Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 126

Thread: Unleashing the Bear(lake): Changing "strap" on the fly

  1. #51
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    1,121
    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000 View Post
    but is that a good or bad thing ? LOL
    Depends if you are on meth when viewing it.... I doubt it will be completely open when released but Intel has really listened to the community on this board I believe, will probably have to eat those words now...

  2. #52
    Xtremely Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    2,502
    Been playing with me Gigabyte P35C. Although something seems to happen around 417 FSB Everest and Sandra bandwidth dont show big differences. Spi does. All settings from bios:

    415FSB


    420FSB


    Difference is bigger in Sandra and Everest from 347 to 348FSB:

    347FSB


    348FSB


    Tried from 300FSB up to 530 with +10mhz a step and checked with both Everest latency and Read. All "normal" except for screens above.
    Last edited by Viss; 06-12-2007 at 11:14 PM.

  3. #53
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Haverhill, MA
    Posts
    490
    I still have yet to find a strap change from 300-470mhz FSB on my P965-S3 Rev 1.0... Haven't checked for <300mhz FSB strap change but pretty pointless anyways for me having a 8x multi cpu...
    E6400 L624A768 @ 3600mhz 1.48V
    Biostar TP35D2-A7
    2x1GB Micron D9JKH, 2x1GB OCZ Gold DDR2-1100
    1x250GB WD SATAII 2x120GB Maxtor IDE 1x200GB
    EVGA 8800GTS 512MB stock 799/1998/2075
    MCW350, Apogee, 120.1 Swiftech Rad
    Antec Smartpower 500W
    BenQ DVDrw
    Logitech z-5300e

  4. #54
    Dave's Mentor!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    5,217
    same here loc.o
    i just boot @ 416 n use easytune5
    is there a higher strap than @ 416?
    i will go on testing as soon as get some better ram

    maximus IV extreme gtx580
    gigabut p67-ud7
    p67 sabertooth
    2500k+2600k
    antec 1200watt
    EVGA classified 760
    920 Batch# 3849B018 4.985ghz@1.52v gtx285 ftw sli
    OCZ3RPR1866LV6GK hypers
    dfi ut p35 rampage extreme
    gigabut p35c-ds3r bios suks
    gigabut x38-d6q dead thank god
    ballistix 8500 1240mhz@2.02v

  5. #55
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    599
    beta2 version with Performance Level: memset33beta2

    Impressive influence on P35 performance, great work The Stilt

  6. #56
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    44
    Hmm I have tested different settings on a Gigabyte P35-DS3P with bios F5B

    Conclusion is, that performance levels do matter.
    8x 450 MHz (ddr900) does not gain performance over 9x 400 Mhz (ddr800) in superpi 1M.
    Level 7 looks as the tightest level possible at 400/450 MHz.
    At higher FSB and performancelevels (7+) the RAS# Precharge time at 2 clockcycles seems te be slower then 3 clockcycles. Could be my memory, or the bearlake chip.

    Results:

    450x 8 4-3-3-7 level 7 14.109s
    450x 8 4-3-2-7 level 7 14.078s
    450x 8 4-3-3-7 level 9 14.125s
    450x 8 4-3-2-7 level 9 14.140s (?)
    450x 8 4-3-3-7 level 11 14.141s
    450x 8 4-3-2-7 level 11 14.156a (?)
    400x 9 4-3-4-7 level 7 14.109s
    400x 9 4-3-3-7 level 7 14.094s
    400x 9 4-3-2-7 level 7 14.078s
    400x 9 4-3-2-7 level 9 14.125s
    400x 9 4-3-2-7 level 11 14.125s
    Last edited by Tutti-frutti; 06-17-2007 at 05:12 AM.

  7. #57
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    5,942
    Wow, Awesome find.

    Gives me a reason to actually upgrade to bearlake.

  8. #58
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    614
    nice works Stilt and FELIX, thank you.

    Me tested with perf. level 7 and 9. Bandwidth inscrease was much
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by xs64; 06-18-2007 at 12:31 PM.

  9. #59
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    35n28, 97w31
    Posts
    675
    For those of us who didn't get the memo on what Performance Level does, could you give us a 101 on it?

    I have two more questions.

    First, is there a reason why MemSet 3.3beta2 doesn't show TWR or is it there but I don't recognize it?

    Second, I set TWTR to 11 in the BIOS but the second MemSet 3.3beta2 shows 19 and then I set TWTR to 3 in the BIOS but the third MemSet 3.3beta2 shows 11. Any idea why this is happening?

    | -- set in BIOS Auto DDR2-1067 -- | set in BIOS 5-5-5-18 6-42-11-3-3-2T | set in 5-5-5-9 3-30-3-3-6-2T |
    Default-Timings-v2-beta2.jpg

    Default-CPUZ-v2-beta2.jpg
    | Intel Core i7-2600K | ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3 | G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1866 | EVGA GTS 450 |
    | Swiftech APOGEE Drive II CPU Waterblock with Integrated Pump | XSPC RX360 | Swiftech MCP655-B Pump | XSPC Dual 5.25in. Bay Reservoir |
    | Thermaltake 850W PSU | NZXT SWITCH 810 | Windows 7 64-bit |

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  10. #60
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    8,036
    Quote Originally Posted by msgclb View Post
    For those of us who didn't get the memo on what Performance Level does, could you give us a 101 on it?
    just read the post.
    its pretty basic stuff.




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  11. #61
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    35n28, 97w31
    Posts
    675
    Quote Originally Posted by Kunaak View Post
    just read the post.
    its pretty basic stuff.
    The problem was that I couldn't read but that I failed to comprehend. After reading that first post a couple more times, I believe that I get the gist.

    Setting Performance Level 7
    500FSBx7-1200DDR-PL7-v1.jpg

    Everest Latency
    Performance Level 10: 71.0 ns
    -Performance Level 9: 68.9 ns
    -Performance Level 8: 66.1 ns
    -Performance Level 7: 63.7 ns
    -Performance Level 6: locked up

    Super PI 32M
    Performance Level 10: 14m 27.296s
    -Performance Level 9: 14m 19.454s
    -Performance Level 8: 14m 14.625s
    -Performance Level 7: 14m 10.281s
    -Performance Level 6: locked up
    | Intel Core i7-2600K | ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3 | G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1866 | EVGA GTS 450 |
    | Swiftech APOGEE Drive II CPU Waterblock with Integrated Pump | XSPC RX360 | Swiftech MCP655-B Pump | XSPC Dual 5.25in. Bay Reservoir |
    | Thermaltake 850W PSU | NZXT SWITCH 810 | Windows 7 64-bit |

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  12. #62
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    5,942
    so does 1t work well on any of these boards?

  13. #63
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    South FL, USA
    Posts
    4,951
    Quote Originally Posted by FELIX View Post
    beta2 version with Performance Level: memset33beta2

    Impressive influence on P35 performance, great work The Stilt
    this is GREAT!...THANK YOU!

    i opened beta 2 and saw performance set at 6 already for the Abit IP35....i tried '5' and it went flying out of windows...LOL...rebooted and tried '7' and '8' and then ran sandra memory...those runs had about 100 to 200 points lower in bench results...i then reset 6 and ran sandra bench again and i was up 100 points from my previous run before intalling beta 2!..it was like 8350 and now 8450...SUPER!

    going to re-run PCMark 2005 to see how it scores with "6" set for sure.
    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 UNOFFICIAL THREAD

    BIOSTAR TPOWER BOLT MOD FOR HEATPIPE AND HEATSINK

    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    ABIT IP35 PRO HEATPIPE MOD

    ABIT IP35 PRO BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    IP35 Pro: 9650@4000Mhz, par overclocker; Freezone Elite; 4Gb GSkill DDR-800@DDR-1068 (2 x 2gb); XFX 8800 GTS; Areca 8X PCIe in Raid 0 working at 4x speed; 4-250 Gb (single platter) 7200.10 drives; Giga 3DAurora case with side window.

  14. #64
    The Doctor Warboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,595
    Can we get a bios edit with these setting for the P5K Deluxe?
    My Rig can do EpicFLOPs, Can yours?
    Once this baby hits 88 TeraFLOPs, You're going to see some serious $@#%....

    Build XT7 is currently active.
    Current OS Systems: Windows 10 64bit

  15. #65
    Great work Stilt, you and FELIX are making a big impact

  16. #66
    Dave's Mentor!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    5,217
    great job guys
    loco did you try the f3b bios i got a slight increase with it

    maximus IV extreme gtx580
    gigabut p67-ud7
    p67 sabertooth
    2500k+2600k
    antec 1200watt
    EVGA classified 760
    920 Batch# 3849B018 4.985ghz@1.52v gtx285 ftw sli
    OCZ3RPR1866LV6GK hypers
    dfi ut p35 rampage extreme
    gigabut p35c-ds3r bios suks
    gigabut x38-d6q dead thank god
    ballistix 8500 1240mhz@2.02v

  17. #67
    Xtremely Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    2,502
    Thats the bios im using now. New memset works great here thanks a lot !!

  18. #68
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Poland, Lodz
    Posts
    486
    I tested Memset 3.3 beta 2 with performance level ... and it gave me some strange result.
    1. Good improve with 1:1 and fsb 500
    2. Freez when I change PL (Performance Level) from default to tighter with div 4:5
    3. Strange boot settings with CAS=5 (PF=6 and freez when change to 5) but PL=5 when CAS=4 !! That's not logical ... Both screen booted with identical sets in bios exept Cas


    If I could set PL to 5 than CAS=5 wouldn't be slower than CAS=4 ...

  19. #69
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    hmm that's really weird, but interesting at the same time. I feel like cas4 is almost easier with my dfi p965 than cas5 at 500fsb, not that it's that related to an asus p35 board...
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  20. #70
    Corsair Components, Inc.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    5,066
    Quote Originally Posted by Warboy View Post
    Can we get a bios edit with these setting for the P5K Deluxe?
    This fine-tuning of memory performance has been made adjustable in BIOS since its 1st release. Where? Setting is called Transaction Booster with Disabled [Relax - 0,1,2,3] and Enabled [Boost - 0,1], with Relax 3 being the highest latency and Boost 1 as the lowest latency available to be set in BIOS by the user. Additionally, DRAM Static Read Control set to Enabled will also provide a boost, as opposed to Disabled <-- that's why at certain high FSB and memory speed, system will often fail to POST with this last option Enabled. It's happening more often with Asus P5K3D (DDR3) flavor, rather than P5KD, due to high memory frequencies...

    From what I know, this option does not change bus strap but affects memory performance by manipulating internal chipset latencies. These are calculated based on FSB, and memory speed and I think tCL in some cases.
    Last edited by bachus_anonym; 06-18-2007 at 11:28 AM.
    I work for Corsair Components, Inc.

  21. #71
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB, CAN
    Posts
    6,127
    Very awesome Going to have to try this out tonight!

  22. #72
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    44
    Hmmm.. now I am very interested in what de Intel 975X will have at performance level

    Maybe the 965's are just 975x's with slower performance levels ... And that's why the Intel 965 chips will reach a higher FSB limit.... just thinking.

  23. #73
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB, CAN
    Posts
    6,127
    Quote Originally Posted by Tutti-frutti View Post
    Hmmm.. now I am very interested in what de Intel 975X will have at performance level

    Maybe the 965's are just 975x's with slower performance levels ... And that's why the Intel 965 chips will reach a higher FSB limit.... just thinking.
    I don't believe it will work on 975 though.

  24. #74
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    638
    130nm compared to 90nm.

  25. #75
    Xtremely Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    2,502
    Strange Yotomeczek. Board/bios i guess. I tried and default stays 8 for me board/mem with cas4.

    Cas 4


    4/5 PF6

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •