Page 1 of 31 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 770

Thread: post your hard drive benchmarks :)

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    cheektovegas
    Posts
    45

    post your hard drive benchmarks :)

    ok, hard drives are one of the slowest computer components. lets see how yours compares

    tell us model, make and specs including buffer size, interface, RPM, and RAID configuration if applicable.
    then, post a benchmark using HD Tune 2.52
    HD Tune alternate download


    my western digital 80gb sata2 8mb buffer. i plan on adding another benchmark once i get it configured with an identical drive in RAID 0
    (benchmark taken with an X2 3800+ at 2.6ghz, the new benchmark will be taken with my core 2 duo and such...)
    Last edited by fade2green514; 10-11-2006 at 08:25 PM.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    82
    Here is my lil' 7200rpm, 2mb, ATA133 (running on a SATA-1 controller) single platter Maxtor 40gb. Not much, but, it does the trick.
    The CPU is an Athlon 64 3700+ at 2.72GHz on a DFI Nf4 Ultra-D.
    Last edited by spdycpu; 07-14-2007 at 04:17 AM.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    cheektovegas
    Posts
    45
    nice, very similar in performance, looks like the sata2 interface didnt do much for my hard drive... i notice a 4C temp difference, .3ms access time difference... and quite a larger burst rate difference, though my drives minimum is slower.
    i wonder how RAID 0 will effect my performance in each area ?

    heres my dad hard drive, its a 60gig and its ide, but past that i have no idea what its specs are. his proc is an athlon 64 2800+ (754) 1.8ghz which i upgraded when his top of the line (haha) pentium 4 2.4ghz overheated and died.
    Last edited by fade2green514; 10-10-2006 at 06:28 PM.

  4. #4
    revlimiter9000
    Guest
    Here's mine. HD is a Seagate 120GB SATA.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,153
    2 drives for you

    my 160GB samsung drive 160JJ i think was its model



    and my sata2 hitachi t7k250, which is a lot better

    Attached Images Attached Images
    System:
    2600K / 8GB Corsair Vengeance PC15000
    Asus Sabertooth P67 / MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 Crossfire
    corsair 1000hx / Corsair 800D obsidian
    Crucial M4 128GB SSD / Windows 7 Pro
    Cooling:
    Koolance 360 rev 1.1 CPU block / MCR320 QP rad
    OCZ hydropulse 800 pump w/ EK-DCP 4.0 res
    Primochill LRT Black tubing 3/8" ID x 5/8" OD

  6. #6
    The un-extreme XIP
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,249
    it doesnt see scsi drives. what kind of hard drive benchmark can't see a scsi drive? a weak one lol

    i5 3570K@ 4.8GHz 1.32v, 32GB Gskill 1866, Gigabyte g1 sniper m3
    HD7970@1125/1575 stock voltage
    1TB F1+2*128GB Crucial M4
    Silverstone 450w, no case
    2560*1440@120Hz overclocked catleap
    Steelseries G6v2+5600dpi modded logitech trackball

  7. #7
    sleepin is overrated
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,310
    Cirthix 15k mau's in raid 0 very nice make a raptor look like a laptop 4200 drive :P

    I have some benchmarks somewere

    a 64 bit card in 32 bit slot and it hits pci limit with 2 15k mau's (faster 24/7 drive over atlas II IMHO)
    Last edited by -Acid-; 10-10-2006 at 08:08 PM.

  8. #8
    The un-extreme XIP
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,249
    Quote Originally Posted by -Acid-
    Cirthix 15k mau's in raid 0 very nice make a raptor look like a laptop 4200 drive :P

    I have some benchmarks somewere

    a 64 bit card in 32 bit slot and it hits pci limit with 2 15k mau's (faster 24/7 drive over atlas II IMHO)

    I know how fast MAUs are

    a single mau is fine for me now. i have a pcie raid controller i'm debating selling and might pick up a second MAU, but idk. one is plenty fast already hehe.

    i5 3570K@ 4.8GHz 1.32v, 32GB Gskill 1866, Gigabyte g1 sniper m3
    HD7970@1125/1575 stock voltage
    1TB F1+2*128GB Crucial M4
    Silverstone 450w, no case
    2560*1440@120Hz overclocked catleap
    Steelseries G6v2+5600dpi modded logitech trackball

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    82
    Here is a friends Raptor setup, he's only run ATTO so far and hasn't run HD Tune yet.

    Single Raptor 74gb ADFD:


    Two Raptor 74gb ADFD's in Raid-0 on the Ultra-D's onboard raid controller:


    edit: Here are his raptors with the same ATTO settings you used, so the comparison is a bit more accurate:


    Two Raptors again but in HD Tach:
    Last edited by spdycpu; 07-14-2007 at 04:11 AM.

  10. #10
    sleepin is overrated
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,310
    Nice scores there but not up to scsi speed yet

    Remember that atto score was on a 32bit pci slot

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    82
    Can you post a link where the scsi stuff you're speaking of beats the Raptors by such a large margin (quote, "make a raptor look like a laptop 4200 drive")?

    I only have two 40gb's and they're really starting to piss me off at times, so, I've been looking into getting a new drive (or drives, if I'm lucky) around christmas. I was considering a single Raptor 74gb ADFD, but, if there is something that is quite a bit faster I'd love to hear about it (so far I haven't seen anything yet) so I could look into getting that instead.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Viet Nam
    Posts
    836
    My WD 37GB

  13. #13
    Da Goose
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    4,914
    Wow, HDTune takes a long time to run huh? Here are Seagates on a Promise controller (Stripe 32) on an old Asus P4C800-Dlx...
    Attached Images Attached Images


    i7-860 Farm with nVidia GPU's

  14. #14
    Da Goose
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    4,914
    Most interesting results. These rock steady results were from 74GB Raptors in a 64Stripe on nVidia controller on Asus A8N-SLI-Premium mobo.
    Attached Images Attached Images


    i7-860 Farm with nVidia GPU's

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    246
    Here you go with my system drive, a single WD740ADFD:




    It's the first time I try HD Tune so I was messing around and this came out, can anybody explain it to me?



    It is the data drive and it works perfectly apart from the temperature issue which is common for this series.
    Thermaltake Xaser V8000A * Enermax EG701AX-VH Coolergiant 600W * DFI LanParty nF4 Ultra-D AD0 * AMD Opteron 165 Denmark * 2x1024 MB OCZ PC3200 EL Platinum XTC * Sapphire Radeon X1900 XT 256 MB * Western Digital WD740ADFD, WD2500KS and WD5000AAKS * Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic * NEC ND-4571A * Dell 2709W * APC Smart-UPS 1000 VA


  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Hollanda
    Posts
    373
    Maxtor DiamondMax 10 7200RPM 8MB SATA


    Maxtor DiamondMax 10 7200RPM 8MB Ultra-ATA/133

  17. #17
    Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,153
    Quote Originally Posted by DAK1640
    Wow, HDTune takes a long time to run huh? Here are Seagates on a Promise controller (Stripe 32) on an old Asus P4C800-Dlx...

    is that a bug or something???

    1536.8MB/s burst?
    System:
    2600K / 8GB Corsair Vengeance PC15000
    Asus Sabertooth P67 / MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 Crossfire
    corsair 1000hx / Corsair 800D obsidian
    Crucial M4 128GB SSD / Windows 7 Pro
    Cooling:
    Koolance 360 rev 1.1 CPU block / MCR320 QP rad
    OCZ hydropulse 800 pump w/ EK-DCP 4.0 res
    Primochill LRT Black tubing 3/8" ID x 5/8" OD

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    126
    My 2x36Gb Raptors 16Mb cache in raid 0. Rest of specs in sig.

    My Rig:
    Abit AW9D-Max, Q6600 Core 2 Quad (Stepping B3), Tuniq Tower 120 Cpu Cooler + Cool Laboratory Liquid Pro, 2x 1Gb Ocz Platinum PC-6400 EL XTC (4-5-4-15), 2x 36Gb Western Digital Raptors Raid 0, 2x 120Gb Seagate Barracuda SataII Raid 0, OCZ GameXstream 600W Sli, XFX 7900GT 256Mb (700/1800) 1.5V Mod + Zalman VF-700CU, Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty, Thermaltake Armour Super Tower (slightly modded & 3x 120mm Xclio 16 Blade Quiet Cooling Fans), Sony DVD-ROM, NEC DVD-RW, Logitech MX-1000 Wireless Laser Mouse & Multimedia Keyboard, Belkin Nostromo N52 Speedpad, 20.1' Viewsonic VX2025WM (1680x1050), Technics EH750 Seperates 600W 5.1 Surround System, Windoze Xp Pro & a Sh1tty Dell Printer
    Lets see how far I get this beast........:p

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    172
    Single WD WD5000YS (500GB)
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Abit IP35 Pro
    Tuniq Tower
    Q6600 G0 @ 3600mhz
    Ballistix Tracer 6400
    X1900xt 512
    Silverstone 650 Zeus


  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    246
    This is my WD2500KS:



    As you can see the transfer rate value is much more linear than the one of the WD740ADFD and doesn't show the same huge falldowns which I don't really know what they are due to.
    Thermaltake Xaser V8000A * Enermax EG701AX-VH Coolergiant 600W * DFI LanParty nF4 Ultra-D AD0 * AMD Opteron 165 Denmark * 2x1024 MB OCZ PC3200 EL Platinum XTC * Sapphire Radeon X1900 XT 256 MB * Western Digital WD740ADFD, WD2500KS and WD5000AAKS * Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic * NEC ND-4571A * Dell 2709W * APC Smart-UPS 1000 VA


  21. #21
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Emmaus, PA, US
    Posts
    1,437
    i can't download it, the author's site has been shut down and all mirrors just redirect back to the original website

    |Rig: AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ Windsor|6gb DDR2 800|Dual 250gb Western Digital RAID0|8600GT|

    (12:16:17 AM) OC3D NoL: NOL EAT ANNOYING NOOBIE
    (12:16:19 AM) OC3D NoL: RAWRRRR

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    561
    Quote Originally Posted by ex2cib
    is that a bug or something???

    1536.8MB/s burst?
    I get about 2,100 MB/s when I have write cache enabled on ICH7R

  23. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    cheektovegas
    Posts
    45
    well, so far it looks like the dual 74gb raptors in RAID 0 are winning... it looks to me like they're being bottlenecked by something, probably that danged interface... or maybe the pci channel or something...
    thats nice, a theoretical 20krpm hard drive lol dual 10krpm
    i'll have to get myself a set of those, that would be almost as good as getting my girlfriend a set of fake...
    earrings... whatd you think i was gonna say?? lol

  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    561
    Quote Originally Posted by fade2green514
    well, so far it looks like the dual 74gb raptors in RAID 0 are winning... it looks to me like they're being bottlenecked by something, probably that danged interface... or maybe the pci channel or something...
    thats nice, a theoretical 20krpm hard drive lol dual 10krpm
    i'll have to get myself a set of those, that would be almost as good as getting my girlfriend a set of fake...
    earrings... whatd you think i was gonna say?? lol
    HDtune links is down but heres with HDtach....

    I think my drives are faster, and cheaper than Raptors aswell:



    Avg read: 400+ MB/s and pretty low access time too!
    Last edited by derektm; 10-11-2006 at 09:10 PM.

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    cheektovegas
    Posts
    45
    i added an alternate download site.
    what are your hard drive specs derektm?

Page 1 of 31 123411 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •