Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 40

Thread: Kentsfield @ 3700mhz 4 x prime stable under air

  1. #1
    Xtreme Family
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic of Hiroshima
    Posts
    2,641

    Kentsfield @ 3700mhz 4 x prime stable under air










    CPU: Kentsfield QX6700 L638 retail box
    MB: P5B DLX WiFi (0804)
    Bios 1: Vcore 1.63v(load 1.45v),vFSB 1.45v,vNB minimum,VSB minimum
    Bios 2: PCIEx 100mhz,CPU settings all disabled
    CPU Cooler: Scythe Infinity
    Fan: Sanyo Denki F12-HHH 6000rpm @ 260CFM
    VGA: Elsa 940(6800U) @ 450/1250(24/7) water(Innovatek + Reserator)
    MEM: Crucial 6400 4-4-4-8(2.15v) & Corsair Value 4-4-4-12(2.3v)
    HDD: Hitachi 80gb 7200rpm
    PSU: Zippy [GE] 500w
    SO: Windows XP Pro SP2
    Mojo
    Family
    Biostar TP55 XE - Core i7 860(ES) @ 4.2ghz - CNPS10X Extreme - G.SKILL 1600 - Galaxy GTX275 - Velociraptor 300GB x 2 - Zippy TypeR 600w
    Criminal
    Biostar Tpower X58A - 920~Gulf - G.SKILL2000CL8 - GTX580 - Intel 520 120GB - Antec HCP 1200w
    Biostar TP67XE/TZ77XE4 2500k~3770K - G.SKILL 2800 - GTX480 - OCZ Vertex2 50GB - Corsair AX1200
    Biostar Tpower X79 i7 3820 ~ E5 2680 - G.SKILL 2400C11 - GTX560Ti - Intel 520 120GB - AX1200i
    Kids
    P4GD1 - Pentium M 780 - XMS Xpert400 - GTX460 - Raptor 36GB - Aopen 560w



  2. #2
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    204,163
    Nice chip

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    150
    Not bad, not bad at all
    Is the default Multiplier 10?
    (\__/)
    (='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
    (")_(") signature to help him gain world domination


    Arguing on the internet is like running in special olympics, even if you did win, you are still a retard.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    nice? >> more like monster chip
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,950
    Quote Originally Posted by thecake90
    Not bad, not bad at all
    Is the default Multiplier 10?
    yes....Its a QX6700

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    143
    Is vcore 1.63 or 1.45?
    [Core 2 Quadro QX6700 @ 3.20Ghz] [Tuniq Tower 120] [Abit IN9 32X MAX nForce-680i SLI] [4x1024 PC2-6400 Team Xtreem @ 3338 400Mhz] [Geforce GTX 260 216 55nm @ 655/1408/2100 SLI] [2x74GB WD Raptor 10000RPM] [Tagan TurboJet 1100W] [7x TT Blue Led VR] [CoolerMaster Stacker 830 Evolution] [Samsung SH-S183A SATA] [Dell UltraSharp 3007WFP-HC] [Logitech Z-5500]

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    393
    I do not know if you had the chance to compare this cpu with a B0...? But does this B3 feels 'great'? The reason I ask is that I am thinking about replacing my B0 with a B3... But As my B0 feels rather good already I do not know what to do.

    I have not tried testing prime but I have ran ALOT of test under air at 3725MHz with my B0. Roomtemp about 20 degrees. Example from a few month back:


    I will try better cooling within a few days.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    176
    Nice overclocks!

    How about showing us some Cinebench?

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    393
    Well, it is not my thread so this will be my last posted image in this thread. But it would be interesting to compare PcCI2iminal:s B3 with higher FSB with my B0 at 310FSB... We are quite close when looking at CPU-speed alone.

    This is another 'old' run @3725, FSB@310, 1.58Vcore, ASUS P5WDG2 WS Pro:

  10. #10
    Xtreme Family
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic of Hiroshima
    Posts
    2,641
    Quote Originally Posted by ettis
    Is vcore 1.63 or 1.45?

    Bios set -> 1.63v
    Windows idle-> 1.53v
    load-> 1.45v
    Mojo
    Family
    Biostar TP55 XE - Core i7 860(ES) @ 4.2ghz - CNPS10X Extreme - G.SKILL 1600 - Galaxy GTX275 - Velociraptor 300GB x 2 - Zippy TypeR 600w
    Criminal
    Biostar Tpower X58A - 920~Gulf - G.SKILL2000CL8 - GTX580 - Intel 520 120GB - Antec HCP 1200w
    Biostar TP67XE/TZ77XE4 2500k~3770K - G.SKILL 2800 - GTX480 - OCZ Vertex2 50GB - Corsair AX1200
    Biostar Tpower X79 i7 3820 ~ E5 2680 - G.SKILL 2400C11 - GTX560Ti - Intel 520 120GB - AX1200i
    Kids
    P4GD1 - Pentium M 780 - XMS Xpert400 - GTX460 - Raptor 36GB - Aopen 560w



  11. #11
    Xtreme Family
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic of Hiroshima
    Posts
    2,641
    Quote Originally Posted by Theli
    Nice overclocks!

    How about showing us some Cinebench?



    Mojo
    Family
    Biostar TP55 XE - Core i7 860(ES) @ 4.2ghz - CNPS10X Extreme - G.SKILL 1600 - Galaxy GTX275 - Velociraptor 300GB x 2 - Zippy TypeR 600w
    Criminal
    Biostar Tpower X58A - 920~Gulf - G.SKILL2000CL8 - GTX580 - Intel 520 120GB - Antec HCP 1200w
    Biostar TP67XE/TZ77XE4 2500k~3770K - G.SKILL 2800 - GTX480 - OCZ Vertex2 50GB - Corsair AX1200
    Biostar Tpower X79 i7 3820 ~ E5 2680 - G.SKILL 2400C11 - GTX560Ti - Intel 520 120GB - AX1200i
    Kids
    P4GD1 - Pentium M 780 - XMS Xpert400 - GTX460 - Raptor 36GB - Aopen 560w



  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    393
    That was a huge difference in scores even though you have higher clocks this time. Thanks for sharing that!!

    BTW, is that still on air?

    EDIT: 3725 was about max I could reach on air with 'normal' room temp.
    Last edited by blossa; 12-03-2006 at 05:26 AM.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Family
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic of Hiroshima
    Posts
    2,641
    I do not know if you had the chance to compare this cpu with a B0...?
    its my first Kentsfield


    The reason I ask is that I am thinking about replacing my B0 with a B3... But As my B0 feels rather good already I do not know what to do.
    i think the best is wait for more users reviews

    This is another 'old' run @3725, FSB@310, 1.58Vcore, ASUS P5WDG2 WS Pro
    i will replace my dead P5WDG2 WS Pro for a new one from Asus and we can do a better compare
    and feel free to post any screen

    CPU score-> 5659
    Vcore-> 1.685v
    Cooling->Scythe Infinity + Sanyo Denki F12-HHH
    Mojo
    Family
    Biostar TP55 XE - Core i7 860(ES) @ 4.2ghz - CNPS10X Extreme - G.SKILL 1600 - Galaxy GTX275 - Velociraptor 300GB x 2 - Zippy TypeR 600w
    Criminal
    Biostar Tpower X58A - 920~Gulf - G.SKILL2000CL8 - GTX580 - Intel 520 120GB - Antec HCP 1200w
    Biostar TP67XE/TZ77XE4 2500k~3770K - G.SKILL 2800 - GTX480 - OCZ Vertex2 50GB - Corsair AX1200
    Biostar Tpower X79 i7 3820 ~ E5 2680 - G.SKILL 2400C11 - GTX560Ti - Intel 520 120GB - AX1200i
    Kids
    P4GD1 - Pentium M 780 - XMS Xpert400 - GTX460 - Raptor 36GB - Aopen 560w



  14. #14
    Xtreme Family
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic of Hiroshima
    Posts
    2,641
    Quote Originally Posted by blossa
    That was a huge difference in scores even though you have higher clocks this time. Thanks for sharing that!!

    BTW, is that still on air?

    EDIT: 3725 was about max I could reach on air with 'normal' room temp.

    yep this is on air
    and the room temp is 10C

    how about the droop on P5WDG2 WS Pro? or she works under overvolt?
    Mojo
    Family
    Biostar TP55 XE - Core i7 860(ES) @ 4.2ghz - CNPS10X Extreme - G.SKILL 1600 - Galaxy GTX275 - Velociraptor 300GB x 2 - Zippy TypeR 600w
    Criminal
    Biostar Tpower X58A - 920~Gulf - G.SKILL2000CL8 - GTX580 - Intel 520 120GB - Antec HCP 1200w
    Biostar TP67XE/TZ77XE4 2500k~3770K - G.SKILL 2800 - GTX480 - OCZ Vertex2 50GB - Corsair AX1200
    Biostar Tpower X79 i7 3820 ~ E5 2680 - G.SKILL 2400C11 - GTX560Ti - Intel 520 120GB - AX1200i
    Kids
    P4GD1 - Pentium M 780 - XMS Xpert400 - GTX460 - Raptor 36GB - Aopen 560w



  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by PcCI2iminal
    Bios set -> 1.63v
    Windows idle-> 1.53v
    load-> 1.45v
    That's some serious vdrop you got there...

    btw. what's the maxfsb you can reach?
    cheers
    [Core 2 Quadro QX6700 @ 3.20Ghz] [Tuniq Tower 120] [Abit IN9 32X MAX nForce-680i SLI] [4x1024 PC2-6400 Team Xtreem @ 3338 400Mhz] [Geforce GTX 260 216 55nm @ 655/1408/2100 SLI] [2x74GB WD Raptor 10000RPM] [Tagan TurboJet 1100W] [7x TT Blue Led VR] [CoolerMaster Stacker 830 Evolution] [Samsung SH-S183A SATA] [Dell UltraSharp 3007WFP-HC] [Logitech Z-5500]

  16. #16
    Xtreme Family
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic of Hiroshima
    Posts
    2,641
    Quote Originally Posted by ettis
    That's some seriously vdrop you got there...

    btw. what's your maxfsb you can reach?
    cheers

    the droop is sick

    about FSB
    400 x 9 or lower = BSD
    i need to boot in the next strap to get it stable(thanks Rol-Co for helping )
    tested and passed
    9 x 420
    8 x 450

    no boot
    7 x 500
    Mojo
    Family
    Biostar TP55 XE - Core i7 860(ES) @ 4.2ghz - CNPS10X Extreme - G.SKILL 1600 - Galaxy GTX275 - Velociraptor 300GB x 2 - Zippy TypeR 600w
    Criminal
    Biostar Tpower X58A - 920~Gulf - G.SKILL2000CL8 - GTX580 - Intel 520 120GB - Antec HCP 1200w
    Biostar TP67XE/TZ77XE4 2500k~3770K - G.SKILL 2800 - GTX480 - OCZ Vertex2 50GB - Corsair AX1200
    Biostar Tpower X79 i7 3820 ~ E5 2680 - G.SKILL 2400C11 - GTX560Ti - Intel 520 120GB - AX1200i
    Kids
    P4GD1 - Pentium M 780 - XMS Xpert400 - GTX460 - Raptor 36GB - Aopen 560w



  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    233
    Do you plan to test it under SS or cascade ?

    Regards
    Cooling : Waterchiller, Cascade and ~100L LN²
    Hardware : Many things !

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    176
    Thanks for the benchmark!
    2022 points...
    Compare that to my old rig (Athlon XP 2500+ @1.9GHz) that got 200 points.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Family
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic of Hiroshima
    Posts
    2,641
    Quote Originally Posted by quent
    Do you plan to test it under SS or cascade ?

    Regards

    dice soon as possible
    Mojo
    Family
    Biostar TP55 XE - Core i7 860(ES) @ 4.2ghz - CNPS10X Extreme - G.SKILL 1600 - Galaxy GTX275 - Velociraptor 300GB x 2 - Zippy TypeR 600w
    Criminal
    Biostar Tpower X58A - 920~Gulf - G.SKILL2000CL8 - GTX580 - Intel 520 120GB - Antec HCP 1200w
    Biostar TP67XE/TZ77XE4 2500k~3770K - G.SKILL 2800 - GTX480 - OCZ Vertex2 50GB - Corsair AX1200
    Biostar Tpower X79 i7 3820 ~ E5 2680 - G.SKILL 2400C11 - GTX560Ti - Intel 520 120GB - AX1200i
    Kids
    P4GD1 - Pentium M 780 - XMS Xpert400 - GTX460 - Raptor 36GB - Aopen 560w



  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    393
    DI is fun I ended up @4645 with 1.75v. Raising up to 1.82 did not help so I have to get better cooling. Unfortunatly it did that bench with cpu-z 1.37 the same hours that v1.38 was released so I can not confirm it. It booted and was benchable at atleast 4550. anything higher than that was starting to be unstable. I have a few screenshots and photos posted from that session though:
    http://www.techsweden.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=171459

    About overvoltage/undervoltage. I can not tell atm, because I have modded my board. But with BIOS 0005 it seems more correct than with the other two BIOS I have tried (witch ever that was... hrm). If I recall right one was overvolting and the other undervolting. Can it be so har to fix?

    With BIOS 0005, when raising the vcore from 1.635 to 1.65 the voltage droops like a stone. I think it falls with about 0.125v... I have not found any more strange things about the voltage yet. I have heard that over 1.75v often kills the P5WDG2 WS Pro but I have been up to 1.82v so far without problems.

    I does not seem to drop under load. I have done the vdrop mod but I have not touched the potentiometer. Even before the vdrop mod i think it was pretty stable.

    The 'biggest' issue for me at the moment is that I can not get clockgen to work with my motherboard. It only works 'halfway' (great english!). AIBooster have some life of it owns so sometimes it drops voltages even when untouched.

    About 3DMark06: Again you have higher clock than I have at my current screenshots. But even if we had the same cpu speed I think that it is the fact that you have the B3 and/or the fact that you can get higher FSB on the P5B that makes yours perform so much better. Max FSB for me is 318MHz "stable".
    You get 550 cpu points more than me with a 180MHz higher clock.


    It would have been nice to compare our CPUs with same board etc. I am thinking about replacing my board but I do not know with what so far. A 680i might be the one but yet it is not 'stable' enough for me to buy it. A P5B is also an option as it is rather cheap and known to support quite high FSB with Kentsfield. It would be nice to make a "batchnumber comparision table". Maybe we can work something out.

  21. #21
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,438
    PcCI2iminal can you do me a 1m @ 3.7


    thanks baz

  22. #22
    D-m.o.s.t
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    951
    can i compare with you ? step 4 B0 cpu

    asus p5w air



    asus p5b cpu


  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    393
    Thanks for sharing! It seems like my scores are a bit low. I do not know my RAM settings at my above posted tests though...

    Rol-Co: We have the same kind of cpu, have you had the chance to try the p5wdg2 ws pro board? If I remember right, your FSB is one of the highest I have seen with Kentsfield on a i975 board!

  24. #24
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    204,163
    Q6400 is good too. No tweaking.



    It's been crunching WU's for the past 12 hours. Will run more tests later.

  25. #25
    D-m.o.s.t
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    951
    nope
    ran it on p5w dh but cpu string and multiplier change is no good with the board, 2 cores always stay on 10x

    P5b is a lot better , cpu string is not good but lower multieplier is working on 4 cores, this cpu does 450 air and 500 phase fsb

    gona try dfi infinnity but don't think it wil make any difference

    maybe somebody can tell witch board is supporting the B0 kentsfield?? easy to see at the propperty's of this computer. please let me know.


    sorry PcCI2iminal for rushing in your topic, you got a nice chip thats for sure, 4 times prime @3700 air is awesome, can you tell us what load temp you got? must be massive ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •