Page 175 of 182 FirstFirst ... 75125165172173174175176177178 ... LastLast
Results 4,351 to 4,375 of 4539

Thread: Testing / comparing : Intel D975XBX2 / Asus P5B DX ***56K WARNING***

  1. #4351
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SW Mitten State, USA
    Posts
    90
    Well, it appears Penryn is out!

    http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post...rs-at-ces.html

    Now, who will be the first brave soul to test compatibility between one of the new CPU's and a 2809 BIOS D975XBX2?
    Core i5-2500 @3.7-4.1GHz, GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD5, 16GB (4 x 4) G.Skill Ripjaws X PC-1866
    Corsair 650D, Seasonic X-750 Gold PSU
    WD `Raptor 600GB, Caviar Black 1TB, 2x NEC 7200 SATA DVDRW
    XFX Radeon 6970 (reference), Hauppauge HVR-1800, X-Fi Titanium, Dell 2407WFP

  2. #4352
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Serbia, Novi Sad
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by fdisker View Post
    Intel releases XBX2 BIOS update. 2809.

    New Fixes/Features:
    - Updated processor support.
    - Fixed issue where Samsung SAS HBA card was not booting.


    Updated processor support? Why would they need to do that? They already don't support 1333 fsb procs so what could they be adding support for?
    http://www.levicki.net/articles/news..._mainboard.php
    Abit IP-35 Pro* INTEL XEON 3110@4050 MHz Air cooled* DDR2 2x1 GB * WD 300 GB * Cooler Master Stacker 830 * Tagan TG530-U22 * Radeon HD2900XT * Pioneer DVR 110D * Pioneer DVR 109-DB * SONY SDM X93 * Creative Audigy 2 * Creative Megaworks 250D*EPSON STYLUS PHOTO R1800

  3. #4353
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    23
    Penryn support on the XBX2? Color me skeptical. I'll believe it when I see it.
    ASUS P5K - Q9550
    8Gb OCZ PC8500
    eVGA e-GeForce 9600GT
    2x VistaView Saber DA-1N1-I
    Sony Bravia 40v2500
    Win7 Professional x64

  4. #4354
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Old Vizima
    Posts
    957
    I'd be interested in the max FSB it can do with Penryn. My Q6600 G-0 = 393x9 in the BX2. You'll probably still want to move to P35 or X38 if you are gunning for a high OC.

  5. #4355
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,121
    Quote Originally Posted by fdisker View Post
    Penryn support on the XBX2? Color me skeptical. I'll believe it when I see it.
    I aggree with tha statment, they are going to want to push the newer chipsets/boards, before they allow this... I dont even think the P5W-DH can run a 1333 proc yet, even with a supposed "bios" fix......
    X299X Aorus Master
    I9 10920x
    32gb Crucial Ballistix DDR4-4000
    EVGA 2070 Super x2
    Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
    4 512gb Silicon Power NVME
    4 480 Adata SSD
    2 1tb HGST 7200rpm 2.5 drives
    X-Fi Titanium
    1200 watt Lepa
    Custom water-cooled View 51TG



  6. #4356
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SW Mitten State, USA
    Posts
    90
    Quote Originally Posted by screwtech02 View Post
    I aggree with tha statment, they are going to want to push the newer chipsets/boards, before they allow this... I dont even think the P5W-DH can run a 1333 proc yet, even with a supposed "bios" fix......
    While I agree that Intel's newer boards are their priority, the XBX2 is an enthusiast mainboard, and I believe Intel understands that keeping enthusiasts happy = good press. I don't know if it is possible from an engineering standpoint to get Penryn operational on the retail XBX2 (as opposed to specially modified ones used for testing it during engineering sample phases) and it may not be possible on every revision, but if it can be done with only BIOS changes, I think it would be worth their while to make the effort.

    And I agree with you that I'll believe it once someone here has done it, or I've seen proof elsewhere. A microcode entry in a flash BIOS discovered by a tech blogger is theoretical evidence at best.
    Last edited by LoneWolf; 01-07-2008 at 08:04 PM.
    Core i5-2500 @3.7-4.1GHz, GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD5, 16GB (4 x 4) G.Skill Ripjaws X PC-1866
    Corsair 650D, Seasonic X-750 Gold PSU
    WD `Raptor 600GB, Caviar Black 1TB, 2x NEC 7200 SATA DVDRW
    XFX Radeon 6970 (reference), Hauppauge HVR-1800, X-Fi Titanium, Dell 2407WFP

  7. #4357
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Central CA, USA
    Posts
    117

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by fdisker View Post
    Penryn support on the XBX2? Color me skeptical. I'll believe it when I see it.
    XBX2 was the system Crytek used to demo Crysis with the first Penryn. I personally doubt it needs more than a BIOS update, and hope to be able to use one while I wait for X48BT prices to drop, like I did w/my BX2 ($175 a year ago ).

    -bZj
    Intel Q9550@3.4GHz & BoneTrail X38,
    HD4850@700/1100, G.Skill 3x2GB@1333,
    VelociRaptoRAID, Li'Lfish, DTek+Swiftech H2O

    Intel E2180 @ 2.5GHz & Bad Axe 2,
    ATi HD 2600 Pro / 256MB @ 660/1100,
    Super Talent 4 x 1GB @ 832MHz/4-4-3-7,
    WD5000AAKS, CoolerMaster GeminII/RC690

  8. #4358
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SW Mitten State, USA
    Posts
    90
    Quote Originally Posted by down8 View Post
    XBX2 was the system Crytek used to demo Crysis with the first Penryn. I personally doubt it needs more than a BIOS update, and hope to be able to use one while I wait for X48BT prices to drop, like I did w/my BX2 ($175 a year ago ).

    -bZj
    My guess is that it is possible with some XBX2 boards, but not all. Intel used a modified XBX2 for Penryn engineering samples. AFAIK, the modification was to the voltage regulators. However, this was prior to the release of rev. 505 of the XBX2, whose release notes list changes to voltage regulation (although it's kind of vague).

    I'm guessing that later XBX2's will be able to run Penryn provided Intel's BIOS supports it. However, there's no way we'll know until someone actually tries it out.
    Core i5-2500 @3.7-4.1GHz, GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD5, 16GB (4 x 4) G.Skill Ripjaws X PC-1866
    Corsair 650D, Seasonic X-750 Gold PSU
    WD `Raptor 600GB, Caviar Black 1TB, 2x NEC 7200 SATA DVDRW
    XFX Radeon 6970 (reference), Hauppauge HVR-1800, X-Fi Titanium, Dell 2407WFP

  9. #4359
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Austria/Europe
    Posts
    36
    Hmmmm I have a little problem with my Q6600 and this Intel Board. E6600 is working very well but if I change to the Q6600 CPU I canīt overclock also it doesnīt boot in the Bios 2809. Tried to disable the same things like watchdog and so on but no luck.

    I can only boot with default settings.


    anyone else this issue?????????

  10. #4360
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    67
    I need some help.
    I would like to setup a RAID 0 on this board and I have no idea how to start. I searched the whole topic but not too many information.
    The OS is Vista.

    Which controller should I use btw? The Intel or Marvell?

  11. #4361
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SW Mitten State, USA
    Posts
    90
    Quote Originally Posted by horatiub View Post
    I need some help.
    I would like to setup a RAID 0 on this board and I have no idea how to start. I searched the whole topic but not too many information.
    The OS is Vista.

    Which controller should I use btw? The Intel or Marvell?
    Use the Intel.

    Note: to set up RAID, it is very likely you'll need to reinstall your system from scratch, depending on how you plan to configure things. You need to enable RAID in the mainboard BIOS; once you have done that, you'll get a prompt when the controller initializes during boot to hit a set of keys to go into the Matrix Storage Manager. From there, you can configure your RAID array.

    You'll need the Intel RAID driver either on a floppy or on CD for the OS reinstall. The latest version is downloadable from Intel's website. Check the link below for a guide on installing it during the Vista reinstall.

    http://vistasupport.mvps.org/install...ta_drivers.htm
    Core i5-2500 @3.7-4.1GHz, GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD5, 16GB (4 x 4) G.Skill Ripjaws X PC-1866
    Corsair 650D, Seasonic X-750 Gold PSU
    WD `Raptor 600GB, Caviar Black 1TB, 2x NEC 7200 SATA DVDRW
    XFX Radeon 6970 (reference), Hauppauge HVR-1800, X-Fi Titanium, Dell 2407WFP

  12. #4362
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by LoneWolf View Post
    Use the Intel.

    Note: to set up RAID, it is very likely you'll need to reinstall your system from scratch, depending on how you plan to configure things. You need to enable RAID in the mainboard BIOS; once you have done that, you'll get a prompt when the controller initializes during boot to hit a set of keys to go into the Matrix Storage Manager. From there, you can configure your RAID array.

    You'll need the Intel RAID driver either on a floppy or on CD for the OS reinstall. The latest version is downloadable from Intel's website. Check the link below for a guide on installing it during the Vista reinstall.

    http://vistasupport.mvps.org/install...ta_drivers.htm
    I thought Vista already has the Intel RAID Driver.
    Btw, when should I setup partitions on the drives? After the install, from the OS interface?

  13. #4363
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    23
    >> I thought Vista already has the Intel RAID Driver.

    It does and it works perfectly for setting up the OS. Once Vista starts the setup program you will have the option to create a partition. Once the OS is loaded you can then download and install the latest Intel Matrix Storage Manager. The Storage Manager will update the default driver with the latest from Intel. I just went through this process a few weeks ago and it was very smooth.
    ASUS P5K - Q9550
    8Gb OCZ PC8500
    eVGA e-GeForce 9600GT
    2x VistaView Saber DA-1N1-I
    Sony Bravia 40v2500
    Win7 Professional x64

  14. #4364
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Old Vizima
    Posts
    957
    I'd get Intel's X38 board and I don't feel like buying DDR3 ram. I'd want 4Gb and right now it's a little pricey for me.

  15. #4365
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Central CA, USA
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by LoneWolf View Post
    My guess is that it is possible with some XBX2 boards, but not all. Intel used a modified XBX2 for Penryn engineering samples. AFAIK, the modification was to the voltage regulators. However, this was prior to the release of rev. 505 of the XBX2, whose release notes list changes to voltage regulation (although it's kind of vague).

    I'm guessing that later XBX2's will be able to run Penryn provided Intel's BIOS supports it. However, there's no way we'll know until someone actually tries it out.
    If anyone wants to send me a 45nm CPU to try out, I got no qualms about giving it a shot?

    -bZj
    Intel Q9550@3.4GHz & BoneTrail X38,
    HD4850@700/1100, G.Skill 3x2GB@1333,
    VelociRaptoRAID, Li'Lfish, DTek+Swiftech H2O

    Intel E2180 @ 2.5GHz & Bad Axe 2,
    ATi HD 2600 Pro / 256MB @ 660/1100,
    Super Talent 4 x 1GB @ 832MHz/4-4-3-7,
    WD5000AAKS, CoolerMaster GeminII/RC690

  16. #4366
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    23
    Others on the forum have the retail 8xxx chips. Surprised no one has reported results (working or not) on the xbx2.
    ASUS P5K - Q9550
    8Gb OCZ PC8500
    eVGA e-GeForce 9600GT
    2x VistaView Saber DA-1N1-I
    Sony Bravia 40v2500
    Win7 Professional x64

  17. #4367
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    23
    Got tired of waiting. Picked up an 8400 at my local Microcenter on the way home today ($189). It posted fine in my XBX2. What tool can I use to see if I'm supplying it with the proper voltages?
    ASUS P5K - Q9550
    8Gb OCZ PC8500
    eVGA e-GeForce 9600GT
    2x VistaView Saber DA-1N1-I
    Sony Bravia 40v2500
    Win7 Professional x64

  18. #4368
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Norway, approx. 1367Miles from the Northpole
    Posts
    260
    Cool, nice findings

    I bet the Quad cores also work on the BadAss2..

    Just updated my 7 month old laptop with a T9300 (Penryn) and it is also working just perfectly: http://www.diskusjon.no/index.php?showtopic=900063&hl=
    Live to Mod.. Mod to Live!

  19. #4369
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by fdisker View Post
    Got tired of waiting. Picked up an 8400 at my local Microcenter on the way home today ($189). It posted fine in my XBX2. What tool can I use to see if I'm supplying it with the proper voltages?
    hey dude thats awesome
    what rev is ur board and what bios u using?
    Quote Originally Posted by MaxxxRacer
    Can I sue Tt for emotional distress or something?
    Quote Originally Posted by Scubar: Re Scientology
    The most worthless pile of crap ever thought up. people stupid enough to fall for it should be runover and then teabagged.

  20. #4370
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    23
    I'm using rev 505 which was purchased about a year ago. I just updated the board with bios 2813 yesterday in anticipation of picking up the 8400 today.

    Coretemp is reporting a vid of 1.1125v which I believe is the correct voltage for the chip.

    I'm really looking for someone more experienced than me to step in here and let me know if there's something I should be looking for as far as voltages go. The chip isn't supported by the board and I'd rather not fry it. I have no problem with picking up a P35/X38 board if needed but if I can confirm that it will run fine on the xbx2 then I'll keep it.

    The only issues I'm seeing so far are in the bios screen. The Main section reports an E8400@3ghz for the Processor Type but the Processor Speed is reporting 0.40Ghz which clearly isn't right. My only other concern is in the Performance area of the bios. When I select Processor Overrides the "Current Processor Voltage" says 1.325v. I have no idea if this is correct.
    ASUS P5K - Q9550
    8Gb OCZ PC8500
    eVGA e-GeForce 9600GT
    2x VistaView Saber DA-1N1-I
    Sony Bravia 40v2500
    Win7 Professional x64

  21. #4371
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Central CA, USA
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by fdisker View Post
    ...My only other concern is in the Performance area of the bios. When I select Processor Overrides the "Current Processor Voltage" says 1.325v. I have no idea if this is correct.
    My board also says that, but my VID shows 1.225V.

    -bZj
    Intel Q9550@3.4GHz & BoneTrail X38,
    HD4850@700/1100, G.Skill 3x2GB@1333,
    VelociRaptoRAID, Li'Lfish, DTek+Swiftech H2O

    Intel E2180 @ 2.5GHz & Bad Axe 2,
    ATi HD 2600 Pro / 256MB @ 660/1100,
    Super Talent 4 x 1GB @ 832MHz/4-4-3-7,
    WD5000AAKS, CoolerMaster GeminII/RC690

  22. #4372
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by fdisker View Post
    I'm using rev 505 which was purchased about a year ago. I just updated the board with bios 2813 yesterday in anticipation of picking up the 8400 today.

    Coretemp is reporting a vid of 1.1125v which I believe is the correct voltage for the chip.

    I'm really looking for someone more experienced than me to step in here and let me know if there's something I should be looking for as far as voltages go. The chip isn't supported by the board and I'd rather not fry it. I have no problem with picking up a P35/X38 board if needed but if I can confirm that it will run fine on the xbx2 then I'll keep it.

    The only issues I'm seeing so far are in the bios screen. The Main section reports an E8400@3ghz for the Processor Type but the Processor Speed is reporting 0.40Ghz which clearly isn't right. My only other concern is in the Performance area of the bios. When I select Processor Overrides the "Current Processor Voltage" says 1.325v. I have no idea if this is correct.
    Did you try to monitor the voltage with Intel Desktop Control Center or Intel Desktop Utilities?

    Maybe CPU-Z will work too...
    Machine 1:
    ASUS P5K Premium
    Q9450 (L803B436) @ 450*8 @ 1.3v
    Xigmatek S1283 + bolt-thru-kit + 120mm Scythe "Minebea NMB Silent IC Series" Case Fan - High
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ @ 540MHz (5-5-5-15) @ 2.15v
    MSI 7900GS
    Antec TruePower Trio 550

    Machine 2:
    ASUS P5K Pro
    Q9450 (L803B436) @ 450*8 @ 1.3v
    Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme + 120mm Panaflo medium
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ @ 540MHz (5-5-5-15) @ 2.15v
    EVGA 8400 GS
    OCZ GameXStream 600W

  23. #4373
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,121
    Anybody runnin a full 8gb on this board??? I've got 2 kits of the Gskill DDR2/1000 coming, and would like to be able to keep my 3.4 overclock on my quad, so i'm just lookin for some pointers......
    X299X Aorus Master
    I9 10920x
    32gb Crucial Ballistix DDR4-4000
    EVGA 2070 Super x2
    Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
    4 512gb Silicon Power NVME
    4 480 Adata SSD
    2 1tb HGST 7200rpm 2.5 drives
    X-Fi Titanium
    1200 watt Lepa
    Custom water-cooled View 51TG



  24. #4374
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    23
    Yes, the desktop control center, that's a good idea. Unfortunately I'm running Vista x64 and IDC/IDU only work in 32bit environments. I guess it's time to slap a spare drive in the system and do a quick install of Vista 32.

    I did get Coretemp working and it reported a vid of 1.1125v which should be correct (at least according to the sticker on the processor box). What are the key voltages I should be looking for?
    ASUS P5K - Q9550
    8Gb OCZ PC8500
    eVGA e-GeForce 9600GT
    2x VistaView Saber DA-1N1-I
    Sony Bravia 40v2500
    Win7 Professional x64

  25. #4375
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    23
    So much for that plan. I picked up an ASUS P5K on the way home from work today and dropped the e8400 into it. It feels a good bit faster than the e6600 at stock speeds.
    ASUS P5K - Q9550
    8Gb OCZ PC8500
    eVGA e-GeForce 9600GT
    2x VistaView Saber DA-1N1-I
    Sony Bravia 40v2500
    Win7 Professional x64

Page 175 of 182 FirstFirst ... 75125165172173174175176177178 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •