Page 5 of 34 FirstFirst ... 234567815 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 125 of 843

Thread: Asus P5N-E SLI small review

  1. #101
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    205
    Got new E6600 .... currently playing around with it ..

    Able to set FSB to 470Mhz .. but CPUz and CoreTemp report diferent value from one another




    Any idea ??????
    Last edited by sbinh; 12-29-2006 at 06:14 AM.

  2. #102
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    761
    Well if you set it to 470, and CPU-Z is reporting 470 Id take that over something thats giving you over 4GHz.

    intel i7 3770k 4.40GHz
    ASUS Maximus V Extreme
    EVGA GTX 680 FTW
    16GB GSKill 2400MHz
    (1) OCZ Vertex 3 60GB SSD
    (1) Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
    (1) 1.5 TB WD Caviar Green SATA
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
    Corsair 700D
    Corsair AX850
    Water Cooled (EK blocks on CPU and GPU, TA 120.4, DDC-1+ with XSPC ResTop)

  3. #103
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    761
    I did a 3.9 run and managed it.

    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=149007

    intel i7 3770k 4.40GHz
    ASUS Maximus V Extreme
    EVGA GTX 680 FTW
    16GB GSKill 2400MHz
    (1) OCZ Vertex 3 60GB SSD
    (1) Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
    (1) 1.5 TB WD Caviar Green SATA
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
    Corsair 700D
    Corsair AX850
    Water Cooled (EK blocks on CPU and GPU, TA 120.4, DDC-1+ with XSPC ResTop)

  4. #104
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    205
    Thanks ... What is vcore and vdimm that you set to?
    My vcore seems high .....

  5. #105
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    229
    Quote Originally Posted by sbinh
    Any idea ??????
    You're not running 1:1, you're running FSBRAM 13:11, probably confusing it

    I think the CPU-Z is right,

    edit: I'm just a noob, but what's that ratio for? Your RAM can't handle more?
    Last edited by falqon; 12-22-2006 at 11:08 AM.

  6. #106
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    761
    Quote Originally Posted by sbinh
    Thanks ... What is vcore and vdimm that you set to?
    My vcore seems high .....
    I maxxed out my vcore, the droop showed 1.55 in XP when bios was set to 1.6 (1.55 is what it dropped to 1.6 was the average).

    My vDimm is 2.2 and had it at 1000 speed, or whatever was closest.

    intel i7 3770k 4.40GHz
    ASUS Maximus V Extreme
    EVGA GTX 680 FTW
    16GB GSKill 2400MHz
    (1) OCZ Vertex 3 60GB SSD
    (1) Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
    (1) 1.5 TB WD Caviar Green SATA
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
    Corsair 700D
    Corsair AX850
    Water Cooled (EK blocks on CPU and GPU, TA 120.4, DDC-1+ with XSPC ResTop)

  7. #107
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Cola, SC
    Posts
    313
    Wow, just tested this board under dry ice. This thing has a nasty overvolt whenever it gets cold. Im talking like I would set 1.5 in bios and get 1.62 on reboot. . Very weird board indeed, I will do some more testing tommorow.

  8. #108
    Xtreme Guru adamsleath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,805
    Last edited by adamsleath; 12-23-2006 at 11:55 AM.
    i7 3610QM 1.2-3.2GHz

  9. #109
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    475
    Has anyone who owns this board been able to go beyond DDR2-1000 speeds? If I go beyond DDR2-970, it won't even boot at all. At that point, it's fine, but can't be pushed any further.

    In that AnandTech review, they mentioned that DDR2-1066 with 5-6-6 timings on the OCZ Flex ram was possible, but I'm using the same ram and it won't even do DDR2-1000 at 5-6-6.

    :-\
    Intel C2E QX6850 @ 3.33GHz, ASUS P5K Premium, OCZ 8GB PC2-6400, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ ModXStream 720W, Thermalright Ultra-120
    Seagate 500GB, 750GB & 1TB, Samsung 20x DVD-RW, ASUS Xonar D2X, Antec P182, Ultrasone PRO 750, Dell 2408WFP, Gentoo 2008.0

    "Life without knowledge is death in disguise." - H.P. Baxxter

    Techgage.com Editor in Chief | Profiles: Last.fm | Xbox Live | Steam

  10. #110
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Posts
    8,296
    Does 650i slow down (1333 strap) after 400 fsb or any other fsb mark?
    Phenom II 940 BE / ASUS M4A79 / HD5770 Crossfire
    3770mhz CPU 2600mhz NB | DDR1040 5-5-5-15 | 900/1250

  11. #111
    Xtreme Guru adamsleath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,805
    Quote Originally Posted by couppi
    I did a little more testing to find where the fsb strap thing kicks in. It looks like 425 is where the latencies are relaxed.

    424 fsb = 64ns latency.
    425 fsb = 78ns latency.

    I think I'll boot up at 424 and clockgen up...

    Edit: Clockgen doesn't work. It made my board unstable and took a couple of reboots to get back into windows. Not a good idea.


    I just ordered this Zalman for $4.99. The sb doesn't need too much.

    Sbinh: Try booting up at 425 fsb with 1.4v on the northbridge.

    ??????????????

    p5n-e now listed on 2 websites that i can find in australia cheapest price: 215 aud...not bad.

    http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/...5bba214447a113
    Last edited by adamsleath; 12-23-2006 at 12:38 PM.
    i7 3610QM 1.2-3.2GHz

  12. #112
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    205
    Shoot .... I'm screw ... The NB heatspreader got extreme hot (could feel the heat when touch it) .... Tried to put 2 little fans on top ... The NB heatsink got loose .... Crapped ..... Removed it and put it back (with AS5) .... Turned on PC ..Fans, hdd ... ran .. but no image to monitor ... CPU still good, RAM still good .... Dead mb ....

  13. #113
    Xtreme Guru adamsleath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,805
    bad luck there...next?
    howd it get loose?? does it have those little plastic retainers?
    Last edited by adamsleath; 12-23-2006 at 01:30 PM.
    i7 3610QM 1.2-3.2GHz

  14. #114
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    205
    NB heatsink is big ... but only has 2 push-pins to attach into mb ... 1 at conner , another at middle ( on the side) ....so if you slightly push on 1 conner (where does not have push pin) .. it pretty much lift the other conner up ...

    This board is pretty good for oc .. but bad on design ... No heatsink for SB .. which got really hot when oc .....
    Last edited by sbinh; 12-23-2006 at 01:51 PM.

  15. #115
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Cola, SC
    Posts
    313
    Quote Originally Posted by afireinside
    Does 650i slow down (1333 strap) after 400 fsb or any other fsb mark?
    It kicks in at 425 fsb.

  16. #116
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    650
    Quote Originally Posted by Cooper
    Wonder if memory can be clocked lower than FSB

    In the Anandtech review they were running 500 FSB with 800 MHz Ram speed.

  17. #117
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    650
    Quote Originally Posted by couppi
    I'm using the Team Xtreem stuff right now and it clocks horrible. It can't do 400mhz CL4 1T stable and can only do 500mhz 2T at CL5 with 2.5v. I'm going to return these sticks and try the Gskill 2GBHZ.

    I'll grab a P5b-dlx and a floppy tomorrow and test performance and raid.

    The NF6 only clockgen works great. I can move the fsb downward just fine, but I get a hard freeze at 507mhz
    It will be interesting to see how the HZ D9 sticks work because Anandtech was seemingly having a similar problem with the OCZ Flex D9s.

  18. #118
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    475
    Quote Originally Posted by Phosphate
    It will be interesting to see how the HZ D9 sticks work because Anandtech was seemingly having a similar problem with the OCZ Flex D9s.
    I've had the same problem with three kits of ram, including the one they mentioned in their review. Seems like the board just doesn't want to clock ram well at all.
    Intel C2E QX6850 @ 3.33GHz, ASUS P5K Premium, OCZ 8GB PC2-6400, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ ModXStream 720W, Thermalright Ultra-120
    Seagate 500GB, 750GB & 1TB, Samsung 20x DVD-RW, ASUS Xonar D2X, Antec P182, Ultrasone PRO 750, Dell 2408WFP, Gentoo 2008.0

    "Life without knowledge is death in disguise." - H.P. Baxxter

    Techgage.com Editor in Chief | Profiles: Last.fm | Xbox Live | Steam

  19. #119
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Cola, SC
    Posts
    313
    Yea, this is not a RAM board.


    But we need a vmod, so someone please help us out.

  20. #120
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SiliCORN Valley
    Posts
    5,604
    you need to check the xtreme mods - motherboard section for vmods.
    "These are the rules. Everybody fights, nobody quits. If you don't do your job I'll kill you myself.
    Welcome to the Roughnecks"

    "Anytime you think I'm being too rough, anytime you think I'm being too tough, anytime you miss-your-mommy, QUIT!
    You sign your 1248, you get your gear, and you take a stroll down washout lane. Do you get me?"

    Heat Ebay Feedback

  21. #121
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Cola, SC
    Posts
    313
    Yea, I checked already. Couppi started a thread but DDTUNG said it had the same/similar controller as the P5N32-E and to check its vcore mod. Ive got my DICE tube mounted on the board right now so I cant check anything around the socket, but someone else should.

  22. #122
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    53
    My P5N-E SLi won't go above 1530fsb, no clue why :/ I tried lowering my CPU multi and raising vcore to 1.4, memory to 2.2 rated.

    Power Supply - Silverstone 750W
    CPU - E8400 @ 3.6ghz (stock voltage and climbing)
    Mobo - DFI LP X38-TR2
    Video - PNY 8800 GTX
    Ram - Crucial Ballistix PC6400 2gig kit D9's 4-4-4-12 -2T
    HSF - Tuniq Tower 120

  23. #123
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    St. Paul, MN
    Posts
    1
    I'm dying to know if anyone has reached 3-*-*-* with Team Group 6400 4-4-4-10 (or even 5300 3-3-3-8 kit) at 400+. Even more so what the performance implications would be with something like a E6600 @ 9x400 (1:1) with those tight timings.

    I've read somewhere (http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=get...62&articID=472) that the C2D prefetch is so good that you'd be better off going for good latency as opposed to just high bandwidth in real world. This might be hard to bench in synthetics, but it got me thinking.

    Sorry if this is a little OT, but Couppi/Trice's posts (and the 650i chipset) are at the center of my thoughts on this.
    Last edited by gutano; 12-26-2006 at 12:28 AM.

  24. #124
    Xtreme Guru adamsleath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,805
    I'll give this board a shot (assuming we get any in australia)

    If it sucks in SLI I'll get the DFI when it comes (mid-Feb?)...unless more info./hardware appears in the next week or three...
    MSI P6N (650i) is just around the corner i suspect.
    Last edited by adamsleath; 12-26-2006 at 03:46 AM.
    i7 3610QM 1.2-3.2GHz

  25. #125
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Belgium, EU
    Posts
    502
    Quote Originally Posted by adamsleath
    MSI P6N (650i) is just around the corner i suspect.
    I think so too, but wonder how it will do, bad OC and onboard X-fi
    I wonder if it will have the sound crackings?
    Desktop
    Intel Wolfdale E5200 @2.9Ghz
    MSI P6N SLI Fi
    Gigabyte Radeon HD4850ZL @ 680/2000
    2GB Crucial BallistiX D9GMH 800 4-4-4-12 1T
    250GB & 400GB Western Digital SATA2
    Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
    Enermax Liberty 500W
    Air Cooling (Arctic Freezer 7 Pro)


    Quote Originally Posted by luihed
    I like my rams like I like my women.... naked and tight

Page 5 of 34 FirstFirst ... 234567815 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •