X

Subscribe to New Ads!

Receive weekly ads in your inbox!

Thread: mATX phasechange

Question mATX phasechange

Can it be done? I have wanted to do this for quite a while, and now with the Thermaltake Lanbox out, I can fit fullsize gear in a small rig, with a quality handle! So can this be done? I want a system that can be on 24/7 and cool a qx6700 or x6800. The dimensions are 300 x 430 x 230mm (H x W x D). I figured I could mount the compresser and the condenser in a custom make enclosure that is secured to the bottom of the box. So wat do you guys think?

Nick

HVAC/R student
    So you basicly want a case that's as big as the Lanbox, so they'll be flush? One could do it using a small compressor, such as the BD-50. But no, to handle a QX, or any Conroe, you would need something a lot bigger. I'm not an expert here though, but I think it's unlikely.
    ...is no longer working as an assistant HVAC/R-installer...
    But, is still blasting 20000 songs of real Rap

thats what i feared, not big enough to house the equipment needed to cool the quadcore beast. damn... O well, now onto the Mountain Mods Twice7, my next phasechange project to-be. A 14 inch x 14 inch cube Hoping that will go better

-150c Club Member
    Thats easy to put a single stage in on the backside of the cuber.

If you have a cooling question or concern feel free to contact me.

Xtreme Addict
    The 12/24v compressors are a real challenge to tune for any kind of high load, that's true.

But I see a few people talking about small compressors like they can't do the job on 250w.

A 6cc compressor can easily hold 200-400w. I used a 7cc Danfoss for a Chiller that was tuned for 350w. Couldn't get it to hold 400w the way I was working with it, but I used 5.5' of .031" and that's starting to stretch the limit.

That was also a 134a compressor and 404a/402a blended, and gave about 3c water on 300w.