Page 30 of 70 FirstFirst ... 202728293031323340 ... LastLast
Results 726 to 750 of 1734

Thread: [First Look] DFI 680i LT NF-680i LT SLI (56K Warning~~~)

  1. #726
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    110
    really excited for your results man.

  2. #727
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    41
    posted by Jobeo
    why did you edit your post from last night regarding lapping the NB heatsink... i appreciated ya saying it cause i had never heard of lapping before.
    Posted by virtualrain next post
    You are far more likely to F it up doing any kind of lapping to that.
    Posted by Flytek two posts down
    it has become clear by now that a mirror finish is not what is the most important to heatsinks...what is important is the flatness....
    nuf said. TY both
    Last edited by EYEBORG; 05-06-2007 at 03:01 AM.

  3. #728
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,061
    A bit of TIM will solve that alot easier than lapping. That's what TIM is for! You are far more likely to F it up doing any kind of lapping to that.

  4. #729
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    cape town
    Posts
    1,270
    yes that pic is of my sample boards heatsink....i think it has become clear by now that a mirror finish is not what is the most important to heatsinks...what is important is the flatness....even without a fan it is clear this heatsink does a good job...certainly far better than any other stock motherboard solution EVER...

  5. #730
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    470
    Quote Originally Posted by Roger_D25 View Post
    Whoa, didn't make the connection on the RAM! I thought it was their older PC2-6400 kit, that kit is awesome Virtualrain! 4GB of PC2-8500 at 5-4-4-12, that is just sick! Sorry to get sidetracked guys but I just had to say something, lol! I hope your able to put together a little review on that kit Virtualrain, any chance of that happening in the near future?
    I just thought the exact same thing... looks like some decent 2x2gb sets are finally on their way... just what i have been waiting for!

    Quote Originally Posted by nugzo View Post
    Well, it is the power supply. It works 100% on any other board i've tried, just not this DFI 680i. It's running right now with my EVGA. I picked up an HEC 650w and the DFI Posts no problem. Switcned power supplies back and forth many times and always same outcome. No post with enermax, Post with HEC. I dont understand why it doesn't work, i just know it doesn't.
    That is NOT good news! bah... i was really looking forward to getting this board.

    @ Eyeborg - thanks for looking into this with Oskar... I hope its easily fixable
    System Specs:
    Core i7 2600k
    Asus Maximus V Gene
    4x2gb G-Skill Ripjaw 2133mhz
    MSI Radeon R9 290X
    Asus Xonar Essence STX
    2x Crucial M4 256gb RAID 0
    Seagate 7200.12 3TB HDD
    Corsair AX860i.

    Watercooling Specs
    EK Supreme HF, XSPC EX360, XSPC EX240, DDC Ultra w/aquacomputer top, Aqualis XT res, Kryographics 290X GPU block

  6. #731
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    41
    posted by Jobeo
    why did you edit your post from last night regarding lapping the NB heatsink... i appreciated ya saying it cause i had never heard of lapping before.
    look back four posts

  7. #732
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    105

    Talking

    Sometimes it´s good to approach a new Board the following way (like I did yesterday ):

    1. Stop testing
    2. Clear Cmos (on Board and Brain)
    3. Go for a long walk and relax
    4. When back - start again slowly and do a lot of notes
    5. Guess what - it works better now (the board )

    Still not 100% sure why the OCZ850PSU has such a low 5V Line ... but that would be worked out later

    Some impressions of the setup:





    . Intel E6600@3,8GHz@1,46V Retail Week 29 - Intel E6600@3,7GHz@1,38V Retail Week 30 - Intel E6600@3,6GHz@1,336V Retail Week29 .
    . DFI LP ICFX3200-T2R/G - Asus P5W64 WS Pro - Asus P5W64 WS Pro - Asus P5WDG2 WS Pro .
    . AMD Opteron 150 0547GPMW @3120@1,52V .-. AMD Opteron 170 0550VPMW @3300@1,456V .
    . DFI Lanparty nF4 SLI-DR Expert - nF4 SLI-DR Venus .
    . watercooled by NexXxos XP / MoRa 2 Pro / 9 x iXtrema 120 14dBA .

  8. #733
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    470
    Nice setup! Thats some sweet lapping your your HSF there m8.... i could do my hair in that CPU LOL!
    System Specs:
    Core i7 2600k
    Asus Maximus V Gene
    4x2gb G-Skill Ripjaw 2133mhz
    MSI Radeon R9 290X
    Asus Xonar Essence STX
    2x Crucial M4 256gb RAID 0
    Seagate 7200.12 3TB HDD
    Corsair AX860i.

    Watercooling Specs
    EK Supreme HF, XSPC EX360, XSPC EX240, DDC Ultra w/aquacomputer top, Aqualis XT res, Kryographics 290X GPU block

  9. #734
    Registered User Delly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    65
    when it will go out a new bios for quad ???

  10. #735
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    3,808
    are we still waiting for this board to hit retail? dang it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. #736
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Fayetteville, North Carolina.
    Posts
    1,476
    Quote Originally Posted by GAR View Post
    are we still waiting for this board to hit retail? dang it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I think motherboardpro has em. Or has them dropped shipped from DFI.
    Last edited by nugzo; 05-06-2007 at 10:41 AM.
    Gigabyte Z68X UD7
    Intel Core i7 2600K (testing)
    16GB Mushkin Redline 17000 2133 1.65v
    EK, 3x120 Rad 2xMCP655
    Acer 1200w PSU
    2-128GB Samsung SSD RAID 0
    2-1TB Seagete 32mb RAID 0
    1-1TB Western Digital
    1- Plextor PX-B320SA Blue Ray
    1- Plextor PX-880SA 24x DVD/RW
    2- EVGA Nvidia GTX-480 SLI
    LG 30", Hanns G 28"

  12. #737
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by nugzo View Post
    Or has them dropped shipped from DFI.
    ya its strange and had me thinking today. doesn't it seem abnormal that Tony spoke with DFI and they said a hold was being place on all boards going out, yet mbpro is getting them shipped from the california warehouse.

    seems like the left and right hands disagree on whether or not to ship the board. with the people in california saying "no, this has been delayed long enough we are putting it out".

    newegg still doesn't have them listed and they were supposed to be receiving the initial batch of 45........ . .. . . . the initial batch which seems to be leaking out of San Leandro...

  13. #738
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,745
    Quote Originally Posted by Jobeo View Post
    ya its strange and had me thinking today. doesn't it seem abnormal that Tony spoke with DFI and they said a hold was being place on all boards going out, yet mbpro is getting them shipped from the california warehouse.

    seems like the left and right hands disagree on whether or not to ship the board. with the people in california saying "no, this has been delayed long enough we are putting it out".

    newegg still doesn't have them listed and they were supposed to be receiving the initial batch of 45........ . .. . . . the initial batch which seems to be leaking out of San Leandro...


    The delay was okayed to be lifted 2 days ago, so the boards are free to ship. There is no left hand - right hand situation..

  14. #739
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,061
    I have a couple of issues... not sure if these are just me or widespread:

    1) (Minor) nTune can't see a lot of the voltages, bus values, etc. for this board.

    2) (Minor) Speedfan sees the +3.3V value as 1.22V

    3) (Major!) I can't install Vista x64 on this board without BSOD. I tried 3 times. Same result. It may be the crappy MX 4000 video card I'm using for bench testing but the driver is there in Vista x86 so I'd be surprised if it wasn't included in x64. Otherwise, I'm doing a bare-bones install.

    Can anyone else see if they can install Vista x64 on this board?

    BTW, it's prime stable overnight on stock settings (on Vista x86). Ready to go to the next step!
    Last edited by virtualrain; 05-06-2007 at 11:39 AM.

  15. #740
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Fayetteville, North Carolina.
    Posts
    1,476
    Quote Originally Posted by virtualrain View Post
    I have a couple of issues... not sure if these are just me or widespread:

    1) (Minor) nTune can't see a lot of the voltages, bus values, etc. for this board.

    2) (Minor) Speedfan sees the +3.3V value as 1.22V

    3) (Major!) I can't install Vista x64 on this board without BSOD. I tried 3 times. Same result. It may be the crappy MX 4000 video card I'm using for bench testing but the driver is there in Vista x86 so I'd be surprised if it wasn't included in x64. Otherwise, I'm doing a bare-bones install.

    Can anyone else see if they can install Vista x64 on this board?

    BTW, it's prime stable overnight on stock settings (on Vista x86). Ready to go to the next step!

    Remove one of your 2 gig sticks. It should install with ok with 2gb. Do all windows updates then put memory back in. For me with the EVGA i would still sometimes get the BSOD on boot, i would let it bluescreen and loop and it would eventualy make it to desktop. Then i would run windows update again with the 4gigs in and i would get a single update concerning X64 hardware compatibility. i would never get this update with only 2gb installed. after i installed that update i was good to go. would run fine from then on out. Again this was with EVGA 680i. This was the only way i could get it to install and run with more than 2gigs of ram.

    edit: also i had problems installin x64 while overclocked.
    Last edited by nugzo; 05-06-2007 at 11:51 AM.
    Gigabyte Z68X UD7
    Intel Core i7 2600K (testing)
    16GB Mushkin Redline 17000 2133 1.65v
    EK, 3x120 Rad 2xMCP655
    Acer 1200w PSU
    2-128GB Samsung SSD RAID 0
    2-1TB Seagete 32mb RAID 0
    1-1TB Western Digital
    1- Plextor PX-B320SA Blue Ray
    1- Plextor PX-880SA 24x DVD/RW
    2- EVGA Nvidia GTX-480 SLI
    LG 30", Hanns G 28"

  16. #741
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,061
    Interesting... Thanks... I'll try that. Maybe I can find the fix and slipstream it into the install as well to save future grief.

    EDIT: Fix is here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929777
    Last edited by virtualrain; 05-06-2007 at 12:15 PM.

  17. #742
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Fayetteville, North Carolina.
    Posts
    1,476
    Quote Originally Posted by virtualrain View Post
    Interesting... Thanks... I'll try that. Maybe I can find the fix and slipstream it into the install as well to save future grief.
    let me try too boot into vista, maybe i can get the update number.
    Gigabyte Z68X UD7
    Intel Core i7 2600K (testing)
    16GB Mushkin Redline 17000 2133 1.65v
    EK, 3x120 Rad 2xMCP655
    Acer 1200w PSU
    2-128GB Samsung SSD RAID 0
    2-1TB Seagete 32mb RAID 0
    1-1TB Western Digital
    1- Plextor PX-B320SA Blue Ray
    1- Plextor PX-880SA 24x DVD/RW
    2- EVGA Nvidia GTX-480 SLI
    LG 30", Hanns G 28"

  18. #743
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Fayetteville, North Carolina.
    Posts
    1,476
    Quote Originally Posted by nugzo View Post
    let me try too boot into vista, maybe i can get the update number.
    Pretty sure this is it. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929777
    SYMPTOMS
    When you try to install Windows Vista, you may receive an error message that resembles the following:
    STOP 0x0000000A (parameter1, parameter2, parameter3, parameter4)
    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    This problem occurs if the following conditions are true:
    • The computer uses more than 3 GB of RAM.
    • The computer uses a storage system that is running the Storport miniport driver.
    • The computer uses a controller that uses 32-bit direct memory access (DMA).


    Last edited by nugzo; 05-06-2007 at 12:21 PM.
    Gigabyte Z68X UD7
    Intel Core i7 2600K (testing)
    16GB Mushkin Redline 17000 2133 1.65v
    EK, 3x120 Rad 2xMCP655
    Acer 1200w PSU
    2-128GB Samsung SSD RAID 0
    2-1TB Seagete 32mb RAID 0
    1-1TB Western Digital
    1- Plextor PX-B320SA Blue Ray
    1- Plextor PX-880SA 24x DVD/RW
    2- EVGA Nvidia GTX-480 SLI
    LG 30", Hanns G 28"

  19. #744
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,061
    Yeah, I found it as well by searching the MS KB... Thanks nugzo!

    Fix is here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929777

    I'm off to reinstall Vista x64... "I'll be back!"
    Last edited by virtualrain; 05-06-2007 at 12:19 PM.

  20. #745
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Fayetteville, North Carolina.
    Posts
    1,476
    Quote Originally Posted by virtualrain View Post
    Interesting... Thanks... I'll try that. Maybe I can find the fix and slipstream it into the install as well to save future grief.

    EDIT: Fix is here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929777
    Let me know how the slipstream works out please.
    Gigabyte Z68X UD7
    Intel Core i7 2600K (testing)
    16GB Mushkin Redline 17000 2133 1.65v
    EK, 3x120 Rad 2xMCP655
    Acer 1200w PSU
    2-128GB Samsung SSD RAID 0
    2-1TB Seagete 32mb RAID 0
    1-1TB Western Digital
    1- Plextor PX-B320SA Blue Ray
    1- Plextor PX-880SA 24x DVD/RW
    2- EVGA Nvidia GTX-480 SLI
    LG 30", Hanns G 28"

  21. #746
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Discovering vCore-to-Strap locks
    Posts
    337
    My board ships out on monday!
    Will have results shortly afterwards... Now... what to do with this Striker...
    Q6600 G0 at 3.5 GHz 1.30v on DFI P35-T2R
    4GB OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers
    150GB WD Raptor, 2xWD 120GB RAID-0, 3x320GB HDD
    BFG 8800GTS OC at 675/2100
    Danger Den Based Water Cooling: TDX-775, 8800GPU, DD NB Block on Thermochill PA120.3 Radiator w/ DD 12V Pump
    OCZ GameXStream 850W
    MountainMods U2-UFO 18" Cube Case
    DELL 2405FPW 24" Widescreen LCD
    RME-Audio Fireface 800 based audio production

  22. #747
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    470
    Quote Originally Posted by Lood007 View Post
    My board ships out on monday!
    Will have results shortly afterwards... Now... what to do with this Striker...
    Nice... i really hope these hit Europe (well the UK at least for me!) soon. No where even has them listed yet!
    System Specs:
    Core i7 2600k
    Asus Maximus V Gene
    4x2gb G-Skill Ripjaw 2133mhz
    MSI Radeon R9 290X
    Asus Xonar Essence STX
    2x Crucial M4 256gb RAID 0
    Seagate 7200.12 3TB HDD
    Corsair AX860i.

    Watercooling Specs
    EK Supreme HF, XSPC EX360, XSPC EX240, DDC Ultra w/aquacomputer top, Aqualis XT res, Kryographics 290X GPU block

  23. #748
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeMK View Post
    No where even has them listed yet!
    don't fret. they're kinda hard to get over here in the U.S. atm too. thankfully mine is on-truck i'm praying for a monday delivery.

    if the new bios gets released maybe it'll give me a reason to pull this baby off the shelf =)


  24. #749
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,061
    Quote Originally Posted by nugzo View Post
    Let me know how the slipstream works out please.
    Got Vista x64 to boot, but used your technique of taking out one stick of RAM and then applying the patch after install. I'll try the slipstream method in the future.

    Anyway, all appears good in x64 now.

    A couple of other things (perhaps unrelated to this board and more particular to Vista)...

    1) During Vista install, it seemed to hang at "Completed Installation..." (I left it for an hour with no change). I googled this and found there were tons of people having this issue. At least in my case, it was a simple matter of removing my USB flash drive from one of the USB ports. I had left it there from eariler... I guess it caused the Vista install some grief. Anyway, I should have followed my own advice which is to remove any and all storage devices from the system (except your main boot disk) before installing Vista.

    2) Even with C1E disabled in BIOS, Vista wants to use speed step to lower the clock on the CPU. All CPU settings in Genie are on factory defaults. Either there is another BIOS setting I'm missing or Vista doesn't care and want's to throttle CPU speed anyway. The work around I'm currently using is to simply set the power profile in Control Panel > Power Options to "High Performance". That seemed to stop the speed step nonsense.

    3) This may be common knowledge around here but if you are using the lastest version of Speedfan, you need to adjust the offset on the core temperature readings by 15-deg C for them to match CoreTemp.

    Again, these may have nothing to do with this board, but may be helpful never-the-less.
    Last edited by virtualrain; 05-06-2007 at 03:05 PM.

  25. #750
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,061
    I've started compiling a list of Tips, Tricks, Issues, and Helpful Links on my Blog and I'll post it in the Intel Support Forum as well.

    Check them out and let me know if I've missed anything current. I'll do my best to keep it up to date based on what is posted on XS and DFI Club, etc.
    Last edited by virtualrain; 05-06-2007 at 10:30 PM.

Page 30 of 70 FirstFirst ... 202728293031323340 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •