X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 71

Thread: Halo 2 for Vista screenshots emerge...

  1. #1
    Stop...Ban-Hammer Time!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3,760

    Halo 2 for Vista screenshots emerge...

    http://www.bungie.net/Games/Halo2Vis...enshots&page=1

    So.... We need a new operating system, new direct x version, new everything..... For identical graphics to the xbox version?
    Quote Originally Posted by Leon2ky
    "dammit kyle what's with the 30 second sex lately?" "Sorry sweetie, I overclocked my nuts and they haven't been stable since"
    Quote Originally Posted by trinibwoy View Post
    I don't think his backside has internet access.
    Quote Originally Posted by n00b 0f l337 View Post
    Hey I just met you
    And this is crazy
    But I'm on bath salts
    And your face looks tasty

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,425
    wow those screenies look like crap.

    CPU Z:2700 2k1:27952 2k3:12282 2k5:5763 PCM05 AQ3
    Opteron 165 s939_____OCZ RAM/PSU_____BBATI X800xl

  3. #3
    Stop...Ban-Hammer Time!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3,760
    They're 100% identical to the xbox version, just higher resolution. Funny, considering microsoft are requiring windows vista and supposidly DX10 as well to run it.
    Quote Originally Posted by Leon2ky
    "dammit kyle what's with the 30 second sex lately?" "Sorry sweetie, I overclocked my nuts and they haven't been stable since"
    Quote Originally Posted by trinibwoy View Post
    I don't think his backside has internet access.
    Quote Originally Posted by n00b 0f l337 View Post
    Hey I just met you
    And this is crazy
    But I'm on bath salts
    And your face looks tasty

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    162
    If those screen shots are any real indication of this game I'm gonna have to pass on this one.

  5. #5
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Posts
    8,296
    That is terrible... wow
    Phenom II 940 BE / ASUS M4A79 / HD5770 Crossfire
    3770mhz CPU 2600mhz NB | DDR1040 5-5-5-15 | 900/1250

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    194
    Quote Originally Posted by DilTech
    http://www.bungie.net/Games/Halo2Vis...enshots&page=1

    So.... We need a new operating system, new direct x version, new everything..... For identical graphics to the xbox version?
    Microsoft wants to give people incentive to upgrade. That was already established a long time ago.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    132
    I can really see that stressing my graphics card to the fullest. Shame on you Bungie.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    95
    In the faq i found that it says:



    As the name suggests, Halo 2 Vista will be brought to PCs with Windows Vista only. Of course you can always purchase Halo 2 for your Xbox or Xbox 360. There are currently no plans to bring Halo 2 to Mac, PlayStation 9 or the Commodore 64.

    WTF. We don't have PS3 yet and they are talking about playstation 9?!?!?!

    ~R4z3r~

  9. #9
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    5,946
    lol, halo 1 is better anyways.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Westlake Village, West Hills
    Posts
    3,062
    That looks terrible. Somthing must have went horribly wrong with the shaders.
    PC Lab Qmicra V2 Case SFFi7 950 4.4GHz 200 x 22 1.36 volts
    Cooled by Swiftech GTZ - CPX-Pro - MCR420+MCR320+MCR220 | Completely Silent loads at 62c
    GTX 470 EVGA SuperClocked Plain stock
    12 Gigs OCZ Reaper DDR3 1600MHz) 8-8-8-24
    ASUS Rampage Gene II |Four OCZ Vertex 2 in RAID-0(60Gig x 4) | WD 2000Gig Storage


    Theater ::: Panasonic G20 50" Plasma | Onkyo SC5508 Processor | Emotiva XPA-5 and XPA-2 | CSi A6 Center| 2 x Polk RTi A9 Front Towers| 2 x Klipsch RW-12d
    Lian-LI HTPC | Panasonic Blu Ray 655k| APC AV J10BLK Conditioner |

  11. #11
    bee boo bop bop crunch.
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    254
    knowing microsoft, the final version will look worst than that, require 400MB in patches and still wont play on 1/2 the pc's its installed on.

  12. #12
    Hey now its microsoft, they are the best at everything didn'y you know!

  13. #13
    Xtreme X.I.P. MaxxxRacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca USA
    Posts
    13,738
    I love halo, but those screenies look like total crap.. there is absolutely no bump mapping and the textures look worse than Halo1 for Xbox textures.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lithuania, Kaunas
    Posts
    1,270
    Is it a joke?

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,773
    making this game Vista only will be bad PR for vista.


    Microsofts slogan will be:
    play all ur new pc games on vista and they might all look like crap.
    Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
    Groucho Marx



    i know my grammar sux so stop hitting me

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,714
    you guys have lost the reason for playing games. A game is suppose to have fun gameplay and catchy story line, nothing beats Halo at that, the graphics comes secondary. But if you do not wont to buy this game becouse you dont like the graphics engine, then by all means just go back to benching 3dmark and leave us gamers to play our games.
    TAMGc5: PhII X4 945, Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD3P, 2x Kingston PC2-6400 HyperX CL4 2GB, 2x ASUS HD 5770 CUcore Xfire, Razer Barracuda AC1, Win8 Pro x64 (Current)

    TAMGc6: AMD FX, Gigabyte GA-xxxx-UDx, 8GB/16GB DDR3, Nvidia 680 GTX, ASUS Xonar, 2x 120/160GB SSD, 1x WD Caviar Black 1TB SATA 6Gb/s, Win8 Pro x64 (Planned)

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    190
    Forget about DX9, DX10 is here
    [ Intel Q6600 B3 @ 3.2GHz ][ Asus P5K DLX ][ 4Gb PC6400 ][ X1900XTX ]

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    1,693
    that looks like a nintendo 64 game.. i cannot beleive its only for vista, as if xp with todays best h/w couldn't handle that game.
    Current Setup:
    -9850 GX2's in Quad SLI config
    -Asus P5N32-SLI MB
    -2x512mb of PC2-5300 DDR2
    -Intel Celeron D OC'd to 3.2Ghz
    -Windows Me with XP theme
    -WD Caviar 20GB Hard Drive
    -Zip drive
    -Jazz drive
    -3.5" floppy drive
    -5.25" floppy drive

  19. #19
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Are those pics confirmed as PC? Looks like XBox to me.

    Theres trailers out for Halo2 on the PC...and they look nothing like that
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  20. #20
    Charcoal or propane?
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    1,760
    Quote Originally Posted by bizkit35461
    There are currently no plans to bring Halo 2 to Mac, PlayStation 9 or the Commodore 64.

    WTF. We don't have PS3 yet and they are talking about playstation 9?!?!?!

    ~R4z3r~

    Wait a minute, the thing that stuck out to you the most in that quote was Playstation 9? So you looked at the words "Commodore 64", associated that with "Halo 2" and then thought to yourself, "Oh, sure that makes sense."

    WTF mate?
    DFI UT X58-T3eH8 (being replaced with Giga UD5)
    Core i7 920 D0 mostly stable @ 4Ghz
    TRUE 120
    6GB OCZ Platinum 7-7-7 (still in testing
    XFX 4890 1GB @ 1050/1190
    Corsair HX850W
    CM Cosmos S

    Still testing...

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Pamplona, SPAIN
    Posts
    1,220
    Hmm and what about Microsoft releasing for Mac, huh huh? j/k

    If those screenshots are for real, they better redo everything.

    With Crysis, QW:ET, Turok, BF2142, Huxley, UT2007, etc M$ will have a hard time explaining such poor graphics, and more when they're trying to force us to upgrade to Vista and DX10
    i7 2600k @4500 | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 | Gskill 2x4096Mb 2133Mhz | 4x2TB WD Green RAID10 | OCZ Vertex3 120Gb | 2x AMD 6950 @ Stock
    Benq 24" TN | Samsung LE46C630 "2nd" Monitor | Enermax NAXN ENP850EWT | Corsair 800D Case | Corsair H60 | Logitech G9x + Wireless Solar K750

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    622
    MS needs to put this game back in DX9 format and work on a DX10 version of Halo 3.

  23. #23
    Stop...Ban-Hammer Time!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3,760
    Quote Originally Posted by K404
    Are those pics confirmed as PC? Looks like XBox to me.

    Theres trailers out for Halo2 on the PC...and they look nothing like that
    Yes they're 100% confirmed. That's bungies official website, and at the top it says "Halo 2 Vista:Gallery". This is direct from the source, if anything they'd make it look better than it actually does in screen shots, not worse.... Also, the xbox can't do 1920x1200 like some of those screen shots are.

    How about a link to these so called "trailers".


    :::edit:::
    http://www.firingsquad.com/news/news...searchid=11926

    CONFIRMED. Those are the real deal screenshots of halo 2 vista.
    Quote Originally Posted by Leon2ky
    "dammit kyle what's with the 30 second sex lately?" "Sorry sweetie, I overclocked my nuts and they haven't been stable since"
    Quote Originally Posted by trinibwoy View Post
    I don't think his backside has internet access.
    Quote Originally Posted by n00b 0f l337 View Post
    Hey I just met you
    And this is crazy
    But I'm on bath salts
    And your face looks tasty

  24. #24
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,773
    the only ways this game can have good sales is if theyd pack it inside Windows Vista (like minesweeper etc) or if they would put the sales price at 9.99 orso.

    cause seeing the competition it will have there is no way to justify any price above 20 euro.

    like when they brought Liberty city stories formt he PSP to the PS2 it had a sales price of 19 euro here.
    Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
    Groucho Marx



    i know my grammar sux so stop hitting me

  25. #25
    The Blue Dolphin
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,992
    Looks like a beta or even alpha version to me. As said above those shaders look like crap.

    Well, atleast they are not trying to cover something up. Maybe Microsoft made them post this horrible screenies to boost sales of the Xbox version
    Blue Dolphin Reviews & Guides

    Blue Reviews:
    Gigabyte G-Power PRO CPU cooler
    Vantec Nexstar 3.5" external HDD enclosure
    Gigabyte Poseidon 310 case


    Blue Guides:
    Fixing a GFX BIOS checksum yourself


    98% of the internet population has a Myspace. If you're part of the 2% that isn't an emo bastard, copy and paste this into your sig.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •