Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 31

Thread: 2007 The Best value Dual-core platform~ 65nm AM2 X2 3600+ (air cooling) 3150MHz!!!

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,315

    2007 The Best value Dual-core platform~ 65nm AM2 X2 3600+ (air cooling) 3150MHz!!!

    I still remember almost a year ago. Intel was lower down the price of Pentium
    D 805 to around USD$130. Then, pair with ASUS P5LD2 motherboard, a USD
    $230 super value Dual core platform is done there.

    I brought them and also I had written a review article about that platform
    too.

    Up to now, The story almost the same but the character is AMD, not Intel
    anymore.
    AMD has also lower the price of their 3600+ and 3800+ to 75~100
    approximately.
    If you try to pair those CPU with the AM2 motherboards in market, that
    would be the Best-value dual core platform in 2007.
    AM2 X2 and Pentium D are also dual core processor with a nice price~ around USD$100.
    But, AMD has advantage of low power consumption and low temperature.

    The last version of X2 3600+ was 200x10=> 2000MHz 90nm 256K
    , then the new version has been adjusted to 200 X 9.5=> 1900MHz 65nm 512
    K After improved the poor performance of a 256K cache processor…
    now 65nm processing, it’s real attractive now. (but you still have to
    aware the version of this CPU) Besides,
    AMD launched a new processor X2 4000+, also 65nm procession

    This time, my pal wants to upgrade her computer to an X2 3800+ system.
    So, I bought some stuff for a test as well. (something I suggest, as below)

    AMD AM2 X2 3600+ (Around USD$75)
    Package: 65W low power consumption edition.




    Xander represent: please pay attention to the light blue area at lower left
    It wrote: 640KB+640KB is the 512 K cache and 65nm editions
    320KB+320KB is the 256cache edition.




    About X2 3600+, the cycle is 0653MPM
    There is a “DD” in the back of the first line, which means 65nm edition.
    The product code of 90nm should be “CU”.




    At a same platform, the most different part of a pc is CPU and motherboard.
    Here, motherboard is the key factor of a dual core platform.
    DFI INFINITY ULTRAII-M2 cost USD$90.
    The secret SLI adjustment settings, is the interesting thing beside its famous
    overclocking ability.




    It’s almost USD$160 that you bought CPU and the board.
    Of course, you can get some real hard-core stuff to your system.
    Hence, MSI K9NU Neo is a “not bad” choice, it cost USD$64.
    FSB can be reached 300, but it only fits single VGA and
    not provides much voltage settings are a little bit sucks.

    DRAM, VGA stuff as below…
    You can pick some mid-range and low-price gears for your system…

    I adopt the mid-range ELSA Gladiac 790Gs PHS 256DT
    7900GS, the OC edition, then, pair with ZEROtherm cooler (USD$28, it’s too
    worthy). On the other hand, I suggest most of hardcore gamers can choose
    7900GS/ 1950 PRO or something higher. But if you have no such a demand of
    3D solutions, something likes 7300/ 7600 are might be your choice!!




    About memory module:
    My choice: KingMax DDRII 667 512MB x 2, cost USD$73.
    The chips are unknown, but its “OC ability” is quite good in AM2 platform.




    Kingston DDRII 667 512MB x 2(USD$73)
    It adopts the most popular chip “Hynix Y5”. I’ve seen some review report
    about this modual that the score can be reached DDRII 1000 above (seems
    all under Intel platform). In AM2 environment, when you set the FSB at 200,
    then DDRII800 1T can be run steady. But, I’m not AM2 platform to do so.
    Because when the CPU FSB has been raised up, the DRAM ratio you’d never
    set them back to normal again(cannot be reboot) Maybe this is a “single
    issue”, but I luckily experienced that… after all, I change that with KingMax
    DDRII 667, it has no problem at all.




    CORSAIR Dominator TWIN2X2048-8888C4DF
    Recently, the price of DRAM chips is quite low these days. Therefore, I like to
    use 1GB x 2 for the test. See which one’s Cost vs. performance ratio is
    higher.
    My friend’s PC is equipped with 512MB x 2 and I’ve got a pair of 1GB DDRII for
    the test. Even if this is a DDRII 1111 memory, but I’ll just run it in the test as
    KingMax DDRII 667. I mean: DDRII around 600~700 and CL4 3-3-9 in 1T.
    I think it won’t affect the result of the test.




    The test system details
    CPU:AMD AM2 Athlon64 X2 3600+
    MB: DFI INFINITY ULTRAII-M2
    DRAM:CORSAIR Dominator TWIN2X2048-8888C4DF
    VGA:ELSA GLADIAC 790GS PH2 256DT
    HD:Seagate 7200.7 160GB
    POWER:Corsair HX620W Modular Power Supply
    Cooler:AMD Cooler

    Last edited by windwithme; 04-02-2007 at 06:36 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,315
    Test of AMD bundled CPU cooler.
    1.36V, 297.6X9.5=>2827 MHz, 56C when “full throttle”




    1.425V,308.8X9.5=>2933Mhz, 60C when “Full Throttle”




    A new limit when changed a better cooler on a K8 65nm CPU platform.




    (not increase voltage) 1.296V, 312.7X9=>2814MHz, 31C when full throttle.




    PCMARK2005




    CrystalMark/CPUMARK99




    CINEBENCH 9.5




    1.44V, 333X9=>3004MHz, 39C when full throttle.




    1.408V, 316.7X9.5=>3008 MHz, 40C when full throttle.


  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,315
    PCMARK2005




    CrystalMark/CPUMARK99




    CINEBENCH 9.5




    If you get a good memory modual in hand, should go test the limit of this
    motherboard




    3008.7Mhz Super PI 32M




    1.456V,331.6X9.5=>3150Mhz
    Super PI 1M




    A brand new Dual core edition processor, AMD X2 3600+, the attractive price
    is not just the only merit of itself. Furthermore, it has a very impressive
    performance in Temperature/power consumption and OC ability. Which is
    definitely better than K8 (90nm) processors.

    AM2 can be reached 3.15G clocking with its 65nm processors at the very
    beginning.
    I hope it can do a further in performance after some days.

    On contrast, Intel’s Core 2 Duo processor has a higher performance and a
    better OC possibility, moreover, the power consumption/ temperature is
    almost the same with AM2. The price of Intel C2D CPU + 965MB is almost 1.5
    to 2 times of AM2 processors. If users have a big budget and need a higher
    performance, Intel platform still an ideal choice.

    Other reviews in near future:
    Another AM2 value mobo: MSI K9N4 SLI






    The fastest speed DDRII 1250 modual: Corsair TWIN2X2048-10000C5DF




  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    349
    I wish my 3600+ brisbane would do that. I've tried 2 different steppings. It might be my ram.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,794
    I just built a X2-3600 Brisbane for my father in law. A $500 dollar computer that runs 2.8ghz on the stock cooler/voltage! I'm going to grab one myself to play around with when the price drops come.

    Awesome overclock and great results you have there!

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    152

    Talking

    Ok....Ok.... I am sold in the AM2 X2-3600 Brisbane

    Newegg has them DIRT cheap

    : My HWbot Sig can't hold any more Awards

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Philippines ^_^
    Posts
    1,619
    very nice..

    very xtreme.. for the value segment.. nostly people here buy this kind of system.. they don't know what more power it hold.. hope they find this thread and start ocing there system.. hjehehe

    thanks for sharing your results..
    Asus P5W64 WS Professional , DFI Infinity 965P-S (testing)
    X6800 , E6750 es
    Micron Fatbodies , Micron D9gkx oem, Crucial 8000, Crucial Tracer 8500 (incomming)
    Ati FireGL V5100, Elsa FireGL V3100
    water cooling setup (EK 775 cpu block, swiftech NB Block, Swiftech pump, BI dual pass dual 120mm)
    Silverstone OP650
    raptors, baracuda

  8. #8
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cascadia
    Posts
    1,047
    Great results and good info.
    However, a simple, bandwidth saving screenshot of CPU-Z at 3.15Ghz would have been cool too....
    Last edited by DrJay; 04-03-2007 at 04:18 AM.
    Official ORB bottom feeder.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,250
    the price/performance is so good and it be interesting to see prices after april 22.

    Good and nice cklocks tho.
    4670k 4.6ghz 1.22v watercooled CPU/GPU - Asus Z87-A - 290 1155mhz/1250mhz - Kingston Hyper Blu 8gb -crucial 128gb ssd - EyeFunity 5040x1050 120hz - CM atcs840 - Corsair 750w -sennheiser hd600 headphones - Asus essence stx - G400 and steelseries 6v2 -windows 8 Pro 64bit Best OS used - - 9500p 3dmark11 (one of the 26% that isnt confused on xtreme forums)

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    180
    This board will still run good with ATI video cards, right?

    I plan on getting dual X1950XT's or X1950XTX's; which ever I decide when I get ready to buy, though I will probably end up with two 512MB Sapphire X1950XT's.

    So far I think I am going to get the Brisbane 3600+, Dual X1950XT's 512MB, and 2Gb of Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800 RAM, with this motherboard.

    Sound good?

  11. #11
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,173
    Quote Originally Posted by Skillz View Post
    This board will still run good with ATI video cards, right?

    I plan on getting dual X1950XT's or X1950XTX's; which ever I decide when I get ready to buy, though I will probably end up with two 512MB Sapphire X1950XT's.

    So far I think I am going to get the Brisbane 3600+, Dual X1950XT's 512MB, and 2Gb of Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800 RAM, with this motherboard.

    Sound good?
    Sounds very very good

  12. #12
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    585
    Quote Originally Posted by nzbleach View Post
    I wish my 3600+ brisbane would do that. I've tried 2 different steppings. It might be my ram.
    It might also be Your Psu
    Pay attention to the Psu windwithme use. It is a Coirsair 620 know to deliever very stable Voltages


    Here is a test of this unit done by Jonny himself
    http://www.jonnyguru.com/review_details.php?id=32


    And thanks for the review windwithme

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Crete,Hellas
    Posts
    164
    Your photo's are very good man.. very nice ..
    Workstation
    P5E3 Deluxe
    Q9650 @4.0GHz (L826A974)
    Intel X25-M 80Gb(Win7 x64)-Samsung MLC64 -WD500
    8Gb Crucial Value D9JNM
    GTX 260& Eizo L768
    CobaNitrox 600w
    WC (Laing DDC1T-Enzotech cpublock-B/Ice Stealth 360)
    TT Armor

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    1,940
    Quote Originally Posted by Skillz View Post
    This board will still run good with ATI video cards, right?

    I plan on getting dual X1950XT's or X1950XTX's; which ever I decide when I get ready to buy, though I will probably end up with two 512MB Sapphire X1950XT's.

    So far I think I am going to get the Brisbane 3600+, Dual X1950XT's 512MB, and 2Gb of Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800 RAM, with this motherboard.

    Sound good?
    it runs well with 1, for 2 you have to go with the CFX 3200 which is slightly more expensive, but it has the same OC headroom
    Core i7 2600k|HD 6950|8GB RipJawsX|2x 128gb Samsung SSD 830 Raid0|Asus Sabertooth P67
    Seasonic X-560|Corsair 650D|2x WD Red 3TB Raid1|WD Green 3TB|Asus Xonar Essence STX


    Core i3 2100|HD 7770|8GB RipJawsX|128gb Samsung SSD 830|Asrock Z77 Pro4-M
    Bequiet! E9 400W|Fractal Design Arc Mini|3x Hitachi 7k1000.C|Asus Xonar DX


    Dell Latitude E6410|Core i7 620m|8gb DDR3|WXGA+ Screen|Nvidia Quadro NVS3100
    256gb Samsung PB22-J|Intel Wireless 6300|Sierra Aircard MC8781|WD Scorpio Blue 1TB


    Harman Kardon HK1200|Vienna Acoustics Brandnew|AKG K240 Monitor 600ohm|Sony CDP 228ESD

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    274
    Just got mine today, 300x9.5 = 2850MHz with stock voltage (1.35V), load temp reads 30C (water). Insane, my F2 X2 3800+ required 1.53V to get to 2800MHz and loaded at 39C!

    I maxed out my motherboard at 360HTT with a 8x multiplier Sempron, I'm kind of afraid the same thing is going to happen with the Brisbane

    The other crazy thing, hardly any Vdroop at all - just 0.01V according to Everest (set 1.35V in BIOS, Orthos load = 1.34V). My old F2 X2 3800+ drooped around 0.03V!

  16. #16
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    929
    I haven't fully read the thread yet but do these 65nm Brisbane's work straight out of the box on the AM2 chipsets?

    Cos I've just picked myself one up for crunching

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,264
    Excellent review, And very nice chip you got there!

    looking foward to the Kn9 results

    PS yes those photos are tops! thought they were off a high profile review site or something

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    England, UK.
    Posts
    888
    is this chip the same as the OP, "ADO3600CUBOX" edit: Seems that is the old one. Anyone know where they are stocked in the UK from a reputable retailer? As well as the DFI board? Can't find a place with both.

    also doesn't the dfi board need it's biosed flashed to enable the brisbane? How do the biostar tforce 550/570U compare?
    Last edited by The Runner; 04-04-2007 at 06:17 PM.
    Rebuilding

  19. #19
    Xtremely Bad Overclocker
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    East Blue
    Posts
    3,660
    This chip really rocks. So high clocks with so low voltage is just great.
    My S939 X2 can't get this even under subzero cooling ^^
    thanks for this review, even I will not change to AM2 as I'm rather happy with S939 even clocks are a bit lower (currently... )

    I like your professional pictures and the teddy
    | '12 IvyBridge - "ticks different"... | AwardFabrik IvyBridge round I by SoF | AwardFabrik IvyBridge round II by angoholic & stummerwinter
    | '11 The SandyBridge madness... | AwardFabrik / Team LDK OC-Season 2011/2012 Opening Event
    | '10 Gulftown LaunchDay OC round up @ASUS RIIE | 3DM05 2x GPU WR LIVE @Cebit 2010 @ASUS MIIIE | SandyBridge arrived @ASUS P8P67

    | '09 Foxconn Avenger | E8600 | Foxconn A79A-S | Phenom II 940 BE | LaunchDay Phenom II OC round up
    | '08 7.438s 1m LN2 | AMD 1m WR LN2 | 2nd AOCM | Phenom II teasing
    | '07 100% E2140 | 106.5% E2160 | 100% E4500 | 103% E4400 | 5508 MHZ E6850 | 7250 MHZ P4 641 126.5% by SoF and AwardFabrik Crew all on Gigabyte DS3P c? and LN2...
    | '06 3800+ X2 Manchester 0531TPEW noHS 3201MHZ c? | 3200+ Venice noHS 3279MHZ c? | Opteron 148 0536CABYE 3405MHZ c? all on Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI compressorcooled

    | '05 3500+[NC], 3000+[W], 2x 3200+[W], 3500+[NC], 3200+[V] 0516GPDW

    Quote Originally Posted by saaya
    sof pulled a fermi on all of us !!!

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,264
    Hey Windwithme. Any results from the MSI board as of yet? It's one of the few 'promising' NF5 boards available in aus,

    Cheers

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,315
    Quote Originally Posted by mAJORD View Post
    Hey Windwithme. Any results from the MSI board as of yet? It's one of the few 'promising' NF5 boards available in aus,

    Cheers
    MSI K9N4 SLI?

    AM2 fire red with high value board – MSI K9N4 SLI overclock dessert

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,264
    oh,oops

    Thanks

  23. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    60
    Great work as usual WWM!

    mAJORD, any luck finding the K9N4 SLI at any Aussie retailer?

    I've only seen the Ultra F. Wonder if the performance between the two are the same. I guess they shouldnt be too far off eachother?
    i4memory.com

    Main: E8400 @ 4Ghz / 1.32v (Q745 & Q807) | ASUS P5Q-E | 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer
    Secondary: Intel E6600ES Step 5 B1 (3.6Ghz/1.38v) | P5B Deluxe | 4GB Micron D9GCT (OEM)
    Laptop: IBM Thinkpad T60 [Core Duo T2500 - 2Ghz] | 2GB DDR2 | 100GB HDD | ATi Radeon X1400
    HTPC: A64x2 3800+ @ 2.75Ghz/1.35v | DFI CFX3200-DR | 2x512MB GSkill GH | 6600GT | WD 160GB | Antec 500W Earthwatts | Antec 1000AMG | 32" LCD

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,264
    No Mrrevhead, Seems I confused it with the Ultra F . I would like to know too.. May be only one way to find out.

    The other board of interest is the Abit KN9S (how confusing is Abit and MSI naming )

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2
    I think that for mobo, the best(best from DFI) solution is BIOSTAR Tforce 570 Ultra. It's newer chipset tahn DFI, SOLID CAPACITORS around socket and the same price as DFI!!!

    That DFI hawe SLi implementation but nF4U chip can't moifay to SLi(i'll tried yet) so nothing from SLi exept great look. It's fabricaly removed from MCP!!!
    Last edited by zorzj; 04-08-2007 at 07:52 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •