Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: reservoir size and effect on performance

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    University of Pennsylvania
    Posts
    733

    reservoir size and effect on performance

    I want to stick a reservoir into my system. my temps arent that great and i think its just because of the very small actual amount of water in my loop due to the lack of a res. So does reservoir size have an effect on performance/flow? I could either do the footlong PVC res that will hold a quart or so, or i have a bigass coolant botle for trucks that holds a little under 3qts. Also, when i make it, i want the barb which dumps water into the res to be at the top, correct? above or below water level?

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    1,103
    Not entirely sure on flow rate side.

    But if you add a res you will have more water in your system, so it will take longer to heat up. I beleive you'd still get the same tempetature, but it would take longer to reach higest temp.

    "There is only one thing better than having a linebacker in your office, and thats having two linebackers in your office"
    12.7Ghz folding for XtremeSystems

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    University of Pennsylvania
    Posts
    733
    well it would actually be outside the comp so it will probably dissipate a little heat. The inline system i had going with just over 4ft of tubing was getting pretty hot. Case closed it was hitting 53C i think the lack of actual water contributed to that some.

  4. #4
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    5,676
    The resiviror will not offer any cooling advantage vs closed loop, it makes maintaing the water easier and thats all. You will lose some flow rate as well when you insert the resivior vs closed loop.

    I've done builds both ways and if you set a inline closed loop up right it will be maintanice free for a very long time.
    24/7 Work & Play Rig
    Gigabyte X58A-UD5, i7 920 @ 4.56ghz 1.48v 21x217, G.Skill PI 12Gb 8-8-8-24-1T 1.56V @ 1736Mhz
    EK Supreme HF P1, Dual EK DCP 4.0 Pumps and EK Res, XSPC RX360 & RX240 w/ 1850rpm GT's
    Sapphire HD 4870 1Gb @ 810/1020mhz, 2x Dell 2407, 2x 1Tb WD Black SATA3, 2x 2Tb Hitachi 7k2000
    Cooler Master ATCS 840, Corsair 750TX PSU, running OSX 10.6.3 & Win 7 64

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    8
    what kind of radiator do you have It might be your problem

    AMD AthlonXP 2400+@14X166
    Asus A7V333
    ATI Radeon9700pro
    Performance Cooled by D-Tek & Danger Den

  6. #6
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    if you run your system 24/7 it doesnt matter. if you dont, bigger=better. the more water, the longer itll need to warm up.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    738
    A res will also make life easier for the pump if it is sucking out of it, although in most cases pumps are small enough not to need a res. My 600gph Iwaki really benefits from one but small eheims.hydor probably wont. I would stick to optimizing ur rad/airflow. Even if a res does take longer for the h20 to heat up it will eventually (1hr) get up to a rad dependent level. If u do res then have the inlet above the outlet and below the water level. U don't want a fountain in ur comp =)
    xp2100+@2550mhz 2.03v 210fsb
    Abit nf7-s v1.2
    ATI R9700
    2x512mb Cprsair pc3500 c2
    Dual Channel!!!!!WOOT
    SATA raid on 80gig maxtors
    highest 3dmark 19300
    3dmark2k1

  8. #8
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    853
    Hehe, PimpJack, now you have me thinking about making a H2O cooled comp inside an automatic punch/lemonaide machine with UV dye & cold cathode... :p
    DeXter::2xXeon2.4@3200, GF6800, PC-DL, 1gb Centon, IWT+panaflo air, Win7
    Quad::Q6600(g0)@3400(1.30V), GTX275, 965P-DS3, 4gb HyperX, Asus SilentSquare (air), Win7_64U
    NuQuad::Q9400@3300(1.24V), 8800GT, G31M-ES2L, 2gb Patriot, stock air (bigger Q6600 one), WinXP64
    Crunch::E4300@2400, onboard, GF7100PVT-M3, 2gb Patriot CL5, stock air, Vista64U

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    738
    check my thread out once in a while and u should see a 5+l res with some nice lights and dyelite. I just got the res sealed with the iwaki connected. "moving my cooling inside"
    xp2100+@2550mhz 2.03v 210fsb
    Abit nf7-s v1.2
    ATI R9700
    2x512mb Cprsair pc3500 c2
    Dual Channel!!!!!WOOT
    SATA raid on 80gig maxtors
    highest 3dmark 19300
    3dmark2k1

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ATLANTA! We don't call it georgia.
    Posts
    1,332

    ...

    I am going to make a res out of an olive oil bottle. stick that on the top of my case with the cap sticking out. that way when i need to add water all i have to do is unscrew the cap!

    Originally posted by CircuitBreaker8
    So I asked myself, is OCing the videocard really worth it?

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Spotswood, NJ
    Posts
    147
    I think the flow, pressure rate will depend on the pump..if you use a large vessel, or a small one, the vessel must be sealed so it can presurize , but this can be faulted, by using a large vessel, like a 5 gal water jug.. water ways about 8 lbs a gallon so the bottom gallon in the jug will have 32+ lbs of pressure on it...so as long as what your putting into the loop = what is coming out of the loop, all will be good...and if you have a sealed loop..why would you need too add water???..My thought up system will not have a resevoir but will have 2 radiators inter connected to 1 pump.. 1 rad for CPU and 1 rad for VPU.. but heres my clincher.. i keep a 2 cubic ft refrigerator in my room for my beer..(wife says it takes up room in refrigerator)..im gonna run a copper tube coil, maybe 10" diam..and 4-6 loops through it..that should keep the water cooled ....OH i dont have a CLUE what im talking about..but it sounds right

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •