Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 101

Thread: hwbot multipi - multithreaded superpi (open beta)

  1. #1
    hwbot crew
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Belgium!
    Posts
    880

    Post hwbot multipi - multithreaded superpi (open beta)

    Hi guys,

    I wrote a superpi app that calculates pi, but unlike superpi it dedects how many processor cores you have, and spreads the calculation over those available.

    It works pretty well, but I need some feedback and comments on the length of calculation and stuff. It takes pretty long on a midrange processor (about 3 minutes on a 2ghz A64), but as it takes use of multiple cores, calculation on a decent dual core proc is about half. I think a 5ghz conroe may hit 30 seconds.

    Some testruns i did:
    Intel Pentium M 715 (1.5Ghz): 3m 18.815s
    T2500 (mac osx), 2 cores: 1m 47.127s
    T2500 (mac osx), 1 core: 3m 08.163s

    I know some guys are going to nag because it's written in java, and you need a java vm installed, but as mac/linux user i'm tired of seeing windows-only benchmarks. This is one we can all enjoy.

    If interested, you can betatest multipi v0.1. It runs on linux, mac, win32 and win64, but requires java 5 (1.5) to be installed. Just unzip and run multipi.bat or multipi.sh.

    Comments and thoughts can be posted here:
    http://www.hwbot.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=196

    Download:
    http://www.hwbot.org/download/multipi-0.2.zip
    Last edited by RichBa5tard; 08-16-2006 at 02:09 AM.
    HTPC (win xp): Turion MT-30 @ 2Ghz | NF4 | XFX 7900GT | 26" TFT
    Development (mac osx): Macbook Pro | Core Duo 1.86Ghz | 1.5GB DDR2


  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    548
    heh
    happily my kentsfield arrived in time

  3. #3
    hwbot crew
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Belgium!
    Posts
    880
    I'd love to see how a kentsfield would perform. Post yer results please.
    HTPC (win xp): Turion MT-30 @ 2Ghz | NF4 | XFX 7900GT | 26" TFT
    Development (mac osx): Macbook Pro | Core Duo 1.86Ghz | 1.5GB DDR2


  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    548
    i'll post 4sure.
    need to get some hw first

  5. #5
    hwbot crew
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Belgium!
    Posts
    880
    Some interesting benches at OC Forums:
    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=472068

    Core Duo T2500 1 core: 3m08s
    A64 2.2Ghz: 3min
    Core Duo T2500 2 cores: 1m45s
    Woodcrest 3Ghz 4 cores: 32s
    HTPC (win xp): Turion MT-30 @ 2Ghz | NF4 | XFX 7900GT | 26" TFT
    Development (mac osx): Macbook Pro | Core Duo 1.86Ghz | 1.5GB DDR2


  6. #6
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    7,607
    51 seconds here.
    nothing fancy here.
    DFI 975X.
    1 gig of corsair 5400UL cas 4-3-3-10, 670 mhz.
    E6400 at 3.6 ghz.
    Attached Images Attached Images




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  7. #7
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    7,607
    seems really reliable.
    I only get a .05 second variation in time, when run over and over.

    how about a really long version to play with?

    like one that take 45 minutes or so?
    32M is alittle too easy these days, since it's time has been cut in half with the introduction of these conroes and such.




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  8. #8
    hwbot crew
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Belgium!
    Posts
    880
    Hmmm, what do you think, more iterations by default? A quad core can do it 30 seconds without too much tweaking, maybe that's too easy.

    An average A64 need 3 minutes though. If I make it much harder it will take a long time on slower systems... and a part of the success of superpi is the time it takes to get your result.



    - edit -
    45 minutes on what? A single core, dual core or quad core?
    HTPC (win xp): Turion MT-30 @ 2Ghz | NF4 | XFX 7900GT | 26" TFT
    Development (mac osx): Macbook Pro | Core Duo 1.86Ghz | 1.5GB DDR2


  9. #9
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    7,607
    well, how about alittle interactive menu then?

    hit 1 for default.
    hit 2 for long test.

    then A64's have thier standard run, and Conroes have something alittle more challenging to play with.




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  10. #10
    hwbot crew
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Belgium!
    Posts
    880
    I will certainly add that option. The finished version will offer a simple gui, like superpi has. This is just a beta to test the algorithm.
    HTPC (win xp): Turion MT-30 @ 2Ghz | NF4 | XFX 7900GT | 26" TFT
    Development (mac osx): Macbook Pro | Core Duo 1.86Ghz | 1.5GB DDR2


  11. #11
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    7,607
    I look forward to trying it




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Camping your spawn :)
    Posts
    1,732
    SWEETTT!!! this is what ive always wanted to be compiled, this will give a far better show of power for dualies and quads..
    And it begins..
    Thnx, downloading it in a sec.....
    I got backdoor trojan virus warning when I opened it, is this normal?

    Opty 165 @ 2.9
    2X1024 PDP @ 243 2.5-3-2-5 1T
    Last edited by [cTx]Philosophy; 10-18-2006 at 11:25 PM.
    Join the XS WCG team and do your part to help save the world..
    ^^^Click here to start folding for the soon to be number one team in the world..^^^

    Main rig: Gigabyte DS3/6300@3.2 7950 GX2/Server:Expert/165@2.9/PCI vid/Wifes:ASrock Dual SATA2/3800@2.4/X800XTAIW/Kids:165@2.7/X850XTPE

    "A computer beat me in chess, but it was no match when it came to kickboxing"
    -Emo Philips

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast k0nsl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Scandinavia
    Posts
    815
    Pi calculated in: 03m 07.953s

    Pentium D 805 @ 3.7GHz

    :/

    -k0nsl


    When you were born, you were crying and everyone around you was smiling. Live your life so that when you die, you're smiling and everyone around you is crying.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Orlando, FLA
    Posts
    233
    57 seconds - A64 X2 3800+ at 3.0Ghz
    Asus P5k DLX
    C2Q6600 G0
    4365 mhz - 485 x 9 @ 1.68v(Bios) 1.65v w/droop
    2G Patriot 8500 EL at 5:6 1164 5-5-5-15
    TT Toughpower 750,
    1 x Raptor, 1 x 250G WD2500KS
    BFG 8800GTX OC 600/1800
    Custom Single Stage Phase

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    1,004
    02m 40.703s
    specs in sig, ie/aim/services running in bg

  16. #16
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,242
    it's pretty short in length..........try and make it at least 10x longer i reckon
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  17. #17
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,242
    Allendale @ 3.33GHz i run 24/7


    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    OZtralia
    Posts
    2,051
    Nice proggy, many thanks RichBa5tard

    Last edited by alpha0ne; 08-14-2006 at 09:40 PM.
    lots and lots of cores and lots and lots of tuners,HTPC's boards,cases,HDD's,vga's,DDR1&2&3 etc etc all powered by Corsair PSU's

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    1,004
    Quote Originally Posted by Avman
    57 seconds - A64 X2 3800+ at 3.0Ghz
    beat an e6600 @same clock by 4s!! how!!?

  20. #20
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,242
    yeah there's something wrong there
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  21. #21
    hwbot crew
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Belgium!
    Posts
    880
    Quote Originally Posted by k0nsl
    Pi calculated in: 03m 07.953s

    Pentium D 805 @ 3.7GHz

    :/

    -k0nsl
    3m08s should be on the spot if it where only using 1 processor, but a 805 has 2 so your time should be ~ 1m40s. Can you verify it used both cores? At the beginning of the calculation, it should say 'dedected 2 processor cores' and 'started calculation core 1' and 'started calculation core2'.
    HTPC (win xp): Turion MT-30 @ 2Ghz | NF4 | XFX 7900GT | 26" TFT
    Development (mac osx): Macbook Pro | Core Duo 1.86Ghz | 1.5GB DDR2


  22. #22
    YouTube Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Klaatu barada nikto
    Posts
    17,574
    Thank you dear sir. Though I wish could look at the source to perhaps make a C version. So that it can run on the most stripped down OS
    Fast computers breed slow, lazy programmers
    The price of reliability is the pursuit of the utmost simplicity. It is a price which the very rich find most hard to pay.
    http://www.lighterra.com/papers/modernmicroprocessors/
    Modern Ram, makes an old overclocker miss BH-5 and the fun it was

  23. #23
    hwbot crew
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Belgium!
    Posts
    880
    Quote Originally Posted by Philosophy
    SWEETTT!!! this is what ive always wanted to be compiled, this will give a far better show of power for dualies and quads..
    And it begins..
    Thnx, downloading it in a sec.....
    I got backdoor trojan virus warning when I opened it, is this normal?
    Not normal no. I think it's your virusscanner which is set to warn you when running bat files.

    If your java vm is properly installed, you can also just double-click the jar file.
    HTPC (win xp): Turion MT-30 @ 2Ghz | NF4 | XFX 7900GT | 26" TFT
    Development (mac osx): Macbook Pro | Core Duo 1.86Ghz | 1.5GB DDR2


  24. #24
    hwbot crew
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Belgium!
    Posts
    880
    Quote Originally Posted by nn_step
    Thank you dear sir. Though I wish could look at the source to perhaps make a C version. So that it can run on the most stripped down OS
    Not being able to run on the most stripdown os is a drawback, i agree. But, i find the ability to run it too on a mac / linux / freebsd far more important, so i'm going to keep the program in java.
    HTPC (win xp): Turion MT-30 @ 2Ghz | NF4 | XFX 7900GT | 26" TFT
    Development (mac osx): Macbook Pro | Core Duo 1.86Ghz | 1.5GB DDR2


  25. #25
    hwbot crew
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Belgium!
    Posts
    880
    Some early conclusions:
    - current amount of iterations seems ok, maybe it needs to be a bit more.
    - dual / quad core is almost 2/4 times as fast as single core... maybe tax the memory a bit more so it doesn't get a cpu-only test?
    - memory gets barely taxed, heavier use on memory would make it a 'better' test (for dedecting memory faults), lower the advantage of dual/quad core a bit, and make it a more 'real life' test.
    - finding the sweet spot between 'not too short on a oc'ed quad core' and 'not too boring on a midrange single core' is frigging hard. : )
    - p4 dual core seems to perform equal to single core? need verification of this
    - x2 equal as fast as conroe at same speed? need verification
    HTPC (win xp): Turion MT-30 @ 2Ghz | NF4 | XFX 7900GT | 26" TFT
    Development (mac osx): Macbook Pro | Core Duo 1.86Ghz | 1.5GB DDR2


Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •