Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Vmod For Evga 650i Ultra Help

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    558

    Red face Vmod For Evga 650i Ultra Help

    Hi every body i'am new here first of all exuse me for my spelling i'am not good at english and i'am from Greece

    so let's get to the point

    my system is :
    Cpu : E4300 @ 3,5 Ghz stable @ 1,44 V
    Mobo : EVGA 650i Ultra pic ---> Linky
    Mem : Team Elite Stock Timmings @ 1000Mhz @ 2V

    the problem is ta the Board looses 0,4 volt than the Bios Valeus and under load it drops more
    and couse i can discribed it well couse my speling some pic's might help

    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=208080
    http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/8...6494396ui5.jpg
    http://img227.imageshack.us/my.php?i...6494396eu5.jpg
    http://img505.imageshack.us/img505/7...6494396ii4.jpg

    so i need your help to mod the board Vcore and some Vmem (only 2,1 On bios )
    i can do the mods easy i have the skills and i know how to solder couse of my work
    so if anyone has any idia would be very usefull i havent yet idintify the compoments in the board couse i'am writing now with this pc so ask whatever you want

    thanks for eny help and i am very glad that i'am on XS i will come a lot more from now on Cheers
    Last edited by Vatos_locos; 06-17-2007 at 09:34 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    558
    Can anyone Plz help me ?
    CPU : Q9550 / Board : Asus P5E64 WS Evolution / Ram : 2x1 OCZ D9GTR DDR3 / Vga : HD 4870 / PSU : PPC&C 750W / SSD Ocz Vertex 30Gb / All under Water & Tec's
    Overclockers Wannabe Athens Dept...

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    OC
    Posts
    316
    I'm curious about this as well.
    I have an eVGA 680i board and I haven't been able to find any information about volt-mods.

    ....And God knows, they need it.
    These boards are great but suffer from a terrible vDroop.
    **Formerly**
    .
    *Best Air-Cooled E6420 1M SuperPi score on XS*

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Killadelphia
    Posts
    596
    how terrible?
    CPU: INTEL Q9550 E0 @ 3600 1.28V + CORSAIR H50
    GPU: EVGA GTX 480 @ 725/1450/3800
    PPU: EVGA 9800GTX @ 738/1836/2250
    MB: ASUS P5E X38
    RAM: MUSHKIN 2X2GB
    SOUND: X-FI TITANIUM FATAL1TY | LOGITECH Z-5500 | LOGITECH G35
    HDD: WD 76GB X 2 RAPTORS RAID 0 10KRPM | WD 1TB CAVIAR BLACK 32MB STORAGE
    PSU: CORSAIR HX1000W PSU
    OS: WINDOWS 7 PRO X64 OS
    MON: HANNSPREE 28" 1920X1200 RESOLUTION


  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    OC
    Posts
    316
    If I set 1.5v in the BIOS, I can expect an actual voltage of 1.45v - 1.46v if I'm lucky.

    Under load, it dips again, but far less.
    Basically, a typical set-up would be:

    1.525v for 3460Mhz
    1.475v Actual
    1.465v - 1.47v under load.

    So if the board is being nasty - I set it at 1.525v and only get 1.465v under load.

    That makes it pretty damn tough to get an awesome overclock when the voltage is dropping like that.

    Luckily, I have a great E6420 that compensates for some of what I lose on the board itself.

    Since the BIOS only allows you to go up to 1.6v, the most I could ever put to the chip would be about 1.54-1.55v's MAX.

    .....Well, I guess that will extend the life of my chip in the long-run, so maybe eVGA is doing me a favor.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    558
    indeed they are great boards but look at this



    the real voltage is 1.43 V the Voltage in Bios is set at 1,47
    so it loose 0.04V and if you see the speedfan photo you can see a BIG Vdrop on load
    so that keeps my E4300 from going up to 3,7Ghz althos i don;t have any idia of the Chipset Voltage the board has same settings to get it up to 1,50 but i don't know how to mesuere it it might be this the problem if the board looses and on the chipset i will never get more Mhz so thats i'am asking for help
    CPU : Q9550 / Board : Asus P5E64 WS Evolution / Ram : 2x1 OCZ D9GTR DDR3 / Vga : HD 4870 / PSU : PPC&C 750W / SSD Ocz Vertex 30Gb / All under Water & Tec's
    Overclockers Wannabe Athens Dept...

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    POLAND
    Posts
    10
    has anyone seen Vdimm mod for this motherboard, i'd like to get 2,3V becouse 2,1V in BIOS is to low for my RAM, Please help

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    48
    @Vatos_locos:
    I have the same problem vith my XFX board. It looks the same as eVGA and i need too the VDIMM MOD...

    By the way, those are the made nVidia boards solding under XFX, eVGA, BFG name(brand)...!!!
    Intel® Core™ i7-2700K, Cooler Master V6 GT, Sapphire Pure Platinum Z68, ExceleRam EP-Series Rippler 2x2GB Kit 1333MHz @ 2133MHz (9-11-10-27, 1T), MSI HD 5770 1GB GDDR5, LG SATA DVD-RW, WD 640GB 16M, ThermalTake Soprano RS, LC Power LC6600GP2 v2.3, FujitsuSiemens 20"TFT, Armaggeddon V...

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    558
    yheap i know it i found the mods for the Nvidia 65i sli but it did't worked on my board eny idia ? i have seached all the internet but noone has worked with this board on Vmod's it'a a shame couse it's a good board and if someone coude make somethink it will clock more naw i can't get more than 1,54Volt on my cpu so i'am stuck @ 3,6 Ghz and i know my chip can do more but i still have the Drop
    CPU : Q9550 / Board : Asus P5E64 WS Evolution / Ram : 2x1 OCZ D9GTR DDR3 / Vga : HD 4870 / PSU : PPC&C 750W / SSD Ocz Vertex 30Gb / All under Water & Tec's
    Overclockers Wannabe Athens Dept...

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    558
    i think this is the controler that board uses (Nvidia 650i Ultra T1) eny help now ? i did pencil the first resistor on the fb leg with no results on the vcore
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Vatos_locos; 07-13-2007 at 04:34 AM.
    CPU : Q9550 / Board : Asus P5E64 WS Evolution / Ram : 2x1 OCZ D9GTR DDR3 / Vga : HD 4870 / PSU : PPC&C 750W / SSD Ocz Vertex 30Gb / All under Water & Tec's
    Overclockers Wannabe Athens Dept...

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    558
    bump anyone ?
    CPU : Q9550 / Board : Asus P5E64 WS Evolution / Ram : 2x1 OCZ D9GTR DDR3 / Vga : HD 4870 / PSU : PPC&C 750W / SSD Ocz Vertex 30Gb / All under Water & Tec's
    Overclockers Wannabe Athens Dept...

  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    565
    I am also looking for vdroop & vdimm for EVGA 680i A1. Please if anyone knows the basics of soptting these mods I can help with this board. I have strong EE background.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    MV-G
    3770K 5.00
    7970 1200/1700
    GSkill 2400
    Seasonic Platinum 1000
    Silverstone TJ08-E
    - Koolance AC-370 - Swiftech MCP-35X - Phobya Xtreme 200mm Rad - Koolance VID-AR797 -
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



    USA National Debt



  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    558
    Bei Fei take a look @ this http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=4215&s=18
    Last edited by Vatos_locos; 07-13-2007 at 08:41 AM.
    CPU : Q9550 / Board : Asus P5E64 WS Evolution / Ram : 2x1 OCZ D9GTR DDR3 / Vga : HD 4870 / PSU : PPC&C 750W / SSD Ocz Vertex 30Gb / All under Water & Tec's
    Overclockers Wannabe Athens Dept...

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,199
    Well the chip is the same one used in many asus boards like the striker extreme, p5b deluxe, p5k deluxe, p5ne sli and so on.

    you can look for an example here:
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=134100

    Though the pencil mod should be ONE of these two marked resistors in the pic below.

    I can't really tell from this picture. You'll have to take a better pic of the area shown in the pic. But on the other hand it shouldn't kill your board if you do decide to go with trial and error. Just erase it if you don't notice any vdroop difference. And of course don't make the marks too dark.

    Oh and just to let you know its probably the brown one and not the greyish one.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ineedaname; 07-16-2007 at 05:40 AM.
    CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6ghz G0 Week 37B
    Mobo: Asus P5k Deluxe
    Cooler: TRUE 120 (150cfm Delta)
    2xHR-05
    2xHR-09
    Mem: G.Skill 4x1Gb 6400HZ
    Vid: HIS 4850
    HDD: 80Gb 16mb Cache Raptor
    500Gb 7200.11 Seagate
    PSU: Enermax Noisetaker 600w
    Case: Thermaltake Armor (4x120mm 104CFM Panaflo)

    3dmark06: 16k

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    558
    ok i test the drop and somthing weard is going on but i think it is good for me

    if i set the voltage 1,45 in bios i get 1,44 on idle BUT on load i have no drop but my voltage raised up so on load i have 1,45 WTF ?

    ineedaname thank you so so so match it worked fire to me now
    Last edited by Vatos_locos; 07-17-2007 at 12:54 PM.
    CPU : Q9550 / Board : Asus P5E64 WS Evolution / Ram : 2x1 OCZ D9GTR DDR3 / Vga : HD 4870 / PSU : PPC&C 750W / SSD Ocz Vertex 30Gb / All under Water & Tec's
    Overclockers Wannabe Athens Dept...

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1
    ^did u pencil at told by ineedaname ?

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    558
    yes i did i pencil the cap on the right on the image ineedaname show us 2-3 times with the pencil is ok then you i got 0.01V drop on idle but on load i have 0.000V drop weird ha ?
    CPU : Q9550 / Board : Asus P5E64 WS Evolution / Ram : 2x1 OCZ D9GTR DDR3 / Vga : HD 4870 / PSU : PPC&C 750W / SSD Ocz Vertex 30Gb / All under Water & Tec's
    Overclockers Wannabe Athens Dept...

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •