MMM
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Am I stuck with this? 6300 & P5B-E

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Brew Town
    Posts
    172

    Am I stuck with this? 6300 & P5B-E

    So far so good on this recent build.. I'm loving it having been an AMD luver for many years.. The temps on this thing scare me tho (although I know it's norm to run 50C with an Intel).

    I've booted into Windows with it up to 3.4GHz, but wasn't stable after trying a quick run of Prime.

    Here's the part list with links if you are interested:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130062
    eVGA 256-P2-N615-TX GeForce 7600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194009
    ENERMAX Noisetaker II EG495P-VE ATX12V 485W Power Supply - Retail

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131070
    ASUS P5B-E Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
    <--Actual Pic
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811125436
    CHENMING CMUI-601AECB-U Charcoal Black 1.0mm SECC Server Computer Case - Retail

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220144
    Patriot 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model PDC22G6400LLK - Retail
    <--Actual Pic
    2x http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148144
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3250620AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
    <--Actual Pic
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106061
    Thermaltake Big Typhoon CL-P0114 120mm Cooling Fan with Heatsink - Retail

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Conroe 1.86GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6300 - Retail
    <--Actual Pic
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829127001
    AuzenTech XMYSTIQUE7.1 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card - Retail

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16836121118
    Logitech X-530 70 Watts 5.1 Speaker - Retail


    Anyways, I'm interested in knowing what route to go to get more. I've heard that it takes a bit for the AS5 to "set" before the temps start going down. I applied it like their site recommends by the way.

    This screenie shows the highest OC that was stable the longest soo far (it only lasted 3 hours of Prime95).


    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!! I'd like to be able to run stable at 3.3 (higher if possible) constantly. If it's gonna take different cooling, let me know please.

    I've tried the RAM timings at 5-5-5-15 & upping the voltage on both the RAM & Vcore. If I try lower than the existing, it just goes into a reboot cycle.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lakeland,FL
    Posts
    2,538
    watercooling might get you some more mhz
    750W Thermaltake Modular PSU
    DFI UT X58-T3eH8
    Core i7 920 @ 20 X 200 1.325V
    CORSAIR XMS3 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
    768 MB EVGA 8800GTX
    1 X 36GB WD Raptor
    2 X 150GB WD RAPTORS
    1 X SpinPoint P Series SP2504C 250GB
    1 X Maxtor 6L300S0 300GB
    16 X NEC DVD Burner
    7 120mm Yate Loon LED Intake Fan
    4 120MM Yate Loon Exhaust Fan
    28" HANNSPREE Monitor


    Watercooling Loop:

    1 X PA120.3
    1 X PA120.2
    2 X Laing DDC's w/EK-DDC Dual Turbo Top
    7 X Yate Loon Blue LED Intake Fans
    4 X Yate Loon Blue LED Exhaust Fans
    1 X Swiftech GTZ
    1 X GPU EK Fullcover Waterblock
    1 X XSPC Dual Bay Reservoir 5.25" with Bubble Window

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    61
    phase cooling would too, i think he realizes this. Have you tried removing extraneous peripherals i.e. that sound card?

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    494
    The problem is that your almost at 1.5V on air. You're "only" at 3.3ghz and you shouldn't need that much voltage unless it's a bad stepping.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    47
    it may be your ram that's not stable at this speed, try running them at a lower divider like 3:2 fsb:ram or something.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    88
    which option is it to change the ram divider on the p5b?

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    663
    Dude... you're fine with 3.2Ghz with an E6300 for a 24/7 setup. Anything higher and you're better off selling that processor and getting either an E6400 or E6600.

    I'd say at 1.5 vcore... you're already pushing it. Keep it to 1.45 or below and see what max you get.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Brew Town
    Posts
    172
    Quote Originally Posted by jt710
    phase cooling would too, i think he realizes this. Have you tried removing extraneous peripherals i.e. that sound card?
    Thanks for the reply!!!! .. Yeah, this was all done prior to any peripherals being placed.
    Quote Originally Posted by Noob-ftw
    The problem is that your almost at 1.5V on air. You're "only" at 3.3ghz and you shouldn't need that much voltage unless it's a bad stepping.
    Thanks for the reply!! Yeah, i've tried lowering the vcore & it starts screaming at me. Are you referring to the stepping on the CPU & what do you mean? Bad build day (like a Friday or something)?
    Quote Originally Posted by triggerc
    it may be your ram that's not stable at this speed, try running them at a lower divider like 3:2 fsb:ram or something.
    Alrighty, i've not tried any mixing/matching dividers/timings yet as this is the first Intel build I've had since 99 lol... I feel like such a newbie!!! Thanks!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by quicksilverXP
    Dude... you're fine with 3.2Ghz with an E6300 for a 24/7 setup. Anything higher and you're better off selling that processor and getting either an E6400 or E6600.
    I'd say at 1.5 vcore... you're already pushing it. Keep it to 1.45 or below and see what max you get.
    I almost purchased a 6400, but was steered towards this CPU to save a few bucks & get better performance.
    Like I said, i've tried the lower vcore & it just screams at me. Well, PC Probe does.. i'm sitting at 1.45 right now & it seems happy, but the temps are still at 53C, which scares me still..

    Yeah I think in my instance I might have to go water .. oh well, at least it will be a bit more quiet!

    Question: How long does it take AS5 to "set"?

    Oh yeah, I've got 750GB more on it's way with that combo deal at the egg.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148136
    My Stystems:

    Into The Abyss - Built by CyberDruidPC
    Q6700@3.6GHz, Asus P5K Deluxe Wifi, eVGA 8800GT KO, 4x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers PC2-6400, FX700-GLN-E PSU, 2 x 74GB Raptors(RAID0) & 2 x 750GB F1 HDD

    Teh Server

    Biostar TPower I45, Q9550 e0, 4x2GB DDR2-1100 G.Skill PI, 2x160GB Velociraptor HDD(RAID0, GameXtreme 700W PSU

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30
    I think it's you ram. I have the exact same, I ran it at 6x450mhz 1:1 in memtest for a full pass with 0 errors so I know it can do that. Above that I'm not sure about, I tried 475 for about 5mins and no errors but 500 it bummed out badly.

    What's the max vdimm setting for the P5B-E?

    Do you have cooling on the NB? If not do so. 40-50mm fan

    Have you followed the Core 2 Duo overclocking guide?
    http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...readid=1947261
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=115765


    3.2ghz is still very good, I have the same stepping E6300 also but use a P5B Vanilla, rock solid @ 7x400 1.275vcore with stock cooler and everything else 1.25Vcore. There are also some votl mods you could try.

    Just got a Scythe Inifnity and 40mm fan for NB and gonna try push it over the weekend.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •