Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 1234512 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 325

Thread: A quick 1st look: GA-G33M-DS2R, mATX P35 mobo (pic heavy)

  1. #26
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    623
    'He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose' - Jim Elliot
    Click on the pic to download a free pdf sample of the bestselling book!


  2. #27
    I am Xtreme Lestat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SiliCORN Valley
    Posts
    5,604
    sweeeeet

    i want it bad!
    "These are the rules. Everybody fights, nobody quits. If you don't do your job I'll kill you myself.
    Welcome to the Roughnecks"

    "Anytime you think I'm being too rough, anytime you think I'm being too tough, anytime you miss-your-mommy, QUIT!
    You sign your 1248, you get your gear, and you take a stroll down washout lane. Do you get me?"

    Heat Ebay Feedback

  3. #28
    Xtreme Member diablos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    174
    how is the vcore's drop?

  4. #29
    Xtreme Enthusiast oohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    948
    niiiice... This will probably be the next board i get...

    Does anyone know when it will become available?
    And if there are any new beta bioses for it?
    Q9550 || DFI P45 Jr || 4x 2G generic ram || 4870X2 || Aerocool M40 case || 3TB storage


  5. #30
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    169
    @MacClipper
    Need your help on something
    Open the manual that came with this board, in the PCIe slot/graphic adapter section
    Does it say that this mobo need specific type or vendor of VGA card to work with?
    Thanks

    -tam2-

  6. #31
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    Goodbye abit and welcome Gigabyte!

  7. #32
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by tam2 View Post
    @MacClipper
    Need your help on something
    Open the manual that came with this board, in the PCIe slot/graphic adapter section
    Does it say that this mobo need specific type or vendor of VGA card to work with?
    Thanks

    -tam2-
    does not.

  8. #33
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    169
    Thanks for the answer pengizzle

    -tam2-

  9. #34
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    623
    Yup, no mention of any specific video card needed, it's a standard 16x PCI-e (and 4x) slot. Seems pvhk has also picked up his own board too, looking forward to his findings.

    'He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose' - Jim Elliot
    Click on the pic to download a free pdf sample of the bestselling book!


  10. #35
    Xtreme Mentor TEDY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SLOVENIJA
    Posts
    2,602
    where to buy it and how much is it?

    uf found it, it's around 110€ which is too much for matx...
    Last edited by TEDY; 05-16-2007 at 10:38 PM.
    ASUS P5K-E // E8400 Q746A519
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
    LC 550W GP// XPERTVISION 9600GT

  11. #36
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Philippines ^_^
    Posts
    1,622
    Quote Originally Posted by MacClipper View Post
    Here's why I think the mobo can do much higher, by eliminating the CPU/RAM factors, going to 450FSB is really no problem. Sometimes I even forget I am dealing with a mATX board.



    Still waiting/hoping for a 1:1 fix so true performance can be properly measured.
    hey,

    do you use a separate video card in this run?? or just the built-in??

    btw nice find..
    Asus P5W64 WS Professional , DFI Infinity 965P-S (testing)
    X6800 , E6750 es
    Micron Fatbodies , Micron D9gkx oem, Crucial 8000, Crucial Tracer 8500 (incomming)
    Ati FireGL V5100, Elsa FireGL V3100
    water cooling setup (EK 775 cpu block, swiftech NB Block, Swiftech pump, BI dual pass dual 120mm)
    Silverstone OP650
    raptors, baracuda

  12. #37
    Xtreme Addict The Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Mansfield TX
    Posts
    1,724
    Quote Originally Posted by pvhk View Post
    Goodbye abit and welcome Gigabyte!
    How much ya want for the pair of Abits?



    Two months from now that limited FSB isn't gonna matter all the much to
    Praetor
    » Intel i7 2600K 3103B306 » Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z » Asus GTX 470's TRi-SLI » Corsair Dominator GT CMT4GX3M2A2000C8 » Corsair Force F180 SSD » Corsair AX1200 PSU » Corsair 800D
    » Cooling : Swiftec Apogee XT » Swiftec MCP350-DDC1 w/XSPC Dual DDC Bay Reservoir » Swiftech MCR320-QP w/Scythe SlipStreams 110CFM

    The Yamato
    » Intel i7 920 3849B028 or i7 980X » Asus Rampage III Extreme Black Edition » Asus HD6970's QuadFireX or Asus GTX 570's 4way SLI » 6GB Corsair Dominator GT TR3X6G1866C7GTF » Corsair Force F180 SSD » Corsair AX1200 PSU » Microcool Banchetto 101
    » Cooling : Dragon F1 Extreme Edition(LN2) » Custom SS by RunMc »


  13. #38
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    PCB made in taiwan!! That's very good...

  14. #39
    Xtreme Enthusiast hot_fifty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    510
    now, how does E6600 and other 4MB cache oc on it. Anyone?
    Asus Rampage II Gene - i7 920 D0 Lapped - Lapped Noctua NH12U-F
    Sapphire HD4870 X2 - 6GB Corsair Dominator GT@T1 - Windows 7 x64
    2 x WD Velociraptor 150GB Raid 0 - 500GB Samsung T166
    Antec ThreeHundred - Samsung A656 40"- TX650W

  15. #40
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    tests with an e4300 & e6600 to come!
    Stay tune...

  16. #41
    Xtreme Enthusiast hot_fifty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    510
    nice there
    Asus Rampage II Gene - i7 920 D0 Lapped - Lapped Noctua NH12U-F
    Sapphire HD4870 X2 - 6GB Corsair Dominator GT@T1 - Windows 7 x64
    2 x WD Velociraptor 150GB Raid 0 - 500GB Samsung T166
    Antec ThreeHundred - Samsung A656 40"- TX650W

  17. #42
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    My rig:
    e6600 /e4300+ box intel heatsink
    crucial value pc5300 (d9gmh) 1 stick
    graphic card: Diamond viper TNT PCI 16Mo
    PSU: asus 300w
    [
    A closer look to:
    the PLL:


    the bios which is soldered to the mb:


    go inside the bios:
    ratio unlocked downward:

    PCIE frequency can be locked and will be locked@100 during all my tests:

    CTRL+F1 give you access to memory timings in M.I.T menu!!
    vcore can be reduced below its normal value (underclocking):
    http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/3...6copierkl4.jpg

    with the first release bios F2, as MacClipper mentionned, no ratio 1:1 for fsb/ram!!!
    So using a c2d fsb1066:
    you will only have ratio 2.5x or 3x:
    for example:
    -setting fsb@266 ram can be set @667 (266x2.5) or @800 (266x3=800)
    raising the fsb@400 will set the ram@1000 (400x2.5) or ram@1200 (400x3)
    Using a c2d fsb800:
    you will only have access to ratio 3.33x or 4x:
    -setting fsb@200 the ram can be set @667 (200x3.33) or @800 (200x4)
    raising fsb@333 will set ram@1108 or @1332

    with an e4300:

    fsb@300



    Now let's play with an e6600: but according to Macclipper's feedback, i'm confident!
    vcore stock, ratio locked@7x (in the bios),pcie@100, vDDR@2.0v, vMCH & vFSB@stock:
    fsb@350:

    fsb@360:

    fsb@370:

    fsb@380:

    fsb@390:


    all this without hiccups!!!!
    And finally fsb@400

    Damn impressive!

    Now switch to an e4300:
    vcore stock, ratio 9x,pcie@100, vDDR@2.0v, vMCH & vFSB@stock:
    is it necessary to use a BSEL mod or does this mb behaves like the abit f-i90hd?
    fsb@266:

    fsb@300:

    fsb@333 :
    +ballistix 5300 vDDR@2.20v, ram@555 timings 5-5-5-15, vcore@1.45v bios!:


    NO bsel mod needed!
    But if you want to raise fsb@333, prepare to use some "killing rams"!
    'cause ram will be set@1108: reboot in my case (did not try vDDR@2.2v yet...)

    What can we conclude after this quick test:
    fsb@400 is now possible in the matx c2d world!
    It's clearly an abit f-i90hd killer!
    The main drawback is the lack of ratio fsb/ram 1:1!!!
    You will be compelled to use some very good rams if you want to o/c!This is in particular true when using a c2d fsb800 (as described above)

    So, the fatal1ty still have a little advantage over the gigabyte when it comes to o/c a c2d fsb800 (due to this fsb/ram limitation), til gigabyte gives us this damned ratio 1:1!
    Last edited by pvhk; 05-29-2007 at 05:59 AM.

  18. #43
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    119
    agree with u pvhk, the missing 1:1 ration still kills it for me, especially since i want to (ab)use a E2160 with it.
    How certain is it that Gigaybte can implement 1:1 ratio in the next bios? Maybe i should buy it now and hope for a new bios, or is it possible that we wont see a 1:1 ratio?
    Last edited by pengizzle; 05-17-2007 at 11:52 PM.

  19. #44
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11
    It's at least conceivable that an E4300 BSEL-modded to 1066MHz FSB might give you access to the 2.5x/3.0x memory multipliers, no?

    Given Gigabyte boards' previous reactions to the BSEL mods I'd imagine it's not nearly a sure thing--might not even POST at all--but it seems like it might be at least a reasonable possibility.

    In any case, an impressive board, especially with the potential for future BIOS feature improvements.

  20. #45
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    Quote Originally Posted by pengizzle View Post
    agree with u pvhk, the missing 1:1 ration still kills it for me, especially since i want to (ab)use a E2160 with it.
    How certain is it that Gigaybte can implement 1:1 ratio in the next bios? Maybe i should buy it now and hope for a new bios, or is it possible that we wont see a 1:1 ratio?
    i think it will be added...

    And in my opinion, this mb looks more reliable than the f-i90hd

  21. #46
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    Quote Originally Posted by bob511 View Post
    It's at least conceivable that an E4300 BSEL-modded to 1066MHz FSB might give you access to the 2.5x/3.0x memory multipliers, no?

    Given Gigabyte boards' previous reactions to the BSEL mods I'd imagine it's not nearly a sure thing, but it seems like it might be at least a reasonable possibility.

    In any case, an impressive board, especially with the potential for future BIOS feature improvements.
    Quite agree with you!

  22. #47
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11
    Have any defogger paint left?

    But this is just curiosity talking for me at this point; my E4300 can't even take much more than 3GHz at 1.575v, no way it can make use of this board.

  23. #48
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11
    Odd observation poking around with Modbin:




    By default the 2.0 multiplier is set to "Not-Selectable," but Modbin lets you set change that BIOS default. Same thing with the "1066" option, though what that might do is less obvious.




    Seems like it defaults to the 800MHz FSB options...?
    As to whether any of this will override the default memory multiplier options, I can't say. Might be cool, though.
    Last edited by bob511; 05-18-2007 at 12:46 AM.

  24. #49
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    623
    Argh, I have just returned the test loaner today so can anyone test if a modbin modded BIOS can make it run at 1:1. Looks like I may end up buying one in the end if 1:1 works out nicely.

    'He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose' - Jim Elliot
    Click on the pic to download a free pdf sample of the bestselling book!


  25. #50
    Xtreme Enthusiast hot_fifty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    510
    if 1:1 works - I buy it 4sure
    Asus Rampage II Gene - i7 920 D0 Lapped - Lapped Noctua NH12U-F
    Sapphire HD4870 X2 - 6GB Corsair Dominator GT@T1 - Windows 7 x64
    2 x WD Velociraptor 150GB Raid 0 - 500GB Samsung T166
    Antec ThreeHundred - Samsung A656 40"- TX650W

Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 1234512 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •