Page 5 of 340 FirstFirst ... 23456781555105 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 125 of 8486

Thread: ASUS P5W DH - Problems + Fixes Thread

  1. #101
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    123
    my idle temp are odd too

    my cpu is 24º
    mb is 44º
    cpu has h2o cooling
    i use the asus fan for mosfeds
    *Asus Maximus Formula SE*Intel q6600*PowerColor HD 3870*Corsair Crucial 4x1 GB 6400*
    *WD Raptor 2x 74gb raid 0*Creative X-FI XM*Samsung DVD*Antec p182*
    *H2O cooling on CPU and VGA*

  2. #102
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    625
    Quote Originally Posted by GoldenTiger
    Which port is the Jmicron one (black beneath the bottom PCI slot, or blue near the RAM)?
    the one below the PCI slot, with 0903 it works quite well, was able to flash new burner firmware and do successful 18x burns,
    http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=189057

  3. #103
    Xtreme Old School Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    1,670
    Sticky - very helpfull and organized Problems & Fixes Thread

    Please keep 1st post updated lawrywild

  4. #104
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    720
    I've been experiencing low internet speeds. I have a second computer connected to the same modem. Download speeds on that second computer, which is really, really old, have been awesome and much, much higher then my new system.

    Out of the two Ethernet ports available, I need to use only one to connect to my cable modem.... does it make any difference which one i should use? Is there anything that could be affecting my Internet Speeds?

    Thanks.
    ~~ ++: Primary Rig :++ ~~

    Alienware M17x-r2 [SPACE BLACK]
    Core i7-820QM | 17" 1200p RGBLED LCD | 8 GB DDR3-1333MHz | Dual 1GB Crossfire ATI 5870 | 1TB Raid 0 (2x 500GB 7200RPM HDDs) | Blu-ray Reader + DVD-DL Burner | Intel Ultimate N WiFi Link 6300 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Alienware Messenger Bag | Razer Orochi Bluetooth

  5. #105
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dr^_^Gon Land
    Posts
    684
    My internet connection runs flawless with the ethernet port below
    E8400@3.6ghz 1.11v |Asus P5E3 deluxe bios 1001| 2 giga Cellshock DDR3 12800@1696mhz|Samsung Syncmaster 2232BW 22' | Asus 8800 GTS² 512 TOP|Western digital sata 500 SE16 | Blu Ray LG GGW-H20LRB| Creative X-fi platinum|Nexus 600W | case Coolermaster 1000 "Storm"
    Xeon E3110@3.6ghz 1.15v|Asus P5K premium "blackpearl" bios 503|2 gigas Cellshock DDR2 8500 |Twintech 9600 GT|nec 1970 GX|Gigabyte 3D aurora case

    E8400(Q804A249) valid@ 4.8 ghz 1.56v
    Xeon E3110 (Q746A534)valid@ 4.79 ghz 1.59v real bios AIR /superpi 1m@9.968 .. under vista

    My Ibanez 540S " Saber "overclocked with Di Marzio and Sperzel
    My cousin on drums Hi Brian !

  6. #106
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    720
    Quote Originally Posted by Mykou
    My internet connection runs flawless with the ethernet port below
    You mean the colored one? The one which is with the USB port that you have to connect the remote to? I have my ethernet cable connected to the port on top... the one closer to Audio Ports, not the one below... maybe i should switch.

    Also... i'm using the drivers that came on the CD for the Ethernet Ports... are there any newer drivers i should be installing?
    ~~ ++: Primary Rig :++ ~~

    Alienware M17x-r2 [SPACE BLACK]
    Core i7-820QM | 17" 1200p RGBLED LCD | 8 GB DDR3-1333MHz | Dual 1GB Crossfire ATI 5870 | 1TB Raid 0 (2x 500GB 7200RPM HDDs) | Blu-ray Reader + DVD-DL Burner | Intel Ultimate N WiFi Link 6300 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Alienware Messenger Bag | Razer Orochi Bluetooth

  7. #107
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dr^_^Gon Land
    Posts
    684
    yes this one near the usb where asus say to plug the remote receiver

    I used Cd drivers , haven't check if new ones released
    E8400@3.6ghz 1.11v |Asus P5E3 deluxe bios 1001| 2 giga Cellshock DDR3 12800@1696mhz|Samsung Syncmaster 2232BW 22' | Asus 8800 GTS² 512 TOP|Western digital sata 500 SE16 | Blu Ray LG GGW-H20LRB| Creative X-fi platinum|Nexus 600W | case Coolermaster 1000 "Storm"
    Xeon E3110@3.6ghz 1.15v|Asus P5K premium "blackpearl" bios 503|2 gigas Cellshock DDR2 8500 |Twintech 9600 GT|nec 1970 GX|Gigabyte 3D aurora case

    E8400(Q804A249) valid@ 4.8 ghz 1.56v
    Xeon E3110 (Q746A534)valid@ 4.79 ghz 1.59v real bios AIR /superpi 1m@9.968 .. under vista

    My Ibanez 540S " Saber "overclocked with Di Marzio and Sperzel
    My cousin on drums Hi Brian !

  8. #108
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    720
    Quote Originally Posted by MacClipper
    the one below the PCI slot, with 0903 it works quite well, was able to flash new burner firmware and do successful 18x burns,
    http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=189057
    I have an old Maxtor 41GB IDE, and 2 DVD Burners (Pioneer DVR-111D & Optorite). Should i connect the two DVD Burners to the JMicron Port and the Maxtor IDE to the Intel IDE Controller? My Pioneer DVR-111D is capable of burning 16X DVDs... will i be able to do that connected to the JMicron Controller? I know the Manual is wrong where it said that JMicron Controller doesn't support ATAPI... still i connected my IDE To JMicron and DVD Burners to Intel Controller for the fear that JMicron may not work properly with Burners.
    ~~ ++: Primary Rig :++ ~~

    Alienware M17x-r2 [SPACE BLACK]
    Core i7-820QM | 17" 1200p RGBLED LCD | 8 GB DDR3-1333MHz | Dual 1GB Crossfire ATI 5870 | 1TB Raid 0 (2x 500GB 7200RPM HDDs) | Blu-ray Reader + DVD-DL Burner | Intel Ultimate N WiFi Link 6300 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Alienware Messenger Bag | Razer Orochi Bluetooth

  9. #109
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    720
    Thanks! I'll switch today and see if that makes a difference.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mykou
    yes this one near the usb where asus say to plug the remote receiver

    I used Cd drivers , haven't check if new ones released
    ~~ ++: Primary Rig :++ ~~

    Alienware M17x-r2 [SPACE BLACK]
    Core i7-820QM | 17" 1200p RGBLED LCD | 8 GB DDR3-1333MHz | Dual 1GB Crossfire ATI 5870 | 1TB Raid 0 (2x 500GB 7200RPM HDDs) | Blu-ray Reader + DVD-DL Burner | Intel Ultimate N WiFi Link 6300 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Alienware Messenger Bag | Razer Orochi Bluetooth

  10. #110
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by MacClipper
    Found a new bug in 0801 (and 0701 too), it keeps the drives hooked to the JMicron port in PIO mode (at least, it does for my PATA DVD burners), UDMA is enabled with 0903.
    Enabling the SATA/RAID bootrom for the JMicron controller from BIOS (801 & 901) fixed this for me. Just like your dvd drive my Hitachi PATA hd showed up in PIO mode under device manager.

    For me, AIBooster doesn't make any changes on the fly with either of the 90x bioses. 801 works fine though.
    Last edited by maukka; 08-09-2006 at 12:57 PM.

  11. #111
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    sweden
    Posts
    529
    wich bios is recomended to my rig??
    x6800
    P5WDH DL
    EXTREEM PC2-6400
    X1900XTX soon to be CF
    Silverstone Zeus 850W
    benchrigg-Intel i7-965 Extreme Edition-GB EX58-UD5-TRI Channel Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz-2x250Gb Hdd raid 0- Corsair HX 1000W modular PSU-Sapphire HD3870 TOXIC 512MB XFIRE.

    24/7 Rig|Gigabyte DS3 rev-2.0|P4 925 D 3Ghz|Crucial PC2 533 D9GMH 2x1024|gainward 7300GS 256mb|120g+200g+200gbhdd+ 2x sata II 200gb+ 350gb sataII|psu Hiper 580w modular


  12. #112
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London - UK
    Posts
    3,368
    Quote Originally Posted by Pedro Rocha
    Sticky - very helpfull and organized Problems & Fixes Thread

    Please keep 1st post updated lawrywild
    TYVM Pedro, will do
    Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3GHz . DFI DK P45-T2RS Plus . XFX 9800GT 512MB . 8GB OCZ Blade PC2-9200 . WD6400AAKS AHCI .
    Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic . Hanns.G 28" LCD . Thermalright U120-E . Seasonic S12 600w . Windows 7 Professional E Retail x64 .

  13. #113
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    HB
    Posts
    536
    Anyone sucessfully running crossfire with this board? I might pull the trigger this weekend but have not seen anyone saying they run crossfire.
    - If you want manufacturers to come here and be with the community -you deal with them as part of the community and not free therapy for self-esteem issues.

  14. #114
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    285
    If anyone is interested, there is a link to a modded bios for P5W DH in http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=106563


    AFAIK, it increases vmch selections

    Use at your own risk!
    Current
    Asus P5W DH Deluxe (1503 bios); Boxed E6700(week 23)@3.6 Ghz 1.5 vcore 24/7; 3.75 Dual 32M ;boots @ 3954; 4 Gig member
    Scythe Mine 3 ; BFG 7600GT OC ;
    OCZ EL 2X1 gig PC2 8000 Platinum XTC Extreme Edition 4-5-4-15 @ 4-4-4-12
    OCZ 600 Watt GameXtreme SLI; 2 WD2500KS SATA2 (raid 0); Win XP Pro Sp2;
    Westinghouse 47 inch 1080p LCD Monitor


    Retired
    PD 805 (lapped) @ 4.01; OCZ EL 2X1 gig PC2 8000 Platinum XTC Extreme Edition 4-5-4-15 @ 3.3.3.8 1:2 on 805 ;
    Backup
    Asrock 939dual; +3500; 2X512 Corsair XMS 4400 2.5-4-4-8; stock cooler; BFG 6800 GS; Seagate 80 gig; Antec 400 watt

  15. #115
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    625
    Quote Originally Posted by maukka
    Enabling the SATA/RAID bootrom for the JMicron controller from BIOS (801 & 901) fixed this for me. Just like your dvd drive my Hitachi PATA hd showed up in PIO mode under device manager.

    For me, AIBooster doesn't make any changes on the fly with either of the 90x bioses. 801 works fine though.
    Boot ROM was always left enabled but no go for UDMA on PATA ATAPI devices. zevia of CDFreaks also reported he did not have any UDMA trouble with his SATA Plextor DVD burner (ie. a SATA ATAPI device) with earlier BIOS like 0701. Unlike harddisks as in your IBM IDE, ATAPI support seems a afterthought to many manufacturers of drive controllers eg. Promise.

    @mickey - leave your burners at the Intel controllers for best compatibility, I'm still testing how good the JMIcron is for ATAPI stuff since it is so new esp. to me. btw, if you are adventurous, go crossflash the 111D to 111L for a much better feature set, see CDFreaks for more info.

  16. #116
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    329
    Any ideas on why SPD needs to be enabled over 360~ or so?

    I had (2) problems:

    1) Was not getting a restart after changing bios settings around 350~ FSB. It would sit at a black screen powered on. I still get this sometimes, but SPD seems to have "fixed" it so it actually reposts, just doesn't restart. But sometimes it does.

    Even if I just change FSB, it sometimes does, sometimes not.

    2) With manual timings at 1:1 354, 355, 356 (Wouldn't post past 356), Orthos/Sp/Prime would just freeze my pc. The strangest part is, no sounds, fans, or lights would change, but my mouse would turn off.

    I tried using an old mouse and disabling USB legacy, etc, no change.

    _______________________

    All that said, I'm at 3.33, 1:1, (Stable), 1.4V Bios, Auto on all other voltages. Idle at 28-30, load at 44.

    ^^Not bad.
    stuff goes here.. etc etc.. i win.. lalala.. pwn etc

  17. #117
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    44
    I really hope they can fix AIBooster, it's always showing as 163fsb (at 175 w/ PD805) and sometimes does the 255c temperature, as well as Asus Probe And I have to reset the computer if I wanna do on the fly voltage/fsb changes.
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2ghz w/ Zalman CNPS9500LED
    G. Skill 2x 1GB DDR2-800 ZX
    P5W DH Deluxe
    Asus X1900XT
    Lian Li V1000B II Plus
    32gb WD Raptor 10krpm SATA
    320gb Seagate 7.2krpm SATA
    Kingwin 600MA1

  18. #118
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by RickCain
    Anyone sucessfully running crossfire with this board? I might pull the trigger this weekend but have not seen anyone saying they run crossfire.
    I'm running it with no problems. Even after the two cards are installed, I still have room for my sound card and there is still one PCI Express slot available.


    Gaming rig

    CPU.........................Intel QX6850 @ 3800, 8x475
    Motherboard.............DK P35 Dark
    Video.......................8800 Ultra
    RAM.........................4x1 OCZ Titanium Alpha VX2
    Hard drives...............2 Raptors in RAID0
    Sound card...............X-Fi Fatal1ty, Medusa 5.1 headphones
    PSU.........................PCP&C 1KW(custom build)
    CPU cooling..............Liquid
    Hardware cooling.......Liquid cooled card and NB
    Case........................Custom 22" cube by M.M.
    OS...........................XP Pro

  19. #119
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    394
    The AI booster think is really annoying...anyone with Gskill PC6400 HZ D9 chips can run them any other divider than 1:1?...Cause mine is working only 1:1 any other dividier reboot or not even boot into bios...

    Regards,
    Primoz
    CPU: Q2C 6600 @ 3712mhz 1.456V
    MOBO: DFI LT P35
    MEMORY: Gskill F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ
    GPU: ASUS 8800GTS 320mb
    PSU: Enermax Infinity 650W
    CASE: CM Stacker 01 rev. 2.0 balck
    COOLING: MCP355+Alphacool moded TOP, AQ MP-05 SP LE, Cooltech DUAL, EK RES 200

  20. #120
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    353
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstechno
    I really hope they can fix AIBooster, it's always showing as 163fsb (at 175 w/ PD805) and sometimes does the 255c temperature, as well as Asus Probe And I have to reset the computer if I wanna do on the fly voltage/fsb changes.
    Did you try the newest version of the AIBooster posted about half way down on this page?

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...=106563&page=9

  21. #121
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    1,713
    Did you anyone tried MODDED BIOS? With 1.85V NB option? Is it working?

  22. #122
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dr^_^Gon Land
    Posts
    684
    Quote Originally Posted by Primoz78
    The AI booster think is really annoying...anyone with Gskill PC6400 HZ D9 chips can run them any other divider than 1:1?...Cause mine is working only 1:1 any other dividier reboot or not even boot into bios...

    Regards,
    Primoz
    Mine actually run at 4:5 and rig stable at 3.43 ghz

    Now testing 3.6 ghz Superpi 32 stable , have to run prime
    E8400@3.6ghz 1.11v |Asus P5E3 deluxe bios 1001| 2 giga Cellshock DDR3 12800@1696mhz|Samsung Syncmaster 2232BW 22' | Asus 8800 GTS² 512 TOP|Western digital sata 500 SE16 | Blu Ray LG GGW-H20LRB| Creative X-fi platinum|Nexus 600W | case Coolermaster 1000 "Storm"
    Xeon E3110@3.6ghz 1.15v|Asus P5K premium "blackpearl" bios 503|2 gigas Cellshock DDR2 8500 |Twintech 9600 GT|nec 1970 GX|Gigabyte 3D aurora case

    E8400(Q804A249) valid@ 4.8 ghz 1.56v
    Xeon E3110 (Q746A534)valid@ 4.79 ghz 1.59v real bios AIR /superpi 1m@9.968 .. under vista

    My Ibanez 540S " Saber "overclocked with Di Marzio and Sperzel
    My cousin on drums Hi Brian !

  23. #123
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    394
    Quote Originally Posted by Mykou
    Mine actually run at 4:5 and rig stable at 3.43 ghz

    Now testing 3.6 ghz Superpi 32 stable , have to run prime
    Can you give me the exact BIOS settings you are using?...you have an E6400 as I can see..? I will try to rise the VCORE today to get it stable at 400FSB so I can hold them on 800mhz....

    Regards,
    Primoz
    CPU: Q2C 6600 @ 3712mhz 1.456V
    MOBO: DFI LT P35
    MEMORY: Gskill F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ
    GPU: ASUS 8800GTS 320mb
    PSU: Enermax Infinity 650W
    CASE: CM Stacker 01 rev. 2.0 balck
    COOLING: MCP355+Alphacool moded TOP, AQ MP-05 SP LE, Cooltech DUAL, EK RES 200

  24. #124
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Mykou
    Mine actually run at 4:5 and rig stable at 3.43 ghz

    Now testing 3.6 ghz Superpi 32 stable , have to run prime

    Dude can you post you bios settings? My gear is arriving tomorrow, same stuff only corsair mem instead of G.Skill

    I would really appriciate it! Thanx

  25. #125
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dr^_^Gon Land
    Posts
    684
    Yep I have E6400 and E6700 ( actually running it )

    My bios settings if could help you E6700@3.43 ghz

    -FSb 343 mhz
    -Vcore 1.4375 ( in bios 701 )
    -Vdimm 2.2v
    -Vfsb, Vich and Vmch auto
    -PCI-e 105 mhz
    -Path 3 disabled
    -Ram throttle auto
    -only microcode enabled ( C2T,EIST,Virtualisation all OFF )
    -PEg heavier
    -Ram settings manual at 858 mhz ( so 4:5 ) if I well remember ( cas 4 /4/3/12

    I can now boot at 3.6 ghz ( 360 x 10 )under xp but not prime stable just superpi 32 and good score under aquamark 03 ( 20272 cpu score , I did compare to PcCI2iminal when he benched @3.6 ghz but 1:1 ratio and score about 19000 so I may think that running 4:5 is sweet too , P5W is very mem divider sensitive IMO though I met issues at 1:1 lol and others can't run it at 4:5 )

    Could run E6400 at 3.1 ghz ( 375 x 8 ) stable

    Think I have to go for WC if I want more and stable

    But 3.43 ghz is a good deal IMO since I 'm still with air cooling

    Hope it helps you


    Edit: have to update my sig
    Last edited by Mykou; 08-10-2006 at 01:17 AM.
    E8400@3.6ghz 1.11v |Asus P5E3 deluxe bios 1001| 2 giga Cellshock DDR3 12800@1696mhz|Samsung Syncmaster 2232BW 22' | Asus 8800 GTS² 512 TOP|Western digital sata 500 SE16 | Blu Ray LG GGW-H20LRB| Creative X-fi platinum|Nexus 600W | case Coolermaster 1000 "Storm"
    Xeon E3110@3.6ghz 1.15v|Asus P5K premium "blackpearl" bios 503|2 gigas Cellshock DDR2 8500 |Twintech 9600 GT|nec 1970 GX|Gigabyte 3D aurora case

    E8400(Q804A249) valid@ 4.8 ghz 1.56v
    Xeon E3110 (Q746A534)valid@ 4.79 ghz 1.59v real bios AIR /superpi 1m@9.968 .. under vista

    My Ibanez 540S " Saber "overclocked with Di Marzio and Sperzel
    My cousin on drums Hi Brian !

Page 5 of 340 FirstFirst ... 23456781555105 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •