X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Oldschool xp2800+ bluescreen, need some tip

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    460

    Oldschool xp2800+ bluescreen, need some tip

    Hi well my brother has a xp2800+ on a msi via motherboard. 2x1gb kingston PC3200 cl3 ram. everything run fine for 1.5year but suddently it cannot load winXP, it POST but while loading winxp a bluescreen pops up but cannot read info because it restarts too fast. Hard disk is maxtor 60gb sata.

    Things i tried: Each stick separatly, one at the time, loose timing.

    Reformat but when windows asks for sata/raid drivers that are on the floppy disk, it sais error cannot load driver...

    Tried seagate 320gb just to see if the sata driver problem could get solved but no chance...

    Tried another winxp cd because the error that appears when i try to load the sata drivers, it says cannot load from d:// raid etc...... .oem , normally d: is my cd drive so i tried another winxp cd just to be sure my cd wasnt missing some important files. problem remains.

    I will try another floppy drive just to be sure but i dont really know what else i can try.

    I dont even know why we need to supply sata drivers, why it isnt on winxp disk? I am used to build newer computer and never had this trouble.


    CPU Intel C2D 6400 - 6600 L631B Aircooled 4010 MHz (wip) 3850 MHz daily
    COOLER Big Typhoon 120 - Ultra 120/Panaflow 103cfm
    MOBO Asus p5w dh - Badaxe 2
    RAM 2gb Team 667 cl3 844mhz 4-4-3-4 2.0v (wip)
    GPU Bfg 7900GT - XFX GX2 600/1600 3Dmark06 10554 (wip) 207K AM3
    PSU Gamestream 600w - Powerstream 520 - Silverstone Zeus 750w
    Chassis Lian-Li V2000b Plus2 Lian-Li v1100b

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wilson,NC and Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    907
    try higher (higher numbers) on the memory. try higher mem voltage (do not exceed spec by much) and try higher cpu voltage. usually restarting is due to cpu voltage too low, but blue screen is memory in other cases.

    there are also other reasons for blue screen. i had a barton 3200 32 bit machine, 8oomhz idle laptop cpu processor 1.8ghz highest overclocked to 2.5ghz, due to heat i left it at 2.4ghz (air cooling) stable. i had some fun with blue screens in it for a while

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    460
    i have some difficulty to find stock voltage for this cpu, i suppose it is 1.65v and ram at 2.6v

    i bumped vdimm to 2.65v and vcore to 1.676v .... same thing


    CPU Intel C2D 6400 - 6600 L631B Aircooled 4010 MHz (wip) 3850 MHz daily
    COOLER Big Typhoon 120 - Ultra 120/Panaflow 103cfm
    MOBO Asus p5w dh - Badaxe 2
    RAM 2gb Team 667 cl3 844mhz 4-4-3-4 2.0v (wip)
    GPU Bfg 7900GT - XFX GX2 600/1600 3Dmark06 10554 (wip) 207K AM3
    PSU Gamestream 600w - Powerstream 520 - Silverstone Zeus 750w
    Chassis Lian-Li V2000b Plus2 Lian-Li v1100b

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    stuck in Bloomington, IN right now
    Posts
    799
    Try booting from a live linux cd. You just need a free machine to burn the ISO onto a cd or alternatively you can order a pre-made cd for a few dollars. That way you could rule out the hard drive and operating system. You just need to set it to boot from the cd-rom first in the bios. For linux live cd's or links to ISO's go here:

    http://distrowatch.com/

    Knoppix is the most popular but many linux distos have a live cd or dvd format. If you need help let me know.
    DistroWatch - find your flavor of Linux
    Petra's Tech Shop - for all your watercooling needs

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    34
    maybe your psu?

    AMD ATHLON 3000+ 512+512+256+256 KINGSTON DDR400 RAM +EPOX NF4 SLI+ SEAGATE 160G

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    460
    i just continued my tests today, tested with gamextream 600w still blue screen. I changed my floppy drive and widows now detected my sata/raid driver and i was able to format windows. I am now installing windows, i will see if it will boot. I think the problem was mainly caused by 98% fragmented drive coupled with hundreds of spyware and alot of virus. Computer was probably used 2 year without defrag, using IE to browse illicit an pr0n websites so its not really surprising


    CPU Intel C2D 6400 - 6600 L631B Aircooled 4010 MHz (wip) 3850 MHz daily
    COOLER Big Typhoon 120 - Ultra 120/Panaflow 103cfm
    MOBO Asus p5w dh - Badaxe 2
    RAM 2gb Team 667 cl3 844mhz 4-4-3-4 2.0v (wip)
    GPU Bfg 7900GT - XFX GX2 600/1600 3Dmark06 10554 (wip) 207K AM3
    PSU Gamestream 600w - Powerstream 520 - Silverstone Zeus 750w
    Chassis Lian-Li V2000b Plus2 Lian-Li v1100b

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    stuck in Bloomington, IN right now
    Posts
    799
    Quote Originally Posted by shogo_ca
    I think the problem was mainly caused by 98% fragmented drive coupled with hundreds of spyware and alot of virus. Computer was probably used 2 year without defrag, using IE to browse illicit an pr0n websites so its not really surprising
    Yup, that will do it.
    DistroWatch - find your flavor of Linux
    Petra's Tech Shop - for all your watercooling needs

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •