Page 2 of 21 FirstFirst 1234512 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 515

Thread: The MOST POWERFULL 12V PSU EVER...

  1. #26
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Quote Originally Posted by lalPOOO
    Good idea George!
    Plus, this way you won't need to build a bigger one for a couple years
    Indeed.....

    Quote Originally Posted by Moonman
    Phase cooled maybe ?
    Not a bad idea...!....

    Quote Originally Posted by Pipi
    If this will be just for the cards, won't the PC fry if there's a voltage differwence between the cards and the mobo? or will it be for the wole system? But then you'd have to do thr 5 and 3.3 V too. I'm a bit lost here.
    Nowadays VGAs have another design and they are not burned down if you feed them with external Voltage

    Quote Originally Posted by prosk8
    Hipro Like How Mach Is Be Cost
    Don't know yet.......
    Toroidal transformer has cost me 115 Euros, Heatsink another 50 Euros, Now I'll cost the Mos-Fets and all the other parts (box, etc.).....



    EDIT: Now that I'm thinking some things, I wonder if it would be convinient to build in AND the 3.3V, 5V, -12V rails so as to be a "full" computer PSU......About a 2KW one...!.......
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  2. #27
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    483
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5
    EDIT: Now that I'm thinking some things, I wonder if it would be convinient to build in AND the 3.3V, 5V, -12V rails so as to be a "full" computer PSU......About a 2KW one...!.......
    lol, go for it Hipro. If a job's worth doing it's worth doing well.

    2KW would be seriously cool

  3. #28
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    28
    "...About a 2KW one..."


    Better get a dedicated line from the power company , no ?

    The neighbors will start seeing their power like this -->

    And then they realize: "It's the damm hipro5 that turned on that PSU"



    Good luck !
    Last edited by Dr.No.pt; 12-06-2006 at 12:02 AM.

  4. #29
    OCTeamDenmark Founder Nosfer@tu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,368
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.No.pt
    "...About a 2KW one..."


    Better get a dedicated line from the power company , no ?

    The neighbors will start seeing their power like this -->

    And then they realize: "It's the damm hipro5 that turned on that PSU"



    Good luck !
    HAHAH GOOD one
    Former owner of OCTeamDenmark.com
    MSI MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!

    Linkedin


  5. #30
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,553
    Wow... looking forward to seeing this completed.

    any chance of some pics hipro5?

  6. #31
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mount Olimpus, Watching You
    Posts
    222
    2KW

    What for? Kentsfield-Quad 88GTX-DDR3-50HD's System?
    Rig: Intel Pentium E 2140 | Gigabyte 965P-S3 | G.Skill 2GBNT | Sapphire HD2600 XT | Fsp 350-60Gln
    Ppc: Intel XScale 255Mhz | 64Mb Ram | 64Mb Flashdrive | 320x240 QVga | hp1915 | 1Gb Sandisk Storage Card
    Nas: Intel Pentium 3 477Mhz | Epox | 384 Patriot SDRam | nVidia Geforce tnt2 | Boxter 500W
    Else: Viewsonic VG930m | Microsoft Optical | D-Link 524

    I think, therefore I am
    -René Descartes

    Sorry for my bad english =D

  7. #32
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,007
    Dud, you just HAVE to go and make a 2kw PSU now! That would seriously be sick!

  8. #33
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh - UK
    Posts
    1,365
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5

    EDIT: Now that I'm thinking some things, I wonder if it would be convinient to build in AND the 3.3V, 5V, -12V rails so as to be a "full" computer PSU......About a 2KW one...!.......
    Raisng the bar before you've even begun, I like it. If your gonna go for a full blown PSU then it would probably be best to go modular on the big ones you have already mentioned -

    12V
    +5V
    3.3V

    But there are other ones to consider too:

    -5V
    +5VSB
    -12V

    To the best of my knowledge these arn't high current lines, the +5VSB is designed to draw about an amp (depending on how may things you have on standby on your PC, not many I think George ). The other two are the same, -5V is nothing at all and -12V is again 1-2amps. These supplies could be made on one singular board as the power requirements are not too high.


    Finally the logic of the PSU

    PWR-ON
    PWR-OK

    Those these arn't so tough, PWR-ON is just a internal switch and PWR-OK is a signal sent to the mobo when the PSU has checked all the rails are in spec.

    It is achievable more so because you don't have to work within the constraints of a ATX PSU box dimensions. In many ways it reminds me of a good A class linear amp design and how important the PSU side of that was. Could be a good place to look for ideas on circuit design.

  9. #34
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    israel
    Posts
    133
    wow but bad for the you cant cell

    where you live the all and you fhins tell me i breake to your house and styel some things like the mobo tthe all and the psu ha ya and your brine
    and i be the hipro gen 26 year
    sorry for the english

  10. #35
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    George you're insane... in a nice way!

    I can imagine huge and beefy heatsinks used or just hook up 3/8" ID water cooling blocks to the heat sources
    ---

  11. #36
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    5,943
    Are you sure 85A will be enough for the video cards?

  12. #37
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    225
    Hm... Thanks for the info about newer cards. i've seen many warnings not to use multiple PSUs because you could fry something. But on the other note, DO IT! Make the whole PSU YOu're a legen hipro, you're known to do extreme and sick stuff and this... Dunno, is it normal or is it extreme for you?

  13. #38
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    150
    Subscribed....
    (\__/)
    (='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
    (")_(") signature to help him gain world domination


    Arguing on the internet is like running in special olympics, even if you did win, you are still a retard.

  14. #39
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mount Olimpus, Watching You
    Posts
    222
    Quote Originally Posted by prosk8
    wow but bad for the you cant cell

    where you live the all and you fhins tell me i breake to your house and styel some things like the mobo tthe all and the psu ha ya and your brine
    and i be the hipro gen 26 year
    sorry for the english
    PLEASE use the Google translator or agree to receive help from me or GGuyZ...

    I love that psu Too bad i don't live in Athens...
    Rig: Intel Pentium E 2140 | Gigabyte 965P-S3 | G.Skill 2GBNT | Sapphire HD2600 XT | Fsp 350-60Gln
    Ppc: Intel XScale 255Mhz | 64Mb Ram | 64Mb Flashdrive | 320x240 QVga | hp1915 | 1Gb Sandisk Storage Card
    Nas: Intel Pentium 3 477Mhz | Epox | 384 Patriot SDRam | nVidia Geforce tnt2 | Boxter 500W
    Else: Viewsonic VG930m | Microsoft Optical | D-Link 524

    I think, therefore I am
    -René Descartes

    Sorry for my bad english =D

  15. #40
    Xtreme n00berclocker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,457
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.No.pt
    "...About a 2KW one..."

    The neighbors will start seeing their power like this -->
    Their power is already like that Good luck HiPro

  16. #41
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    571
    Peak load 100A = 1200W for 12v

    You are sick man


    Quote Originally Posted by AndreYang View Post
    wtf..your cpu is better.

  17. #42
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,797
    Want to see that monster

    regards
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    My Work: LittleDevil's SS Cases, LittleDevil's SS Worklog, LD CPU-R1 Dice/LN² Pots, LD GFX-R1 Dice/LN² Pots,
    LittleDevil LD PC-V10, LittleDevil's K-Type Temp Display, |EMAIL: ldphasechange@gmail.com

    LD PC-V8 Watercooling Cases:
    LINK

    LD PC-V8 ATX/HPTX Watercoolig PC case with 10 expansion slots: LINK NEW!
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    www.ldcooling.com

    Find US on Facebook

  18. #43
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    109
    hipro5, I know you are professional and maybe you don't need any help, but this page may help you.
    http://translate.google.com/translat...language_tools (Translated by Google)
    Yasubou, Japanese once famous overclocker, made this page.

    DFI LANPARTY UT P35-T2R (2007/11/07 BIOS)
    Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 L724A786
    2x Team Xtreem DDR2 667MHz CL 3-3-3-8 1GB
    SILVERSTONE ST56ZF 560W Fan Removed
    ATI XPERT 98 PCI
    GIGABYTE i-RAM

  19. #44
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    460
    man why the hell didnt I listen the teacher in the physical science courses in college. Damn cheerleaders..... i knew one day i would feel the bad side of those.

    ahah no but seriously the lack of knowlege electronics and electricity pisses me off, i dont even know what a Amp and a Watt is, just know it needs alot.


    CPU Intel C2D 6400 - 6600 L631B Aircooled 4010 MHz (wip) 3850 MHz daily
    COOLER Big Typhoon 120 - Ultra 120/Panaflow 103cfm
    MOBO Asus p5w dh - Badaxe 2
    RAM 2gb Team 667 cl3 844mhz 4-4-3-4 2.0v (wip)
    GPU Bfg 7900GT - XFX GX2 600/1600 3Dmark06 10554 (wip) 207K AM3
    PSU Gamestream 600w - Powerstream 520 - Silverstone Zeus 750w
    Chassis Lian-Li V2000b Plus2 Lian-Li v1100b

  20. #45
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Camping your spawn :)
    Posts
    1,786
    Verry good hipro, 2KW modular and ownage power supplie feed, would sure make a Ownage Mass produstion unit to go along with your DDR maximizer

    Starting your own line of components sounds like your calling bro..

    I wanna see this beast in action ... Subscribed
    Join the XS WCG team and do your part to help save the world..
    ^^^Click here to start folding for the soon to be number one team in the world..^^^

    Main rig: Gigabyte DS3/6300@3.2 7950 GX2/Server:Expert/165@2.9/PCI vid/Wifes:ASrock Dual SATA2/3800@2.4/X800XTAIW/Kids:165@2.7/X850XTPE

    "A computer beat me in chess, but it was no match when it came to kickboxing"
    -Emo Philips

  21. #46
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Thank you for your kind words guys and for the hands up.....

    YOU persuate me to do it "all in one"......

    SO: 12V/84A , 5V/75A , 3,3V/113A, 5Vstby/5A, -12V/5A = 1850Watts RMS* (24/7) and about 2360Watts Peak power....
    How does this shound?.....


    Quote Originally Posted by [cTx]Philosophy
    Verry good hipro, 2KW modular and ownage power supplie feed, would sure make a Ownage Mass produstion unit to go along with your DDR maximizer

    Starting your own line of components sounds like your calling bro..

    I wanna see this beast in action ... Subscribed
    This just CAN'T be in mass production.....It will be hude, heavy and TOO much expencive.....It's just for my "hobby".....


    *RMS > idiomatism(here) so as to be understood by everyone that means REAL output power and NOT "MAX" or "PEAK" power.
    Last edited by hipro5; 12-09-2006 at 09:03 AM.
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  22. #47
    The Blue Dolphin
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,992
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5
    Thank you for your kind words guys and for the hands up.....

    YOU persuate me to do it "all in one"......

    SO: 12V/84A , 5V/75A , 3,3V/113A, 5Vstby/5A, -12V/5A = 1850Watts RMS (24/7) and about 2360Watts Peak power....
    How does this shound?.....
    Uhh, overkill? I like it Not sure for what you'd need 75A on the 5v and 113A on the 3.3v though. Remember the PSU still needs to run cool, maybe it's better to makes the 3.3v and 5v rails a little less beefy? Ohh well, some deltas can take care of that problem
    Blue Dolphin Reviews & Guides

    Blue Reviews:
    Gigabyte G-Power PRO CPU cooler
    Vantec Nexstar 3.5" external HDD enclosure
    Gigabyte Poseidon 310 case


    Blue Guides:
    Fixing a GFX BIOS checksum yourself


    98% of the internet population has a Myspace. If you're part of the 2% that isn't an emo bastard, copy and paste this into your sig.

  23. #48
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    earth......among the the others
    Posts
    279
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5

    SO: 12V/84A , 5V/75A , 3,3V/113A, 5Vstby/5A, -12V/5A = 1850Watts RMS (24/7) and about 2360Watts Peak power....
    How does this shound?.....




    subscribing

  24. #49
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    8,038
    dont do it to be practical, do it cause you can.

    when one builds a hot rod, they dont think about going to the store to get groceries in it... they do it, cause it's crazy and there to be done.

    dont build something anyone can just go out and buy... theres nothing interesting if its just a variant of a 1000 watt PSU, when theres 20 others already out there.

    do something we wont see again for years.
    that is when its fun to see something happen...

    a 2000 watt PSU?
    haha...

    like I always say...

    "only Hipro..."




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  25. #50
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh - UK
    Posts
    1,365
    Quote Originally Posted by alexio
    Uhh, overkill? I like it Not sure for what you'd need 75A on the 5v and 113A on the 3.3v though. Remember the PSU still needs to run cool, maybe it's better to makes the 3.3v and 5v rails a little less beefy? Ohh well, some deltas can take care of that problem

    Important thing to remember Alexio is that these specs are for with the PSU will be capable of not what they'll be running 24/7. Of course there's not going to be an occasion that the many of these lines will ever draw the current George is designing it for. But, if you can do it, then do it! Overspecing will in fact allow for a cooler design as the power circuits will be under less "stress" to provide power requirements that are closer to their maximum, so will produce less waste heat.

Page 2 of 21 FirstFirst 1234512 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •