
    Quote Originally Posted by SQjay View Post
    Well... I found this:
    http://hapi.de-blog.jp/blog/2010/12/...sli_wsbop.html

    Not only that works with HD5xxx it works with HD5970, HD6970 and GTX470.
    On the sidenote cpu-z shows AMD 8360SE!
    Wow. Guess I shouldn't have bought all the FUD, eh? Sitting here with a broken 4870X2 hoping it'll work and thinking it's the fastest thing this board will run

    Seems like this system could last me a couple more years, but then again any cost benefit would probably be outweighed by power costs...

    Hmmm...

  15. #315
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by karbonkid View Post
    Seems like this system could last me a couple more years, but then again any cost benefit would probably be outweighed by power costs...

    Hmmm...
    It's a tough call. If you find nice B3 2360 with K10stats you can fine tune its vcore and bring it down to 85W or so @2.5GHz. 8 cores @2.5GHz for total of 180W is not so bad.
    I found on ebay 8360SE for 50$ per piece and I'm really in a doubt.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT
    BTW, from my own experience those 8xxx CPU are a little bit better power consumption wise then 2xxx models.
    Last edited by SQjay; 05-18-2011 at 08:12 AM.
    Tyan n6650W rev E
    2xAMD Opteron 2376HE
    8GB DDR2 667MHz
    Adaptec 3085 with 2x 16GB MTRON SSD@RAID 0
    Razer Barracuda AC1
    Gainward HD 4850 GLH Bliss
    Corsair HX520
    Chieftec Big tower

  16. #316
    Quote Originally Posted by SQjay View Post
    It's a tough call. If you find nice B3 2360 with K10stats you can fine tune its vcore and bring it down to 85W or so @2.5GHz. 8 cores @2.5GHz for total of 180W is not so bad.
    I found on ebay 8360SE for 50$ per piece and I'm really in a doubt.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT
    BTW, from my own experience those 8xxx CPU are a little bit better power consumption wise then 2xxx models.
    Thanks for the info. The board itself is very power-hungry, I see ~26W in standby! And overall consumption under load, with _less_ hard drives is higher than similar system running in MSI K9ND!

    I saw those CPUs too, searched as soon as I saw your post Fantastic price, really want to snap them up before they go, but can't justify spending £70 on this, when I don't have a job atm

    If I were you, I'd go for it..
    Last edited by karbonkid; 05-18-2011 at 11:01 AM.

Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 310111213

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •