Page 1 of 21 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 515

Thread: The MOST POWERFULL 12V PSU EVER...

  1. #1
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,743

    Talking The MOST POWERFULL Computer PSU EVER...

    As tittle says....

    With the nowadays VGAs drawing a LOT of current, I desided to build my OWN 12V PSU so as to be "ready" for benching and capable to handle the MOST hungry VGAs ever.....

    It will be a TRUE 1000 Watts 12Volts PSU, capable of providing 84 Ampers at 12Volts and a PEAK of 100 Ampers+......
    1000W/12V will be 24/7 power - continues - .......


    It'll also have a built in circuit for Overcurrent and Overvoltage protection of each output separate.
    It'll have it's own Digital Ampers meter so as to see what the VGA's draw...
    Also a thermometer as well....


    It will NOT be with 4 separate 12V rails BUT with ONE 12V and all the cables will be feeded in paraller from that rail......

    I'll use a toroidal transformer at 14V/1500VA output....
    Pictures will be uploaded as well as the construction begin...


    The day before yesterday, I made the cables of it....
    They are with sillicon instead of plastic matirial, capable for higher temps AND VERY THICK.....2.5 wires used.....


    I made 5 of them.....4 that will be in use and one for spare/backup.....
    Also it'll have some 4pin molex outputs for ALL the fans that will be needed here and there.....




    I'll be back with details as soon as I start constructing......
    ALSO inputs with oppinions of yours about what else should I add too, would be welcomed......



    .
    Last edited by hipro5; 07-07-2007 at 12:05 AM.
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mount Olimpus, Watching You
    Posts
    222
    Cool stuff hipro
    Will you be mass-producing that psu?
    Rig: Intel Pentium E 2140 | Gigabyte 965P-S3 | G.Skill 2GBNT | Sapphire HD2600 XT | Fsp 350-60Gln
    Ppc: Intel XScale 255Mhz | 64Mb Ram | 64Mb Flashdrive | 320x240 QVga | hp1915 | 1Gb Sandisk Storage Card
    Nas: Intel Pentium 3 477Mhz | Epox | 384 Patriot SDRam | nVidia Geforce tnt2 | Boxter 500W
    Else: Viewsonic VG930m | Microsoft Optical | D-Link 524

    I think, therefore I am
    -RenÚ Descartes

    Sorry for my bad english =D

  3. #3
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,743
    Quote Originally Posted by Zzzz
    Cool stuff hipro
    Will you be mass-producing that psu?
    No......it's just for me.....
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mount Olimpus, Watching You
    Posts
    222

    Than maybe post a sketch of the circuit?
    Rig: Intel Pentium E 2140 | Gigabyte 965P-S3 | G.Skill 2GBNT | Sapphire HD2600 XT | Fsp 350-60Gln
    Ppc: Intel XScale 255Mhz | 64Mb Ram | 64Mb Flashdrive | 320x240 QVga | hp1915 | 1Gb Sandisk Storage Card
    Nas: Intel Pentium 3 477Mhz | Epox | 384 Patriot SDRam | nVidia Geforce tnt2 | Boxter 500W
    Else: Viewsonic VG930m | Microsoft Optical | D-Link 524

    I think, therefore I am
    -RenÚ Descartes

    Sorry for my bad english =D

  5. #5
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,455
    Nice idea to have built in Ammeter for currents!!

    What a build-in voltmeter be of benefit, or are you planning to have quality such that you dont need one?

    I`m looking forward to seeing how this progresses

    Kenny
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh - UK
    Posts
    1,363
    haha mental a ever George. I'll be interested to see how you implement your SMPS circuit as they're quite cutting edge in the grand scheme of power engineering. Should be quite an eye opener for alot of folk - there's alot more going on inside your PSU than you think. Having seen the booster circuit I trust you'll have something good figured out. I watch with eagerness

  7. #7
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,743
    It will not be a switching PSU.....It'll be a "normal" one with huge heatsink and stuff like that.....I kinda like "old school" designs for myshelf.....I want builds to be huge and heavy.......
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  8. #8
    Egyptian OverClocker
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cairo, Egypt
    Posts
    3,366
    Quote Originally Posted by Zzzz

    Than maybe post a sketch of the circuit?
    ????

    looking fwd to see this psu's results
    Soon to be :
    ASUS P8P67 Deluxe, Intel SB i7-2600k, G.Skill Rj-X F3-12800CL6D-4GBXH, MSI HD6950 2GB, Corsair 750AX, Intel 80GB G2 SSD, DELL U2410

    Used to be: SaFrOuT

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    504
    Well, that is HUGE !
    I'll use a toroidal transformer at 14V/1500VA output....


    Pics?

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mount Olimpus, Watching You
    Posts
    222
    Quote Originally Posted by SaFrOuT
    ????
    Please correct me if my post isn't making sense
    Rig: Intel Pentium E 2140 | Gigabyte 965P-S3 | G.Skill 2GBNT | Sapphire HD2600 XT | Fsp 350-60Gln
    Ppc: Intel XScale 255Mhz | 64Mb Ram | 64Mb Flashdrive | 320x240 QVga | hp1915 | 1Gb Sandisk Storage Card
    Nas: Intel Pentium 3 477Mhz | Epox | 384 Patriot SDRam | nVidia Geforce tnt2 | Boxter 500W
    Else: Viewsonic VG930m | Microsoft Optical | D-Link 524

    I think, therefore I am
    -RenÚ Descartes

    Sorry for my bad english =D

  11. #11
    -100c Club
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Slovenia, Europe
    Posts
    2,282
    Well, i'm starting to have some sick ideas with my mate moon to copy ur psu

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    israel
    Posts
    133
    wow i cant white for you give 1 for me

  13. #13
    Egyptian OverClocker
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cairo, Egypt
    Posts
    3,366
    Quote Originally Posted by Zzzz
    Please correct me if my post isn't making sense

    sorry i didn't mean anything bad

    i just wanted to know the answer to ur question as for sure you do too

    of-topic
    ur sig is very huge :P
    Soon to be :
    ASUS P8P67 Deluxe, Intel SB i7-2600k, G.Skill Rj-X F3-12800CL6D-4GBXH, MSI HD6950 2GB, Corsair 750AX, Intel 80GB G2 SSD, DELL U2410

    Used to be: SaFrOuT

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mount Olimpus, Watching You
    Posts
    222
    Quote Originally Posted by SaFrOuT
    sorry i didn't mean anything bad

    i just wanted to know the answer to ur question as for sure you do too
    Oh OK
    Quote Originally Posted by SaFrOuT
    of-topic
    ur sig is very huge :P
    Your right... Ill cut out some parts there...
    Rig: Intel Pentium E 2140 | Gigabyte 965P-S3 | G.Skill 2GBNT | Sapphire HD2600 XT | Fsp 350-60Gln
    Ppc: Intel XScale 255Mhz | 64Mb Ram | 64Mb Flashdrive | 320x240 QVga | hp1915 | 1Gb Sandisk Storage Card
    Nas: Intel Pentium 3 477Mhz | Epox | 384 Patriot SDRam | nVidia Geforce tnt2 | Boxter 500W
    Else: Viewsonic VG930m | Microsoft Optical | D-Link 524

    I think, therefore I am
    -RenÚ Descartes

    Sorry for my bad english =D

  15. #15
    OCTeamDenmark Founder Nosfer@tu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,361
    Subscribed.
    Former owner of OCTeamDenmark.com
    MSI MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!

    Linkedin


  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh - UK
    Posts
    1,363
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5
    It will not be a switching PSU.....It'll be a "normal" one with huge heatsink and stuff like that.....I kinda like "old school" designs for myshelf.....I want builds to be huge and heavy.......

    Linear design?!?! oucha thats gonna need some serious heatsinking when your pulling the amps

    I suppose you can minimize losses with low voltage drop FETs and good PCB designs. Yeah this will be interesting mate.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Recruit
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    99
    hipro is nuts :P

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    225
    If this will be just for the cards, won't the PC fry if there's a voltage differwence between the cards and the mobo? or will it be for the wole system? But then you'd have to do thr 5 and 3.3 V too. I'm a bit lost here.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    ESTONIA
    Posts
    431
    it's only for the VGA cards.
    Intel C2D E8400 @ 4000MHz ~1,192V
    Thermaltake Big Typhoon 120
    MSI P35 NEO2-FIR (bios v1.8)
    ADATA 2*2GB DDR2 800+ EE
    ASUS Geforce 8800GT 512MB + Accelero S1
    Seasonic S12-600

  20. #20
    Xtreme Recruit
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    99
    dying to see results

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    israel
    Posts
    133
    Hipro Like How Mach Is Be Cost

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Utrecht, NL // Kingston, Jamaica
    Posts
    615
    awwwwweeesssooooooooooooooome
    Apple Macbook Pro ║ 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo ║ GeForce 8600M GT 256MB ║ 2GB 667MHz DDR2 ║ 15" TFT LED backlit display // Dell 2407WFPHC // Xbox360 // Ek + Swiftech blocks in storage

    r3vo+PC Fall_06 Build
    Spring Customer Build

  23. #23
    OCTeamDenmark Founder Nosfer@tu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,361
    Quote Originally Posted by prosk8
    Hipro Like How Mach Is Be Cost
    You CAN NOT buy one!

    It is only for him self!!!!
    Former owner of OCTeamDenmark.com
    MSI MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!

    Linkedin


  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    504
    Quote Originally Posted by Pipi
    If this will be just for the cards, won't the PC fry if there's a voltage differwence between the cards and the mobo? or will it be for the wole system? But then you'd have to do thr 5 and 3.3 V too. I'm a bit lost here.
    With 'new' HW there won't be problems. I've run 7900GT SLI with their own PSU without any problems.
    I believe that only X8xx series had problems with this. Pls correct me if I'm wrong.

    It will not be a switching PSU.....It'll be a "normal" one with huge heatsink and stuff like that.....I kinda like "old school" designs for myshelf.....I want builds to be huge and heavy.......
    Phase cooled maybe ?

  25. #25
    XS - Extra Strong
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,658
    Good idea George!
    Plus, this way you won't need to build a bigger one for a couple years
    -Phenom2 x6 1055 @stock
    -8gb ddr3
    -Gigabyte UD3
    -Geforce 7900Gt 755/1863 1.562v vgpu
    -OCZ Powersupply 600w

Page 1 of 21 123411 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •