X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: ASUS Announces 690G Mainboard ,M2A-VM

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    885

    ASUS Announces 690G Mainboard ,M2A-VM


  2. #2
    YouTube Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Klaatu barada nikto
    Posts
    18,441
    it is nice to see AMD chipsets but it looks like ASUS, still isn't any good with AMD layouts
    Fast computers breed slow, lazy programmers
    The price of reliability is the pursuit of the utmost simplicity. It is a price which the very rich find most hard to pay.
    http://www.lighterra.com/papers/modernmicroprocessors/
    Modern Ram, makes an old overclocker miss BH-5 and the fun it was

  3. #3
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    978
    Don't think it will compete too well against the Abit NF-M2 nView in the overclocking department...


    Ply

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,117
    If only there was a micro-ATX motherboard with a PCI lock... I would be in small PC heaven by now...
    The world vs the USA: The whole world hates you!
    USA: Why?? Why does the whole world hate us?
    The world: Because the whole world hates you, and you don't even know why!

  5. #5
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    978
    Quote Originally Posted by Thorry
    If only there was a micro-ATX motherboard with a PCI lock... I would be in small PC heaven by now...

    You lost me with that one Thorry...


    Ply

  6. #6
    YouTube Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Klaatu barada nikto
    Posts
    18,441
    Quote Originally Posted by Thorry
    If only there was a micro-ATX motherboard with a PCI lock... I would be in small PC heaven by now...
    try MSI, Epox, and DFI uATX boards They lock just fine
    Fast computers breed slow, lazy programmers
    The price of reliability is the pursuit of the utmost simplicity. It is a price which the very rich find most hard to pay.
    http://www.lighterra.com/papers/modernmicroprocessors/
    Modern Ram, makes an old overclocker miss BH-5 and the fun it was

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,117
    I want something like a C2D or AM2 micro-ATX but with a PCI lock.

    As of yet I haven't found a single.

    This because voltages can be modded, FSB and HTT speeds can be set using almost any bios and clockgen tools (hell I could mod out the clockgen if it comes down to it).

    But a PCI lock is something you just can't mod in, it has to be present in the board.

    So anyone know of a confirmed PCI lock on a micro-atx board? I don't need SLI or a lot of PCI slots, so I don't give a crap about the lower half of the motherboard.

    I do however like small cases (a lot).

    BTW: I've got a couple of MSI boards here, none of them have a lock (granted no C2D or AM2, but it is a K8 and two 478 boards).
    DFI has no C2D or AM2 micro-atx boards...

    Epox has a AM2 micro atx board: EP-MGF6100-M
    It also has a PCI lock, but the nVidia chipset isn't that great, and AM2 doesn't really go well in small cases. Only the 35 watt models which I can't get around these parts.

    I have found: Biostar I945G-M7 V2.X
    Which also has a PCI lock, but the FSB seems limited to 300 mhz.
    Also: Biostar is a no go in these parts, they just don't exist...

    All the Asus boards have very crappy locks if any, so they just won't fly.
    Asus P5LD2-VM does seem to be pretty great (the lock sucks, but it doesn't hurt that bad).
    Last edited by Thorry; 01-29-2007 at 08:25 PM.
    The world vs the USA: The whole world hates you!
    USA: Why?? Why does the whole world hate us?
    The world: Because the whole world hates you, and you don't even know why!

  8. #8
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    978
    Are talkng about 33mhz lock or something else???


    Ply

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,117
    Full PCI bus lock, so basically the 33 mhz lock, the SM bus lock, PCI-E lock (which is a bit broken on the Asus models).
    The world vs the USA: The whole world hates you!
    USA: Why?? Why does the whole world hate us?
    The world: Because the whole world hates you, and you don't even know why!

  10. #10
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    978
    Quote Originally Posted by Thorry
    Full PCI bus lock, so basically the 33 mhz lock, the SM bus lock, PCI-E lock (which is a bit broken on the Asus models).

    How would one test for this? Clockgen readings???


    Ply

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,117
    It's very hard to test.

    Usually you find out when you overclock the HDD gets corrupt because the controller can't handle the high bus. Or the VGA freaks out because of a high PCI-E.

    Also a scope connected to the PCI bus (and some diagnostics cards have it), or a frequency counter on the PCI bus would do it.
    The world vs the USA: The whole world hates you!
    USA: Why?? Why does the whole world hate us?
    The world: Because the whole world hates you, and you don't even know why!

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    [EU] Latvia, Jelgava
    Posts
    1,739
    It depends from chipset, not form factor.

  13. #13
    As the god of all that is SFF, I will input...

    There is NO core2 matx board with PCI-E locks right now. The IGP's on the intel chipsets are not allowing manufacturers to be able to setup a pci lock, no matter which chipset is used from intel. VIA chipsets for core2 also do not work, but mind you the VIA core2 matx series is a very value oriented line and is not focused on overclocking, so crappy parts are used and no options are available.

    As for AM2, overclocking is just as good as any ATX board. I have tested multiple AM2 mATX boards for overclocking, and they all hit 300FSB PLUS. The abit nview, epox MF6100, biostar TFORCE, ALL can overclock my 3800X2 to over 2.8ghz without a sweat.

    All PCI/E locks work fine, and nothing EVER goes currupt. THe only time i have EVER seen file curruption was on my nview, when i set my RAM timings to tight @ over 1000mhz, but that has nothing to do with PCI/E locks.

    Right now im running an abit nview with a beta bios and a 65nm brisbane 3600+....im at 300x9.5 and my PCi-E lock is @ 100, PCi is at 33.33, etc

    So i really dont know what you're talking about...
    Last edited by Dillusion; 01-29-2007 at 11:50 PM.
    God of all that is SFF.

    SFFclub.com

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7
    Aadjustable CPU voltage at 0.0125 increments
    What's the voltage range? Can it undervolt too?

    Personally, I've been eagerly waiting for a 690G variant of M2N-VM DH. That would make the perfect HTPC/general use setup in my opinion. If it ever comes out I'll be the first in line to buy it.
    Last edited by yehuda; 01-30-2007 at 03:09 AM.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    City of Lights, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,381
    Geesh guys..... look at that northbridge cooler .....that is a small cooler , can that be real?
    "When in doubt, C-4!" -- Jamie Hyneman

    Silverstone TJ-09 Case | Seasonic X-750 PSU | Intel Core i5 750 CPU | ASUS P7P55D PRO Mobo | OCZ 4GB DDR3 RAM | ATI Radeon 5850 GPU | Intel X-25M 80GB SSD | WD 2TB HDD | Windows 7 x64 | NEC EA23WMi 23" Monitor |Auzentech X-Fi Forte Soundcard | Creative T3 2.1 Speakers | AudioTechnica AD900 Headphone |

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7
    It's about the same size as the northbridge cooler in M2NPV-VM, and should be quite sufficient given that 690G is expected to consume less power than GF 6150.

  17. #17
    YouTube Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Klaatu barada nikto
    Posts
    18,441
    Quote Originally Posted by Thorry
    It's very hard to test.

    Usually you find out when you overclock the HDD gets corrupt because the controller can't handle the high bus. Or the VGA freaks out because of a high PCI-E.

    Also a scope connected to the PCI bus (and some diagnostics cards have it), or a frequency counter on the PCI bus would do it.
    get an ATi Chipset, it'll lock perfectly every time
    Fast computers breed slow, lazy programmers
    The price of reliability is the pursuit of the utmost simplicity. It is a price which the very rich find most hard to pay.
    http://www.lighterra.com/papers/modernmicroprocessors/
    Modern Ram, makes an old overclocker miss BH-5 and the fun it was

  18. #18
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,773
    Quote Originally Posted by Dillusion

    Right now im running an abit nview with a beta bios and a 65nm brisbane 3600+....im at 300x9.5 and my PCi-E lock is @ 100, PCi is at 33.33, etc

    beta bios?
    no new bios on the abit site so willing to share whats diffrent with it?
    id love to be able ot undervolt my nview in the bios but abit says it aint possible.
    Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
    Groucho Marx



    i know my grammar sux so stop hitting me

  19. #19
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    978
    Quote Originally Posted by Starscream
    beta bios?
    no new bios on the abit site so willing to share whats diffrent with it?
    id love to be able ot undervolt my nview in the bios but abit says it aint possible.
    Here you go:

    http://www.abit-usa.com/betabios/NFM..._BIOS_0119.zip


    ANd Dillusion is right about the Abit locking the pci. That's why I was asking Thorry so many questions. Had mine well over 320 already, with no problems...


    Ply

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,117
    Quote Originally Posted by Dillusion
    As the god of all that is SFF, I will input...

    There is NO core2 matx board with PCI-E locks right now. The IGP's on the intel chipsets are not allowing manufacturers to be able to setup a pci lock, no matter which chipset is used from intel. VIA chipsets for core2 also do not work, but mind you the VIA core2 matx series is a very value oriented line and is not focused on overclocking, so crappy parts are used and no options are available.

    As for AM2, overclocking is just as good as any ATX board. I have tested multiple AM2 mATX boards for overclocking, and they all hit 300FSB PLUS. The abit nview, epox MF6100, biostar TFORCE, ALL can overclock my 3800X2 to over 2.8ghz without a sweat.

    All PCI/E locks work fine, and nothing EVER goes currupt. THe only time i have EVER seen file curruption was on my nview, when i set my RAM timings to tight @ over 1000mhz, but that has nothing to do with PCI/E locks.

    Right now im running an abit nview with a beta bios and a 65nm brisbane 3600+....im at 300x9.5 and my PCi-E lock is @ 100, PCi is at 33.33, etc

    So i really dont know what you're talking about...
    Thanks for the info, good to know.

    S*cks, but if that's it that's it you know

    AM2 is good for overclocking, but like said, 35watt chips can't be found here
    The world vs the USA: The whole world hates you!
    USA: Why?? Why does the whole world hate us?
    The world: Because the whole world hates you, and you don't even know why!

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •