Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 77

Thread: Intel Thermal Analysis Tool

  1. #1
    I am Xtreme Eastcoasthandle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    4,801

    Intel Thermal Analysis Tool

    For those of you that don't have it here it is called TAT


    This program is hard to find as it's not available from Intel as of yet...I checked...

  2. #2
    Xτræmε ÇruñcheΓ AndrewZorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Molvanîa
    Posts
    2,849
    does not work on my 805D. i take it this is C2D only.

    i dont understand, you can change the workload level? like make it run at 50% max or something?
    i7 2700k 4.60ghz -- Z68XP-UD4 F6F -- Ripjaws 2x4gb 1600mhz -- 560 Ti 448 stock!? -- Liquid Cooling Apogee XT -- Claro+ ATH-M50s -- U2711 2560x1440
    Majestouch 87 Blue -- Choc Mini Brown -- Poker Red -- MX11900 -- G9

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,825
    It will simulate a work load so you can gauge temps. From what I can tell its the same as core temp, so I use core temp, smaller footprint etc....

    It see my CD2 as a Pentium M core, so mabey just newer chips and not the P4 chips??

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dschörmäni
    Posts
    22
    I've tried it and TAT shows 2C less temp than Core Temp so I like TAT more

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    47
    I'm getting 2-3 degrees C less than CoreTemp.
    E6400 @ 8x375 (1.39 vcore) w/ Thermalright Ultra-120
    ASUS P5B-Deluxe 0614
    2 Gigs Corsair XMS 6400C4 @ 936 4-4-4-12 (2.25v)
    7950 GX2 @ 550/1400
    Soundblaster X-Fi
    Seagate 320GB 7200.10
    Kingwin Mach 1 600 Watt Power Supply
    Dell 2407WFP

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewZorn
    i dont understand, you can change the workload level? like make it run at 50% max or something?
    Set max workload to test your max temp, and for sure the temps will go way higher than Orthos with small FFT's, theres no other way i know of to stress a CPU this much.

    And you can also set a throttling level to reduce the processors performance to a preset percentage, up to 87.5% throttling. Apps will run quite slow if you set both cores to 87.5% throttle =)

    What makes TAT more useful than CoreTemp is the throttlewatch, i posted a screenie in another thread not long ago, this is what happened 2 minutes after CPU fan was disconnected (3.6GHz E6600 at 1.6volt):
    BadAxe2, WC'ed L631B115 Xeon3060 3.4GHz 1.27v summer OC, 2GB BallistiX 4:5,
    2x250GB-16 Raid-0 + 400GB-16, 7900GTO 512MB, Acer 22" Wide, Nexus 500W.

  7. #7
    I am Xtreme Ace-a-Rue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    South FL, USA
    Posts
    4,951
    as much as we would like to use this, it was designed for the mobil core...might be close but not exact...
    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 UNOFFICIAL THREAD

    BIOSTAR TPOWER BOLT MOD FOR HEATPIPE AND HEATSINK

    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    ABIT IP35 PRO HEATPIPE MOD

    ABIT IP35 PRO BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    IP35 Pro: 9650@4000Mhz, par overclocker; Freezone Elite; 4Gb GSkill DDR-800@DDR-1068 (2 x 2gb); XFX 8800 GTS; Areca 8X PCIe in Raid 0 working at 4x speed; 4-250 Gb (single platter) 7200.10 drives; Giga 3DAurora case with side window.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    392
    Ace-a-rue, Merom and Conroe have the same cores, i cant see what makes a big difference. Merom has lower FSB, and what else is different?

    Edit: In task manager, when running TAT stresstest, it shows up as MeromMaxPowerVer0p3, in the folder its installed there is another file for Core Duo, YonahMaxPowerVer1p0.exe.
    Last edited by ted3; 09-10-2006 at 07:15 PM.
    BadAxe2, WC'ed L631B115 Xeon3060 3.4GHz 1.27v summer OC, 2GB BallistiX 4:5,
    2x250GB-16 Raid-0 + 400GB-16, 7900GTO 512MB, Acer 22" Wide, Nexus 500W.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member Artmic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    287
    I think you can use this thing for anything, it will report the temps, besides it is close to Everest. so how bad could it be if it is from Intel, and somehow i doubt anyone would be stupid enough not to design this software to handle more than one type of CPU.

    Core 2 Duo X6800 @ 3.47Ghz
    ASUS P5W DH Deluxe
    Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C3 4GB
    eVGA GeForce 8800 Ultra
    3 X Raptor 150GB
    PC P & C Turbo Cool 1KW
    TR SI-128
    MountainMods U2 UFO Horizon
    DELL 2407FPW
    ---- Water cooling components
    PA 120.3 Radiator
    MCRES-MICRO Clear HI-FLOW Reservoir
    MCP655 Pump
    D-TEK Fuzion CPU Water Block
    Tygon 3603 1/2" ID Clear Tubing

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    235
    It won't run at all with my E6600, P5W-DH etc... the dialog comes up asking me to agree, I hit agree, and the program exits...

    t

  11. #11
    I am Xtreme Eastcoasthandle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    4,801
    Quote Originally Posted by taemun
    It won't run at all with my E6600, P5W-DH etc... the dialog comes up asking me to agree, I hit agree, and the program exits...

    t
    bad OC?

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    235
    Quote Originally Posted by Eastcoasthandle
    bad OC?
    nar its the same at stock or oc'd

    t

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by taemun
    It won't run at all with my E6600, P5W-DH etc... the dialog comes up asking me to agree, I hit agree, and the program exits...

    t

    Weird, works fine on mine, same system.

    (Hello everyone by the way.)

  14. #14
    I am Xtreme Eastcoasthandle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    4,801
    Quote Originally Posted by eallan
    Weird, works fine on mine, same system.

    (Hello everyone by the way.)

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by Eastcoasthandle
    Thanks

    You guys have quite the selection of smileys haha.
    P5W DH Deluxe w/ C2D E6600 @ 3.0ghz 333x9
    Corsair Twinxms Pro 4-4-4-12 @ 667mhz
    2x 320GB Seagate 7200.10
    BFG 7900GTX

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    235
    Hmm .... you guys are all running XP? I'm running Windows 2003... (there is some killer pricing on it for educational purposes )

    Anyone out there with 2003 x86 (32-bit) and working / not working?

    t

  17. #17
    Xτræmε ÇruñcheΓ AndrewZorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Molvanîa
    Posts
    2,849
    Quote Originally Posted by ted3
    Set max workload to test your max temp, and for sure the temps will go way higher than Orthos with small FFT's, theres no other way i know of to stress a CPU this much.

    And you can also set a throttling level to reduce the processors performance to a preset percentage, up to 87.5% throttling. Apps will run quite slow if you set both cores to 87.5% throttle =)

    What makes TAT more useful than CoreTemp is the throttlewatch, i posted a screenie in another thread not long ago, this is what happened 2 minutes after CPU fan was disconnected (3.6GHz E6600 at 1.6volt):
    hotter than orthos!? wow... this combined with the fact that the 'core' probe is deeper than a normal die sensor... no wonder AMD fans think even the 65nm conroe runs hotter than an AX2 (not that it DOESNT, im not sure, but it doesnt run as hot as they think)

    anyway the throttling sounds interesting.
    so i could say, cut it to 50% clockspeed if it gets to 70*C? do you have to let this program run in the background? is there a way to reduce voltage (reducing clockspeed only wont help much)?
    i7 2700k 4.60ghz -- Z68XP-UD4 F6F -- Ripjaws 2x4gb 1600mhz -- 560 Ti 448 stock!? -- Liquid Cooling Apogee XT -- Claro+ ATH-M50s -- U2711 2560x1440
    Majestouch 87 Blue -- Choc Mini Brown -- Poker Red -- MX11900 -- G9

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    near Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    1,966
    Welcome Eallan

  19. #19
    Xtreme Enthusiast MrBean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Oz
    Posts
    645
    Yeah, it's fine on my E6600, P5W DH, and GSkill HZ Ram.

    Chipped clocked to only 3.33gig (370fsb 1:1), watercooled, and when using TAT thermal testing tool, temps stabilize around 47 deg C core 1, and 45 for core 2.

    TAT reads 1 deg C lower on both cores vs Coretemp.

    Very nifty little app, thanx Intel

    Orthos will only take temps up to around 38-40 on water, this is quite a bit more intensive. Good stability checker I would say.
    Never argue with Idiots...they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience!
    i-Prodigy (small APD2 GFX/CPU waterloop) ; HP Blackbird Project Log (dual-Xeon Watercooled) ; Macho Mini Project Log (Sandybridge watercooled mini-ITX)

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict fhpchris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,950
    Does not work @ server 2003

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewZorn
    anyway the throttling sounds interesting.
    so i could say, cut it to 50% clockspeed if it gets to 70*C? do you have to let this program run in the background? is there a way to reduce voltage (reducing clockspeed only wont help much)?
    The on-demand throttling isnt something most people want to use i think I guess its just there for testing purposes, like the name of the app indicates its an "analysing tool". Temps will drop quite a bit when setting throttle, but as my little test without cpu fan showed, the cpu will throttle itself down when going above 85c as a safety meassure. As long as you can run TAT for 5-10 minutes at dual 100% worklevel without throttling you are safe, if it aint broken dont fix it! High temps are nothing to worry about, throttling is what we dont want. The reduction of voltage will still be the job of C1E, dont know if theres a way to do that on demand, probably not.
    BadAxe2, WC'ed L631B115 Xeon3060 3.4GHz 1.27v summer OC, 2GB BallistiX 4:5,
    2x250GB-16 Raid-0 + 400GB-16, 7900GTO 512MB, Acer 22" Wide, Nexus 500W.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Cruncher Shintai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    7,745
    Just on a sidenote, please ask before you paste a link to my home server again
    But on the good side, you didn´t link my picture directly.

    But else, its the best tool. And it will never be a public download, since its for OEMs internal testing only.
    Crunching for Comrades and the Common good of the People.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewZorn
    no wonder AMD fans think even the 65nm conroe runs hotter than an AX2 (not that it DOESNT, im not sure, but it doesnt run as hot as they think)
    AMD fans think Conroe runs hot because they have no clue how hot their 100W+ Athlons really run. It doesn't help that so many Conroe users mistakenly think that TAT and Core Temp readings are somehow comparable to other cpu temps, because they aren't.
    Gigabyte GA965P-DS3
    E6400 @390FSB/3120MHz (1.40V)
    Scythe Ninja Plus 1500rpm fan
    2x1GB OCZ EL Platinum XTC Rev. 1 @DDR780/4-4-4-12/2.1V
    EVGA 7800GT-CO @500/1150
    Seagate 7200.10 320GB/16MB SATAII
    Etc.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,825
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred_Pohl
    AMD fans think Conroe runs hot because they have no clue how hot their 100W+ Athlons really run. It doesn't help that so many Conroe users mistakenly think that TAT and Core Temp readings are somehow comparable to other cpu temps, because they aren't.
    thats very true. my Scythe Mine's heatpipes do not even get warm under full load with my 6300@2.8GHZ@1.32 volts(bios) I think this is reading at the very heart of the core thus giving very accurate temps at that spot. Its cooler running than my old Opteron 165@2.7GHZ as I can feel the back dumping off much less heat.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by vengance_01
    thats very true. my Scythe Mine's heatpipes do not even get warm under full load with my 6300@2.8GHZ@1.32 volts(bios) I think this is reading at the very heart of the core thus giving very accurate temps at that spot. Its cooler running than my old Opteron 165@2.7GHZ as I can feel the back dumping off much less heat.
    Finally! Thank you. I'm so tired of reading opinions about how the bios, speedfan, easytune, etc. are reading some nonexistent mobo socket thermistor and that Core Temp, iTAT and Everest are reporting "true" on-die temps. While the second part may be true, it's important to understand that Core Temp, etc. are reading sensors that don't exist on any other cpu and are therefore not comparable. As for the socket thermistor theory, that's just plain BS. Every Intel CPU since the P2 has had an on-die thermal diode which has been read by the mobo to get the cpu temp.

    Nice to meet someone else who "gets it".
    Gigabyte GA965P-DS3
    E6400 @390FSB/3120MHz (1.40V)
    Scythe Ninja Plus 1500rpm fan
    2x1GB OCZ EL Platinum XTC Rev. 1 @DDR780/4-4-4-12/2.1V
    EVGA 7800GT-CO @500/1150
    Seagate 7200.10 320GB/16MB SATAII
    Etc.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •