Page 3 of 26 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 626

Thread: "Core Temp" - CPU Temerature monitoring tool

  1. #51
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Germany; Niedersachsen; Schaumburg; Bad Eilsen
    Posts
    134
    Something here is wrong ...

    Attached Images Attached Images
    I know my english isn´t the best ...

    my pc
    oVerkill.OC - Technic3D

  2. #52
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    258
    yea, it is also reporting mine as like 55-60 degrees when it's not even hot to the touch..while speedfan reports the low 30s.. not to mention it shows my vcore as 1.000

  3. #53
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    153
    Bump for an excellent program...

  4. #54
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London - UK
    Posts
    3,368
    I just touch my heatsink now and if it's only very mildly warm (which it is under full load) I just think nothing more of it and just ignore any other temp readings...
    Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3GHz . DFI DK P45-T2RS Plus . XFX 9800GT 512MB . 8GB OCZ Blade PC2-9200 . WD6400AAKS AHCI .
    Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic . Hanns.G 28" LCD . Thermalright U120-E . Seasonic S12 600w . Windows 7 Professional E Retail x64 .

  5. #55
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    66
    This program reports a lower CPU temp (6 C°) then Smart Guardian . . .



    CPU usage 100% (Prime 95)
    Last edited by All_Star; 08-28-2006 at 01:05 AM.

  6. #56
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    41
    Feeling stupid to ask this....but what exactly this prog shows? THe higher the core temps the better for the cpu? And how the Load temp is determined? Should i run Load tests and see where the Core#1 nad #2 temps will rise?

    And where can i find these readings on the bios? I have DS3 and 6400
    Q6600 ABIT IP35 pro, 4GB TEAM ELITE, HD5850, CHIFTEC 650W

  7. #57
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    154
    The lower the temp the better for the core. Its doubtfull wether core temp is accurate or not. You can see cpu and motherboard temps in the bios, or using something like the above everest or something.
    E6600/Asus P5W DH/X1900XT/ Enermax Liberty 620w PSU/ Raptor 74gig/G.Skill 2GB DDR2 NR PC2-6400
    Maxtor 250gig / Antec P180 / Audigy 2 ZS

  8. #58
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    notts uk
    Posts
    512
    i have found coretemp and tat report differant temps although they are reading the same sensors.
    i dont have pics atm but core temp showed 48C and tat 50C on both cores.
    under dual prime coretemp showed 63C on both and tat 59C
    When reading thermistors you have to run a formular to calculate the reading from the thermister using a resistance curve could these programs be using something like that or do they read from the probe direct. That would make sense if the formulars are slightly differant.

    one other thing i have noticed is the P5B dlx version 1.03G and asus probeII with E6600 show almost the same temps as coretemp perhaps 1-2C out which is good news.
    Asus P6T Dlx Palm , Core i7 920 , 3gb OCZ DDR3 1600 , 9600gt , cosmos 1000.


  9. #59
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    41
    I dont get it.....CPu temp in bios or Easytune or ITE smart or motherboard monitor or smth else is showing 41-42 C. AND THIS IS THE TEMP of the CPu. The temp all people measure ok?

    But this think shows 54-55 C. Is this temp the actual temp of the core (and so BIOS or other temo measuring progs are useless) the given time or it shows the higher Temp the core can reach before it BURNS-DIES (call it whatever u want)....

    And what is the Tcase MAX temp?????
    Q6600 ABIT IP35 pro, 4GB TEAM ELITE, HD5850, CHIFTEC 650W

  10. #60
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    154
    heres a thing.. just ran em all and look at that.

    Everest -
    Mobo 41c
    Cpu 46
    C1 62c
    C2 62c

    Speedfan
    Mobo 40c
    Cpu 49c

    Asus Probe2
    Mobo 40c
    Cpu 49c

    Core Temp
    C1 63c
    C2 63c

    Looking at that I would say Core temp is correct.

    E6600/Asus P5W DH/X1900XT/ Enermax Liberty 620w PSU/ Raptor 74gig/G.Skill 2GB DDR2 NR PC2-6400
    Maxtor 250gig / Antec P180 / Audigy 2 ZS

  11. #61
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    154
    Quote Originally Posted by snips
    I dont get it.....CPu temp in bios or Easytune or ITE smart or motherboard monitor or smth else is showing 41-42 C. AND THIS IS THE TEMP of the CPu. The temp all people measure ok?

    But this think shows 54-55 C. Is this temp the actual temp of the core (and so BIOS or other temo measuring progs are useless) the given time or it shows the higher Temp the core can reach before it BURNS-DIES (call it whatever u want)....

    And what is the Tcase MAX temp?????
    Dont worry your cpu is fine. Tcase max is the max your motherboard can stand, i beleive?
    E6600/Asus P5W DH/X1900XT/ Enermax Liberty 620w PSU/ Raptor 74gig/G.Skill 2GB DDR2 NR PC2-6400
    Maxtor 250gig / Antec P180 / Audigy 2 ZS

  12. #62
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimbo
    heres a thing.. just ran em all and look at that.

    Everest -
    Mobo 41c
    Cpu 46
    C1 62c
    C2 62c

    Speedfan
    Mobo 40c
    Cpu 49c

    Asus Probe2
    Mobo 40c
    Cpu 49c

    Core Temp
    C1 63c
    C2 63c

    Looking at that I would say Core temp is correct.

    Why correct? COres are showing bigger temps that the cpu in your measures...So is this OK?
    Q6600 ABIT IP35 pro, 4GB TEAM ELITE, HD5850, CHIFTEC 650W

  13. #63
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    154
    Im just going of everest and coretemp more or less being the same for both cores. and just about all are the same on cpu alone.
    E6600/Asus P5W DH/X1900XT/ Enermax Liberty 620w PSU/ Raptor 74gig/G.Skill 2GB DDR2 NR PC2-6400
    Maxtor 250gig / Antec P180 / Audigy 2 ZS

  14. #64
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    41
    Yes this is the result we see..
    But is it normal that the Cores of the CPU shows Bigger Temps thatn the actual CPU....i mean are these different sensors and if they are why we all pay attension to the CPU temperature when the CORE 1,2 are the temp that is critical....why companies displays this on their BIOS and not the temperature of the cores.....?
    Last edited by snips; 09-08-2006 at 10:12 AM.
    Q6600 ABIT IP35 pro, 4GB TEAM ELITE, HD5850, CHIFTEC 650W

  15. #65
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    154
    Becuase the sensor for the cores is read direct of the cpu its built in to it. And the other reading is coming from the motherboard sensor? this is how it was explained to me, anyway.

    I dont think 60c is in anyway a danger to the cpu though. Can somone eplain to us a bit better about the cpu and core readings please?
    E6600/Asus P5W DH/X1900XT/ Enermax Liberty 620w PSU/ Raptor 74gig/G.Skill 2GB DDR2 NR PC2-6400
    Maxtor 250gig / Antec P180 / Audigy 2 ZS

  16. #66
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    154
    CoreTemp reads the actual CPU die temps instead of reading somewhere on the motherboard (which ASUS Probe is doing) apparently lol.
    E6600/Asus P5W DH/X1900XT/ Enermax Liberty 620w PSU/ Raptor 74gig/G.Skill 2GB DDR2 NR PC2-6400
    Maxtor 250gig / Antec P180 / Audigy 2 ZS

  17. #67
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    154
    Heres our answer...

    What does the "CPU Diode" temperature shown on the Computer / Sensor page mean?

    CPU" temperature means the temperature measured around the CPU socket, whereas "CPU Diode" temperature means the temperature of the CPU core.
    E6600/Asus P5W DH/X1900XT/ Enermax Liberty 620w PSU/ Raptor 74gig/G.Skill 2GB DDR2 NR PC2-6400
    Maxtor 250gig / Antec P180 / Audigy 2 ZS

  18. #68
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,074
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimbo
    Dont worry your cpu is fine. Tcase max is the max your motherboard can stand, i beleive?
    TCaseMax is the maximum temperature of the IHS taken at the center.



    Tc temperatures are the ones used in calculations for cooling. Core temps are used for.....er....er.....throttling?

    Last edited by fornowagain; 09-08-2006 at 10:48 AM.

    i7| EX58-EXTREME | SSD M225 | Radbox | 5870CF + 9600GT

  19. #69
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimbo
    Heres our answer...

    What does the "CPU Diode" temperature shown on the Computer / Sensor page mean?

    CPU" temperature means the temperature measured around the CPU socket, whereas "CPU Diode" temperature means the temperature of the CPU core.
    WRONG! The mobo/bios reads the cpu temp from a thermal diode located on the C2D die, just like every Intel cpu since the P2, and this is the cpu temp read by Speedfan, AsusProbe, etc. iTAT, Everest and CoreTemp read the temps directly from separate digital thermal sensors located on hot spots of each core.

    There are no temp sensors located on the mobo, in the socket or near the socket. Since C2D is the only cpu in existance with these DTS on each core, the temps are relevant but in no way diminish the validity of the temp readings reported by the conventional on-die thermal diode which is the only temp reading directly comparable to other cpus with on-die thermal diodes (P4, K8, etc).
    Gigabyte GA965P-DS3
    E6400 @390FSB/3120MHz (1.40V)
    Scythe Ninja Plus 1500rpm fan
    2x1GB OCZ EL Platinum XTC Rev. 1 @DDR780/4-4-4-12/2.1V
    EVGA 7800GT-CO @500/1150
    Seagate 7200.10 320GB/16MB SATAII
    Etc.

  20. #70
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    154
    Right well why does Everest report 3 temps then? cpu/core1/2 and asus probe just 1 cpu temp? and core temp report 2?
    Last edited by Jimbo; 09-08-2006 at 12:04 PM.
    E6600/Asus P5W DH/X1900XT/ Enermax Liberty 620w PSU/ Raptor 74gig/G.Skill 2GB DDR2 NR PC2-6400
    Maxtor 250gig / Antec P180 / Audigy 2 ZS

  21. #71
    but coretemp show about 10c more then Load Temp is which one for OCing?
    Last edited by HamidFULL; 09-08-2006 at 12:18 PM.

  22. #72
    Unoriginal Macho Energy
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    3,159
    Here is what I think is going on. Yes speedfan and asus read some on die reading - idle/load jumps very quickly to confirm this. However, the difference between speedfan and Coretemp on most machines is ~ 13-16c with coretemp being hotter. My theory (just a hunch) is that speedfan and the motherboard temp programs are simulating a Tcase value. Yes they are reading ON DIE in the core, but you can manipulate values with this to simulate Tcase - I do believe there is a relationship between Tcase and Tjunction and it can be simulated although probably not a linear relationship. Of course, it is not a TRUE Tcase value as the only way to get this is to cut a channel in the IHS and place a probe in the center of the IHS. Coretemp and the Intel Thermal Analysis Tool I believe are reading the DTS at is raw value, meaning both programs are just displaying what the DTS is telling them. Again, there is no INSOCKET thermistors with C2D.

    *:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*
    GTZ --> MCW-NBMAX --> EK FC --> PA 120.3 --> PA 160.1 --> 2x DDC Ultras in Series --> Custom Clear Res
    "Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity."
    *:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*

    Quote Originally Posted by ranker View Post
    Did you just get hit in the head with a heavy object? Because obviously you're failing at reading comprehension.

  23. #73
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimbo
    Right well why does Everest report 3 temps then? cpu/core1/2 and asus probe just 1 cpu temp? and core temp report 2?
    Apparently Everest is reading all 3 sensors while Asus Probe, Speedfan, Easytune, etc. are only reading the conventional thermal diode. One thing I am very certain of is that Intel cpu temps haven't been read by mobo thermistors since the pentium days.
    Gigabyte GA965P-DS3
    E6400 @390FSB/3120MHz (1.40V)
    Scythe Ninja Plus 1500rpm fan
    2x1GB OCZ EL Platinum XTC Rev. 1 @DDR780/4-4-4-12/2.1V
    EVGA 7800GT-CO @500/1150
    Seagate 7200.10 320GB/16MB SATAII
    Etc.

  24. #74
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    324
    mine Reads 20c + over my bios @ idel and @ load over 70+c ERR wth Bug aso 1.000 volts really 1.74

  25. #75
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    notts uk
    Posts
    512
    Quote Originally Posted by nikhsub1
    Here is what I think is going on. Yes speedfan and asus read some on die reading - idle/load jumps very quickly to confirm this. However, the difference between speedfan and Coretemp on most machines is ~ 13-16c with coretemp being hotter. My theory (just a hunch) is that speedfan and the motherboard temp programs are simulating a Tcase value. Yes they are reading ON DIE in the core, but you can manipulate values with this to simulate Tcase - I do believe there is a relationship between Tcase and Tjunction and it can be simulated although probably not a linear relationship. Of course, it is not a TRUE Tcase value as the only way to get this is to cut a channel in the IHS and place a probe in the center of the IHS. Coretemp and the Intel Thermal Analysis Tool I believe are reading the DTS at is raw value, meaning both programs are just displaying what the DTS is telling them. Again, there is no INSOCKET thermistors with C2D.
    but why do tat and coretemp show differant temps if they both read the same on die probe there must be something else they are doingto the data.
    i see 4C differance under load.




    Last edited by leejsmith; 09-08-2006 at 05:35 PM.
    Asus P6T Dlx Palm , Core i7 920 , 3gb OCZ DDR3 1600 , 9600gt , cosmos 1000.


Page 3 of 26 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •