Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 66

Thread: Abit AW9D-MAX, vcore mod needed

  1. #1
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    558
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Abit AW9D-MAX, vcore mod needed

    Got this board today. Any links to the vcore mod, if available?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Brotherhood
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Land Of KADISOKA
    Posts
    1,231
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    I am still waiting mod this board with version HIPRO 5 !!
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i think you are asking the wrong person about safety limits, but

  3. #3
    ¿
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    5,198
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Everyone PM hipro

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    TAIWAN
    Posts
    1,256
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    FB is pin4

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,679
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by G H Z
    Everyone PM hipro
    hehehe i did that a while ago.

    he said they'd be released soon enough!


    Main Rig:
    CPU Intel i5 2500K @ 4500mhz
    Mobo Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    Memory 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    Video Cards Sapphire 5850
    PSU Silverstone ST75F Strider 750W
    Hard Drive OCZ Solid 3 60GB | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB | Samsung 103SJ's 4TB
    Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 | 1 Yate Loon D12SM 120MM

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    21
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Hicookie, what resistor value should be used?

  7. #7
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hicookie
    FB is pin4
    NO SHI(f)T...........NOT AGAIN for God's shake!.......DON'T UPLOAD something that you HAVEN'T EVEN tested......You have burned some people's AOpen mobos like this in the past PLUS mine that I've spent $450 and now it is sitting here burned......SO PLEASE NOT AGAIN......

    OK.......I'll upload the VCore mod in a few minutes (to picture it first).....I don't want to see any burned down mobos......
    Last edited by hipro5; 10-12-2006 at 04:37 AM.
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  8. #8
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    OK...........Here you go......

    Locate this IC......



    ......AND this spot.....one side of the capacitor......



    Solder on this side of the capacitor to GROUND an 100KOhms 25 turns trimmer and trimm it to it's MAX resistance (100KOhms)....

    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,679
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    woot woot!

    any more mods that you've published hipro?


    Main Rig:
    CPU Intel i5 2500K @ 4500mhz
    Mobo Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    Memory 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    Video Cards Sapphire 5850
    PSU Silverstone ST75F Strider 750W
    Hard Drive OCZ Solid 3 60GB | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB | Samsung 103SJ's 4TB
    Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 | 1 Yate Loon D12SM 120MM

  10. #10
    ¿
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    5,198
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks hipro, I will try this shortly

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    TAIWAN
    Posts
    1,256
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5
    NO SHI(f)T...........NOT AGAIN for God's shake!.......DON'T UPLOAD something that you HAVEN'T EVEN tested......You have burned some people's AOpen mobos like this in the past PLUS mine that I've spent $450 and now it is sitting here burned......SO PLEASE NOT AGAIN......

    OK.......I'll upload the VCore mod in a few minutes (to picture it first).....I don't want to see any burned down mobos......
    lol, sorry , master
    yup , i have not tested yet, sorry for this, i won't ever do that again, and 2th sorry for last time on aopen.
    btw,i think everyone expect ur ultimated mods,things like u did last time on ic7max3, and ct479.lol

  12. #12
    Brotherhood
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Land Of KADISOKA
    Posts
    1,231
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thanks Master !! How about Vmch and Vdim mod ??
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i think you are asking the wrong person about safety limits, but

  13. #13
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    5,870
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Give him time, he needs to get some WR's first!!

  14. #14
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,031
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    vdimm and vmch / chipset mods for AW9:

    vdimm:


    vmch: (to the right of the upper PCI-E 16x port)


    Both mods will give approx. +0.1V when soldered in.

    I have tried them both myself

    "In mild doses, ethylene produces states of euphoria, associated with stimulus
    to the pleasure centres of the human brain."

    Intel benching: 3DMark Vantage: E69642, P37253, H30363, X22138
    Swedish Overclocking Champion 2006 - Celeron Mobile 1400 @ 4243MHz - 203%

  15. #15
    ¿
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    5,198
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Nice pics, thanks for the mods crotale

  16. #16
    Brotherhood
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Land Of KADISOKA
    Posts
    1,231
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    I love XS !! thanks Crotale
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i think you are asking the wrong person about safety limits, but

  17. #17
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,031
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    I can verify that the vcore mod is working.

    Here is also a read out for the vmch, along with a vmch booster mod. (either ends of the thick wire)
    The booster mod is engineered by Hipro, all credit goes to him!


    "In mild doses, ethylene produces states of euphoria, associated with stimulus
    to the pleasure centres of the human brain."

    Intel benching: 3DMark Vantage: E69642, P37253, H30363, X22138
    Swedish Overclocking Champion 2006 - Celeron Mobile 1400 @ 4243MHz - 203%

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany (good old GDR) :D
    Posts
    15
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Wohoo! Thanks for the great MODs! How much does the MCH Booster mod increase the voltage? Is the booster Mod just the thick wire and no other modification?

    Seems very simple to do for me!

    Offtopic: Does the mainboard undervolt the mch? Now I'm at 425 MHz FSB with 1,9V MCH. 430 MHz --> blackscreen --> increased voltage to 2V --> still blackscreen. Does the MCH mod helps here or should I wait for another BIOS?

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,679
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by crotale
    I can verify that the vcore mod is working.

    Here is also a read out for the vmch, along with a vmch booster mod. (either ends of the thick wire)
    The booster mod is engineered by Hipro, all credit goes to him!

    I assume the smaller wire is going to something you have setup so you can read the vmch voltage w/o having to flip over the board. Am I correct?


    Main Rig:
    CPU Intel i5 2500K @ 4500mhz
    Mobo Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    Memory 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    Video Cards Sapphire 5850
    PSU Silverstone ST75F Strider 750W
    Hard Drive OCZ Solid 3 60GB | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB | Samsung 103SJ's 4TB
    Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 | 1 Yate Loon D12SM 120MM

  20. #20
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,031
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Ultrazauberer
    Wohoo! Thanks for the great MODs! How much does the MCH Booster mod increase the voltage? Is the booster Mod just the thick wire and no other modification?

    Seems very simple to do for me!

    Offtopic: Does the mainboard undervolt the mch? Now I'm at 425 MHz FSB with 1,9V MCH. 430 MHz --> blackscreen --> increased voltage to 2V --> still blackscreen. Does the MCH mod helps here or should I wait for another BIOS?
    First of all, make sure you have good cooling on the NB! Completely stock, I didn't really gain anything over 1.85vmch from BIOS (too much heat), which is around 1.75v at the northbridge. The booster mod removes that voltage drop. With the stock heatsink + AS5 + screws to get more pressure + good fan, it responded up to 1.90v real = ~470FSB

    Quote Originally Posted by shimmishim
    I assume the smaller wire is going to something you have setup so you can read the vmch voltage w/o having to flip over the board. Am I correct?
    Yes, it's just for read out.

    "In mild doses, ethylene produces states of euphoria, associated with stimulus
    to the pleasure centres of the human brain."

    Intel benching: 3DMark Vantage: E69642, P37253, H30363, X22138
    Swedish Overclocking Champion 2006 - Celeron Mobile 1400 @ 4243MHz - 203%

  21. #21
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    lab501.ro
    Posts
    1,080
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Vfsb mod
    It's tested and safe, helps the max FSB.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  22. #22
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,031
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Micutzu
    Vfsb mod
    It's tested and safe, helps the max FSB.
    True, I can verify that one


    "In mild doses, ethylene produces states of euphoria, associated with stimulus
    to the pleasure centres of the human brain."

    Intel benching: 3DMark Vantage: E69642, P37253, H30363, X22138
    Swedish Overclocking Champion 2006 - Celeron Mobile 1400 @ 4243MHz - 203%

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,679
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by crotale
    True, I can verify that one

    i'm unfamiliar with the vfsb voltage.

    what is it usually and what is a safe range?

    also, does adding the 50k VR increase the voltage like it does for the other mods you posted?


    Main Rig:
    CPU Intel i5 2500K @ 4500mhz
    Mobo Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    Memory 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    Video Cards Sapphire 5850
    PSU Silverstone ST75F Strider 750W
    Hard Drive OCZ Solid 3 60GB | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB | Samsung 103SJ's 4TB
    Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 | 1 Yate Loon D12SM 120MM

  24. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany (good old GDR) :D
    Posts
    15
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by crotale
    First of all, make sure you have good cooling on the NB! Completely stock, I didn't really gain anything over 1.85vmch from BIOS (too much heat), which is around 1.75v at the northbridge. The booster mod removes that voltage drop. With the stock heatsink + AS5 + screws to get more pressure + good fan, it responded up to 1.90v real = ~470FSB
    Ok, thank you for the tips. I have just the stock cooling on the mobo with one 120mm fan. But If you mean that my cooling isn't good enough I can put a watercooler on it today. Do I need watercooler on the SB and mosfets too or is a watercooler just on the NB enough?

    I would leave the stock cooling on SB and mosfets, if I can destruct the heatpipe cooling. (sorry for my bad English).

    Hope I can reach 445 MHz FSB on the mainboard without mods.

    What does the Vfsb mod do? Which voltage would increased?

  25. #25
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    5,870
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by shimmishim
    i'm unfamiliar with the vfsb voltage.

    what is it usually and what is a safe range?

    also, does adding the 50k VR increase the voltage like it does for the other mods you posted?

    In asus motherboards it goes up to 1.45 and works best around 1.4, i dont know how it is for abit.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •