Swiftech
Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 3456789 LastLast
Results 126 to 150 of 217

Thread: Are new G0 chips really too good OCers? - No!

  1. #126
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    408
    Geez.. Why would anyone buy these new E6X50 chips? My E6600 from week 26th of 2006 does 3.60GHz with 1.31V (BIOS) - 1.27~1.29V (Windows). Yeah maybe X6850 is binned better and could do ~4.0GHz, but at what vCore? Is it worth it? Plus the lower multiplier and looser strap... The only thing going for them looks like lower temps to me.

    Anyone who already has an E6x00 and wants to upgrade has only 1 choice - Q6600.
    I don't check my PMs very often.

  2. #127
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    408
    And I really hope this ES frenzy to come to an end. We all know what Intel did with E6600/E6700/X6800 when it was launched last year. As much as it's possible that the new stepping ES represent an improved overclocking, it's just as possible that it's another round of.. well you know what.

    Besides, most folks have no access to ES chips and once retail chips become available verdicts will be out soon enough. Or at least wait for more legitimate reviews from reputable sites. (Intel even fooled them last year when it comes to overclocking)
    I don't check my PMs very often.

  3. #128
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    you have a very special e6600, and you're failing to see that most everyone else doesn't have as good a chip as that. in your case, definitely stick to your e6600.

    as for es not being representative of the production models, it's already been well established. that said, from preliminary looks of production samples, e6850's are performing similarly to es models, and the lower models are suffering. personally, i had a e6750 l719a hit 8x400=3.2 with 1.37v actual under load. 8x420 wouldn't even stabilize with 1.5v, so it looks indeed like it hit a sharp wall somehow.
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  4. #129
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by pvhk View Post
    the e6850 really rocks!
    e6850@3.8Ghz, fsb@423, ram sync, vcore@1.38v on air (cnps8700) with p5k-vm:
    Great results.Can you please give us FPO/Batch #.
    Last edited by sam95ta; 07-21-2007 at 06:19 AM.
    Q6600 GO @ 3.8
    Asus P5Q-E
    Crucial Ballistix 2GB PC2-6400
    Ultra 120 Extreme
    Corsair 750W

  5. #130
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    Quote Originally Posted by sam95ta View Post
    Grat results.Can you please give us FPO/Batch #.
    L719B016:


    Max bench on air vcore @1.60v bios (1.49v under xp):

  6. #131
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    623
    I am actually quite happy with my rather cool running E6750@3.6@1.45V stock Commando but just can't wait to grab the incoming Q6600 SLACR... if only I can find one.

    Totally no reports of any retail G0 Q6600 benched over the www so far.
    'He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose' - Jim Elliot
    Click on the pic to download a free pdf sample of the bestselling book!


  7. #132
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta. Canada
    Posts
    235
    Quote Originally Posted by MacClipper View Post
    Totally no reports of any retail G0 Q6600 benched over the www so far.
    Yeah I am sure there are a bunch of us waiting to see if the retail chips clock higher and run cooler. Both My E6600 and Q6600 are good Ocer's but to get the temps down on my Quad might be worth the jump to a G0.
    Last edited by crossg; 07-21-2007 at 07:06 AM.
    Rig 1
    CPU: i7-990X. CASE: Antec Nine Hundred II. CPU Cooling: TR Venomous X RT. MOBO: ASUS Rampage III Formula. RAM: 12GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 CL7. GFX: EVGA GTX 580's x 2. SLI. HDD's: 1.5 TB Seagate, 1TB WD Sata III. Monitor: Samsung 25". PSU: Corsair AX 1200W. Win 7 64 Bit
    Rig 2.
    CPU: i7-2600K. CASE: Antec Nine Hundred II. CPU Cooling: TR Venomous X RT. MOBO: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe. RAM: 4 GB GSkill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL6. GFX: EVGA GTX 580. HDD: 1TB WD Sata III. Monitor: Samsung 23". PSU: Corsair AX 1200W. Win 7 64 Bit.

  8. #133
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    213
    Just getting started.A chips do not appear to be all that bad.
    FOP/BATCH:L718A190
    Pack Date 6/27/07

  9. #134
    Xtreme Enthusiast AndyM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    535
    Are they Orthos stable for several hours at those speeds?
    C2D E8400 @ 4.4 Ghz
    Asus P5K Deluxe
    Nvidia 8800 GTS @ 648/900
    2GB Ballistix
    Dtek, Swiftech & EK blocks, 2x D5, PA120.3, 2, & 1.
    WD Raptor X 150GB & Seagate 7200.10 320GB
    X-Fi Prelude
    Corsair HX620
    Silverstone TJ07
    Dell 2407 WFP

  10. #135
    xtreme energy kiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Europe, Latvia
    Posts
    4,231
    I just found out that Xeon quads socket 775 3210 (8x) and 3220 (9x) are both cheaper than 6850. So if you prefer quad over dual core get xeon
    ...

  11. #136
    Registered User lee63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Temecula CA
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by Forsaken1 View Post
    Just getting started.A chips do not appear to be all that bad.
    FOP/BATCH:L718A190
    Pack Date 6/27/07
    I have the same chip, I cant even get it stable @ 3.7 on a evga 680i A1 p30 bios

  12. #137
    NREMT-I newls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    near Atlanta Georgia (and hate it)
    Posts
    2,428
    Quote Originally Posted by lee63 View Post
    I have the same chip, I cant even get it stable @ 3.7 on a evga 680i A1 p30 bios
    That might be the OCable difference between nvidia chipsets, and Intel chipsets
    Nothing anymore

  13. #138
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Va.
    Posts
    161
    Since they changed the max Tcase on these G0 stepping chips, all those Core temps are suspect. If you have CoreTemp 0.95, look under Options->Settings...



    ...click that "Show Delta to Tjunction temp" option... the temps reported will be how much headroom room you have left (it counts down as temps go higher) before the cpu throttles itself.

    I'm not sure what value is being used for the new E6x50 chips, but earlier desktop quads used a 100C Tjunction, and it looks like they increased that by 11C for the new G0 stepping Q6600.

    Older/current desktop C2Ds used 85C, but I'm guessing they bumped that up as well... maybe by 11C, but maybe less than that for the Duos. It would be nice if Intel actually said what was being used for each cpu/stepping.
    Rig under construction:

    Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 - L733B470 1.25 VID
    DFI LanParty LT P35-T2R
    Thermalright Ultima 90 w/Zalman ZM-F3 1800rpm
    G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000)
    XFX GeForce 7900GS 256MB (will upgd in Q2)
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
    LG Electronics 18X SATA DVD
    XCLIO GREATPOWER 550W
    Antec P182B case

  14. #139
    Xtreme Enthusiast sofarfrome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    766
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi View Post
    I just found out that Xeon quads socket 775 3210 (8x) and 3220 (9x) are both cheaper than 6850. So if you prefer quad over dual core get xeon

    Please give a link to the site that has Xeon 3220 for less than the E6850.
    ASUS P8P67 Pro Rev3; Intel 2600K; GSkill Ripjaws 1600 (2x4GB); XFX 5870; WD Black 500G x2 Raid0; Silverstone Striker 750W; SwiftechApogee-XT-TC PA120.3-Swiftech MP655; Lian Li G70B; Win7-64

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The clueless don't even know they are.

    Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. -- Einstein

    HEAT

  15. #140
    D.F.I Pimp Daddy Brother Esau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Still Lost At The Dead Show Parking Lot
    Posts
    5,188
    Yea no kidding
    SuperMicro X8SAX
    Xeon 5620
    12GB - Crucial ECC DDR3 1333
    Intel 520 180GB Cherryville
    Areca 1231ML ~ 2~ 250GB Seagate ES.2 ~ Raid 0 ~ 4~ Hitachi 5K3000 2TB ~ Raid 6 ~

  16. #141
    Xtreme Addict turtle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Grand Forks, ND (Yah sure, you betcha)
    Posts
    1,259
    Quote Originally Posted by sofarfrome View Post
    Please give a link to the site that has Xeon 3220 for less than the E6850.
    Wait for it, it just so happened the C2D/Q cuts hit first. Xeons are planned for late July (29th?). It should be there in the next week.

    He's right, word has it prices will be cut to $224 (cheapest quad) and $266 (same as Q6600) for the 3210/3220 respectively, and Xeons have a history of selling cheaper than their made-for-desktop counterparts...So they may end up even cheaper.

    Overclocking the 3210 FSB to 400-450 would be the ultimate budget power rig.
    Last edited by turtle; 07-21-2007 at 11:55 AM.
    That is all.

    Peace and love.

  17. #142
    xtreme energy kiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Europe, Latvia
    Posts
    4,231
    Quote Originally Posted by sofarfrome View Post
    Please give a link to the site that has Xeon 3220 for less than the E6850.
    I have it from my local supplier but you should see it very soon in a few days/weeks unless US stores rip you off and charge more for those xeons
    ...

  18. #143
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5

    6550 experience

    over the last couple of days i've been playing with a e6550 on asus p5k and wondering whether to switch to this new "G0" steping from my trusty nine month old e6600 [9 x 400 on asus p5w]

    when i saw the 7 multiplier I immediately thought of the e6300/6350.

    it seemed to make sense seeing as the cpu sells for around the same price as them both.

    the 6550 initially ran prime for a long time at 3.7ghz but later crashed and eventually i settled at 3.6ghz as the stable best "quickie overclock" result I could get.

    i was considering two upgrades, A] the p5k [from p5w] and B] the 6550 from 6600.

    naturally i LOVE the p5k but will probably pass on G0 stepping versus my antique e6600 because I still have hopes of hitting 4ghz on this fabulous new motherboard with my old processor, at least until the quads drop in price, whoot!!

  19. #144
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    what's the batch code for your e6550
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  20. #145
    Xtreme Member palese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Long Beach, Ca.
    Posts
    388
    Ok I am new to asus OCing so flame away if so desired But how the hell do you see the changes in cpu speed as your adjusting the FSB on the
    P5K Deluxe? I asked in this thread as there is a lot of 6850 and P5K combos out there.
    intel i5 2500k
    Asus P8Z68-V
    EVGA GTX470
    Corsair 8GB Vengence
    Corsair HX1000W psu ,
    High Speed Tech Station Top Deck,
    Dell U2410

  21. #146
    Registered User lee63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Temecula CA
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
    That might be the OCable difference between nvidia chipsets, and Intel chipsets
    I think you might be right, but I need an SLi board

  22. #147
    Coat It with GOOOO Blauhung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    1,607
    Quote Originally Posted by dr-ali View Post
    Are Q6600 G0 really Better than Q6600 B3 for overclocing?
    how much?
    see my earlyer post
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...8&postcount=85

    answer is that they are much better at stock speeds and a few have a chance to clock higher, but most likely you are probably getting a chip of lesser manufacturing quality that functions better at the stock clock speeds due to the fixes that came with the G step.
    Last edited by Blauhung; 07-21-2007 at 04:44 PM.
    Main-- i7-980x @ 4.5GHZ | Asus P6X58D-E | HD5850 @ 950core 1250mem | 2x160GB intel x25-m G2's |
    Wife-- i7-860 @ 3.5GHz | Gigabyte P55M-UD4 | HD5770 | 80GB Intel x25-m |
    HTPC1-- Q9450 | Asus P5E-VM | HD3450 | 1TB storage
    HTPC2-- QX9750 | Asus P5E-VM | 1TB storage |
    Car-- T7400 | Kontron mini-ITX board | 80GB Intel x25-m | Azunetech X-meridian for sound |


  23. #148
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    213
    Quote Originally Posted by AndyM View Post
    Are they Orthos stable for several hours at those speeds?
    No it is not orthos stable.Only had a hour to play this morning.Will try to get it orthos stable over 4 shortly.It does not look good.Maybe occt.Im on water with 1.58v.
    Any volt mods for Gigabyte P35C-DS3R?

  24. #149
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    408
    Quote Originally Posted by ziddey View Post
    you have a very special e6600, and you're failing to see that most everyone else doesn't have as good a chip as that. in your case, definitely stick to your e6600.

    as for es not being representative of the production models, it's already been well established. that said, from preliminary looks of production samples, e6850's are performing similarly to es models, and the lower models are suffering. personally, i had a e6750 l719a hit 8x400=3.2 with 1.37v actual under load. 8x420 wouldn't even stabilize with 1.5v, so it looks indeed like it hit a sharp wall somehow.
    I agree the specific chip that I kept may be an exception vCore-wise, but I think hitting 3.50~3.60GHz with ~1.50V was pretty common with most E6x00 chips? (Before Intel started binning for Q6600s) Now we have these E6850s that hit 3.8~4.0GHz with 1.55V-ish vCore. Can't really see the point of upgrading, especially with their lower multipliers and loosened strap. I mean, outside professional benchers, I don't think the difference between 3.60GHz and 4.00GHz is something to go through the hassle of upgrade for.

    Q6600, on the other hand, is a different story. It's unfortunate that there are only handful of apps that can take advantage of quad-cores, but for folks who use them, it's a god-send. Previously these folks had to rely on workstation boards with dual sockets for their productivity.
    I don't check my PMs very often.

  25. #150
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Va.
    Posts
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by lopri View Post
    ... Can't really see the point of upgrading, especially with their lower multipliers and loosened strap.
    Lower multipliers? I think you're viewing these new cpus wrong. If you compare price-points, you'll see the following:

    E6850 - 9x multiplier, 3.00GHz replaces E6600 - 9x multiplier, 2.4GHz
    E6750 - 8x multiplier, 2.66GHz replaces E64x0 - 8x multiplier, 2.13GHz
    E6550 - 7x multiplier, 2.33GHz replaces E63x0 - 7x multiplier, 1.86GHz

    ...they're not lower multipliers, they're 'higher cpu speed' due to the higher FSB.
    Rig under construction:

    Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 - L733B470 1.25 VID
    DFI LanParty LT P35-T2R
    Thermalright Ultima 90 w/Zalman ZM-F3 1800rpm
    G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000)
    XFX GeForce 7900GS 256MB (will upgd in Q2)
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
    LG Electronics 18X SATA DVD
    XCLIO GREATPOWER 550W
    Antec P182B case

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 3456789 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •