Page 1 of 25 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 619

Thread: "Core Temp" - CPU Temerature monitoring tool

  1. #1
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    1,129

    "Core Temp" - CPU Temerature monitoring tool

    Download Core Temp v1.10

    This program that lets you monitor Intel's Core, Xeon, Pentium, Celeron and Atom series, AMD Ryzen, APU, FX, Phenom, Athlon64 and later VIA C7 and Nano chips' die temperature.
    The temperature readings are very accurate as the data is collected from a Digital Thermal Sensor (or DTS) which is located in each individual processing core, near the hottest part.
    For more information click here

    There is also an article posted about Core Temp and a little background on standard thermal sensors - Article
    Please help out Core Temp popularity by Digging it.

    If you find any bugs, please post it in the "Bugs" section ASAP!
    Any suggestions on improvements or ideas are welcome in the "Development" section.
    Note 1: Please read the ReadMe!.txt file for some useful tips.

    Are you a developer yourself and have ideas for new features?
    Click here for information about developing your own plugins for Core Temp.

    What's new:

    Version 1.10 - 5th August, 2017

    *** Core Temp Monitor is now available, Windows Phone and Android apps apps to monitor your machines from anywhere in the world!
    More information is available here


    - Fix: Add correct temperature offsets for AMD Ryzen Threadripper X1920 and X1950.
    - Fix: In multi-socket AMD systems, switching into MiniMode would bring up all hidden windows of all running applications and services.
    - Fix: Support for MCM AMD CPUs. Only the highest temperature per CPU is displayed.
    - Fix: Socket C32 and G34 Opteron code names.
    - Fix: On some AMD Opteron systems the CPU model number is not displayed.
    - Fix: Detection of the C32 and G34 socket types for some Opteron CPUs.
    - Fix: Corrected TjMax on some older desktop Atom chips.


    Older versions
    Last edited by The Coolest; 08-05-2017 at 01:55 PM.
    Member of Overclockers.com Folding @ Home team
    "<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / Storage: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Secondary rig:
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

  2. #2
    ln2nl
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,677
    Another great piece of work keep on going!
    *EDITed by IFMU*
    Signature Removed by XS Staff for not following XS Policies

    Forum Policies

  3. #3
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SLOVENIJA
    Posts
    2,603
    so OPTERON isn't supported?
    ASUS P5K-E // E8400 Q746A519
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
    LC 550W GP// XPERTVISION 9600GT

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Broomfield, CO
    Posts
    4,088
    i ran this with my phase cooling, showed each core at 74C from maximum Tjunc or something like that

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    smyrna, TN
    Posts
    379
    cool program, definatly a plus

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    311
    Itd be interesting to see some comparisons between the motherboard reading and this program. Looks like great software though.

  7. #7
    Skulltrail Addict - XIP
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    923
    nice software, I will try it tomorrow to see to how low it will read the temps on my bad axe

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ajaccio (Corsica)
    Posts
    114
    I'm using it since i have my Yonah great soft
    E8200
    EP45-UD3R
    2*2Go OCZ reaper 8500
    BFG 8800GTS 640M

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    Shows one core @ 26C and one @ 34C 100% dual load (rosetta) @ 1.6v... is this correct? Can there be THAT much difference between the two?
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    253
    It gives me both cores at 26C, either idleing or priming.
    Comp 1 : NCASE M1, Asus Z170I PRO Gaming, Intel i7-6700K, G.Skill 2x4Gb 3466MHz, Samsung 950 Pro (512), Samsung 840 Pro (256), WD Red (5TB), Asus nVidia GTX 980 4Gb, Silverstone SX600-G, LG 34UM95
    Comp 2 : Commodore Amiga 4000D, Cyberstorm MK2 68060 50Mhz 128Mb, Cybervision 64 4Mb, FastATA MK-VI, Indivision AGA MK2cr
    Comp 3 : Commodore Amiga 600, Vampire 600 V2 128Mb, Indivision ECS, 32Gb CF

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    smyrna, TN
    Posts
    379
    Quote Originally Posted by CompGeek
    Shows one core @ 26C and one @ 34C 100% dual load (rosetta) @ 1.6v... is this correct? Can there be THAT much difference between the two?
    its all in the ihs mount, at least it was on the amd side, this will be my first intel venture since my celeron 566, wow now that was ages ago

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    332
    Quote Originally Posted by CompGeek
    Shows one core @ 26C and one @ 34C 100% dual load (rosetta) @ 1.6v... is this correct? Can there be THAT much difference between the two?
    I get the same thing too on my yonah

    T2600ES QKHK 1.5v @ 3GHz watercooled
    core1: 25C
    core2: 34C
    after R@H overnight

  13. #13
    Slayer X
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,574
    I had run some alpha testing of the proggy with TheCoolest on a Conroe and had temp probes installed on the IHS as well as on the heatsink. The delta's between Heatsink temps / IHS temps / CORETEMP read temps were perfectly fine and correct with the programs reading

    While under idle and low temp conditions the deltas were very small - the higher the loads / temps were, obviously the bigger the deltas got and I am very confident that the reading of CORETEMP are right on the money.

    Obviously every probe can have its own variance in its readings - which on occasion can explain a higher reading on one core or the other - or the fact that on dual core cpus - one of the cores might run more efficient - and therefore cooler than the other.

  14. #14
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    or the cores may not quite be flat, or uneven TIM between the core and the IHS or even a convex/concave IHS..
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  15. #15

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    213
    Cool stuff. Is it possible to add support for Preslers, X2 and still get similarly accurate temps?

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brooklyn, New York
    Posts
    2,251
    Quote Originally Posted by toddm27
    its all in the ihs mount, at least it was on the amd side, this will be my first intel venture since my celeron 566, wow now that was ages ago
    That makes no sense at all. The two cores are on the same die, so the IHS doesn't affect more than the other.
    Heatware: 50-0-0
    Quote Originally Posted by Charile
    I believe that GWB, who may NOT be the best overclocking CPU in the tray...
    Quote Originally Posted by -thc-(cZ) View Post
    oh c'mon, maxxx, kick that cat of that monitor and have it poop for you

  18. #18
    Slayer X
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,574
    Quote Originally Posted by Tyrou
    it doesn't work at cascade temps on my intel 975X, shows +125C

    Lowest temp it will show is +4C - after that it goes AWOL

  19. #19
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    I´m getting pretty weird readings with Bad Axe and E6700 B0 combo...
    With Tuniq Tower 120 heatsink, 6x345MHz frequency and 1.27V the program shows idle temperatures for both cores at 83c.

    The bios reads 65c.

    Contact between the heatsink and chip is also perfect.

    With stock heatsink, 2666MHz frequency and 1.3V the program reads 71c for both cores. This time the bios reads 75c.

    Have I missed something or is there something wrong with the program?

  20. #20
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    1,170
    Yup I get the same kind of results, Intels temp monitoring program says 70 deg C full load 1.525V 3.25GHz on watercooling in sig with good contact between block and CPU. Core Temp say approaching 90 degrees C. Given that the board (965XBX) is reputed to give temperatures up to 20 Deg C over actual temp and my temp sensor which touches the side of the IHS says 34 I think somethings wrong.
    Asus P9X79 Pro | i7 3820 @ 4.875GHz | 4x4GB Corsair DDR3-1600| 3x 6970 Lightnings watercooled| Corsair 1200W PSU | Mountain Mods Ascension case |

  21. #21
    Slayer X
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,574
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stilt
    I´m getting pretty weird readings with Bad Axe and E6700 B0 combo...
    With Tuniq Tower 120 heatsink, 6x345MHz frequency and 1.27V the program shows idle temperatures for both cores at 83c.

    The bios reads 65c.

    Contact between the heatsink and chip is also perfect.

    With stock heatsink, 2666MHz frequency and 1.3V the program reads 71c for both cores. This time the bios reads 75c.

    Have I missed something or is there something wrong with the program?

    wow - I was only using a step5 CPU to test the temps. Bios was higher than the CORETEMP readings.
    I will have to try later with a A0 - no B0 atm to test it with.

    The program basically calculates how much temp it takes to rach TCasemax - maybe the earlier revisions Conores had a higher TCasemax.

    Are you guys certain that you are using the latest version?


    ALSO there can be a HUGE Delat between the "cooled" IHS and the CPU internal temperatures when under load.
    Last edited by mike; 06-19-2006 at 02:01 PM.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    101
    Can I add the DL to my blog? I linked it to your post on your forum.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    Im on a B0, BIOS report 57C (which on a bad axe is ~20C high i have heard) but this program, like i said, reports 25/34C load.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  24. #24
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    1,129
    Quote Originally Posted by SepheronX
    Can I add the DL to my blog? I linked it to your post on your forum.
    Sure no problem.

    Mike:
    The A0\A1 don't have the needed info to detect TCaseMax (or TCM), so it won't work properly will only detect the Delta to TCM.
    Member of Overclockers.com Folding @ Home team
    "<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / Storage: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Secondary rig:
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    So, this thing is telling me that my new step5 is dual priming @ 66C on both cores... is this really correct? (1.56v)

    I have H2O with a Swiftech Storm
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

Page 1 of 25 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •