Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Installing a temperature probe for a gpu unit

  1. #1

    Installing a temperature probe for a gpu unit

    Here is the first of some guides I've prepared to help out some of the new guys to ln2/di cooling. It seems to be getting more and more popular everyday, as I have been getting tons of emails and pm's about preperation and methods. This should help alot of you using my units or anyone else's.

    Temperature probes in your CPU and GPU units are a must if you are going to do any sort of benching with DI or liquid nitrogen. Knowing the temps at the base of your units at ALL times during ln2 benching sessions is critical to your success. There is also nothing worse than having issues with your temps being read innacurately while benching due to improperly installed/ loose temp probes. Here is how I install K-type temp probes for my UEI meters on all of my units:

    For materials, you'll need a drill and a 1/16th bit, rubber bands or electrical tape, some artic silver adhesive (two part mix),temp probe (bead type) of your choice suited for your meter, and of course gpu/cpu unit. I will be using one of my Tek-9 GPU units and k-type probe for UEI meter in this example:


    Using your drill and 1/16th bit, drill your hole at the top of the contact area maybe about 1.5mm from the surface. I always take temps from the top of the conact area of the unit and not the bottom as these will tend to be your highest readings. make the hole about 1.25mm deep, or just deep enough for the bead to fit in nicely. DO NOT apply alot of pressure on the drill or you will freak when the drill bit breaks off in the container. Copper is a very gummy soft metal, and it is very easy to break bits machining it... whether it is machining the actual unit or making a small hole for a temp probe. Be sure to pull the bit out and blow the copper shavings out of the hole a few times before it is fully drilled out:


    Now take your two part AS adhesive and mix up 1 pea sized drop of each on a piece of paper to activate it, and put a little gob on the bead probe and rubber band/tape the probe in place before you insert it into the hole. Electrical tape works great, but I like to use rubber bands, as the electrical tape gets really nasty on there after alot of freezing/thawing and it will just split and break anyways:


    Last step is to line it up and place in the drilled out hole and put a little more adhesive behind it so it can't come out. I usually let it cure overnight before I bench with it for the first time:


    Do it like I have shown, and you will never have any problems with your temps being read improperly, and the probe will definitely stay put.
    Last edited by k|ngp|n; 11-26-2006 at 07:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    4,237
    so nice to see you helping KP, thanks mate

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    East Coast USA
    Posts
    783
    great info. thanks for posting this.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    104
    Nice guide KP. thx

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    174
    All your Guides r Great!
    Make More!
    D805 - 2.66GHZ@4.34GHZ 1.7V - ThermalTake Big Typhoon - Asus P5LD2 - Vdroop Modded -

    PQI TURBO 2X512MB 667MHZ 4-3-3-12 - HEC TRTF 400W - Compucase CL_6A19 -
    EVGA 7600GT 580\1500 @ 650\1500MHZ -StockV - GeForce 7600 GT - Aquamark03 - 87,858

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=109172 - Air Cooling Experiment on a 6A19 - has some helpful tips I guess :P

  6. #6
    OCTeamDenmark Founder Nosfer@tu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,368
    Nice guide.
    Former owner of OCTeamDenmark.com
    MSI MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!

    Linkedin


  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    115
    Nice drill.

    (Thanks)

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    1,290
    DeWalt are the dogs. Expensive though !

    Great guide KP!

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Atlanta GA - USA
    Posts
    844
    would the rubber bands not snap under such cold temps , I mean I guess it would be in the insulation but meh.. lol
    Heatware -> http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51939
    Ebay -> http://myworld.ebay.com/onewhoisplug
    Feel Free to hop in my ventrio server and chat with us
    Vent6.gameservers.com:4498

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    1,622
    great guide thx man. keep on sharing the knowledge!

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    160
    GREAT guide cheers

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portugal - Lx
    Posts
    240
    Much guide even loved.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Cupcake View Post
    would the rubber bands not snap under such cold temps , I mean I guess it would be in the insulation but meh.. lol
    Ya, i would like to know this too. Would the rubber bands snap?
    Last edited by zira; 09-25-2008 at 10:16 AM.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    So Cal, USA
    Posts
    134
    Where do we order the probe from?

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
    Posts
    925
    Quote Originally Posted by Mpetrosino View Post
    Where do we order the probe from?
    ebay has a lot of them..
    Q9550 EO @ 4.1
    Asus P5Q Deluxe
    4 Gb DDR2 Gskill
    2xVelociraptors 300 gb Raid 0
    Sapphire Vapor 4870 1Gb
    PCP&C 750w silencer psu

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    108
    Good info....

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    164
    nice, simple, good and easy to do
    3dmark Vantage : +47K (NO PhysX)
    3dmark11 : +14K
    3dmark06 : +41K
    3dmark05 : +50K
    3dmark03 : +187K
    3dmark01 : +126K
    Wprime32m : 3.233sec
    Wprime1024 : 1m30sec320

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    117
    Can someone please give me some input on a good thermometer for DICE and LN2, I am looking into starting with DICE although I want to see how much costs will be prior to my ordering. I would like to spend less than $100 USD, although I am unsure if those units are good, nor well built. Some input would be greatly appreciated, possible brands and models that many like and have good luck with. I know Fluke makes very nice units, but is there anything else out there?.

    Jake

  19. #19
    Fluke all the way man, I started using uei's but teh batteries go dead every session. The flukes are amazing on battery life
    think this guide needs some updating (eraser free of course )

  20. #20
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    LOL Vince.... is it possible to thread necro your own thread?

    FWIW... +1 on the Fluke... I have 3 Fluke 52 R1s and I love em
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  21. #21
    hah yah i guess so Been living in a time bubble last few years, no concept of it. Really been itching to update some of these guides when I get some darn free time.

  22. #22
    Damn...check the shine on that original Tek

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Athens - Hellas
    Posts
    739
    It's not only the shine ! It performs still like a charm
    Hipro uses it with his top-end cards and it rocks

  24. #24
    hipro isn't the only one with a set of these bad boys but I gotta admit, I'd rather bench the fatty.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    198
    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    LOL Vince.... is it possible to thread necro your own thread?

    FWIW... +1 on the Fluke... I have 3 Fluke 52 R1s and I love em

    Wow, the new Fluke 52 II is so much more expensive than the say the Uei DT302...by about $150! Yikes.

    What would warrant the extra cost?
    Mobo: eVGA x58 Classified (759)
    CPU: i7-990x
    GPU: 2xGTX 580
    Cooling: F1 Gemini/Tek-9 Fat LN2 | 12k BTU Chiller HK 3.0/DD Water Block
    RAM: 3 x 2gb DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tracers
    HD: OCZ LE SSD 100GB | OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 60GB
    PSU: PC Power & Cooling 1200W
    OS: Win7 64-Bit | XP Pro
    Monitor: Dell 2707 LCD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •