Page 1 of 16 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 395

Thread: More P5B secrets uncovered

  1. #1
    the jedi master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885

    More P5B secrets uncovered

    http://www.thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=30

    From the looks of 600fsb with C2 the new 965 chipset may have the 1600 strap, issue is performace may be poor. As soon as i get a board I will test.

    For now let me know if theis helps you understand how Asus are gettting the board to clock
    Last edited by Tony; 03-07-2007 at 11:26 AM.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  2. #2
    Xtreme Owner FUGGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    11,902
    Thanks for the update Tony.
    ASUS Maximus VII Extreme
    2X ASUS GTX Titan
    Intel 4790K Overclocked
    Swiftech WC
    16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2666C10
    4X Corsair Neutron SSD
    Corsair 1200i
    NZXT Phantom 800


    Intel 5960X USA
    Asus Rampage V Extreme
    Asus GTX 780
    16GB Corsair Vengeance 2666C15
    1TB Intel SSD RAID 0
    Corsair AX1200
    Dimas Benchtable

  3. #3
    Tyler Durden EnJoY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    5,668
    Very cool find Tony. I was curious as to how Asus would have made the board clock this well otherwise. How sneaky of them.
    Formerly XIP, now just P.

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme Lestat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SiliCORN Valley
    Posts
    5,604
    hhmm interesting.
    not what i would have done but if i was intel.. but .. i dont make those decisions.
    higher ram and fsb but its still slower if compared to a higher multi same speeds.
    kind of silly if ya ask me..
    "These are the rules. Everybody fights, nobody quits. If you don't do your job I'll kill you myself.
    Welcome to the Roughnecks"

    "Anytime you think I'm being too rough, anytime you think I'm being too tough, anytime you miss-your-mommy, QUIT!
    You sign your 1248, you get your gear, and you take a stroll down washout lane. Do you get me?"

    Heat Ebay Feedback

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member ScottFern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    274
    I don't see a graph?
    Mobo ASUS P6X58D-E
    CPU Intel i7 950
    Memory 6GB Corsair Dominator Kit
    Video Sapphire 5850
    HD Intel X25-M 160GB
    DVD-RW Samsung SH-203B
    Monitor 2 x Dell 2209WA
    Case Antec Nine Hundred
    PSU Corsair HX620

  6. #6
    Corsair Components, Inc. bachus_anonym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    5,066
    400MHz "switch" up to 46ish you're talking about, Tony, explains a lot the results I was getting here and few posts down...

    No wonder 400x9 DDR2-1200 is very close in SPi32M compared to 500x8 DDR2-1000, despite 400Mhz disadvantage on a CPU speed...

    Thanks a lot for your investigative work, Tony
    Last edited by bachus_anonym; 09-07-2006 at 05:20 PM.
    I work for Corsair Components, Inc.

  7. #7
    Registered User The Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottFern
    I don't see a graph?
    I didn't see one either, but view the page in IE and you'll see it. Probably something to do with FF and adblocking (I have adblock+). Doesn't matter anyway, I don't get any of that mumbo jumbo

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict HKPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Any way to manually set strap settings?

  9. #9
    the jedi master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by HKPolice
    Any way to manually set strap settings?
    No thats the issue
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  10. #10
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    4,718
    So, uh, 965 sucks. Conroe is great, but supporting chipsets suck. Wonder if ATI's got it figured out.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Owner FUGGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    11,902
    The chipsets dont suck, not even close. We are moving in the right direction and this is just the start of 600+ FSB in sync and that could equate to monster bandwidth.
    ASUS Maximus VII Extreme
    2X ASUS GTX Titan
    Intel 4790K Overclocked
    Swiftech WC
    16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2666C10
    4X Corsair Neutron SSD
    Corsair 1200i
    NZXT Phantom 800


    Intel 5960X USA
    Asus Rampage V Extreme
    Asus GTX 780
    16GB Corsair Vengeance 2666C15
    1TB Intel SSD RAID 0
    Corsair AX1200
    Dimas Benchtable

  12. #12
    I am Xtreme afireinside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Posts
    8,296
    600 fsb 1:1 is great but if the NB settings are so loose that is murders performance compared to 975, who cares.
    Phenom II 940 BE / ASUS M4A79 / HD5770 Crossfire
    3770mhz CPU 2600mhz NB | DDR1040 5-5-5-15 | 900/1250

  13. #13
    Xtreme Mentor situman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    2,764
    higher fsb = high cpu clock speeds = better overall system performance

    Besides, as frequencies climb the looser latencies are pretty much a non-issue. Before calling the chipsets as crap, think about how limited you are on the 975 chipset due to its fsb limitations. It gets to a point where raw bandwidth will not improve performance all that much, but high cpu speeds will always give you greater performance. So, yes bandwidth might suffer at certain fsb speeds but I'll give up a few points in bandwidth in order to max out my cpu.
    Asus Rampage Formula X48
    Intel Q9650 @ 4.33GHZ
    OCZ Platinum DDR2-800
    Palit 4870x2
    Creative Xi-Fi Extreme Music
    Corsair HX1000
    LL 343B Case
    Thermochill 120.3
    2xMCP355
    KL 350AT
    KL 4870X2 FC WB
    DD Chipset Block

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,204
    I didn't see anything here that says 965 sucks...

    Ya just gotta love it... The damn board is fast, stable, reliable, and provides consistently reliable performance... Then someone explains how that's accomplished and all of a sudden it's crap...

    Hard to believe... Now we're looking at a GPU manufacturer to change the chipset world. Guess I need another beer.
    Asus P8P67-M Pro - Bios 413
    i7-2600K LO41C106
    Cooler Master V8 - Antec 180 Mini
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
    Sissy OC - 4.6 @ 1.3175 24/7 | 18' Idle - 55' Load
    Windows 7 MS Is Getting Better...

    Personal Site!

  15. #15
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    4,718
    Quote Originally Posted by FUGGER
    The chipsets dont suck, not even close. We are moving in the right direction and this is just the start of 600+ FSB in sync and that could equate to monster bandwidth.
    Ok, so the bios sucks. But from what I'm seeing, it will be a new chipset that does this, and not 975 or 965. They don't want us using those FSB speeds yet for a reason...next gen Conroe, maybe? 3ghz+ stock speeds? Next year Summer?


    The whole "could" thing scares me...



  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,204
    Probably not a good thread for conspiracy theories…
    Asus P8P67-M Pro - Bios 413
    i7-2600K LO41C106
    Cooler Master V8 - Antec 180 Mini
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
    Sissy OC - 4.6 @ 1.3175 24/7 | 18' Idle - 55' Load
    Windows 7 MS Is Getting Better...

    Personal Site!

  17. #17
    the jedi master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Ok guys we have more, infact a LOT more. Im off to bed but my brainstorming buddy FCG will carry on posting and hopefully enlighten you a little more.

    I asked him to post on the BE thread but he will link here for you.

    We found how to work out NB clock speed and where to see it in sandra, this should help you guys overclock a little better.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,204
    Once again Tony, Thanks-

    EDIT: Damn, hit a 1000 post after all these years... No better way to spend it than on "Tony AKA BigToe" help...
    Asus P8P67-M Pro - Bios 413
    i7-2600K LO41C106
    Cooler Master V8 - Antec 180 Mini
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
    Sissy OC - 4.6 @ 1.3175 24/7 | 18' Idle - 55' Load
    Windows 7 MS Is Getting Better...

    Personal Site!

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    227
    Thanks for the results, Tony. I was considering doing 7x458 instead of 8x400, but now it seems rather pointless. I guess this explains why people have success skipping the 300s :p

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict HKPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony
    No thats the issue
    What about using a prog like memset? Or editing the BIOS?

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict gundamit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,575
    Great read. Thanks for taking us to class Tony. Performance scaling on 965 is a little strange, but its a fun chipset.
    Sourcing parts for a mildly over clocked abacus.

  22. #22
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    4,718
    Quote Originally Posted by HKPolice
    Or editing the BIOS?
    Maybe I got this wrong, but i thought that was what this was all about?


    Quote Originally Posted by pcdoc1
    Probably not a good thread for conspiracy theories…




    ???


    I'm talking about timings, in case you misunderstood. That's really what the "strap" is all about. The "strap" support running this speed is probable due to the added latency support in the new revision, as the graph Tony put up kinda shows.

    What I'm refering to is the actual performance at these speeds and latencies. From what we've seen already, I'm concerned it will take a few chip revisions of both cpu and chipset before we get the performance I'm really looking for.

    But maybe I'll get proved wrong...I darn sure hope so.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,204
    Quote Originally Posted by cadaveca
    I'm talking about timings, in case you misunderstood.
    I don't think I misunderstood anything... Your exact statement was:
    They don't want us using those FSB speeds yet for a reason...next gen Conroe, maybe? 3ghz+ stock speeds? Next year Summer?
    The implication was that someone was intentionally holding back new tech for financial or other reasons... No mention of strap/timings... No problem though, carry on!
    Asus P8P67-M Pro - Bios 413
    i7-2600K LO41C106
    Cooler Master V8 - Antec 180 Mini
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
    Sissy OC - 4.6 @ 1.3175 24/7 | 18' Idle - 55' Load
    Windows 7 MS Is Getting Better...

    Personal Site!

  24. #24
    Banned freecableguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Broomfield, CO
    Posts
    4,088

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member NO1B4ME's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    The Danger ZONE
    Posts
    288
    Damn this is a pretty cool topic. Thanks Tony .

Page 1 of 16 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •