Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 86

Thread: For those using the e4300 that have reached a FSB "wall"

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    56

    For those using the e4300 that have reached a FSB "wall"

    I was wondering if changing the FSB strap to 1066 on the CPU side could maybe help in overcoming the FSB "wall" that many seem to be hitting.

    For those with nice mobo's, could you try this mod to see if it helps in raising your maximum FSB?

    Materials needed:

    -Car Defogger Repair kit --> I used the Permatex Brand from the auto store
    * Silver conductive pen will NOT work *
    -Steady hands

    BSEL1 to VSS connection

    Here is how it would look like:


    Thank to all in advance,

    Bryan d

    PS - reason I cannot reap its potential benefits is due to my Asrock 775 VSTA, which struggles to go higher than 300FSB anyway.
    Manufacture Consent

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    594
    Why silver is not working?
    Born to overclock

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    56
    Don't really know the science behind it, but people who have tried the e4300 BSEL mod have not had success with the silver pens.

    Do you own the e4300? If so how about giving it a go?
    Manufacture Consent

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    293
    i think i might try that out with my e4300 thats laying around on my desk.
    System 1:
    Asus P5Q-E | Intel Core2Duo E8400 (3.6ghz @ 1.26v) | (2x2gig) Patriot Extreme Performance PC2-8500 (5-5-5-15 @ 2.1v) | ATI 4850 512mb Video Card | Dual monitor Samsung SyncMaster 225bw | Western Digital 640GB Caviar SE16 | LG DVD 16x | LG CDRW 52x24x52x | Windows XP Professional 32-bit | Creative Labs Inspire T5400 5.1 Speaker System | Powered by PC Power & Cooling 750w | Coolermaster Stacker 830 SE | Cool by Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme Aluminum Heatsink

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    I've gotten both silver and copper to work, although I currently ran out of both. I think the major problem is just making sure the interface is clean is number one. Also you need to wait a while for it to dry vs. other times with conductive ink where there's nothing to push against it. In the case of this, when you sit in back in the lga, if it's not dry it can push the ink around the pin and if the interface isn't clean, it may be too insulated for the land to make good enough contact with the ink.

    I usually go with copper since walmart has it way cheaper than autozone (although they've been oos ) and use a toothpick or pin (pin is better since wood absorbs and wastes some copper unless you reuse the same toothpick every time)
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    56
    i think i might try that out with my e4300 thats laying around on my desk.
    Make sure to post back with your findings before and after the BSEL mod xtrempinoy.

    Great input ziddey:
    You are probably correct in that the silver might have failed due to a dirty contact, but the defogger kit seemed more consistent and that is why it was suggested.

    So did you actually try the BSEL mod on your e4300 then? Did you get better results?

    bryan d
    Manufacture Consent

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    I have an e6400 that I fiddled around with it with, so I was setting for 333fsb. Didn't really compare much though when I did it since the ds3's newest bios update allows 333's to be recognized but boot at 266 on non33 boards. Never bothered with the asus yet since my ram is being rma'ed and I figure I'd want to keep my 1066strap right now until new ram gets in
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    594
    Quote Originally Posted by bryan_d
    Don't really know the science behind it, but people who have tried the e4300 BSEL mod have not had success with the silver pens.

    Do you own the e4300? If so how about giving it a go?
    No I do not have e4300 but I have 6300/6400 Ill try with 6300 .
    Born to overclock

  9. #9
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB, CAN
    Posts
    6,126
    I have a E4300 that i am willing to try it on, but i couldn't find any conductive paint here locally anywhere. I will try to find a car defogger repair kit in the next week or so.

  10. #10
    Xtreme X.I.P
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Belgium, Namur
    Posts
    1,864
    There is allready an topic about that :

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=132900

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by Pt1t
    There is already an topic about that :

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=132900
    That topic is regarding the native 1066 C2Ds to 1333, and this thread was started to see the gains of the 1066 for Allendale's. I see how you can connect the two, but the thread you posted was on the topic to see if the mod would work (we know now the mod works), but what I want to know is what other gains come from the modification of the 1066 mod for the Allendales.

    If only I could afford a better mobo and ram, I would not need to have others chime

    Keep the posts coming!

    bryan d
    Manufacture Consent

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Corellia
    Posts
    386
    If your e4300 is hitting a wall at 220+ (no post), the pin mod will allow you to go 266+.


    Thuban 1090T @ 3.8Ghz | Corsair H70 | G.Skill DDR3 16GB 1600 Cas9 | Gigabyte 880GMA | HD5870 | Corsair AX750 |
    I7-875K @ 3.6Ghz w/HT on | Corsair H50 | G.Skill DDR3 4GB 1600 Cas6 | Asus Sabertooth | GTX260 | Corsair 850TX |
    Q6600 G0 @ 3.0Ghz | G.Skill DDR2 2x2GB PC8000 | DFI LP JR P45-T2RS | HD3850 | Corsair 620HX |
    E6400 SL9T9 @ 3.0Ghz | G.Skill DDR2 2x1GBHK (4-4-3-5) | Intel Bad Axe v3.06 | X1950PRO | Corsair 550VX |

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    9
    sorry im new here and im looking for ways to max out my e4300.. what is this mod and whats it supposed to and what are the benefits of it.. i dont under stand hitting a wall at 220+ i have booted mine at 406 so could someone please explain in the mean time ill be reading the other thread as well thats link in this thread thanks

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by Trippen Out
    sorry im new here and im looking for ways to max out my e4300.. what is this mod and whats it supposed to and what are the benefits of it.. i dont under stand hitting a wall at 220+ i have booted mine at 406 so could someone please explain in the mean time ill be reading the other thread as well thats link in this thread thanks
    Basically the BSEL1 connected to VSS will "tell" the motherboard that the e4300 is a stock 1066FSB CPU, thus boot at 2.4GHz with the 266MHz FSB strap.

    What I want to know is if, for instance in your case, you can only reach a maximum of 406MHz FSB, will the BSEL mod increase your maximum bus?

    I want to find out if the 266MHz strap is looser than the 200MHz, hence the FSB "wall" that some are talking about.

    Kunaak recieved gains to his FSB going from 266MHz strap to 333MHz, and I am assumming that the 1333Mz strap is even looser than the 266MHz strap.

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=132900

    You would be the best candidate for this test of theory

    Hope that is understandable,

    Bryan d
    Manufacture Consent

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    589
    I've tried using conductive silver paint that I bought off ebay, tried it several times and it didn't work even after letting it dry for 30 mins.

    Don't really wonna spend more money on a £15 defogger repair kit (cheapest I could find).

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    9
    http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/...en-4-0ghz.html

    here is what you were looking for someone who did the mod with an e4300

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    251
    hey guys, i dont post much around here but i wanna say thanks for the pic for doing this mod, i used it with my setup, a biostar 965pt, E4300 (week 40A) and my machIIgt, and cellshock's

    originally i couldnt get past 400x9 stable with my mobo, 405x9 would crash, so i did the mod and it worked great, read it in auto at 266x9, oced straight up to 445x9 with 1.55vcore to the chip

    its currently running orthos at 441x9 with 1.55vcore, i think its just allowing the strap to change from whatever it was using for original speed of 200x9 and which this mobo wasnt allowing it to do

    thanks again

    W3520,UD5, gskill trident, 9800gtx+,
    corsair 850, Water

  18. #18
    Team ID - Indonesia
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Jakarta - Indonesia
    Posts
    832
    Quote Originally Posted by MADMAX22
    hey guys, i dont post much around here but i wanna say thanks for the pic for doing this mod, i used it with my setup, a biostar 965pt, E4300 (week 40A) and my machIIgt, and cellshock's

    originally i couldnt get past 400x9 stable with my mobo, 405x9 would crash, so i did the mod and it worked great, read it in auto at 266x9, oced straight up to 445x9 with 1.55vcore to the chip

    its currently running orthos at 441x9 with 1.55vcore, i think its just allowing the strap to change from whatever it was using for original speed of 200x9 and which this mobo wasnt allowing it to do

    thanks again

    Great !!! One question, you're using Conductive Pen or Defogger ?? And if you using Defogger, it's a Permatex Electrically Conductive Rear Window Defogger Tab Adhesive ? Or Permatex Rear Window Defogger Grid Repair Kit ? I did try with Conductive pen, and it's not working.

    Last edited by Benny Lodewijk; 02-24-2007 at 06:44 PM.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    you'll want the repair kit that comes with a tiny bottle of copper ink. really not cost effective anymore. I used to be able to get them for $3.99. I checked again a month ago and the same thing is $15.99 now?!?
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  20. #20
    Team ID - Indonesia
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Jakarta - Indonesia
    Posts
    832
    Quote Originally Posted by ziddey
    you'll want the repair kit that comes with a tiny bottle of copper ink. really not cost effective anymore. I used to be able to get them for $3.99. I checked again a month ago and the same thing is $15.99 now?!?
    Like this ? http://www.permatex.com/products/aut...Repair_Kit.htm

    It's not availabe in my country but the Adhesive Tab is available, i can't using it, right ?

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    251
    yeah i used the little copper vile stuff that comes with the kit, the stuff used for repairing the lines on the window, it was $12 i believe, works great just make sure you let it dry, i gave mine about 30 minutes

    heres a screeny of 4.0ghz and a 32m run
    [IMG][/IMG]
    Last edited by MADMAX22; 02-24-2007 at 08:10 PM.

    W3520,UD5, gskill trident, 9800gtx+,
    corsair 850, Water

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    Hmm, well if you have a specialty electronics store, they should sell both conductive ink pens as well as conductive ink in bottles like that. It'd probably be a better deal anyway.

    And I think there are copper conductive ink pens, no?
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  23. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    56
    Madmax22,

    That is exactly what I wanted to hear!!!!!

    Thank you so much for posting that.... but you know what the next step is now right?



    With the 1333MHz strap you might be able to squeeze even that little bit more!

    Keep em coming all,

    bryan d
    Manufacture Consent

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    .ID
    Posts
    320
    Quote Originally Posted by Benny Lodewijk
    It's not availabe in my country but the Adhesive Tab is available, i can't using it, right ?
    Oi Ben, yes it is, does Ace Hardware ring a bell ? Got mine at Puri Mall & good luck on yer quest hope they still carry it !

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by bryan_d
    Madmax22,

    That is exactly what I wanted to hear!!!!!

    Thank you so much for posting that.... but you know what the next step is now right?



    With the 1333MHz strap you might be able to squeeze even that little bit more!

    Keep em coming all,

    bryan d
    I don't believe that going to the 1333 strap has to be that complicated. I believe you might be able to get the same result by simply isolating BSEL2 (the one with the red trace as shown in your picture) with a small piece of tape and not running that long trace to Vcc that is located 5 pins above it.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •