MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Asus P5K Deluxe Wi/Fi with SILVERSTONE ST75F 750W PSU Not Compatible??

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Reno, Nevada
    Posts
    46

    Asus P5K Deluxe Wi/Fi with SILVERSTONE ST75F 750W PSU Not Compatible??

    Ok. Here is the deal.

    I just installed a new Silverstone ST75F PSU into my P5K E6600 system. See the spec's in my sig. This system works fine with a Real Power 550 - RS-550-ACLY PSU.

    I ordered the ST75F a couple of weeks ago and installed it. It didn't work. When I power it on it acts like the 8-pin ATX12V isn't connected. It slightly gets power, fans slightly turn then the system shuts off. The MB power LED is green, the 24-pin motherboard connector is connected, the 6-pin PCI-E is connected.

    I've tried the 4-pin ATX12V connector instead of the 8-Pin with the same results.

    I RMA'ed the first PSU 2 weeks ago and got a replacement yesterday, installed it and Bam.... The same thing. Flash of power then nothing.

    If I try to restart after the immediate failure then it will not do the slight power the shut off. I have to unplug to remove power to the MB before it will try the slight power thing again...

    Once again, I put on my Real Power 550 - RS-550-ACLY 550W and everything fires right up.

    Could a PSU and a MB be incompatible?

    Is anyone running the Silverstone ST75F PSU and the ASUS P5K Deluxe Wi/Fi with success?

    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817256009

    Thoughts?

    -Surly
    Last edited by SurlyPlatypus; 06-21-2007 at 08:36 AM.
    Motherboard:ASUS P5K - Wi/Fi Deluxe
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6600 (L702C582) - 3150MHz, 1.41v
    Bios Revision: 0603
    Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (In Yellow Slots)
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
    Cooling: Tuniq T120 Tower CPU, 80mm Fan on NB
    Case: Antec P160W Anodized Aluminum Super Mid Tower
    Audio: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional
    Video: BFG GeForce 8800GTS 640MB

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    35n28, 97w31
    Posts
    675
    Quote Originally Posted by SurlyPlatypus View Post
    Ok. Here is the deal.

    I just installed a new Silverstone ST75F PSU into my P5K E6600 system. See the spec's in my sig. This system works fine with a Real Power 550 - RS-550-ACLY PSU.

    ...

    Could a PSU and a MB be incompatible?

    ...

    Thoughts?

    -Surly
    On page 2-31 of the manual it shows the EATX12V pin configuration. You'll notice that all the gnd pins are on one side and all the +12V DC are on the other. Compare the two PSUs and see if they have the same pin configuration. Does the Silverstone have all black wire on one side and probably different yellows on the other side?
    | Intel Core i7-2600K | ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3 | G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1866 | EVGA GTS 450 |
    | Swiftech APOGEE Drive II CPU Waterblock with Integrated Pump | XSPC RX360 | Swiftech MCP655-B Pump | XSPC Dual 5.25in. Bay Reservoir |
    | Thermaltake 850W PSU | NZXT SWITCH 810 | Windows 7 64-bit |

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,377
    I use the same PSU and it works fine for me. You sure the 8 pin is in all the way?

    I've had no problems at all. Love this psu so far.

    Actually sorr,y mine is the Zeus model, not the strider.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Reno, Nevada
    Posts
    46
    Thanks for the replys guys.

    I checked the cables and both PSU's have 4 yellow wires on the clip side and 4 black wires on the other side...

    I was really hoping that was it but no...
    Motherboard:ASUS P5K - Wi/Fi Deluxe
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6600 (L702C582) - 3150MHz, 1.41v
    Bios Revision: 0603
    Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (In Yellow Slots)
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
    Cooling: Tuniq T120 Tower CPU, 80mm Fan on NB
    Case: Antec P160W Anodized Aluminum Super Mid Tower
    Audio: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional
    Video: BFG GeForce 8800GTS 640MB

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    766
    I have a similar setup using the same PSU and all is fine.
    ASUS P8P67 Pro Rev3; Intel 2600K; GSkill Ripjaws 1600 (2x4GB); XFX 5870; WD Black 500G x2 Raid0; Silverstone Striker 750W; SwiftechApogee-XT-TC PA120.3-Swiftech MP655; Lian Li G70B; Win7-64

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The clueless don't even know they are.

    Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. -- Einstein

    HEAT

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Reno, Nevada
    Posts
    46
    Sofar,

    Are you now running a P5K your sig says Abit?
    Motherboard:ASUS P5K - Wi/Fi Deluxe
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6600 (L702C582) - 3150MHz, 1.41v
    Bios Revision: 0603
    Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (In Yellow Slots)
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
    Cooling: Tuniq T120 Tower CPU, 80mm Fan on NB
    Case: Antec P160W Anodized Aluminum Super Mid Tower
    Audio: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional
    Video: BFG GeForce 8800GTS 640MB

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    766
    Quote Originally Posted by SurlyPlatypus View Post
    Sofar,

    Are you now running a P5K your sig says Abit?
    Cuz I have two systems...the Abit is my play rig while the Asus is my work rig (by work I mean music, video editing, gaming, general all around use, etc.)
    ASUS P8P67 Pro Rev3; Intel 2600K; GSkill Ripjaws 1600 (2x4GB); XFX 5870; WD Black 500G x2 Raid0; Silverstone Striker 750W; SwiftechApogee-XT-TC PA120.3-Swiftech MP655; Lian Li G70B; Win7-64

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The clueless don't even know they are.

    Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. -- Einstein

    HEAT

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Peak District - UK
    Posts
    664
    Whats the LED showing on the PSU. Green = good, orange = standby, red = fault.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Reno, Nevada
    Posts
    46
    The LED is green.
    Motherboard:ASUS P5K - Wi/Fi Deluxe
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6600 (L702C582) - 3150MHz, 1.41v
    Bios Revision: 0603
    Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (In Yellow Slots)
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
    Cooling: Tuniq T120 Tower CPU, 80mm Fan on NB
    Case: Antec P160W Anodized Aluminum Super Mid Tower
    Audio: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional
    Video: BFG GeForce 8800GTS 640MB

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Reno, Nevada
    Posts
    46
    Sofar,

    Is your P5K overclocked? Do you all think it could be that I didn't go back to the default settings prior to changing the PSU?

    If you have the same MB and PSU then I'm at a loss...
    Motherboard:ASUS P5K - Wi/Fi Deluxe
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6600 (L702C582) - 3150MHz, 1.41v
    Bios Revision: 0603
    Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (In Yellow Slots)
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
    Cooling: Tuniq T120 Tower CPU, 80mm Fan on NB
    Case: Antec P160W Anodized Aluminum Super Mid Tower
    Audio: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional
    Video: BFG GeForce 8800GTS 640MB

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hot N' Arizona
    Posts
    228
    I'm running the Silverstone with a p5k-e, same as the deluxe but without some of the goodies, and I haven't any problems.. Yes I'm oc'd.
    But mine is the "Zeus" version of psu.
    Last edited by OnDborder; 06-21-2007 at 01:09 PM.


    ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/2600k......MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB.......4gigZ Corsair
    PNY 560ti sli ........................Asus 6870 crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    500wb black/30ssd..... ..........40 Kingston ssd
    Ultra x-3 1000 .....................Corsair1000HX


  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    766
    Quote Originally Posted by SurlyPlatypus View Post
    Sofar,

    Is your P5K overclocked? Do you all think it could be that I didn't go back to the default settings prior to changing the PSU?

    If you have the same MB and PSU then I'm at a loss...
    My system is running 3.71GHz. I can't see why not resetting the bios when changing PSUs would cause this.

    Wish I had an answer for you but I do not.
    ASUS P8P67 Pro Rev3; Intel 2600K; GSkill Ripjaws 1600 (2x4GB); XFX 5870; WD Black 500G x2 Raid0; Silverstone Striker 750W; SwiftechApogee-XT-TC PA120.3-Swiftech MP655; Lian Li G70B; Win7-64

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The clueless don't even know they are.

    Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. -- Einstein

    HEAT

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Reno, Nevada
    Posts
    46
    Thanks guys.

    Well it looks like I'm off to exchange for a different PSU. Any Suggestions then.
    Motherboard:ASUS P5K - Wi/Fi Deluxe
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6600 (L702C582) - 3150MHz, 1.41v
    Bios Revision: 0603
    Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (In Yellow Slots)
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
    Cooling: Tuniq T120 Tower CPU, 80mm Fan on NB
    Case: Antec P160W Anodized Aluminum Super Mid Tower
    Audio: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional
    Video: BFG GeForce 8800GTS 640MB

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,042
    What's wrong with your working PSU? If there's nothing wrong with it, why not just use it and save the $$$ for something else?
    Asus Rampage II Gene, Xeon W3550 D0 Mushkin PC3-2000 6GB, BFG 9600GT OC 512MB DDR3
    Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe 1.01G, AMD A64 4000+, 2x1GB Ultra PC-3200, EVGA 7600GT 256MB DDR3
    Asus MA378-T with AMD Athlon 64 X2 7850
    ECS 945GCT-M/1333 v3.0, Intel Celeron E1400, MSI 8500GT 256MB DDR3
    BIOStar P4M900-M7 Rev. 7.0, Intel Celeron 440, 1GB Kingston, 6600LE
    Gigabyte M61PME-S2P with AMD Athlon 64 LE-1660, EVGA 8500GT 1GB DDR2

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    547
    I have a vanilla P5K with a 850w Zeus Psu, everything boots up fine but all my fans connected to the PSU and not to the mobo keep changing speed - going faster/slower and the change in whine is driving me nuts. Also If i put my PC in sleep mode which i use a lot it o can't get it back out of it.

    I thought my newish PSU might have died so Ive retried my Asus P5WDH and it fine again.
    Q9650 @ 4Ghz - 1.216v
    E8600 @ 4500Ghz - 1.34v - Q822A435
    Q6600 @ 4014Ghz & E2160 @ 3.6Ghz
    Silverstone Zeus 850w, Maximum formula,
    Custom Water Cooling, 4GB OCZ 9200 Flex II,
    Xfire 4850's 800/1150, 3D Mark 06 , Vantage,
    Frontlineforce

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Reno, Nevada
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by jcniest5 View Post
    What's wrong with your working PSU? If there's nothing wrong with it, why not just use it and save the $$$ for something else?
    I'm building up a new machine for my buddy and was going to take the opportunity to replace the Coolmaster with somehthing that would hold me over longer into the future.
    Motherboard:ASUS P5K - Wi/Fi Deluxe
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6600 (L702C582) - 3150MHz, 1.41v
    Bios Revision: 0603
    Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (In Yellow Slots)
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
    Cooling: Tuniq T120 Tower CPU, 80mm Fan on NB
    Case: Antec P160W Anodized Aluminum Super Mid Tower
    Audio: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional
    Video: BFG GeForce 8800GTS 640MB

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Reno, Nevada
    Posts
    46
    Update.

    I replaced the Silverstone with a Thermaltake W0106RU 700W and everything fired up first try...

    No idea why the Silverstone will not work the the P5K.
    Motherboard:ASUS P5K - Wi/Fi Deluxe
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6600 (L702C582) - 3150MHz, 1.41v
    Bios Revision: 0603
    Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (In Yellow Slots)
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
    Cooling: Tuniq T120 Tower CPU, 80mm Fan on NB
    Case: Antec P160W Anodized Aluminum Super Mid Tower
    Audio: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional
    Video: BFG GeForce 8800GTS 640MB

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1
    I had the same issues with my p5k deluxe/wifi and SILVERSTONE STRIDER SERIES 750watt psu!
    Ended up having to shell out for another psu(corsair hx620) and it worked fine.

    The shop i brought it from said there must be an incompatibilty between the two as it worked fine in their systems, and is still running fine in my brothers computer.

    So beware if looking to setup this combo.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •