Thread: Questions - SATA performance, RAID, reliability

Xtreme Enthusiast

Questions - SATA performance, RAID, reliability

Hey guys,

I'm a relative newbie to the whole mass storage side of computing, but I'll flesh out my scenario to give you a context of where I'm coming from. Sorry if it's a long read

Short version: Will an SATA RAID controller solve the problem of heavy I/O lagging Windows XP?

---

My system consists of:
    E6700, 2GB of RAM, P5WDH
    WD Raptor 150GB, WD 320GB JD SATA, WD 500GB KS SATA, all on the non "EZ-RAID" connectors.
    BenQ DW1655 DVD Burner and LG GDR8164B (16X DVD-ROM) hooked up to my one IDE port on the motherboard.

Windows XP w/SP2

Things to note:
    - None of these drives are in RAID, my DVD burner is set to Master
    - My 500GB has been slowly degrading, as in, sectors are going bad without me doing anything.
    - Windows is on the Raptor
    - The other two drives are used for data storage
    - CPU usage is 30% or less

This stuff is housed in my P180B, with all three hard drives in the lower compartment, airflow from my Seasonic S12-600W. All the drives are kept around 45 - 50 C. No other drives but the 500 GB have been exhibiting problems.

---

My issues with this setup:

Heavy I/O activity brings my computer to its knees:
    When I do the following activities at the same time, Windows becomes very unresponsive:
    - Extracting a large RAR set from the Raptor to the 500 GB --OR-- Just doing a checksum verification on the large RAR set on the Raptor
    - Burning a DVD from the 320 GB
    - Downloading at 500 k/sec to the 320 GB

I tried launching Word 2007 to work on a report, and it gave me one of those "blank" application windows where you can see the title bar of the window, but the rest of the window is the gray like an empty dialog box.

If I abort the checksum verification, I can use the system with no major slowdown or lag.