Swiftech
Page 112 of 156 FirstFirst ... 1262102109110111112113114115122 ... LastLast
Results 2,776 to 2,800 of 3883

Thread: *Official Retail G0 Q6600 Overclocking Thread*

  1. #2776
    Registered User nuxezen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    24
    i use zalman 9700nt
    my q6600 g0
    wont even reach 45 during play game ^^
    set the fan to spin at max ^^
    my humble rig
    INTEL Q6600 G0
    ZALMAN CNP9700NT
    ABIT IP35-E
    GALAXY 9600GT
    4X1GB CRUCIAL BALLISTIX TRACER PC6400 800MHZ
    MUSHKIN HP-550
    THERMALRIGHT HR-05 SLI
    OPEN CASE ^^
    2X80GB SEAGATE SATAII

  2. #2777
    I am Xtreme Leeghoofd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,373
    Quote Originally Posted by nuxezen View Post
    i use zalman 9700nt
    my q6600 g0
    wont even reach 45 during play game ^^
    set the fan to spin at max ^^
    No OC then or only a mild one, if I pump the Q6600 over 3.4 I get temps over 65°C on prime with fan at full speed in an antec 900 case
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  3. #2778
    Registered User Hodori58's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    8
    Hellos, I finally was able to install OS on my Q6600, the one which is still running 49C idle and 51C load, but I had a question about the VID. I kept all stock settings and ran both HW Monitor and Everest and they showed the VID to be 1.163 which is interesting cuz after a a few hours it went to 1.26. Sorry again for the newbie question and I will post screenies later but does the VID need time to stabilze? it was on 1.1625 in HW Monitor for like the first 3hrs, and i believe that is wrong. Also if this was covered somewhere else please redirect me with link thanks. or just tell me imma a noob and need to search more thoroughly. Thanks.
    Last edited by Hodori58; 05-08-2008 at 08:56 AM.

  4. #2779
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,012
    Quote Originally Posted by Hodori58 View Post
    Hellos, I finally was able to install OS on my Q6600, the one which is still running 49C idle and 51C load, but I had a question about the VID. I kept all stock settings and ran both HW Monitor and Everest and they showed the VID to be 1.163 which is interesting cuz after a a few hours it went to 1.26. Sorry again for the newbie question and I will post screenies later but does the VID need time to stabilze? it was on 1.1625 in HW Monitor for like the first 3hrs, and i believe that is wrong. Also if this was covered somewhere else please redirect me with link thanks. or just tell me imma a noob and need to search more thoroughly. Thanks.
    It is speedstep. You need to disable it and no overclock to see the VID. In fact, VID is specified for many frequency ranges, so you need the VID when set to 9x266
    Q6600 G0 L740B126 Lapped, 2x1Gb Kingston HyperX DDR2-1200
    Gigabyte 8800 GTS 512Mb OC 756-1890-1000
    TT Toughpower 750 W (W0116) new 8xPCI-E Rev.
    Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400 AAKS rocks
    WC: Swiftech H2O-Apex Ultra 220 GT + PA120.3 5v
    OCZ XTC RAM Cooler, HR-05 IFX + 80mm FAN (NB), 2x HR-09U type 2 (mosfets), Modded Zalman ZM NB-47J (SB), Arctic-Cooling MX-2
    Vista 32 bits
    ------------
    - ASUS P5K Premium bios 0612: (3.84GHz 8x480) @1.432v


    ------------
    - P5B Deluxe: 3.60GHz (9x400) @1.33v *** Old Setup (P5B deluxe)

    OCCT 2.x Final Download

  5. #2780
    Registered User Hodori58's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    8
    ah ok, geesh I think my brain justs gets slower on the weekdays dang work. thanks for the info, i think I remember reading that on this or another thread here geesh so sorry.

  6. #2781
    Xtreme Member conzymaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kilkenny, Ireland
    Posts
    259
    Got my q6600 today, don't have anything to test it with except my awesome Dell SC440 server :P



    VID: 1.2500 seems pretty good

    ~50 degrees full load (Folding @ Home) on stock dell cooler + AS5 (its actually a decent heatpipe cooler, very good for stock )

    Can't wait to start ocing when I get my new gear in the Summer

  7. #2782
    Xtreme Member fng77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    285
    Hello All Q6600 owners!

    I have just orderd one myself. I´m very exited about it since my present cpu is a E2160. I have a few questions for you.


    1. How much vcore is safe with aircooling (I have a xigmatek 1283) on these?

    2. At what temp (core) should I stop pushing it you think?

    3. Is it possible to get as high as 4 ghz with these?

    4. Do you guys consider my Maximus Extreme to be a good partner for a Q6600?

    5. Do you guys have any other tips or recomendations this combo?

    6. What is considerd to be a good (low) vid?



    Thanks for your time
    MotherBoard: GigaByte G33M DS2R
    Memory: 2x1 Gb HyperX DDR2-9600, 1200 Mhz
    Cpu: Intel e2160 @ 3,6 Ghz on Air
    Vga: XFX 4870 XXX
    Cooling: Ninja Mini, 2x Ximatek 120mm, 1x Zalman 80mm , Stock Gpu
    Case: Antec Fusion Remote

  8. #2783
    Xtreme Cruncher Gen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    360
    1. i would not go over 1.5v loaded

    2. intel states 71 ish but i would say 80c is ok, 95c is very close to throttling.

    3. yes, on some, but not as likely with air.

    4. dunno

    5. usually most of the older L7's can reach 3.6ghz with reasonable voltage, anything higher can often take alot more voltage making 3.6 the sweet spot.

    6. lower the better 1.200v being the best, 1.35v obviously the worst.
    vid does not always represent how a cpu will o/c.

  9. #2784
    Xtreme Member fng77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    285
    Quote Originally Posted by Gen View Post
    1. i would not go over 1.5v loaded

    2. intel states 71 ish but i would say 80c is ok, 95c is very close to throttling.

    3. yes, on some, but not as likely with air.

    4. dunno

    5. usually most of the older L7's can reach 3.6ghz with reasonable voltage, anything higher can often take alot more voltage making 3.6 the sweet spot.

    6. lower the better 1.200v being the best, 1.35v obviously the worst.
    vid does not always represent how a cpu will o/c.



    Thanks for your fast reply!

    I´m pretty sure that I gonna get a G0, Then I suppose that 3,6 ghz would be no problem. Just hope that I get a cpu with a good vid, always wanted that


    Now you problobly gonna think I´m an idot, but what does "dunno" means. Something good i hope!?
    MotherBoard: GigaByte G33M DS2R
    Memory: 2x1 Gb HyperX DDR2-9600, 1200 Mhz
    Cpu: Intel e2160 @ 3,6 Ghz on Air
    Vga: XFX 4870 XXX
    Cooling: Ninja Mini, 2x Ximatek 120mm, 1x Zalman 80mm , Stock Gpu
    Case: Antec Fusion Remote

  10. #2785
    Xtreme Member fng77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    285
    I also heard that some people had problems with mosfets overheating when oc:ing quadcores. Is that some thing to worry about with stock Asus cooling, with the standard bad contact between mosfet - heatsink.

    My thermalpad looks something like this, without the brown (so far)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    MotherBoard: GigaByte G33M DS2R
    Memory: 2x1 Gb HyperX DDR2-9600, 1200 Mhz
    Cpu: Intel e2160 @ 3,6 Ghz on Air
    Vga: XFX 4870 XXX
    Cooling: Ninja Mini, 2x Ximatek 120mm, 1x Zalman 80mm , Stock Gpu
    Case: Antec Fusion Remote

  11. #2786
    Xtreme Mentor Utnorris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    4,464
    dunno = don't know

    Utnorris

    P.S. My Q6600 with a vid of 1.27v goes to 3.6Ghz at 1.47v 100% OCCT stable 24/7. Temps max out at 60c under load using w/c. To get 4Ghz, most have reported they needed 1.6v and a good cooler, typically w/c. Q6600 has a FSB wall around 475Mhz, so getting 4Ghz is possible, but does require a lot more voltage. Also, your NB voltage will need to be increased to get stable OC's. Mine is at 1.48v, but from what I have read to get 4Ghz you need 1.6v on the NB.
    CPUID http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=484051
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=484051
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=554982
    New DO Stepping http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=555012
    4.8Ghz - http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=794165

    Desk Build
    FX8120 @ 4.6Ghz 24/7 / Asus Crosshair V /HD7970/ 8Gb (4x2Gb) Gskill 2133Mhz / Intel 320 160Gb OS Drive, WD 256GB Game Storage

    W/C System
    (CPU) Swiftech HD (GPU) EK HD7970 with backplate (RAM) MIPS Ram block (Rad/Pump) 3 x Thermochill 120.3 triple rads and Dual MCP355's with Heatkiller dual top and Cyberdruid Prism res / B*P/Koolance Compression Fittings and Quick Disconnects.

  12. #2787
    Xtreme Member fng77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    285
    Quote Originally Posted by Utnorris View Post
    dunno = don't know

    Utnorris

    P.S. My Q6600 with a vid of 1.27v goes to 3.6Ghz at 1.47v 100% OCCT stable 24/7. Temps max out at 60c under load using w/c. To get 4Ghz, most have reported they needed 1.6v and a good cooler, typically w/c. Q6600 has a FSB wall around 475Mhz, so getting 4Ghz is possible, but does require a lot more voltage. Also, your NB voltage will need to be increased to get stable OC's. Mine is at 1.48v, but from what I have read to get 4Ghz you need 1.6v on the NB.

    Thanks for the info mate
    MotherBoard: GigaByte G33M DS2R
    Memory: 2x1 Gb HyperX DDR2-9600, 1200 Mhz
    Cpu: Intel e2160 @ 3,6 Ghz on Air
    Vga: XFX 4870 XXX
    Cooling: Ninja Mini, 2x Ximatek 120mm, 1x Zalman 80mm , Stock Gpu
    Case: Antec Fusion Remote

  13. #2788
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    No OC then or only a mild one, if I pump the Q6600 over 3.4 I get temps over 65°C on prime with fan at full speed in an antec 900 case
    So true. Zalman 9700 is a chump. At 3.4GHz with 1.248v under load, my temps get up to 56-60c with the Zalman @ 100% in the 900. 3.6GHz with 1.3v load and up puts me in the high 60s, low 70s. That's with MX-2, AS5 gave me worse temps.
    CPU: Q6600 @ 3.4GHz [425x8] (1.248v CPU-Z Load) L741A963 / VID=1.2125
    HSF: Zalman 9700
    MB: DFI DK P35-T2RS
    GPU: XFX 8800GTS (G92) 512MB @ 800/1970/1100
    RAM:
    2GB OCZ Reaper (PC2 6400) 850 [4-4-4-12]
    HDD: WD 500GB 16MB
    Case: Antec 900
    PSU: OCZ 700W
    Monitor: LG 22" L226WTQ

  14. #2789
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    457
    When I was testing my q6600 P95 load on all four cores (stock 2.4ghz) temps were at 31,31,29,28 C. Idle was like 27 C across the board. Not bad for a quad 120mm heatercore with apogee gtx.
    When I get my RM'd DFI X38 back i'll push the chip. week 804 G0.

  15. #2790
    Xtreme Cruncher Gen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    360
    New L804A, VID 1.325v, Pack Date 03/19/08, haven't tested 3.6 completely but it was 1m stable @1.35v. Currently running it at 400x8=3200 @1.32v loaded 24/7 WCG.









    not too bad for a high VID chip although it would show it's true colours on what it takes for a stable 3.6.

  16. #2791
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    457
    Gen my q6600 from newegg is nearly identical to yours.

  17. #2792
    Xtreme Cruncher Gen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    360
    @Unoid, the box is identical or the FPO/Batch?

  18. #2793
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    457
    same week chip L804A942 . and VID is same at load.
    When I get my motherboard back i'll post what I get for my max OC and volts. I'm on water tho. Coretemp was showing me 31-32C at 12.4ghz full load. Ambient of about 18C

    Think I'll handle 3.8ghz at under 1.5V 24x7 on my water?
    Last edited by Unoid; 05-10-2008 at 01:50 PM.

  19. #2794
    Xtreme Cruncher Gen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    360
    water should have no problem with 1.5v load. the only reason i haven't pushed to 3.6 is because i'm not sure for how long the 680i with 4 phase power can handle it @24/7 100% load. Previously, it was stable with the quad that's now in my gamer @3.6 so maybe i am just fretting over nothing.

    Nevertheless i am awaiting your results, i think it's a good batch, 3.2 at stock volts (1.32) is nice haha

  20. #2795
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    457
    I sure hope so. Everyone says l8xx is not clocking well. My dfi do x38 is 4 phase digital power.

  21. #2796
    Xtreme Member Pacha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    275
    Do all the L804A have 1.325V VID? I hope not, I've just bought one.
    L804A515 pack date 04/07/08



    I'm currently lapping it, I don't have courage to test this one before and after but IHS isn't flat.
    ASUS P8P67
    i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.6GHz
    Twintech 8800 GT 512Mo Samsung (vgpu modded)
    Crucial Ballistix DDR3 C7 2 * 2Go
    2 * WD VelociRaptor 150Go RAID 0
    2 * Samsung Spinpoint F3 1To RAID 0
    Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
    Seasonic S12 600HT


    WC :

    1A-SL2 CPU // 1A-SL2 GPU (home made fix)
    Eheim 1048 + magicool 25
    2 * Black Ice Pro 3 serial
    Tygon 3603 + glycoshell

  22. #2797
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    457
    seems like they all are. But since we got water we can hit the higher clocks with a bit more vcore.

  23. #2798
    Xtreme Member Pacha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    275
    mh. I would have preferred having a low vcore to prevent the board from overheating
    I'll see soon
    ASUS P8P67
    i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.6GHz
    Twintech 8800 GT 512Mo Samsung (vgpu modded)
    Crucial Ballistix DDR3 C7 2 * 2Go
    2 * WD VelociRaptor 150Go RAID 0
    2 * Samsung Spinpoint F3 1To RAID 0
    Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
    Seasonic S12 600HT


    WC :

    1A-SL2 CPU // 1A-SL2 GPU (home made fix)
    Eheim 1048 + magicool 25
    2 * Black Ice Pro 3 serial
    Tygon 3603 + glycoshell

  24. #2799
    Xtreme Member Pacha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    275
    Quote Originally Posted by fng77 View Post
    I also heard that some people had problems with mosfets overheating when oc:ing quadcores. Is that some thing to worry about with stock Asus cooling, with the standard bad contact between mosfet - heatsink.

    My thermalpad looks something like this, without the brown (so far)

    I have the same Asus cooling for the mosfets of my Commando but I removed the pad and put some AS5 instead. the contact must be better seeing the quality of the original thermal pad
    anyway, with my E6600 idling the sink is hot and the other mosfets without sink are quite hot also
    I hope they'll not burn with my quad
    ASUS P8P67
    i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.6GHz
    Twintech 8800 GT 512Mo Samsung (vgpu modded)
    Crucial Ballistix DDR3 C7 2 * 2Go
    2 * WD VelociRaptor 150Go RAID 0
    2 * Samsung Spinpoint F3 1To RAID 0
    Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
    Seasonic S12 600HT


    WC :

    1A-SL2 CPU // 1A-SL2 GPU (home made fix)
    Eheim 1048 + magicool 25
    2 * Black Ice Pro 3 serial
    Tygon 3603 + glycoshell

  25. #2800
    Xtreme Member fng77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    285
    Quote Originally Posted by Pacha View Post
    I have the same Asus cooling for the mosfets of my Commando but I removed the pad and put some AS5 instead. the contact must be better seeing the quality of the original thermal pad
    anyway, with my E6600 idling the sink is hot and the other mosfets without sink are quite hot also
    I hope they'll not burn with my quad

    Yes. I´m thinking about makeing some sort of backplate out of an aluminiumsheet and replace the pushpins with screws, just to be sure. I suppose that the mosfets will be under more load with four cores if I got it right?

    Instead of 2x say 1.45 v theres 4x 1.45 v and as i understand it there are the mosfets that disribute these voltiges, right?
    MotherBoard: GigaByte G33M DS2R
    Memory: 2x1 Gb HyperX DDR2-9600, 1200 Mhz
    Cpu: Intel e2160 @ 3,6 Ghz on Air
    Vga: XFX 4870 XXX
    Cooling: Ninja Mini, 2x Ximatek 120mm, 1x Zalman 80mm , Stock Gpu
    Case: Antec Fusion Remote

Page 112 of 156 FirstFirst ... 1262102109110111112113114115122 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •