Thread: Building a 360

Building a 360

Hey! Bearing in mind I have very little knowledge of how games consoles work internally, I was wondering if it is technically possible to create a cheaper, homemade version of the xbox 360 using computer parts, and then putting the xbox bios and dashboard, or whatever it runs on, into it.

I'm aware that your all probably going to say "why??!!" and I'm also aware that it would probably be more worthwhile to build a nice gaming PC. Please humour me.

Let me know your thoughts.
    "Keyboard missing. Press F2 to continue."

Pentium D 930 @ 3.75GHz

ASUS P5N-E SLI

Kingston DDR2-5400 (budget RAM)

Nvidia 7600 GT

Western Digital 250GB

When I say budget, I mean budget!!

Xtreme Cruncher
    Quite simply put, no.

It's VERY unlikely due to the processor and the fact that the games are programmed specifically for it's architecture. I would assume it's possible for the Xbox 1 but the 360 is far less likely as the first simply used a PIII/Celeron. You'd need to match all the parts which I doubt can be bought.
    Main Rig

AMD Athlon X2 3800+ @ 2.8GHz (10x 280MHz) | ABit Kn9 NF4 | 4GB GSkill DDR2 - 800MHz | ATi Radeon HIS HD3870 | 530w Hiper Type M PSU

80GB Western Digital SATA300 Boot Drive | 500GB Western Digital SATA300 Storage Drive | 400GB Western Digital SATA300 Storage Drive | 400GB Seagate Barracuda UDMA IDE Storage Drive | 200GB Samsung Spinpoint UDMA IDE Storage Drive | 160GB Western Digital SATA300 Storage Drive

Windows Server 2008 x64 | Dual Screen: 20" TFT @ 1920x1080 | 19" TFT @ 1440x900

Media Streaming Rig/Spare PC

Intel Pentium 4 @ 2.8GHz | Generic Motherboard | 768mb Kingston DDR - 400MHz | ATi Radeon 9250SE | 350w AOpen PSU

20GB Western Digital IDE Drive

Windows XP Professional x86 w/SP3 | TV/Monitor @ 1920x1080

Entertainment Centre

40" Sony Bravia @ 1920x1080 | Sony Playstation 3 | Microsoft Xbox 360 (RED RING OF DEATH)