Page 2 of 52 FirstFirst 1234512 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 1290

Thread: 8800GT voltage mods

  1. #26
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by oohms View Post
    MIGHT be the vcore solder point:



    (Got info from http://xtreview.com/review164.htm )

    Dinos22: What is the resistance between point 1 and ground?

    Gawd this is so much more fun than studying for exams
    LOL i know what you mean about taking a break from studying

    i used to go play golf of all things (actually just practice shots myself a looooooong time ago )

    what is point 1 that you refer to
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  2. #27
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    948
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    what is point 1 that you refer to
    The circled point in the last pic (connected to vsense)
    Last edited by oohms; 10-30-2007 at 09:26 PM.
    Q9550 || DFI P45 Jr || 4x 2G generic ram || 4870X2 || Aerocool M40 case || 3TB storage


  3. #28
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    4,237
    Quote Originally Posted by wittekakker View Post
    VGPU in BIOS is set to 1,05V. I saw 1,1V is the highest possible value, maybe it works and boosts your overclock 2%

    Made modbios via Nibitor, here is the zipfile, use at own risk.

    i get 015 between those points

  4. #29
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by wittekakker View Post
    VGPU in BIOS is set to 1,05V. I saw 1,1V is the highest possible value, maybe it works and boosts your overclock 2%

    Made modbios via Nibitor, here is the zipfile, use at own risk.
    can you alter RAM timings in the bios?
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  5. #30
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    Quote Originally Posted by oohms View Post
    MIGHT be the vcore solder point:



    (Got info from http://xtreview.com/review164.htm )

    Dinos22: What is the resistance between point 1 and ground?
    ^This spot-to-GND is essentially the same as spot2/spot3-to-spot4 in this pic:


    I'm pretty sure we're talking about the right soldering spot for the vGPU mod... But here's a safer (it's not a populted SMD solderpad) and much easier soldering point:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by largon; 10-31-2007 at 12:15 AM.
    You were not supposed to see this.

  6. #31
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    11Ω (or 15Ω?) between vSense pin and ground is a horribly low resistance. I was expecting something around 45Ω since G80GTS/GTX which measures to 35Ω output 1.28v, and since the GT has lower vGPU thus the sense resistance should be higher than those on GTS/GTX as all use the same PWM IC. <20Ω is very low and IMO somwhat suspicious...

    If someone is willing to be a guinea pig then I would suggest soldering a 500Ω multiturn VR between this point and ground. Before soldering measure the resistance between soldering points (should be ~15Ω), set VR at max resistance (500Ω), solder the VR, measure resistance between soldering points (should be ~14.5Ω, if much less don't turn the card on) tune down for more vGPU.
    Last edited by largon; 10-31-2007 at 12:17 AM.
    You were not supposed to see this.

  7. #32
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    4,237
    Quote Originally Posted by largon View Post
    ^This spot-to-GND is essentially the same as spot2-to-spot4 in this pic:


    I'm pretty sure we're talking about the right soldering spot for the vGPU mod... But here's a safer (it's not a populted SMD solderpad) and much easier soldering point:
    that one to ground? what VR value should i get? the space is pretty small and my soldering skills bad but i'll give it a try.

    There is no way for a vGPU pencil mod?

  8. #33
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    4,237
    we need shamino to enlighten us here

  9. #34
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    4,237
    Quote Originally Posted by oohms View Post
    The circled point in the last pic (connected to vsense)
    015 from what i get.

    Pin 1 to ground

  10. #35
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    Easiest soldering point for vGPU mod:

    ^This point to ground, 500Ω VR at max, tune down for more vGPU.
    Be sure to measure the resistance before and after soldering before powering up.
    You were not supposed to see this.

  11. #36
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    948
    15Ω... thats a bit off the GTS/GTX

    I guess its possible, the other resistor might be of a lower value too..
    Q9550 || DFI P45 Jr || 4x 2G generic ram || 4870X2 || Aerocool M40 case || 3TB storage


  12. #37
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,634

    Thumbs up

    Does the 8800GT card have the same layout as the 8800GTS or the 8800GTX?
    I haven't seen pics of it without cooler yet...

    -edit- never mind
    Left card:
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...68#post2523668
    Last edited by Garrett; 10-31-2007 at 04:17 AM.
    lol... This forum requires that you wait 70 seconds between posts. Please try again in 8 seconds.
    *phone rings*
    Friend: Do you have a spare PSU lying around?
    Me: No why?
    Friend: My PSU just blew up, I think the second 8800GTX might have been too much for it to handle
    Me: what PSU was that again?
    Friend: Antec 480w
    Me:........

  13. #38
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    The vGPU mod needs beta testing but otherwise the mods are technically the same as for 8800GTS/GTX only the tracing and solder points differ. Unfortunately pencil vGPU mod doesn't seem to be possible - unlike it was first thought.

    !WARNING, BETA, UNCONFIRMED!
    Reference 8800GT 512MB vGPU, vMEM, pencil vMEM mods
    !WARNING, BETA, UNCONFIRMED!
    Last edited by largon; 10-31-2007 at 09:32 AM.
    You were not supposed to see this.

  14. #39
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    844
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    can you alter RAM timings in the bios?
    Yes, that is possible. 8 different timingsettings, no clue if it really changes anything in real life.

    Quote Originally Posted by largon View Post
    The vGPU mod needs beta testing but otherwise the mods are technically the same as for 8800GTS/GTX only the tracing and solder points differ. Unfortunately pencil vGPU mod doesn't seem to be possible - unlike it was first thought.

    Reference 8800GT 512MB vGPU, vMEM, pencil vMEM mods
    My thoughts went for the some spots yesterday, Vgpu didn't work out for me

  15. #40
    One-Eyed Killing Machine
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside a pot
    Posts
    6,393
    Quote Originally Posted by wittekakker View Post
    Yes, that is possible. 8 different timingsettings, no clue if it really changes anything in real life.
    You don't need to play with the timings-sets, just click on Advanced ( I don't remember if that's the name of the button in the timings tab ) and you'll get to the timings editing page ( where you can edit each timing individually )
    Coding 24/7... Limited forums/PMs time.

    -Justice isn't blind, Justice is ashamed.

    Many thanks to: Sue Wu, Yiwen Lin, Steven Kuo, Crystal Chen, Vivian Lien, Joe Chan, Sascha Krohn, Joe James, Dan Snyder, Amy Deng, Jack Peterson, Hank Peng, Mafalda Cogliani, Olivia Lee, Marta Piccoli, Mike Clements, Alex Ruedinger, Oliver Baltuch, Korinna Dieck, Steffen Eisentein, Francois Piednoel, Tanja Markovic, Cyril Pelupessy (R.I.P. ), Juan J. Guerrero

  16. #41
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    I hate to say this but it's possible nVIDIA somehow prevented vGPU vmodding by some nefarious board design feature. If the vsense pin doesn't react to resistance changes it certainly doesn't look good...
    You were not supposed to see this.

  17. #42
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Quote Originally Posted by largon View Post
    I hate to say this but it's possible nVIDIA somehow prevented vGPU vmodding by some nefarious board design feature. If the vsense pin doesn't react to resistance changes it certainly doesn't look good...
    I refuse to believe thats true!!

    Cards only been publicly available for 3 days...the mod will be found eventually
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  18. #43
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    844
    Quote Originally Posted by BenchZowner View Post
    You don't need to play with the timings-sets, just click on Advanced ( I don't remember if that's the name of the button in the timings tab ) and you'll get to the timings editing page ( where you can edit each timing individually )
    Indeed, but I think not many have the time available to search for ultimate timings for their card, having predefined sets works easier. On the other hand, the extra gain is rather small. If you are 2 3D Marks away from the world record, I might want to put effort in it, otherwise I would just neglect this feature.

  19. #44
    One-Eyed Killing Machine
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside a pot
    Posts
    6,393
    Quote Originally Posted by largon View Post
    I hate to say this but it's possible nVIDIA somehow prevented vGPU vmodding by some nefarious board design feature. If the vsense pin doesn't react to resistance changes it certainly doesn't look good...
    Have you tried soldering the VR directly on the Vsense pin on the primarion ic ?
    Coding 24/7... Limited forums/PMs time.

    -Justice isn't blind, Justice is ashamed.

    Many thanks to: Sue Wu, Yiwen Lin, Steven Kuo, Crystal Chen, Vivian Lien, Joe Chan, Sascha Krohn, Joe James, Dan Snyder, Amy Deng, Jack Peterson, Hank Peng, Mafalda Cogliani, Olivia Lee, Marta Piccoli, Mike Clements, Alex Ruedinger, Oliver Baltuch, Korinna Dieck, Steffen Eisentein, Francois Piednoel, Tanja Markovic, Cyril Pelupessy (R.I.P. ), Juan J. Guerrero

  20. #45
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    As it happens I don't have the card, yet. So I haven't done any soldering. :\
    But it doesn't matter what point the VR is soldered as long as the solder point is directly connected with the sense pin.
    There are atleast 4 points that could be used for soldering the VR - if the mod worked that is...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    You were not supposed to see this.

  21. #46
    One-Eyed Killing Machine
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside a pot
    Posts
    6,393
    Quote Originally Posted by largon View Post
    As it happens I don't have the card, yet. So I haven't done any soldering. :\
    But it doesn't matter what point the VR is soldered as long as the solder point is directly connected with the sense pin.
    There are atleast 4 points that could be used for soldering the VR - if the mod worked that is...
    AFAIR this Primarion IC has a more complicated Vsense/FB circuit.
    Anyway, as soon as more people get the card, the Vmods will be out for sure
    Coding 24/7... Limited forums/PMs time.

    -Justice isn't blind, Justice is ashamed.

    Many thanks to: Sue Wu, Yiwen Lin, Steven Kuo, Crystal Chen, Vivian Lien, Joe Chan, Sascha Krohn, Joe James, Dan Snyder, Amy Deng, Jack Peterson, Hank Peng, Mafalda Cogliani, Olivia Lee, Marta Piccoli, Mike Clements, Alex Ruedinger, Oliver Baltuch, Korinna Dieck, Steffen Eisentein, Francois Piednoel, Tanja Markovic, Cyril Pelupessy (R.I.P. ), Juan J. Guerrero

  22. #47
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    What really bugs me is that those 2 resistors connected to the vsense pin don't appear to ground with the actual ground plane which is just a quarter of a millimeter away from the resistor, instead both traces end in copper vias and dive into the PCB. I wonder where those traces really ground...

    edit:
    Here's a pair of pics to compare the vsense network on G80GTS and G92GT, they're physically almost identical if the layout difference isn't considered (left=G80GTS, right=G92GT, red color=vsense):
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by largon; 10-31-2007 at 12:02 PM.
    You were not supposed to see this.

  23. #48
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,447
    Quote Originally Posted by largon View Post
    What really bugs me is that those 2 resistors connected to the vsense pin don't appear to ground with the actual ground plane which is just a quarter of a millimeter away from the resistor, instead both traces end in copper vias and dive into the PCB. I wonder where those traces really ground...

    edit:
    Here's a pair of pics to compare the vsense network on G80GTS and G92GT, they're physically almost identical if the layout difference isn't considered (left=G80GTS, right=G92GT, red color=vsense):

    i dont have a card, if it doesnt work with the red line, try the blue line, they are probably just vsense + and vsense -

  24. #49
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    844
    Got some good news and some bad news.

    Bad news is, the variable resistor I've laying around seem to be dying

    Good news: this is what caused the modification not to work. Had some more time today to find out what really went wrong, just got another VR on it today &#233; voila, variable GPU voltage

    No need for me to paint it out, Largon's picture is allready clear enough, VSEN+ to ground

    Have fun

  25. #50
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    wittekakker,
    Awesome!
    I was really beginning to worry since first impression was it didn't work, I just couldn't see another way to do the mod and ofcourse since the mods are almost identical to those on 8800GTS/GTX it really put me off.
    Whew!

    Anyone planning on executing the vMEM mod?
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i dont have a card, if it doesnt work with the red line, try the blue line, they are probably just vsense + and vsense -
    Good to know that.
    Thanks!
    You were not supposed to see this.

Page 2 of 52 FirstFirst 1234512 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •