MMM
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 38

Thread: Intel Conroe E6850 and some new models coming soon......

  1. #1
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shanghai, P.R.China
    Posts
    1,658

    Intel Conroe E6850 and some new models coming soon......

    Intel Conroe X6850.
    1333fsb, 3Ghz, 2M*2

    and some new models:
    Last edited by VictorWang; 11-23-2006 at 09:09 PM.
    Uni Hardware:
    http://www.unihw.com

    Team China

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    574
    ...and you don't have one already? Where are the benchies?

    Just kidding of course. I wonder how far we will be able to push the new X6850?
    Intel Xeon 3520 | eVGA Classified E759, GTX-285 SSC Tri-SLI | Corsair Dominator GT 2000Mhz 7-8-7-20 | Auzentech X-Fi Prelude | Intel 160GB X25-MG2 x 2, WDC 1TB Green Storage | Watercool HK 3.0, GPU-X² GTX285, MO-RA 2 Pro | Mips Chipset Kühler | Dual Laing 18w DDC+ | Corsair HX1000 | murderMod TJ07 #007 | Dell 3008WFP | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 |

  3. #3
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    204,163
    What is the difference between E6390 and E6400?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by sierra_bound
    What is the difference between E6390 and E6400?
    No VT & VPro.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    204,163
    Quote Originally Posted by ivo0613
    No VT & VPro.
    Oh, is that all? vPro is technology better suited for businesses. And I think most people here disable Virtualization Technology in the bios.

  6. #6
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shanghai, P.R.China
    Posts
    1,658
    Quote Originally Posted by sierra_bound
    What is the difference between E6390 and E6400?
    some function we don't care about, that's where the difference is
    Uni Hardware:
    http://www.unihw.com

    Team China

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,314
    i dont like the idea of these chips at all, theyre higher stock fsb, so theyre lower max multi, thats not what we need... i am looking forward to the 4xxx series alot more than the 6x50...
    Core i7 920 3849B028 4.2ghz cooled by ek hf | 6gb stt ddr3 2100 | MSI HD6950 cf cooled by ek fc | Evga x58 e760 Classified | 120gb G.Skill Phoenix Pro | Modded Rocketfish case + 1200w toughpower | mcp 655 pump + mcr 320 + black ice pro II

  8. #8
    OC Jedi (on stand-by)
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,608
    The E4300 still looks like an interesting budget chip with a nice high multi
    オタク
    "Perfection is a state you should always try to attain, yet one you can never reach." - me =)

  9. #9
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    204,163
    High multiplier CPU's are generally not desired by overclockers. They often won't hit high FSB. Most Intel users here love high FSB.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mount Olimpus, Watching You
    Posts
    222
    Could someone post that list (pure text pls, i cant watch the pic).
    Rig: Intel Pentium E 2140 | Gigabyte 965P-S3 | G.Skill 2GBNT | Sapphire HD2600 XT | Fsp 350-60Gln
    Ppc: Intel XScale 255Mhz | 64Mb Ram | 64Mb Flashdrive | 320x240 QVga | hp1915 | 1Gb Sandisk Storage Card
    Nas: Intel Pentium 3 477Mhz | Epox | 384 Patriot SDRam | nVidia Geforce tnt2 | Boxter 500W
    Else: Viewsonic VG930m | Microsoft Optical | D-Link 524

    I think, therefore I am
    -René Descartes

    Sorry for my bad english =D

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    295
    i think the refresh only matters for people/oem running stock

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cairo
    Posts
    2,365
    Quote Originally Posted by sierra_bound
    High multiplier CPU's are generally not desired by overclockers. They often won't hit high FSB. Most Intel users here love high FSB.
    That was the case with old Pentiums when it was impossible to change the multiplier right now higher multiplier is preferred, gives you more options and larger headroom with low end mobos
    ________
    Honda CB1100F
    Last edited by kemo; 01-31-2011 at 12:37 PM.

  13. #13
    The Blue Dolphin
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,981
    Quote Originally Posted by kemo6600
    That was the case with old Pentiums when it was impossible to change the multiplier right now higher multiplier is preferred, gives you more option and larger headroom with low end mobos
    Chips tend to overclock to the highest FSB using a certain multiplie, which is often the stock multiplier. It has yet to be figured out why this is the case.
    Blue Dolphin Reviews & Guides

    Blue Reviews:
    Gigabyte G-Power PRO CPU cooler
    Vantec Nexstar 3.5" external HDD enclosure
    Gigabyte Poseidon 310 case


    Blue Guides:
    Fixing a GFX BIOS checksum yourself


    98% of the internet population has a Myspace. If you're part of the 2% that isn't an emo bastard, copy and paste this into your sig.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cairo
    Posts
    2,365
    Quote Originally Posted by alexio
    Chips tend to overclock to the highest FSB using a certain multiplie, which is often the stock multiplier. It has yet to be figured out why this is the case.
    The point is with your low end mobo (less than 100$) + E4300 running @ 3xx X 9 you can easily hit 2.8GHZ much easier than E6300 running @ 7X400and still if your board can go higher you can lower your multi
    ________
    Mazda Millenia specifications
    Last edited by kemo; 01-31-2011 at 12:38 PM.

  15. #15
    The Blue Dolphin
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,981
    Quote Originally Posted by kemo6600
    The point is with your low end mobo (less than 100$) + E4300 running @ 3xx X 9 you can easily hit 2.8GHZ much easier than E6300 running @ 7X400and still if your board can go higher you can lower your multi
    Well, that's the whole point of my post. What if your E4300 overclocks like crap with the lower multies? You loose some system performance when you are forced to use a high multi for a good overclock. I'm not saying I'm not buying the E4300, it's a great CPU. And I have the cooling for 9X4**+
    Blue Dolphin Reviews & Guides

    Blue Reviews:
    Gigabyte G-Power PRO CPU cooler
    Vantec Nexstar 3.5" external HDD enclosure
    Gigabyte Poseidon 310 case


    Blue Guides:
    Fixing a GFX BIOS checksum yourself


    98% of the internet population has a Myspace. If you're part of the 2% that isn't an emo bastard, copy and paste this into your sig.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cairo
    Posts
    2,365
    Quote Originally Posted by alexio
    Well, that's the whole point of my post. What if your E4300 overclocks like crap with the lower multies? You loose some system performance when you are forced to use a high multi for a good overclock. I'm not saying I'm not buying the E4300, it's a great CPU. And I have the cooling for 9X4**+
    Dude we arguing in a close loop I am talking about crappy 945 based mobo that will barely do 320fsb and your are talking about P5b and DS3 the idea is to get cpu+ mobo combo for about 220$ and run @ core 2 extreme speed
    ________
    Ferrari Daytona specifications
    Last edited by kemo; 01-31-2011 at 12:38 PM.

  17. #17
    The Blue Dolphin
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,981
    Quote Originally Posted by kemo6600
    Dude we arguing in a close loop I am talking about crappy 945 based mobo that will barely do 320fsb and your are talking about P5b and DS3 the idea is to get cpu+ mobo combo for about 220$ and run @ core 2 extreme speed
    Relax man

    You are right, for such a setup the E4300 is truly awesome.
    Blue Dolphin Reviews & Guides

    Blue Reviews:
    Gigabyte G-Power PRO CPU cooler
    Vantec Nexstar 3.5" external HDD enclosure
    Gigabyte Poseidon 310 case


    Blue Guides:
    Fixing a GFX BIOS checksum yourself


    98% of the internet population has a Myspace. If you're part of the 2% that isn't an emo bastard, copy and paste this into your sig.

  18. #18
    OC Jedi (on stand-by)
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,608
    Quote Originally Posted by sierra_bound
    High multiplier CPU's are generally not desired by overclockers. They often won't hit high FSB. Most Intel users here love high FSB.
    Well what is a high FSb if the internal timings are way worse than with lower FSB settings.
    I will be using it as cheap cruncher in my P5W, and that board is limited at a little over 450FSb, so the higher the multiplier the better
    If you want a high fsb, just lower the multi.
    オタク
    "Perfection is a state you should always try to attain, yet one you can never reach." - me =)

  19. #19
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,403
    Quote Originally Posted by ivo0613
    No VT & VPro.
    i thought that E6xxx series was all inclusive of VT and VPro and E4xxx serious didn't have those features
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  20. #20
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    6850 would be minimum needed with 9x multi hehe
    ---

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    5,951
    right the max we can get on the 1066 strap is the best fsb, so if your 975 does 450, then 450 is the fsb you want, your multi then needs to match your max mhz on your cpu. It's nice running 500fsb on the p5b but when performance is better at 400 then whats the point right?

    The lower multi on the 6850 shouldnt matter as the cpu will probably be unlock anyways.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    313
    i don't think that E6850 will have unlocked multi as it is an E and not X

    and if this is true, it's just a E6600
    System : E6600 @ 3150mhz, Gigabyte DS3, 4gb Infineon 667mhz, Amd-Ati X1900XT

  23. #23
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    5,951
    Quote Originally Posted by realsmasher
    i don't think that E6850 will have unlocked multi as it is an E and not X

    and if this is true, it's just a E6600

    Good point, i thought it said X.

    yeah this cpu means nothing for us.

  24. #24
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB, CAN
    Posts
    6,126
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr3ak
    The E4300 still looks like an interesting budget chip with a nice high multi
    exactly my thoughts, won't be FSB limited as much. Hopefully they will OC pretty decent.

  25. #25
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,471
    I'm finding it hard to differentiate between E4300 and E2160.

    Perkam

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •