Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

Thread: Omega Drivers

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    103

    Omega Drivers

    I don't post often here though I frequent often. Wanted to get this out to as many sites as possible so if it offends then I am sorry. It should at least make one think.....Take Care All,

    Front page at Guru3d.com

    Omega Driver News
    Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn - views: 52


    You've all heard/read about the news that nVIDIA is putting a halt towards the modified NVDIA drivers from Omega. He now definitely pulled the plug on the drivers. And although I never have used the drivers myself I think it's a shame as there was quite a community very interested on these modified drivers. Here's what Omega has to say, long story that we'll post in it's entire form as I think Omeage is at least entitled to that:

    Well, as most of you have heard by now, I will not be releasing any more Omega drivers for nvidia cards. I know this must come as a surprise for many since there are a lot of people who trust my work and know that I'm doing all of this to help people. This is what REALLY happened:
    I received an E-Mail from nvidia on June 17, it was from one of their attorneys, and he wanted to speak with me personally on the phone. The mail seemed friendly, but since it was coming from the nvidia law offices, I was worried of some kind of lawsuit because of my work. I called him after reading the mail, and he greeted me in a friendly tone, so my nerves started to calm down as soon as he told me that he only wanted to ask me a few questions. He started by telling me that many people filled complaints at nvidia because my drivers where "damaging" PCs and that people thought my drivers where approved by them since I had the nvidia logo on my page, so I corrected him and told him that I have a very clear statement on my page and in the driver installation that warned users about the drivers, that they where not supported by nvidia in any way and in case of problems contact me directly or through the forums. Then he told me that what I was doing was illegal, that I can't reverse engineer their drivers, because it was in the license agreement, so I explained to him that I never did that, that I use registry tweaks and dll swaps to make the drivers work like I wanted, then I used settings and patch scripts that are freely available in tweakers like RivaTuner, plus I add some others that are of my own creation, like the custom resolutions and DirectX optimizations, and at the end I just packed all that work in one simple installer and distributed it freely on the internet. After my explanation the only thing he had against me was the nvidia logo on my page, so he told me that I must remove it immediately because people would get confused an think that my drivers are official nvidia drivers, so I told him that there is no problem, the logo will go. He thanks me and asks my phone number because they will be contacting me again, so I gave him my number and thank him for his time.
    After that I removed the logo and didn't heard from them again, I was gonna continue to make the drivers, but had my doubts...

    Then, just a few days ago, I got an E-Mail from Zardon telling me that nvidia E-Mailed him about my drivers, and told him to REMOVE THE DRIVERS FROM DRIVERHEAVEN...
    Now that does it! One thing is contacting me about my drivers and asking me to stop working on them, another is to force websites to take down the drivers which they host as a favor to the community.
    Right now I'm really pissed of at nvidia for that thing alone, first the cheats, then buying Futuremark's statement and now, Take down 3rd party sets that help them by making their customers happy? What's wrong with them!? They think money can buy anything?
    They are in the wrong track, they just want to cover all that bad press that they have been receiving lately by buying trust, but TRUST is not something they can buy, is something they must EARN! Gamers know that, they are no fools, maybe they can convince some old guy sitting in a president chair about it, showing him big numbers in synthetic benchmarks and showing their financial year gains, but they can't fool US:

    WE are the ones that buy their cards.
    WE are the ones that play the games.
    WE are the ones that support each other in forums when something goes wrong.
    WE are the ones that make their hardware reviews.
    WE are the ones that they should listen.
    WE are the ONLY ones, that can make a difference...

    See ya! nvidia....



    Source: omega

    0 Comments


    Personally I do not use the omega drivers nor do I suspect that many here do...however all should be interested.
    A64 3000+ @ 2.7Ghz
    Epox 8KDA3+
    eVGA 6800 GT
    28,000 - 3D2001

  2. #2
    Tweaked!
    Guest
    That is a shame, it was quite clear from what I had seen that he made no references to being tied to or part of Nvidia whatsoever, and all o/cers do tweaks of some sort, he was just someone who had the knowledge and ability to comp[ile and share all his tweaks with the community. It is a sad day to see the likes of Nvidia feeling that they have to play hardball with small guys who are doing nothing more than helping to get Nvidias products to the top of the benchers lists.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Spotswood, NJ
    Posts
    147
    Over at Omegacorner, The Omega dude has his own words article on what happened with nVidia...Happily he hasnt had this issue with ATI, and has posted the 3.5 Omega driver..nVidia has Ruined my confidence in running 3Dmarks...But then again having to Optimize, (cheat) your drivers just reinforces that ATI has the superior product..MY 9800PRO is simply Awsome...
    8400@500x8.5 4.25gig
    4gig Crucial Ballistix
    2-Raptors Raid-0
    EP45-UD3P
    4850

  4. #4
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    605
    ow god i just came across this post ..

    this is a very sad move from nvidia and i think they ruined their reputation even more with this . It'll need many years for me to swallow this

    Ati is my brand and if they keep making good products i don't see a reason to change ...
    Hope Ati is smarter in such things .


    Main rig 1: Corsair Carbide 400R 4x120mm Papst 4412GL - 1x120mm Noctua NF-12P -!- PC Power&Cooling Silencer MK III 750W Semi-Passive PSU -!- Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H -!- Intel i7 4790K -!- Swiftech H220 pull 2x Papst 4412 F/2GP -!- 4x4gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866Mhz CAS9 1.5V (D9PFJ) -!- 1Tb Samsung 840 EVO SSD -!- AMD RX 480 to come -!- Windows 10 pro x64 -!- Samsung S27A850D 27" + Samsung 2443BW 24" -!- Sennheiser HD590 -!- Logitech G19 -!- Microsoft Sidewinder Mouse -!- Fragpedal -!- Eaton Ellipse MAX 1500 UPS .





  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    771
    I use the ATi Omega drivers.

    They got me 1K more points in 3dmark01

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    90
    I use the ATI Omega drivers to unlock my 9800se to a pro. works great

    shame on nVidia.
    desktop:
    AMD 3800+ x2 | MSI K9N Neo-F | 1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 675 | 7600GT | 2x160GB | MX700 | Enermax 485w

    notebook:
    ASUS A6T Turion x2 TL52 | 1GB DDR2 | Go7600 | DVD±RW 8x DL | 80GB 7200rpm | WiFi | XP pro

  7. #7
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    You guys.... this thread is like 2 years old???
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    67
    lolz0rz

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    27
    So what if this is old newz, but just to let people know, I was using Omega drivers on my FX5600xt and am in the #1 spot besides the only 2 that have 64bit using a 5600xt. I got a BIG FPS jump by using the Omega drivers. My system specs are below so I could see why a 64 bit system could jump ahead of me, but no other Athlon XP system has been able to get above me...

    to Omega for coming out with the drivers and for the time he did work on em.
    Last edited by CorruptHawkeyez; 02-19-2005 at 09:10 AM.

    :SYSTEM:
    MSI 770T-C45
    AMD Phenom ii X4 940 (OC 3.6GHZ)
    Corsair H100 closed-loop CPU water cooler
    8GB DDR2 memory
    2 X Western Digital Caviar SE WD1600JS 160GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive (RAID 0)
    Nvidia GTX 460 1GB
    CoolerMaster HAF932

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    A Corner of Hell
    Posts
    150
    I love omega drivers, I've used them before to softmod my ati 9800 SE

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    54
    Still using these not for long thought, I think
    Desktop: SuperPi 8m: 6m 43s
    Motherboard:DFI LanParty UT RDX200CF-DR
    Processor:AMD64 3000+ (Venice) @ 2250 MHz
    Memory:Mushkin Redline dual-kit PC4000
    Graphic:Club3D X1800 XT 512
    Power:BeQuiet 470W
    Cooling:Hydro Seltz L20 O4P-SE, Zalman ZM-WB3 Gold CPU , Zalman ZM-GWB2 VGA, Evo 240 and Innovatek Tank-O-Matic


  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    371
    nVidia

    Omega drivers are great - i don't use anything else, but then I've only had ATI graphics. Currently i'm usable to install any ATI driver's as they seem to have disregarded those with mobility chips, so i rely on the omega drivers to save using the 2 year old drivers that came with the laptop!

    ATI better not do the same


    CPU's:- Xeon 3060 | Q6600 G0
    Mobos:- MSI X48C (Coming!) | MSI X38 Platinum | Asus P5K Deluxe
    RAM:- Kingston HyperX PC3-14400 | Team Xtreem PC2-6400C3 | Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400 | Kingston PC2-9600
    Graphics:- PNY 9800GX2 | EVGA 8800GTX
    PSUs :- Antec TPQ-1KW | Ultra X-Pro 600w EE
    Cooling:- Nozzled FuZion | MCW60 | DDC w/ DDCT-01s | PA120.3

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    116
    damn how did i not know about this if it happened so long ago i remember my friends trying to get omega drivers to run games

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1
    i cant find omega drivers for my radeon 2900xt.can u help me?

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    1,315
    Quote Originally Posted by Doma.poland View Post
    i cant find omega drivers for my radeon 2900xt.can u help me?

    Its because they dont exist.


    Holy thread from the dead! This thing is nearly 4 years old!
    Phenom 9950BE @ 3.24Ghz| ASUS M3A78-T | ASUS 4870 | 4gb G.SKILL DDR2-1000 |Silverstone Strider 600w ST60F| XFI Xtremegamer | Seagate 7200.10 320gb | Maxtor 200gb 7200rpm 16mb | Samsung 206BW | MCP655 | MCR320 | Apogee | MCW60 | MM U2-UFO |

    A64 3800+ X2 AM2 @3.2Ghz| Biostar TF560 A2+ | 2gb Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 | Sapphire 3870 512mb | Aircooled inside a White MM-UFO Horizon |

    Current Phenom overclock


    Max Phenom overclock

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    above USA...below USSR
    Posts
    1,187
    The Omega Drivers v3.8.421 are out. they are based on the 7.10 set of drivers. they only work for XP, if people were to donate to the Ömega guy; hed have money to get vista 64 and build support for vista. anyway, anyone interested heres the link to them http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1765 .

    compatible with Radeon X Series /SE/Pro/XT/PE, Radeon X 1k Series, Radeon HD 2x Series, All Mobility Radeons (M6 and up)

    Ömega drivers are made by an enthusiest for enthusiests, they arent recomended for n00bs due to the amount of options that they give.
    Last edited by Monkeywoman; 11-20-2007 at 11:01 AM.
    Case-Coolermaster Cosmos S
    MoBo- ASUS Crosshair IV
    Graphics Card-XFX R9 280X [out for RMA] using HD5870
    Hard Drive-Kingston 240Gig V300 master Seagate 160Gb slave Seagate 250Gb slave Seagate 500Gb slave Western Digital 500Gb
    CPU-AMD FX-8320 5Ghz
    RAM 8Gig Corshair c8
    Logitech 5.1 Z5500 BOOST22
    300Gb of MUSICA!!


    Steam ID: alphamonkeywoman
    http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/933ab/

  17. #17
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wilson,NC and Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    907
    back from the dead... and i never knew about these things... about to try this. LOL
    2013 Rig: Mythlogic Pollux 1713: i7 4800, 16GB 14900 Corsair, AMD8970, 840 Pro RAID 0 (128gb), 265GB 840 Pro, 1TB HDD, Killer 1202, Win 7 x64
    PREVIOUS Desktop:EVGA E760 3-Way, 2x 5870, Corsair GT 6gb 1600, i7-920 @ 4.35ghz 1.42v, GTZ, EVGA waterblock, 2xthrmchil120.3+mcp655, Silverstone DA1kW, ARC-1220
    Laptop- ASUS G50V-A2@3GHz w/2gb RAM G.Skill
    Car: 01 T/A WS6 http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631954
    ...Ur car is sneezing?!...
    Help Save Lives Join World Community Grid!

  18. #18
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wilson,NC and Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    907
    do i just install these things over my current installation of stuff.... LOL

    or is there some special way i need to do this
    2013 Rig: Mythlogic Pollux 1713: i7 4800, 16GB 14900 Corsair, AMD8970, 840 Pro RAID 0 (128gb), 265GB 840 Pro, 1TB HDD, Killer 1202, Win 7 x64
    PREVIOUS Desktop:EVGA E760 3-Way, 2x 5870, Corsair GT 6gb 1600, i7-920 @ 4.35ghz 1.42v, GTZ, EVGA waterblock, 2xthrmchil120.3+mcp655, Silverstone DA1kW, ARC-1220
    Laptop- ASUS G50V-A2@3GHz w/2gb RAM G.Skill
    Car: 01 T/A WS6 http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631954
    ...Ur car is sneezing?!...
    Help Save Lives Join World Community Grid!

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,938
    Quote Originally Posted by ZL1Killa View Post
    do i just install these things over my current installation of stuff.... LOL

    or is there some special way i need to do this
    never install drivers over top of each other lol. Unistall, use DriverCleaner Pro with restarts and you're good to go.

    I've been using the latest nVidia based ones since they released and they are fantastic.
    GB 790XTA UD4
    GSkill Pi Black 2000 Cas9
    ASUS 4870
    Enermax Revolution 1050+





    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=67661

  20. #20
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wilson,NC and Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    907
    ooops... yeh i shoulda known that... musta been being stupid earlier. do you lose any special features versus ati's driver?
    2013 Rig: Mythlogic Pollux 1713: i7 4800, 16GB 14900 Corsair, AMD8970, 840 Pro RAID 0 (128gb), 265GB 840 Pro, 1TB HDD, Killer 1202, Win 7 x64
    PREVIOUS Desktop:EVGA E760 3-Way, 2x 5870, Corsair GT 6gb 1600, i7-920 @ 4.35ghz 1.42v, GTZ, EVGA waterblock, 2xthrmchil120.3+mcp655, Silverstone DA1kW, ARC-1220
    Laptop- ASUS G50V-A2@3GHz w/2gb RAM G.Skill
    Car: 01 T/A WS6 http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631954
    ...Ur car is sneezing?!...
    Help Save Lives Join World Community Grid!

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wilson,NC and Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    907
    ok uninstalled all ATI drivers... went to install omega drivers... and turns out you must install them on top of the catalyst drivers...as it doesn't recognize crap unless you do so

    any other hints?

    cuz right now its not recognizing my card and when i restarted it said hardware changes found and i downloaded the ati catalyst driver...and installed it? uninstall everything and then install catalyst driver... THEN install omega?
    2013 Rig: Mythlogic Pollux 1713: i7 4800, 16GB 14900 Corsair, AMD8970, 840 Pro RAID 0 (128gb), 265GB 840 Pro, 1TB HDD, Killer 1202, Win 7 x64
    PREVIOUS Desktop:EVGA E760 3-Way, 2x 5870, Corsair GT 6gb 1600, i7-920 @ 4.35ghz 1.42v, GTZ, EVGA waterblock, 2xthrmchil120.3+mcp655, Silverstone DA1kW, ARC-1220
    Laptop- ASUS G50V-A2@3GHz w/2gb RAM G.Skill
    Car: 01 T/A WS6 http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631954
    ...Ur car is sneezing?!...
    Help Save Lives Join World Community Grid!

  22. #22
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wilson,NC and Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    907
    and question about omega overclocking... does it read the true speed of the memory on this board... cuz it booted with 594 on memory...and i doubled that and got 1188... which i thought there was a limit at 1143?

    so how does it read the mem speed?
    2013 Rig: Mythlogic Pollux 1713: i7 4800, 16GB 14900 Corsair, AMD8970, 840 Pro RAID 0 (128gb), 265GB 840 Pro, 1TB HDD, Killer 1202, Win 7 x64
    PREVIOUS Desktop:EVGA E760 3-Way, 2x 5870, Corsair GT 6gb 1600, i7-920 @ 4.35ghz 1.42v, GTZ, EVGA waterblock, 2xthrmchil120.3+mcp655, Silverstone DA1kW, ARC-1220
    Laptop- ASUS G50V-A2@3GHz w/2gb RAM G.Skill
    Car: 01 T/A WS6 http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631954
    ...Ur car is sneezing?!...
    Help Save Lives Join World Community Grid!

  23. #23
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wilson,NC and Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    907
    ok i have had these drivers installed and now i go to overclock...and the voltage tab is gone! WTF?
    2013 Rig: Mythlogic Pollux 1713: i7 4800, 16GB 14900 Corsair, AMD8970, 840 Pro RAID 0 (128gb), 265GB 840 Pro, 1TB HDD, Killer 1202, Win 7 x64
    PREVIOUS Desktop:EVGA E760 3-Way, 2x 5870, Corsair GT 6gb 1600, i7-920 @ 4.35ghz 1.42v, GTZ, EVGA waterblock, 2xthrmchil120.3+mcp655, Silverstone DA1kW, ARC-1220
    Laptop- ASUS G50V-A2@3GHz w/2gb RAM G.Skill
    Car: 01 T/A WS6 http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631954
    ...Ur car is sneezing?!...
    Help Save Lives Join World Community Grid!

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,176
    holy quadruple post batman!

    just install the official drivers back if you're having problems,
    there's a reason for disclaimers coming with unofficial drivers

    if you're unsure about anything then maybe these drivers aren't a good choice for you

  25. #25
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wilson,NC and Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    907
    no whats weird is it was there. i had upped the voltage and overclocked.

    now i go to overclock some more and the voltage setting isn't there...

    re-install time i guess... the whole thing...

    if this keeps up i'm going back to 8.12 catalyst and ati tool
    2013 Rig: Mythlogic Pollux 1713: i7 4800, 16GB 14900 Corsair, AMD8970, 840 Pro RAID 0 (128gb), 265GB 840 Pro, 1TB HDD, Killer 1202, Win 7 x64
    PREVIOUS Desktop:EVGA E760 3-Way, 2x 5870, Corsair GT 6gb 1600, i7-920 @ 4.35ghz 1.42v, GTZ, EVGA waterblock, 2xthrmchil120.3+mcp655, Silverstone DA1kW, ARC-1220
    Laptop- ASUS G50V-A2@3GHz w/2gb RAM G.Skill
    Car: 01 T/A WS6 http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631954
    ...Ur car is sneezing?!...
    Help Save Lives Join World Community Grid!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •