Page 4 of 52 FirstFirst 123456714 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 1290

Thread: 8800GT voltage mods

  1. #76
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,967
    Quote Originally Posted by VETDRMS View Post
    Evga SSC is @ home on the table waiting. Will have some prelim numbers up tonight with vGPU and vMEM mods using an MCW-60 water block and Swiftech H20-220, single loop on GPU.

    :cheers:

    Edit: and some pictures, finally I get to use the Canon 40D on computer parts, should be a good night.
    AWESOME, can't wait for your post!

  2. #77
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    1,101
    Quote Originally Posted by wittekakker View Post
    For VGPU, 500 Ohm VR is really good, almost no overvolting, less then with 8800GTS/X
    hows your results?

  3. #78
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    203
    how heat sensitive are the resisotrs you solder to in order to read voltages?
    Last edited by Jigsaw; 11-02-2007 at 04:22 AM.

  4. #79
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,967
    So anyone with the mod done have any results clock-wise? I see a couple of people who have watercooling/aftermarket air-cooling hitting upward of 770-800mhz core without the mod, I'm darn curious how high these will go with more voltage.


  5. #80
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    794
    Will a VF-900cu be able to handle the wrath of G92?

    stock/vmodded...either? no? maybe?
    Computerr:
    Case: Cooler Master Gladiator 600
    Mobo: MSI 790FX-GD70...
    RAM: G.Skill ECO DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24 @ 1.4v.
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 @ 3.6 GHz
    Graphics: Visiontek HD 5850 1gb
    PSU: Corsair HX650w.
    Cooling: Xigmatek HDT-S1283
    HDD: WD5000AAKS-00V1A0,Older 3 platter WD Black 1tb.

  6. #81
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,967
    Stock, pretty well but it will probably max out... vmodded, not so sure .

  7. #82
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    4,237
    Quote Originally Posted by wittekakker View Post
    Got some good news and some bad news.

    Bad news is, the variable resistor I've laying around seem to be dying

    Good news: this is what caused the modification not to work. Had some more time today to find out what really went wrong, just got another VR on it today é voila, variable GPU voltage

    No need for me to paint it out, Largon's picture is allready clear enough, VSEN+ to ground

    Have fun
    Sorry to ask but which of both legs is Vsense+? could you upload a picture of the modded card.

    Regards

  8. #83
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    77
    Hey, no 500ohm VRs around like I thought.

    Stock metered voltages on SSC are vGPU-1.107 at desktop, 1.137 loaded; vMem-1.995.

    With MCW-60 can run 800mhz core at 29-30C loaded.

    Sorry, out of time, pics ect to follow this weekend.

  9. #84
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    4,237
    Quote Originally Posted by largon View Post
    11Ω (or 15Ω?) between vSense pin and ground is a horribly low resistance. I was expecting something around 45Ω since G80GTS/GTX which measures to 35Ω output 1.28v, and since the GT has lower vGPU thus the sense resistance should be higher than those on GTS/GTX as all use the same PWM IC. <20Ω is very low and IMO somwhat suspicious...

    If someone is willing to be a guinea pig then I would suggest soldering a 500Ω multiturn VR between this point and ground. Before soldering measure the resistance between soldering points (should be ~15Ω), set VR at max resistance (500Ω), solder the VR, measure resistance between soldering points (should be ~14.5Ω, if much less don't turn the card on) tune down for more vGPU.
    Damn i found a couple of VR but i think they are not good for the mod i got a 50kΩ and a 10kΩ VR here.

    i'll have to find 500Ω VR but i think it will be hard

  10. #85
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    77
    I will probably just order a few from McMaster.

    Someone asked about the SSC bios, and I think it was in this thread, so I attached it. The voltage identifier is 1.05 like the normal 8800. However, my vGPU and vMem are higher than normal.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #86
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    844
    Quote Originally Posted by cowie View Post
    hows your results?
    Unfortunately this card aint mine, just did a quick research so to please the OC-community. No results, but I can tell you that I could increase to 1,2VGPU. Anyway, XS counts enough people owning such card, it will not take too long before those cards are running at 1GHz I suppose

    Quote Originally Posted by metro.cl View Post
    Sorry to ask but which of both legs is Vsense+? could you upload a picture of the modded card.
    Didn't picture it, you will have to take me on my word here
    Vsen+ is the pin marked below:

  12. #87
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    1,101
    so it only works to pin right??

  13. #88
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    No, all these spots work.
    If not, there's something wrong with the VR/other equipment.
    You were not supposed to see this.

  14. #89
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    9
    Heat is a killer on my card at least. On the first 3D '06 run I hit 83c. I pulled off the HSF and applied AS5, got down to 75c on the second run. I almost burnt my finger on the heatsink though. I guess those NVIDIA engineers who have been saying "We're good to 100c" are pushing it a bit here.

    Needless to say, the card was very stable at 700mhz core, and ran through a '06 pass as high as 733. I couldn't get much more out of it without doing better cooling and maybe this volt-mod. We'll just have to see how the cores do with about 1.2v.

  15. #90
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    983
    Quote Originally Posted by nordicpc View Post
    Heat is a killer on my card at least. On the first 3D '06 run I hit 83c. I pulled off the HSF and applied AS5, got down to 75c on the second run. I almost burnt my finger on the heatsink though. I guess those NVIDIA engineers who have been saying "We're good to 100c" are pushing it a bit here.

    Needless to say, the card was very stable at 700mhz core, and ran through a '06 pass as high as 733. I couldn't get much more out of it without doing better cooling and maybe this volt-mod. We'll just have to see how the cores do with about 1.2v.

    i have no heat issues what so ever with my stock cooler, even overclocked >770/1800/1000. I think my last 3dmark run peaked at 72°C. The only thing you have to do to keep the heat down is max the fan @100%... of course it sounds like a hair dryer then, but i only do that for 3dmark runs.

    edit: sorry to go off topic (volt mods)
    Desktop
    [Asus Rampage III Gene] [i7 920 D0] [12GB OCZ3B2000C9LV6GK] [HIS HD 5970] [SeaSonic X750 Gold ] [Windows 7 (64bit)] [OCZ Vertex 30GB x3 Raid0] [Koolance CPU 360] [XSPC Razer 5970] [TFC 360 rad, D5 w/ Koolance RP-450X2]
    HTPC
    [Origen AE S10V] [MSI H57M-ED65] [ i5-661 w/ Scythe Big Shuriken] [Kingston HyperX LoVo 4GB ] [ SeaSonic X650 Gold ] [ OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD ] [ SAMSUNG Spinpoint 640GB 7200 RPM 2.5"][Panasonic UJ-225 Blu-ray Slot Burner] [ Ceton InfiniTV4]

  16. #91
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    16
    The problem is definitely the Overvolt Protection. The 8600gt/gts can hit 1000 core with volt mod's and no OVP.
    ------------------------------------
    i7 920 d0 - 4ghz
    4890 Xfire
    RAM!
    27" Planar LCD

    ------------------------------------

  17. #92
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    10009
    Posts
    3,701
    lets see a shot of someones modded card.

  18. #93
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,967
    Quote Originally Posted by nosleep View Post
    The problem is definitely the Overvolt Protection. The 8600gt/gts can hit 1000 core with volt mod's and no OVP.
    Didn't see anyone with a problem with OVP yet, can you link the post you're saying has the problem ?

  19. #94
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    241
    Well, are there any results yet?
    Last edited by georgesod; 11-03-2007 at 03:05 AM.

  20. #95
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by GoldenTiger View Post
    Didn't see anyone with a problem with OVP yet, can you link the post you're saying has the problem ?
    Meant to post this in the 8800GTS thread

    my bird

    still though, I wouldn't be surprised if these GT's are restricted by the OVP
    ------------------------------------
    i7 920 d0 - 4ghz
    4890 Xfire
    RAM!
    27" Planar LCD

    ------------------------------------

  21. #96
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    1,101
    yes i see its working
    last night i tryed but to no luck
    i seen today that my ground wire was off.
    testing 1.29 load now
    thank you from me and the others who dont thank but use
    best wishes
    cow

  22. #97
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    652
    So what are you all hitting with increased volts?
    HTPC - AMD Phenom II 555 Unlocked(4cores) - 4GB Gskill - AMD HD 5850 - Avermedia Duet - Harman Kardon avr247 - Surround Sound (Infinity Beta 50's, 10's, 360, and ed a2-300) - Samsung 46"

    Desktop Powerhouse PC - Gathering dust due to high usage of HTPC as general pc now

  23. #98
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by cowie View Post
    yes i see its working
    last night i tryed but to no luck
    i seen today that my ground wire was off.
    testing 1.29 load now
    thank you from me and the others who dont thank but use
    best wishes
    cow
    hey cowie

    are you planning to put it on dry ice

    if so are you able to tell us how much droop there is

    also can you also let us know where the OVP limit is at if you are brave or crazy enough to stick a lot of volts into it....hence why i asked if you're on DICE
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  24. #99
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    1,101
    well i just had it at 1.55 3d and 3c
    no blacksreen and i did not get the clocks i thuoght i might hit only benchmark stable at 810-825.
    but its only been a few hrs
    i'll start slow and backdown for 24/7 to 1.28 that did not effect temps much but gained me 50mgz on core
    i just play around not going for the kill to early

  25. #100
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    how much drop and droop are you seeing

    1.55V LOL

    what cooling are you on
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



Page 4 of 52 FirstFirst 123456714 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •