Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 39 of 39

Thread: How much monthly bandwith are you using?

  1. #26
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,492
    Quote Originally Posted by WesM63
    *note this is from 8:46pm yesterday till now.. 6:20pm
    4 GB in 22 hours Glad you are not one of the other subscribers contending my service.

    We have 50 GB limit per MONTH on the primium ($70) service!

    Seriously, how do you get to this number? My guess, is that a lot of this is unsolicited internet traffic (attacks) that are counted towards your traffic.
    Dual Clovertown @ 3.2 GHz (stock Vcore), 4x1GB 667 FB-DIMMS, SM X7DAE, Silencer 610 PSU, Windows server 2K3 EE.
    (professionally built & generously hosted by movieman)

    AMD64 X2 4400+ @237x11 (1.39v), Corsair TwinX2048-3500LL @2.5-3-2-6-1T (2.75V), MSI K8N Neo4, Tagan 420W PSU, Windows XP Pro SP2.

  2. #27
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    3,653
    Nah, its not attacks. Its some "stuff" Not pr0n, just videos n stuff.
    Donate to XtremeSystems!

    Workstation: Intel Core i7 4770, Asus Maximus VI Gene, 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3-1866, eVGA SC GTX Titan, 256GB Crucial M4, Corsair HX850, Corsair H100i. Corsair Carbide 350D
    Fileserver: 2x AMD Opteron 2425HE, Supermicro H8DME-2, 24GB DDR2-667, Supermicro 846TQ 24bay Chassis, Redundant 920w, 256 Crucial M4 boot, 20TB Storage
    Notebook Asus Zenbook UX32VD-DH71, Intel Core i7 3517u, 10GB DDR3-1600, 256GB Crucial M4, Geforce GT 620M

  3. #28
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    8,603
    Quote Originally Posted by WesM63
    Nah, its not attacks. Its some "stuff" Not pr0n, just videos n stuff.
    Yep. i use DUmeter all the time. Wes i thought you had dialup? Is that dialup meterage on DU? I was saying somewhere else WES that if you had dialup and was guilty about not been able to using machines cos of download restriction you could run DPAD on your unconnected machines. Only one download needed then copy the install across diff machines and upload from one machine everyso often when you need to report results.

  4. #29
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    8,603
    Quote Originally Posted by lamfear
    please post the link to MJ12 , search but found a bunch of jibberish, thanks
    Linkage - http://www.majestic12.co.uk/

    Would someone please post a sticky for this section. If its already in Dimes (which I don't think it is) put it in here.

    I nominate Haltech, since he was supposed to put together something for this before...

  5. #30
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    3,653
    Riptide,
    At home I do have dial-up, here at work (where i'm running dumeter) we have a DS3/T3/E3.

    I just d/l stuff here at work on my lappy and take it home.
    Donate to XtremeSystems!

    Workstation: Intel Core i7 4770, Asus Maximus VI Gene, 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3-1866, eVGA SC GTX Titan, 256GB Crucial M4, Corsair HX850, Corsair H100i. Corsair Carbide 350D
    Fileserver: 2x AMD Opteron 2425HE, Supermicro H8DME-2, 24GB DDR2-667, Supermicro 846TQ 24bay Chassis, Redundant 920w, 256 Crucial M4 boot, 20TB Storage
    Notebook Asus Zenbook UX32VD-DH71, Intel Core i7 3517u, 10GB DDR3-1600, 256GB Crucial M4, Geforce GT 620M

  6. #31
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,146
    DUmeter is pretty sweet, I just dl'ed it. I'll let it run till morning and see what I get. I have a 5mb/512k connection and ofcoarse we dont have any sort of cap.....thank god, that would suck balls!

  7. #32
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,146
    Ok I started DUmeter at 11pm last night and its 9:20am, so around 10 1/2 hours. Heres my avg usage.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #33
    XS_THE_MACHINE
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    4,871
    What other settings do you have? As far as crawlers and stuff. This is my screenshot of after ~15 hours with 15crawlers and 2mb/1mb:
    "Victory is always possible for the person who refuses to stop fighting"

    clicks to save kids

  9. #34
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    648
    zombie thread revival!!

    I'm currently doing roughly 500-600 gigs per day, about 15TB/month(not sure how much non-MJ12 stuff adds to that).

    o/t:

    whatever happened to Haltech? He was a BEAST in the very early stages(8mil per day in 2006! ). It looks like he hasn't crawled since 2006 and hasn't been on XS forum since June 2010. I was wondering what you all think about updating the leader for our XS team on the MJ12 stats board(Movieman 2011!) but it probably requires Haltech to make the change

  10. #35
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Plymouth (UK)
    Posts
    5,285
    My isp decided I was being unreasonable ......I just say they calculated the contention ratios wrong but running MJ 12 http://www.majestic12.co.uk/projects...info.php?id=60 I hit 7TB for a couple of months in a row on a 50/1.75 connection.

    It was the 1.75 that was the limiting factor too. Now it must be around 3TB. I don't have an actual cap but am limited to around 8GB during the 9am to 9pm day

    Great revival...Is this the oldest thread ever revived???

    I'd say just about all of that is MJ use Deadly
    Last edited by OldChap; 02-16-2011 at 02:00 PM.


    My Biggest Fear Is When I die, My Wife Sells All My Stuff For What I Told Her I Paid For It.
    79 SB threads and 32 IB Threads across 4 rigs 111 threads Crunching!!

  11. #36
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    648
    Quote Originally Posted by OldChap View Post

    Great revival...Is this the oldest thread ever revived???
    2006 seems so long ago looking back

    Are you still using pfSense for routing OC? I saw someone mention on MJ12 forum it might be possible to run dual-WAN on pfsense but I'm not sure how the node will deal with separating downloads from uploads on 2 different IP addresses. I've seen people buy 2 FIOS connections and bond them together(2 [50/20mb] connections bonded to form 1 [100/40mb] connection) but I don't know if it would be cost effective for you. If you could downgrade your connection and order 2 lower speed plans and bond them together so they add up to 50mb, but with higher overall upload speed. Then again I don't know if the ISP will complain anyway

  12. #37
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    8,603
    Ban Deadlyfire for thread necro. lol

  13. #38
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Plymouth (UK)
    Posts
    5,285
    It has been suggested (on Pfsense forum) that I should be able to achieve the wan routing using firewall rules....and once I have re-arranged the layout and added Nic's (and for that matter reached a certain goal) I will play some with it to see what is possible. I will maintain the current router between pfsense and the slower connection as I think that will offer the ability to run that connection during the day too as well as having a fall back connection if the main goes down.


    My Biggest Fear Is When I die, My Wife Sells All My Stuff For What I Told Her I Paid For It.
    79 SB threads and 32 IB Threads across 4 rigs 111 threads Crunching!!

  14. #39
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    648
    Quote Originally Posted by [XC] riptide View Post
    Ban Deadlyfire for thread necro. lol
    it gets too quiet in this part of the forum /rips off straight jacket


    Quote Originally Posted by OldChap View Post
    It has been suggested (on Pfsense forum) that I should be able to achieve the wan routing using firewall rules....and once I have re-arranged the layout and added Nic's (and for that matter reached a certain goal) I will play some with it to see what is possible. I will maintain the current router between pfsense and the slower connection as I think that will offer the ability to run that connection during the day too as well as having a fall back connection if the main goes down.
    Good to hear Keep us updated how it works out

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •