Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Are there 2 versions of X2 5000+ Black? ADO5000IAA5DS(G2) & ADO5000DSWOF(G1?)

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    6

    Question Are there 2 versions of X2 5000+ Black? ADO5000IAA5DS(G2) & ADO5000DSWOF(G1?)

    Tom's hardware just had a review of the G2 stepping of 5000+ Black (ADO5000IAA5DS): http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/10/...et_overclocker

    They even have the CPU picture which shows it's an ADO5000IAA5DS model right on the CPU cap.

    So I was ready to order a x2 5000 Black Edition under the impression that they are all G2 stepping. But wait! I found that Newegg, buy.com, ZZF and other major retailers all have ADO5000DSWOF (instead of ADO5000IAA5DS) version of 5000 Black which is probably the G1 stepping!

    Now I am totally confused: are these ADO5000DSWOF G1 or G2 stepping? And where does Tom's hardware get their ADO5000IAA5DS(G2 for sure) from?
    Last edited by yichen382; 10-22-2007 at 06:47 PM.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    6
    Just found these from AMD's web site:

    http://products.amd.com/en-us/Deskto...ail.aspx?id=39
    showing ADO5000DSWOF as G1

    http://products.amd.com/en-us/Deskto...ail.aspx?id=38
    showing ADO5000IAA5DO as G2

    So, where can I buy ADO5000IAA5DO? Are they even released? I can't find anyone selling it in the US.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,173
    I think that all 5000+ Black Editions are G2!Online shops are probably wrong(even AMD compare has wrng informations about this part).
    It comes without heatsink/fan.
    User Nedjo tested this chip first here and it was G2.Now we have a few more reviews and all say it's G2.

    BTW,WOF in OPN code means Without Fan,just like BlackEd. is shipping.

  4. #4
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    there are black ed's shipping with fan... ncix has them.
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  5. #5
    Phenom™
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,233
    Quote Originally Posted by informal View Post
    BTW,WOF in OPN code means Without Fan,just like BlackEd. is shipping.
    Lol...that's a joke, right? WOF denotes a retail-boxed cpu.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    soooooooooooooooooooooo any shops in Santa Clara that stock these?
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  7. #7
    Phenom™
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,233
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    soooooooooooooooooooooo any shops in Santa Clara that stock these?
    Yep, just one exit north off Highway 101 HERE'S a place where you'll find as many as you'll want.

    Also, last I checked, Fry's was carrying them. And there's actually one down the street from the place above.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by s7e9h3n View Post
    Yep, just one exit north off Highway 101 HERE'S a place where you'll find as many as you'll want.

    Also, last I checked, Fry's was carrying them. And there's actually one down the street from the place above.
    ROFL imagines me walking into AMD headquarters to pickup a black edition CPU hahahahah

    Any Fry's joints close to Santa Clara Marriott ??
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  9. #9
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    4,237
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    ROFL imagines me walking into AMD headquarters to pickup a black edition CPU hahahahah

    Any Fry's joints close to Santa Clara Marriott ??
    Microcenter is at walking distance, use google earth is a really handy tool.

    Frys is kinda far but there is a "subway" in santa clara it isnt the best way to travel but is ok.

    here:



    AMD HQ is about the same distance from the hotel but last time i was there they only had a AMD store that sold old shirts and some mugs
    Last edited by metro.cl; 10-23-2007 at 12:49 AM.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    wow so Google Earth can be useful too
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  11. #11
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,750
    petras is over there also just in the other direction, for all of ur cooling needs
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    BEYOND THE SUN - SCOTLAND
    Posts
    476
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    wow so Google Earth can be useful too
    Dinos, no offence but.....in your avatar......are you smacked out on exstacy?

  13. #13
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    lol i'm surprised that so many people still don't know who that playboy in my avatar is
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    305
    Quote Originally Posted by SOLDNER-MOFO64 View Post
    Dinos, no offence but.....in your avatar......are you smacked out on exstacy?
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...8&postcount=13
    Main Components
    QX9650 @ 4.5GHz | Asus Maximus Formula SE | HD3870 Crossfire | 2gb Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500
    150gb Raptor X | 2x Hitachi 500gb | 2x Seagate 500gb
    Silverstone TJ-07 | Coolermaster Real Power 1000w
    EK Supreme | EK-FC3870 CF
    Thermochill PA120.3 | Thermochill PA120.2
    Swiftech MCP655

  15. #15
    Phenom™
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,233
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    petras is over there also just in the other direction, for all of ur cooling needs
    Yep, PTS is ~2 exits south of AMD. I make it a point to stop over there and visit those guys whenever I'm in the area. I've known Alex and Quoc for over 8 years. Those guys handle ALL my cooling needs (outside of phase, of course ).

    .....BTW, that avatar is a pic of Saaya on crystal meth j/k

  16. #16
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Germany, Bremen
    Posts
    541
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    lol i'm surprised that so many people still don't know who that playboy in my avatar is
    Our Cellshock-Man Saaya

    Right?!

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside an AS355F2
    Posts
    414
    Back to the G1 vs G2, the G2 has the tweaked memory controller - is that correct?

  18. #18
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by metro.cl View Post
    Microcenter is at walking distance, use google earth is a really handy tool.
    these guys have so much stock but not what i'm looking for

    they haven't event heard of the black edition CPUs lol

    just went there today lol
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  19. #19
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,548
    Quote Originally Posted by Aussie FX View Post
    Back to the G1 vs G2, the G2 has the tweaked memory controller - is that correct?
    yup!
    And it's ridiculous how many mistakes there are on AMD site.

    All Black Editions are rev G2, and they end with "DS" code in OPN.

    AMD should clear out this confusion!
    Adobe is working on Flash Player support for 64-bit platforms as part of our ongoing commitment to the cross-platform compatibility of Flash Player. We expect to provide native support for 64-bit platforms in an upcoming release of Flash Player following the release of Flash Player 10.1.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •