Page 3 of 25 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 613

Thread: "Core Temp" - A program for accurate K8 temperature monitoring

  1. #51
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    1,144
    Update2:
    Well I've done some reading and investigated largon's results.
    It seems that the offset probably applies to the readout given by this sensor. and from what I've seen in some dumps of different chips, that offset could be as small as 1-3C (in either direction) upto over 10C.

    Quote Originally Posted by SoF
    looked nice but testing on my rig was not good

    ~2°C (Mach I cooled), 2890 MHZ and 1.55V but the program has nothing correct well as long as it's working for others I say it's a good tool anyway
    I also had a nasty bug where it would not show any temperature below 0 that is now fixed.

    I updated to build 85 with offset support and it should now show sub-zero temps, see how it works out for you.

    Quote Originally Posted by NickS
    Yea he said above it doesn't read below 0*C

    Only 0-127*C
    Sorry I managed to miss it... AMD chips can report -49 to 206C, Intel chips upto 127 below TCaseMax/Tjunction.
    Last edited by The Coolest; 07-05-2006 at 02:19 PM.
    Member of Overclockers.com Folding @ Home team
    "<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / Mobo: Asrock Fatal1ty X470 / EVO 970 500GB + WD Blue 250GB + HDD / GPU: Dell RX 570 4GB / Mem: 2x16GB DDR4-3200 G.Skill 32GTZKW TridentZ - 32GB total / PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W
    Secondary rigs:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.3GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / 2x Inland Pro 120GB / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 8GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ 4.0GHz (Freezer 7 Pro) / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: Antec 380W.

    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

  2. #52
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Upstate, NY
    Posts
    5,612
    Ah, ok Sounds good man. I trust this program more than mobo readings anyway.
    Core i3-550 Clarkdale @ 4.2GHz, 1.36v (Corsair A50 HS/F) LinX Stable
    MSI H55-GD65 Motherboard
    G.Skill 4GBRL DDR3-1600 @ 1755, CL9, 1.55v
    Sapphire Radeon 5750 1GB
    Samsung F4 320GB - WD Green 1TB
    Xigmatek Utgard Case - Corsair VX550

  3. #53
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    1,144
    Well I guess I was wrong again, and adding Offset detection in most cases FUBARs results. I removed it in build 86.
    Member of Overclockers.com Folding @ Home team
    "<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / Mobo: Asrock Fatal1ty X470 / EVO 970 500GB + WD Blue 250GB + HDD / GPU: Dell RX 570 4GB / Mem: 2x16GB DDR4-3200 G.Skill 32GTZKW TridentZ - 32GB total / PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W
    Secondary rigs:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.3GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / 2x Inland Pro 120GB / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 8GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ 4.0GHz (Freezer 7 Pro) / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: Antec 380W.

    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

  4. #54
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    159
    holy cow...20 degrees difference on mine...

    AM2 3500+ (Orleans) + Biostar TForce 550...mobo prog reads 30 while yours says 51-53
    AMD X2 3600+ Brisbane @ 3GHz | Biostar T-Force 550 | 2GB Corsair XMS2 6400C4
    eVGA 8800GTS @ 640/2080 | Hitachi Deskstar 160GB SATA-II
    OCZ GameXStream 700w | Fuji-Plus 19" | NEC 3550a 16x DVD+RW

  5. #55
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    161
    This does not show half multis cpuz is correct

    Epox 9ND3A+
    Amd 64 Winchester 290x9
    Amd 64 Venice 300x9
    Adata Vitesta 2x256mb PC4800
    Patriot XBLX 2X512MB
    Windows sp 2

  6. #56
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Upstate, NY
    Posts
    5,612
    Quote Originally Posted by akijikan
    holy cow...20 degrees difference on mine...

    AM2 3500+ (Orleans) + Biostar TForce 550...mobo prog reads 30 while yours says 51-53
    At 2.9Ghz that sounds just about right.
    Core i3-550 Clarkdale @ 4.2GHz, 1.36v (Corsair A50 HS/F) LinX Stable
    MSI H55-GD65 Motherboard
    G.Skill 4GBRL DDR3-1600 @ 1755, CL9, 1.55v
    Sapphire Radeon 5750 1GB
    Samsung F4 320GB - WD Green 1TB
    Xigmatek Utgard Case - Corsair VX550

  7. #57
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    159
    yeah I believe it...just surprised the mobo prog is that far off
    AMD X2 3600+ Brisbane @ 3GHz | Biostar T-Force 550 | 2GB Corsair XMS2 6400C4
    eVGA 8800GTS @ 640/2080 | Hitachi Deskstar 160GB SATA-II
    OCZ GameXStream 700w | Fuji-Plus 19" | NEC 3550a 16x DVD+RW

  8. #58
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Upstate, NY
    Posts
    5,612
    I don't know how mobo manufacturers screw up the temp readings so badly, rofl.

    Nick
    Core i3-550 Clarkdale @ 4.2GHz, 1.36v (Corsair A50 HS/F) LinX Stable
    MSI H55-GD65 Motherboard
    G.Skill 4GBRL DDR3-1600 @ 1755, CL9, 1.55v
    Sapphire Radeon 5750 1GB
    Samsung F4 320GB - WD Green 1TB
    Xigmatek Utgard Case - Corsair VX550

  9. #59
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    are you saying that this proggie is reading AMD's internal CPU core temp sensor why the hell aren't manufacturers using this rather than some MF sorry ass POS CPU temp sensor on DFI NF4 Expert i have..........

    there's a massive thread over at DFI street related to inaccurate CPU readings..........looks like we have a winner here

    i'll be following this thread with interest...........


    and if this thing is right i'll finally be able to substantiate the claims i made about massive under reporting
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  10. #60
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Requests the title to be changed to reflect the current thread accurately
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  11. #61
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    AMD galaxy
    Posts
    554
    It has a bug...

    -49C? WTF?

    DFI UT NF4 Ultra-D R.AB0 | Bios: 0406BTA | Coolermaster Hyper6+ | 2x1GB G.Skill F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ | Samsung SH-S203B | VTB Master | SAN-55 Dual 12v | Dell S2409W

    CPU1: AMD64 3000+ LBBLE 0517APAW 295x9 1.40v / 300x9 1.45v / 317x9 1.45v+110%
    CPU2: Opteron 170 CBBWE 0550UPMW 265x10 1.40v
    Mem: 285Mhz 3-4-4-7 1T 2.6v

  12. #62
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    AMD galaxy
    Posts
    554
    When it runs well it seems there's a big difference between the mobo reading and the *real* core temp.

    DFI UT NF4 Ultra-D R.AB0 | Bios: 0406BTA | Coolermaster Hyper6+ | 2x1GB G.Skill F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ | Samsung SH-S203B | VTB Master | SAN-55 Dual 12v | Dell S2409W

    CPU1: AMD64 3000+ LBBLE 0517APAW 295x9 1.40v / 300x9 1.45v / 317x9 1.45v+110%
    CPU2: Opteron 170 CBBWE 0550UPMW 265x10 1.40v
    Mem: 285Mhz 3-4-4-7 1T 2.6v

  13. #63
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    98
    seems to work brill on my fx60, core 1-37c core 2-33c, that will be why core 1 always fails prime first
    fx60@3.0ghz, A8R32-MVP, Corsair XMS3500Pro, x1900xt Crossfire Setup, Acer 24" pi1m 26.203
    3D Mark 01-40435, 03-32515, 05-16708 06-10308 http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=102457

  14. #64
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    hey The Coolest

    You're definately onto something here

    this looks about right with closed case 100% on both cores loaded with F@H clients 24/7 2550MHz @1.47V

    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  15. #65
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    39
    Very nice programs The Coolest.. Well done man

    Here are mine on idle. Is there suppose to be a difference between the two cores temp?

    GA-EP3-DS3P | INTEL Q9450 @ 3.6 1.36v | TUNIQ TOWER| 2X2GB CORSAIR XMS2 | 5-5-5-15 | COOLMASTER M620 | GeCube HD3870 870/1371 | ChiMei 22" LCD 5ms | Thermaltake Armor Silver

  16. #66
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    yeah there should be

    ..........maybe your IHS is not sitting well on one side of the CPU or something...........the highest difference i've seen during idling and load is around 3C
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  17. #67
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    39
    yeh could be possible man.. may have to check it out one day when i can be bothered
    GA-EP3-DS3P | INTEL Q9450 @ 3.6 1.36v | TUNIQ TOWER| 2X2GB CORSAIR XMS2 | 5-5-5-15 | COOLMASTER M620 | GeCube HD3870 870/1371 | ChiMei 22" LCD 5ms | Thermaltake Armor Silver

  18. #68
    Xtreme Member soundx98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Cantundastan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    292
    As always, Excellent work, TheCoolest.
    I am getting a slight "bouncing" (1 degree C) but it is virtually identical to the MBM5 reading (in Vista x64 on this shot, I'll try different OSes and voltage levels later today)


  19. #69
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,204
    Thanks TheCoolest

    idle temps seem to match mbm5:


    but load readings are a lot different:
    i950 (3035B684)
    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
    3x4GB G.Skill PC3-12800 7-8-7-24
    HIS Radeon HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC
    Asus Xonar DX
    128GB C300, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's
    Corsair AX850W
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

  20. #70
    Xtreme Member soundx98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Cantundastan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    292
    Hardly scientific but I let all three OSes just sit at idle for 10 minutes after rebooting (XP Pro, x64 Edition, and Vista x64).
    XP Pro always is about 3-4 degrees less than Vista
    XP x64 Edition is always a degree or 2 higher than XP Pro (or 2 degrees less than Vista)
    So Vista x64 is always 3-4 higher than XP 32 and 2 degrees higher than x64 Ed.
    This is real consistent with what I have found a dozen times before but I though it was an anomaly of MBM5. But CPU temp is reading the same so maybe not.
    (voltages have identical readings)

    @Pyr0, I am NOT seeing any difference at load using SP2004.
    All these screenshots were after a couple of minutes, but they were still tracking (CPUTemp and MBM5) after running SP2004 for an hour+ in both XP32 and Vista x64. (temps rose a degree or two after an hour)

    Vista Idle


    x64 Edition Idle


    XP Pro (32bit) Load


    Vista x64 Load


    CPUTemp is also working the same on the Dual Core Rig.
    Gonna try some other software monitoring utilities next

  21. #71
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    1,144
    Pyr0 redownload to get the 86 build and post a couple of screenshots please

    Version 0.9.0.86 - 5th July, 2006
    - Removed Sensor Offset support - Since it gave very inaccurate readings.
    - Fixed a bug where a non-CnQ chip would report x4 Multiplier.

    Version 0.9.0.85 - 5th July, 2006
    - Added Sensor Offset support for more accurate results.
    - Fixed a bug with the program failing to show temps lower than 0C.
    Member of Overclockers.com Folding @ Home team
    "<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / Mobo: Asrock Fatal1ty X470 / EVO 970 500GB + WD Blue 250GB + HDD / GPU: Dell RX 570 4GB / Mem: 2x16GB DDR4-3200 G.Skill 32GTZKW TridentZ - 32GB total / PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W
    Secondary rigs:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.3GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / 2x Inland Pro 120GB / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 8GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ 4.0GHz (Freezer 7 Pro) / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: Antec 380W.

    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

  22. #72
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    16,048
    Question about this, I load it up and it says my CPU is currently at 44*C - no wait, 45.. uh 43... now 45 again, back to 44.... 45... 43.. 44... why is it bouncing around so much?

    By the way Asus PC Probe reports CPU at a steady 41*C
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 10 Pro x64

  23. #73
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,204
    Quote Originally Posted by The Coolest
    Pyr0 redownload to get the 86 build and post a couple of screenshots please
    sure

    idle:

    load:
    Last edited by Pyr0; 07-06-2006 at 10:27 AM.
    i950 (3035B684)
    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
    3x4GB G.Skill PC3-12800 7-8-7-24
    HIS Radeon HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC
    Asus Xonar DX
    128GB C300, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's
    Corsair AX850W
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

  24. #74
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    4,120
    Is there a reason why no other program for 3 years has been able to do this?
    i5 750 4.20GHz @ NH-D14 | 8GB | P7P55DLE | 8800U | Indilinx SSD + Samsung F3 | HAF922 + CM750W
    Past: Q6600 @ 3.60 E6400 @ 3.60 | E6300 @ 3.40 | O165 @ 2.90 | X2 4400+ @ 2.80 | X2 3800+ @ 2.70 | VE 3200+ @ 2.80 | WI 3200+ @ 2.75 | WI 3000+ no IHS @ 2.72 | TBB 1700+ @ 2.60 | XP-M 2500+ @ 2.63 | NC 2800+ @ 2.40 | AB 1.60GHz @ 2.60
    Quote Originally Posted by CompGeek
    The US is the only country that doesn't use [nuclear weapons] to terrorize other countries. The US is based on Christian values, unlike any other country in the world. Granted we are straying from our Christian heritage, but we still have a freedom aimed diplomatic stance.

  25. #75
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by IvanAndreevich
    Is there a reason why no other program for 3 years has been able to do this?
    i was wondering the same thing?
    * Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.0
    * Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi-AP
    * G.skill 2GB HZ
    * eVGA 7900GTO 512
    * Seagate 'Cuda 7200.10 320GB
    * 2005fpw, X-Fi, G15, G7, MX1000, fUnc F.10s, X-530's, Tagan u22-480-sli

Page 3 of 25 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •