Page 65 of 74 FirstFirst ... 155562636465666768 ... LastLast
Results 1,601 to 1,625 of 1827

Thread: Official ASUS X38 Boards: P5E, P5E3 - Info/BIOS Thread

  1. #1601
    Xtreme Addict JohnZS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,597
    Quote Originally Posted by 3BABY View Post
    Hey Guys,

    just wandering if anyone has flashed P5E3 to any x48 ddr3 variants.. namely P5E3 Premium ?

    thanks
    I would want to know that to.
    Anyone managed to flash a vanilla standard non-deluxe P5E3 to either the Maximus or the Premium?
    John

  2. #1602
    Xtreme Member Buggalugs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    249
    I was going to but my results are so good with the default bios i dont see the need right now.
    Asus Z87 DeluxeDual/ i7 4770K @4.4Ghz /4x4 Gb Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 9-9-9-24 1T/Intel 520 240Gb SSD /Samsung F3 1TB HD/MSI 680 Lightning / Corsair AX850 watt PSU/Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120/Samsung S23A950D 120Hz monitor/ Aurora 570 Case//Windows 7 64bit/AudioEngineA2 Speakers/Gigabyte Osmium Aivia Mechanical KB/ Gigabyte Krypton Mouse

  3. #1603
    Xtreme Member mu||et's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    103
    I had to use a blow dryer and some towels on each side of the NB cooler to get it off, it was bonded with some kind of epoxy. Runs a ton cooler now and the 70mm fan I put on it blows good on the back of the 8800GTX. I feel like I cheated death doing this.





    • LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS P8P67 Deluxe Bios (1702) • i7-2600k @ 3.8 + Prolimatech Megahalems • Intel 510 120GB SSD SATA 111 • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1600 •
    • HIS 5850 Cooler V 1GB • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS 24X DVD+R - SATA • HT Omega Striker 7.1 • DELL 2209WA E-IPS • Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •

  4. #1604
    Xtreme Enthusiast Mykou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dr^_^Gon Land
    Posts
    684
    So happy with X38 and get back DDR3 on main rig ( bye bye X48 nightmare ) bios 1001

    less than a day to get stable

    with summer coming , just running 3.6ghz 1.11v

    good bye BSOD, random reboots , IE7 freezes booting after express gate uuuhh and still able to go for crossfire 2 x 16 later



    here are my settings if interrested

    Ai tweaker = manuel
    CPU ratio = 8.5
    FSB strap = 400
    FSB=424
    DRAM = 1696
    command rate = 2T
    dram timing = 7-6-6-18
    dram static read control = ENABLE
    dram write control = auto
    ai clock twister= lighter
    ai clock skew A/B= auto
    ai transaction booster=DISABLE
    relax level = 1
    cpu voltage =1.137
    cpu PLL = 1.60
    fsb termination voltage=1.12
    dram voltage = 1.86
    northbridge voltage = 1.31
    SB voltage=auto
    clock overcharging voltage = auto
    load line calibration = enabled
    cpu voltage reference= 0.62 ( oui curieux que j'aie pas le 0.61 dans le bios )
    nb voltage reference = 0.61
    cpu /pci spread spectrum = DISABLE
    Last edited by Mykou; 07-06-2008 at 04:22 AM.
    E8400@3.6ghz 1.11v |Asus P5E3 deluxe bios 1001| 2 giga Cellshock DDR3 12800@1696mhz|Samsung Syncmaster 2232BW 22' | Asus 8800 GTS² 512 TOP|Western digital sata 500 SE16 | Blu Ray LG GGW-H20LRB| Creative X-fi platinum|Nexus 600W | case Coolermaster 1000 "Storm"
    Xeon E3110@3.6ghz 1.15v|Asus P5K premium "blackpearl" bios 503|2 gigas Cellshock DDR2 8500 |Twintech 9600 GT|nec 1970 GX|Gigabyte 3D aurora case

    E8400(Q804A249) valid@ 4.8 ghz 1.56v
    Xeon E3110 (Q746A534)valid@ 4.79 ghz 1.59v real bios AIR /superpi 1m@9.968 .. under vista

    My Ibanez 540S " Saber "overclocked with Di Marzio and Sperzel
    My cousin on drums Hi Brian !

  5. #1605
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    33
    Got the board above the 440Mhz barrier. X3350 is running at 3.54Ghz, 1.41 volts, rock solid stable. Couldn't post the OCCT and other PI run because the GF closed them down.

    Time to do another run!

    i7 965 Extreme Edition
    XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 Universal CPU Water Cooling Kit
    Asus P6T Deluxe V1
    Corsair Dominator GT 1866
    XFX Radeon 6970 2GB
    WD 1TB Black
    PCP&C Turbo-Cool 1200 SR
    Samsung 503t

  6. #1606
    Xtreme Member lowtcell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    286
    Can you please post your bios settings?
    ASUS P5E X38 (RF 0701 Bios) Q9550@3.51 1.248v, Xigmatek S1283, 8GB GSkill DDR2-8000@990 1.94v, XFX HD5870,
    2 - Seagate 7200.10 320G RAID0, Seagate 7200.11 500G, Seagate 7200.12 1.5TB
    Lian-Li (Rocketfish) Full Tower, Silverstone Zeus 750Watt, Vista Ultimate x64 SP1, Dell U2410

  7. #1607
    Registered User noneed4me2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    San Bernardino CA
    Posts
    27
    I swapped out the Intel stock cooler for a tt Blue Orb II I got here http://www.thermaltakeshop.com/ref/ref-cooler.html (great prices I use them alot as of late). I was nervous about removing the stock NB cooler so I just tightened down the screws abit and hoped for the best. The Blue Orb covers the first to dimms but with a little dexterity I can still remove them. After the base attatchments its easy to remove and reinstall without motherboard removal. I had errors plugging it into the cpu fan header so I just plugged it in to a molex w/adapter. Even at full speed I barely here it at all. My gpu runs louder. I just got a new digital camera to replace my stolen one, so i will shoot some beauty pics tommorrow.
    Main Rig: Lone Frakker..
    Q6600 GO@3ghz FSB333
    P5E3 Deluxe/wifi FTW
    2x1gb DDR3 Gskill 1333@8,8,8,24 1n
    Sapphire HD2900xt
    Pioneer 20x DVD burner IDE (to save SATA ports)
    All air cooled
    CPU cooler: tt Blue Orb II (wicked air cooler)
    PSU: Hiper 580w Type R modular
    Case: tt Bach VX w/window
    Seagate 7200.11 500gb 32mb cache

    Old rig: Gunslinger 1.0
    Asus A8R32mvp Deluxe (Asus rocks)
    Opteron 170@2.8ghz+
    Sapphire x1900gt
    Hard drives: Seagate 320gb 7200.11 16mb cache
    Samsung DVD burner
    Case: tt Aguila
    CPU Cooler: lapped Arctic Freezer pro
    PSU: Antec Smartpower 2.0 500w


    I like zThermaltake, can't you tell?

  8. #1608
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    33
    No can do. Had to drop it back down to 3.2Ghz. Crashed after 13 hours of Prime95.

    I'm going to lap the TRUE and all the heatsinks on the board, apply a rice spot of AS Ceramique on each contact point and retest.

    My water cooling gear will be here within the next week so I should be able to push it at least back-up to where it was if not further.

    Quote Originally Posted by lowtcell View Post
    Can you please post your bios settings?
    i7 965 Extreme Edition
    XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 Universal CPU Water Cooling Kit
    Asus P6T Deluxe V1
    Corsair Dominator GT 1866
    XFX Radeon 6970 2GB
    WD 1TB Black
    PCP&C Turbo-Cool 1200 SR
    Samsung 503t

  9. #1609
    Xtreme Member mu||et's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    103
    425x8 is pretty easy 24/7 setup. All the extra BS involved and crazy voltages to get 200Mhz more is just dumb.
    • LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS P8P67 Deluxe Bios (1702) • i7-2600k @ 3.8 + Prolimatech Megahalems • Intel 510 120GB SSD SATA 111 • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1600 •
    • HIS 5850 Cooler V 1GB • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS 24X DVD+R - SATA • HT Omega Striker 7.1 • DELL 2209WA E-IPS • Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •

  10. #1610
    Xtreme Member lowtcell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    286
    Quote Originally Posted by mu||et View Post
    425x8 is pretty easy 24/7 setup. All the extra BS involved and crazy voltages to get 200Mhz more is just dumb.
    Dumb? This is XS, where every mhz counts when benching.
    ASUS P5E X38 (RF 0701 Bios) Q9550@3.51 1.248v, Xigmatek S1283, 8GB GSkill DDR2-8000@990 1.94v, XFX HD5870,
    2 - Seagate 7200.10 320G RAID0, Seagate 7200.11 500G, Seagate 7200.12 1.5TB
    Lian-Li (Rocketfish) Full Tower, Silverstone Zeus 750Watt, Vista Ultimate x64 SP1, Dell U2410

  11. #1611
    Xtreme Member mu||et's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    103
    Quote Originally Posted by lowtcell View Post
    Dumb? This is XS, where every mhz counts when benching.
    True but the P5E is gimped so its live with 3.4 stable or spend more money.

    my 2 cents.
    • LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS P8P67 Deluxe Bios (1702) • i7-2600k @ 3.8 + Prolimatech Megahalems • Intel 510 120GB SSD SATA 111 • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1600 •
    • HIS 5850 Cooler V 1GB • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS 24X DVD+R - SATA • HT Omega Striker 7.1 • DELL 2209WA E-IPS • Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •

  12. #1612
    Xtreme Member WeldZilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    454
    The only thing I have found to be gimped around this board is it's owners!!!!!!!!
    Here it is 95 degrees here today and even though I am water cooled I have had to turn it al the way down to the 4600MHZ range to bench.
    good grief.. 65 pages of mostly whining but.....if you read close you would have maybe learned how to get the most from your systems.
    you don't need to flash it to something else. you need to put together the right pieces as with anyboard. If you put parts together that weon't blend to give you the best chance for speed
    that is NOT the board's fault!! I suggest you sell the damn thing. And start putting the wrong parts on some other system to about.


    Yeah benching at these sucky speeds is a real .






    Damn this miserable board!!

    WZ
    Last edited by WeldZilla; 07-12-2008 at 09:11 PM.

  13. #1613
    Registered User VinnyG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Canada, ON
    Posts
    40
    Has anyone used/tried the "new" 702 BIOS? Any major changes? Currently planning on getting a E7200 to replace my E6420:P

  14. #1614
    Xtreme Member mu||et's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    103
    WeldZilla, I am talking about the 45nm quad ( Q9450 X3350 ) and the 450 fsb wall. Now if you can get either of those quads to 450 and over on a P5E board I will say I am sorry to you the Zilla dude.
    • LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS P8P67 Deluxe Bios (1702) • i7-2600k @ 3.8 + Prolimatech Megahalems • Intel 510 120GB SSD SATA 111 • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1600 •
    • HIS 5850 Cooler V 1GB • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS 24X DVD+R - SATA • HT Omega Striker 7.1 • DELL 2209WA E-IPS • Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •

  15. #1615
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Sydney - Australia
    Posts
    82
    Just wondering for a friend - Can you flash the P5E Deluxe to the Rampage bios? or does it only work on the P5E?
    | i7 860 | EVGA P55 FTW | 2* HD5850 | HX-620 | Lian Li v2010b | 2 Samsung F1 640gb |TRUE | 4gb G.Skill RipJaws 2000mhz cas9 | Dell E248WFP *2 + Dell 2405FPW |

  16. #1616
    Xtreme Addict screwtech02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,080
    Rampage bios's work fine, even gain better mem bandwidth.....
    Gigabyte X79 UP4
    I7 E5 2650 @ 3.1
    32gb Patriot G-Seris PC3-12800
    Sapphire R9 270X Toxic x3
    2 Kingston Hyper X 240gb (os)
    4 320gb samsung F1's (Game Array)
    X-Fi Titanium
    Custom watercooling setup
    (proc,chipset,vid cards)
    Windows7 Ultimate X64



  17. #1617
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    24
    Does anyone know if the P5E3 Deluxe Wifi is more stable than the Premium Variant? Also, does the Deluxe work well with the OCZ 1600Mhz Platinum 2x2GB RAM?

  18. #1618
    Xtreme Cruncher karl_eller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    1,317
    I haven't looked in a while, but has Asus released a BIOS yet that fixes that damn 4:5 memory divider on the P5E? Just about everything after 107 seems to be giving my 2x2Gb G.Skill PC8000 kit a major headache. I'm running a Q6600 at 400x9, and the 4:5 divider flat out refuses to POST, the 5:6 divider (960 MHz) doesn't even pass memtest at 2.1v (this is with all timings and the FSB strap on Auto, 1.45v on the NB, and all other voltages up a notch). But it'll do 1:1 at 1.8v all day long, so I don't think the RAM is bad.

    So am I missing some setting or other, or what? I'm currently using 605, if that makes any difference.

    Eller

    Desktop: Q6600 G0 @ 3.6 Ghz | P5E | 2x2 Gb G.Skill PC8000 | GTX 560 Ti | CM690 | TT TP 750 watt | Win 7 Pro x64 | Water Cooling
    Server: i3 530 (Stock) | CM Vortex Low-Profile | Zotac H55-ITX WIFI | 2x2Gb Corsair 1333Mhz | IGP | VX450 | Server 2008 R2 x64

  19. #1619
    Xtreme Member lowtcell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    286
    I had 4:5 and 5:6 working with Q6600 with bios 502 without too much tweaking.
    ASUS P5E X38 (RF 0701 Bios) Q9550@3.51 1.248v, Xigmatek S1283, 8GB GSkill DDR2-8000@990 1.94v, XFX HD5870,
    2 - Seagate 7200.10 320G RAID0, Seagate 7200.11 500G, Seagate 7200.12 1.5TB
    Lian-Li (Rocketfish) Full Tower, Silverstone Zeus 750Watt, Vista Ultimate x64 SP1, Dell U2410

  20. #1620
    Xtreme Enthusiast Envydia007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Killadelphia
    Posts
    596
    Quote Originally Posted by Buggalugs View Post
    I was going to but my results are so good with the default bios i dont see the need right now.

    What bios is your default?
    CPU: INTEL Q9550 E0 @ 3600 1.28V + CORSAIR H50
    GPU: EVGA GTX 480 @ 725/1450/3800
    PPU: EVGA 9800GTX @ 738/1836/2250
    MB: ASUS P5E X38
    RAM: MUSHKIN 2X2GB
    SOUND: X-FI TITANIUM FATAL1TY | LOGITECH Z-5500 | LOGITECH G35
    HDD: WD 76GB X 2 RAPTORS RAID 0 10KRPM | WD 1TB CAVIAR BLACK 32MB STORAGE
    PSU: CORSAIR HX1000W PSU
    OS: WINDOWS 7 PRO X64 OS
    MON: HANNSPREE 28" 1920X1200 RESOLUTION


  21. #1621
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6
    Hey guys, quick question about ram upgrade:

    I'm looking for a good set of DDR2 1066mhz (4GB) that can overclock to 1200mhz - either 2x2gb or 4x1 gb kits for vista 64 bit running on Asus P5E

    I was looking at g skill 2x2gb kit (1066), can this be overclocked to 1200 mhz?

    OR, whats the best 1066 or 1200 4 gb kit for my asus p5e on vista 64 ?

    Thanks

  22. #1622
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    58
    Ok riddle me this gentlemen.. So I build a new system using a p5e. I installed a q6600, overclocked to 3.2ghz from 2.4ghz. I stablilty tested the system for 3 days using occt, prime, memtest blah blah. stable as could be. I packed up the system and dropped it off at a friends house. I started the pc up and its booting at 2.4ghz. I go into the bios and the fsb freq is set at 356 which gives me 3.2ghz. I reboot and it still posts at 2.4ghz. Even in windows it shows 2.4ghz. Any fsb I move it do even below the stock 266mhz, it still shows 2.4ghz. I can change the ram speed and that stays but not the fsb. I cleared the bios but didnt have a chance to install version 702 again. Anyone have any idea why this does this or how to fix it?
    thanks

  23. #1623
    Registered User noneed4me2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    San Bernardino CA
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by Wrangler88 View Post
    Ok riddle me this gentlemen.. So I build a new system using a p5e. I installed a q6600, overclocked to 3.2ghz from 2.4ghz. I stablilty tested the system for 3 days using occt, prime, memtest blah blah. stable as could be. I packed up the system and dropped it off at a friends house. I started the pc up and its booting at 2.4ghz. I go into the bios and the fsb freq is set at 356 which gives me 3.2ghz. I reboot and it still posts at 2.4ghz. Even in windows it shows 2.4ghz. Any fsb I move it do even below the stock 266mhz, it still shows 2.4ghz. I can change the ram speed and that stays but not the fsb. I cleared the bios but didnt have a chance to install version 702 again. Anyone have any idea why this does this or how to fix it?
    thanks
    Try disabling C1E in the bios. This is throttling and could be your issue.
    Main Rig: Lone Frakker..
    Q6600 GO@3ghz FSB333
    P5E3 Deluxe/wifi FTW
    2x1gb DDR3 Gskill 1333@8,8,8,24 1n
    Sapphire HD2900xt
    Pioneer 20x DVD burner IDE (to save SATA ports)
    All air cooled
    CPU cooler: tt Blue Orb II (wicked air cooler)
    PSU: Hiper 580w Type R modular
    Case: tt Bach VX w/window
    Seagate 7200.11 500gb 32mb cache

    Old rig: Gunslinger 1.0
    Asus A8R32mvp Deluxe (Asus rocks)
    Opteron 170@2.8ghz+
    Sapphire x1900gt
    Hard drives: Seagate 320gb 7200.11 16mb cache
    Samsung DVD burner
    Case: tt Aguila
    CPU Cooler: lapped Arctic Freezer pro
    PSU: Antec Smartpower 2.0 500w


    I like zThermaltake, can't you tell?

  24. #1624
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    58
    tried that already and no change. Even if i try to underclock it, it still stays at 2.4ghz.. this is odd since it was working just fine before the car ride to a differnt house..

  25. #1625
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    13

    dead p5e bios

    flashed my p5e to the 403 rampage bios today and upon restart it is dead, no post at all , nothing , fans run but monitor is blank (no signal) , has any one got a solution to overcome this problem?, i have cleared cmos, removed battery , stripped the board bare, still nothing. any help would be much appreciated. cheers
    Q6600
    P5E 1.03G/RAMPAGE 403
    2X1G OCZ 1066 REAPERS
    GAINWARD 8800GT 1G GS
    HYPER 580W/MEANWELL 320W
    D-TEK BLOCK,MCP655,MCR220-QP
    MICRO-RES,1/2" TUBE

Page 65 of 74 FirstFirst ... 155562636465666768 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •